IMDb > Saturday Night Live 25 (1999) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Saturday Night Live 25 (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 7 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A Wonderful Tribute for a Wonderful Show!

Author: Emily from Canada
22 March 2000

I was in awe when I watched the Saturday Night Live 25th Anniversary. As a die-hard fan of the show since 1989 (I wish to note that I'm 14) it was so nice to see all the cast members that I haven't seen in a while! It seemed like everybody who was involved with the show put their all into this one. It was absolutly wonderful. A must see if you ask me!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Fun for any fan of the show. Lots of fun, actually...

10/10
Author: MovieAddict2014 from UK
2 March 2004

This 25th reunion of SNL is extremely hilarious. Sometimes it's a bit slow and there are bits where there isn't actual comedy, but it's still fun. After growing up on this show and seeing this big reunion I feel like I'm a part of the cast. Almost everyone is here, except for Eddie Murphy. (Norm MacDonald drops in for a funny joke about that.)

EVERYONE is here. Steve Martin, Dan Aykroyd, Chevy Chase, Martin Short, et al, AND celebrities like Tom Hanks, Susan Sarandon, Danny DeVito, Drew Barrymore, Garey Busey, et al.

I also liked the tributes to Belushi, Radner, Hartman (Lovitz starts to cry!) and even Farley.

All in all this is a solid SNL show with some surprising cameos. It's sort of interesting to see all these different talents from the show joining together, interacting and referencing each other. I enjoyed it immensely!

Now, if only they'd make a theatrical film with everyone who's ever been on the show (still alive, of course) doing skits together.

4.5/5 stars.

- John Ulmer

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

25 years and still going

Author: SpideyTerry from Ardmore, PA
3 May 2000

SNL celebrates it's 25th anniversary with great clips and getting most of the old cast members back together. The clips are hilarious, going as far back as 1975. The clips here are the best this show turned out, including Bill Murray as a lounge lizard, singing 'Star Wars'. This special also included a small parody of 'The Blair Witch Project.' Besides bringing back most of the old cast, this special also featured famous celebrities like Jerry Seinfeld and Tom Hanks. And last, but not least, there is also a look at Weekend Update clips presented by Dennis Miller, Chevy Chase and (surprise, surprise) Norm Macdonald. This special was loads of fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

Hysterical--could watch it again and again

Author: Juli (djbr990)
22 July 2004

Okay, I'm a huge fan of SNL and have been for almost three years. I bought this at my local bookstore in February 2004. I paid a hunk of cash for it too, but it was totally worth it.

It is consistently funny from beginning to end. I have probably watched it all the way through somewhere around 10 times. And I never tire of it.

I was only born in 1990 and they never reran SNLs from 1975-1980, which I had heard were the best. It was great seeing some of those sketches, even if they were shown in 30-second chunks. I'm glad that they put "Chippendale's" and "Chopping Broccoli" on there...the special wouldn't have been complete without them!

My only complaint is that it could've used a Tonto, Tarzan, and Frankenstein sketch. I have heard that those are hilariously funny and I've been dying to see one for a long time now.

Was the above review useful to you?

the best 3 hours of an SNLer's life

Author: AllisonLVenezio from Jersey shore, USA
23 February 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This review, however is not 3 hours long., but may contain spoilers!!!

"SNL" has truly done it again with its look back on its 25 years of glory. Originally aired as an NBC Primetime Special in September 1999, this special captures its finest moments on film, including some crontroversial and hilarious moments.

Tributes were a-plenty, to deceased castmembers Chris Farley, Gilda Radner, John Belushi, and Phil Hartman. Farley, Radner, and Belushi's tributes were all laughs, but Phil Hartman's cast mates paying tribute to him was extremely emotional, as you may want to have tissues on hand. I sat there during the tribute wanting to cry along with them. Even the seemingly unemotional Dennis Miller looked shaken up, and I was waiting for him to cry. Maybe everyone has a soft side.

Aside from that, the era clips highlighting each "generation" (1975-80, 1980-1985, 1986-1990, 1990-1995, and 1995-1999) were fabulously put together. The segment introducers were a riot. Chris Rock surprised me when he opened the special, but it was well deserved, as he wasn't forseen as doing anything great beyond SNL. also, the reunion of "Weekend Update" anchors was funny. Dennis Miller truly did the marry the desk!!!:)

This was a well-done and well-planned special. The closing moments, when everyone piles onto the stage for a cast picture, is a wonderful moment, and Dan Akroyd, who gets everyone on stage, looks like he is truly enjoying the moment. This trip down memory lane is truly worth the 3 hours.

See, I told you it wouldn't be 3 hours long!

Was the above review useful to you?

A celebration of a cornerstone of American pop culture

Author: mystic80
8 February 2000

Saturday Night Live's twenty five year anniversary is a celebration of a show that has launched the endless number of careers of breeding comedians. The show goes all the way back from 1975 with the days of Chase, Murray, Ayrkoyd, Belushi, and Radner among them to 1980 with the days of Murphy and Piscopo to 1985 with Short and Crystal to 1986-1994 with the days of Miller, Carvey, Hartman, and Lovitz to the days of Sandler, Myers, Spade, Farley, and Schneider. Many celebrities are guests including Tom Hanks, Christopher Walken, Jerry Seinfeld, and Steve Martin among them. The show reminisces with it's Weekend Update and the numerous anchors with a surprise appearance by former anchor Norm Macdonald. The special does nice tributes to Phil Hartman, Chris Farley, Gilda Radner, and John Belushi as well as Danitra Vance and Michael O'Donaghue by showing some of their best works. To top it off they do Robert Smigel's cartoon parody of Lorne Michaels. Excellent musical acts from the likes of Al Green, Elvis Costello, and the Eurythemics. Particular funny bits include O'Donaghue trying to teach immigrant Belushi "I would like to feed your fingertips to the wolverines" to Carvey's uncanny impersonations of George Bush and Ross Perot and Hartman's Frank Sinatra. Others include Chris Farley's Matt Foley, the motivational speaker and Adam Sandler's off the wall songs. I recommend this film for any die hard SNL fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

EXCELLENT, but not enough Kevin Spacey. ;)

Author: MissMia from USA
2 September 2000

OK, here we have an extremely funny summary of the 25 year run of SNL. Cream of the crop, tip of the top. Excruciatingly entertaining.

But let's talk about the real issue. Why do they only use 2 minutes of Kevin Spacey footage? The man was nominated for an Emmy for his hosting job!! Or at least, I think he was. He should have been. What was I saying?

Oh. Mr. Spacey's performance on SNL was one of the best in recent memory, and yet he is simply glossed over in favor of others like... oh... Sarah Michelle Gellar. This is a sin, and shall be punished when Judgment Day comes.

Seriously though, I highly recommend this special. It's the best of the best SNL sketches, with some entertaining monologues thrown into the mix. See it!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history