IMDb > "Inspector Morse" The Remorseful Day (2000) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Inspector Morse" The Remorseful Day (2000)

« Prev | 33 of 33 Episodes

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

41 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Sad ending to a wonderful series.

10/10
Author: Peter-Posetti from Australia
3 February 2007

Sad ending to a wonderful series. Perhaps the principal characters and co were becoming tired of the long running series. Frankly, I wish this series never finished as I have enjoyed it so much for more than fifteen years, even the re-runs. I am grateful that television networks still continue to do re-runs. I am sure many television viewers of my age would agree. I think Thaw and Whately were always wonderful together and I will miss them. In recent years I have seen other productions in which Thaw and Whately appeared (although not together). I still think of Thaw as Morse and Whately as Lewis. They were so good together.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Such a heart-rending ending to a wonderful series!

10/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
4 April 2009

I love Inspector Morse. I have all the books and episodes at home, and it is one of my all-time favourites. I loved this episode. It was so heart-rending at the end, when Morse died, seeing as he was such an iconic character. John Thaw, one of Britain's finest actors, was brilliant here, as he was consistently in the series. His heart-attack was so well-acted, I was in tears before I knew what was happening, the shot with Morse saying absolutely nothing and doing little, letting his eyes and facial expressions do all the work is one of the series' most remarkable and moving moments. I read the book recently, and I cried at the end. Kevin Whately and the guest stars especially Paul Freeman also shone considerably in this episode, and the use of Faure's Requiem was truly effective .Thank you to everyone for a wonderful series, and may the spirit of John Thaw live on. I am kind of glad that Morse stopped, because I just can't imagine someone else playing Morse, I just can't. 10/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

The end of an era

10/10
Author: jamiecostelo58 from United Kingdom
7 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After 13 years and 33 episodes, Inspector Morse finally came to an end in November 2000 with The Remorseful Day. It was certainly the end of an era with the legendary Oxford detective meeting his maker, as writer Colin Dexter thought Morse had run his course....

The year long investigation into the death of wealthy business woman Yvonne Harrison is sparked into life with the promise of new evidence.....Morse finds himself back on duty and learns that Lewis is in charge of the case....Will he agree to this situation? There is also the case of Morse's deteriorating health....

The very poignant image of Lewis kissing his mentor's forehead, and uttering the words "Goodbye, Sir" at the end, no doubt struck a chord with the millions of TV viewers who grew fond of this detective drama. Well done to Kevin Whately for that memorable performance.

Sadly, it wouldn't only be the demise of Inspector Morse the public would have to get used to. The untimely death of John Thaw from cancer in February 2002 not only left a big hole in the legacy of British television, but also in the lives of his many long-time fans. Suffice to say he will be fondly remembered for the many roles he played in his long career as an award-winning actor, including the classic Inspector Morse. The Remorseful Day is 10/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Into the West Away.

7/10
Author: galaxywest from Nagoya, Japan
13 May 2008

We just finished watching Morse from one through thirty-three here in Japan over 8 months. So, for the Remorseful Day, we had a little sayonara party for the inspector, Lewis and strange Strange. Well, the thing that I didn't like about the final string of episodes was the change in Lewis's character. He used to be so easy going and Morse's idiosyncrasies never bothered him at all. But in the later stories, Lewis is so irritable all the time. I didn't like that.

But, I will miss Morse and Lewis.

Ensanguining the skies / How heavily it dies / Into the west away; / Past touch and sight and sound / Not further to be found, / How hopeless under ground / Falls the remorseful day.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

The End Came Earlier Than This

10/10
Author: humbleradio from Tokyo, Japan
4 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well, an era comes to a close. I just watched this final episode about an hour ago. I knew it was coming. I had heard that Colin Dexter finished the stories with Morse dying, on duty and doing what he loved. I also saw the documentary produced where all the actors and main crew talk about the experience of being a part of 'Inspector Morse'. For many, this is all old news. But not for me, since I had only seen a handful of episodes back when they originally aired in the late 80's and early 90's.

Mystery Channel here in Tokyo had been airing this series for the last few months, every weeknight at 6pm. This was a real treat, to come home, have dinner and watch an episode of 'Morse', as it is simply known here.

I was happy they didn't 'retire' him, in the earlier episode, as it seemed that they might. But in a way, Morse was gone for me even before this last episode started.

The reason is this. These newer episodes, ones shot in widescreen, didn't really do it for me. Everything seemed different in them. The camera work, the editing, the sound, the way the characters behaved, sometimes out of character, all were very different in style and execution and I can only describe as 'softened' or 'watered down', compared with the more abrupt and much more likable earlier episodes.

The camera work in this episode especially was so smooth and lovingly slow that it was almost putting me to sleep. The seemingly endless and far-too-slow zoom-ins and zoom-outs, as well as the smooth as butter panning shots didn't fit the series as I had come to know it. This smoothness was out of place more than a glass of orange juice in Morse's hand in a pub would be (of course fans know he did just that in Australia!). I found myself missing the rougher, more cinematic style of the series, as much as Morse missed having a pint with Lewis. In this later series, everything was so polished and smooth and proper, it was like I was watching 'Downton Abbey' instead of 'Inspector Morse'.

This was the same way I felt with the later episodes of 'Hercule Poirot' after Hastings and Miss Lemon and Inspector Japp were gone and they stopped using the great theme music by Chris Gunning. From that point on, the series changed dramatically. I didn't like it. There was also more blood and gore, which I also didn't care for. From the mid 90s onward (coincidentally Morse started to change around this same time) I don't consider as true 'Poirot' episodes. They are far too polished, affected and not nearly as fun without any of the chemistry, magic or clever filming style that previous years contained. It was as if someone else took over the shop and decided to change everything but keep a few things for old time's sake. These episodes fill me with a odd coldness, like meeting an old friend who's changed too much to stomach.

And cold is how the last episode left me. It was very sad, and I teared up quite a bit. But still, it was a cold feeling I had watching it and in a way, I wish I hadn't seen that last episode at all.

So for me, as I stated in the subject line, the series had already come to a close earlier on - at least by a few years - than that fateful day on the grass at Oxford and his last, almost meaningless (for me) conversation with "Robbie", over the phone.

As I understand it, actor John Thaw was also eager to finish up the character of Morse, as he wanted to play other roles, in other productions. Author Colin Dexter had decided that he had murdered off enough residents, students and staff at Oxford for several lifetimes (perhaps this is why they began to re-open old cases of victims long dead - no fresh corpses, nor ever-diminishing faculty).

But sadly, John Thaw was himself to pass away only two years later. For me, that's doubly tragic, since he didn't get to pursue those other roles that he wished to, and also that Inspector Morse's demise was 'rushed' to make way for other, better things, which never came.

We've seen this more times than I can count. A highly successful and popular series is ended because the cast or crew wish to move on to bigger things. But it is a rare instance when those bigger things ever eclipse the original work in popularity or quality. It's in the nature of acting and actors to love and seek to perform various roles, never to be typecast, associated with any one character. But when a lovable and extremely popular character such as Morse comes along, an actor would be well advised to revel in it as long as the audience will have him.

Inspector Morse had a very good run, and many fine years of productions. However, I wish it had gone even longer, perhaps right up until John Thaw's death, having the actor, like the Chief Inspector he portrayed, leave this earth doing what he was very best at.

(10/10 for the series, 7/10 for the last few episodes)

Was the above review useful to you?

Why must a male commenter say something as such a misogynist?

6/10
Author: heleneschenbacher from Honolulu Hawai’i
14 April 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Why was it allowed that a reviewer refer to an older woman as a "disgustingly sexual female?"

Was John Law "disgusting" as a 60 plus year detective flirting and coming on to women 30 years his junior?

How about Tom Selleck(72), Sean Connery (86), or Harrison Ford (72) still being paired off with women in their 20s and 30s? No one talks about their being "old and disgusting."

In fact that was my chief problem with John Law's "Morse." It seemed as if EVERY show had some younger honey either coming onto him or vice verse.

I was inundated with detectives and police officers when my husband was murdered and I wouldn't have cared if it had been Hugh Jackman investigating my loved one's murder, my mind was FAR AWAY from any casual affair with a copper! And if the detective had flirted with me I would have made sure that his career would have been over.

Is this a "British" thing? You just don't see this going on in our detective procedurals. SPOILER! Now Kevin Whately slowly falling in love in with the pathologist was delightful.

SPOILER! Even in the first three seasons of Endeavour Morse was pretty casual about "rumpy-pumpy" (really? That expression is used?) It just turned me off, but then Morse was a badly damaged man. SPOILER! If one reads the books one finds out that he sure likes his pornography too!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Into My Heart An Air That Kills.

7/10
Author: Robert J. Maxwell (rmax304823@yahoo.com) from Deming, New Mexico, USA
7 March 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Almost too sad to describe in any detail. Lewis is itching to get on with an old case that's been assigned him but Morse, recovering from two peptic ulcers, keeps getting in the way and sticking his nose in. When John Wayne put everything he had into his production of "The Alamo," he had the same trouble with John Ford.

There isn't really much else for Morse to do. "Never too late to take up a new interest," he advises Lewis, peeping at a dreary bird in his back yard feeder. "Common house sparrow," says Lewis, deflating the white-belt birder.

A good deal of time is devoted to the case, which is as convoluted as most of the cases in this series, but resolves itself at the end into a case of familial jealousy and a daughter killing her sluttish mother with the connivance of some other kin.

Still, it's Morse's physical decline that occupies the viewer's attention and it must be said he handles it with as much panache as a gravely ill man can be expected to muster. At least when he collapses for the last time it's on the campus of his beloved Oxford.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The end of a era

8/10
Author: Roedy Green from Victoria, BC. Canada
29 March 2015

This is the very last episode of Inspector Morse. It is quite depressing. Characters like Inspector Morse and Inspector Tom Barnaby become like family members. Colin Dexter, the writer of the novels, makes a cameo. There are about four murders. There are at least a dozen major characters. I found it unusually difficult to keep track of who was who, even when it was over. Some characters were memorable,

Meg Davies as Yvonne Harrison, a disgustingly sexual older woman.

Anna Wilson-Jones as Sandra Harrison remaining me of Samantha Bond.

Simon Hepworth as Simon Harrison the deaf bookstore owner.

Jesse Birdsall as John Barron a dashing Don Juan.

Aidan David as Roy Holmes, a teen cyclist.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history