IMDb > "Dirt" (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Dirt"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Dirt" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 34 reviews in total 

39 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

Original, Daring, and Funny

10/10
Author: McBitter from United States
9 January 2007

'Dirt' is about a woman, Lucy Spiller (Cox), who works at the tabloid magazines, 'Drrt' and 'Now'. It focuses on the life of Lucy and those around her. The characters of the show are different, outrageous, and hilarious-all with their own personality. Lucy the bitchy, rude, and bitter boss of evil is set out on a goal-HER WORK. Cox's character is struggling with trying to develop an actual social life. The only "friend" Lucy basically has is Don, her schizophrenic paparazzi.

The camera shots are amazing on 'Dirt', along with the writing. The music used is perfect for the show and perfect to listen to when you are in the mood for something fun. The acting is all really good from everybody in this wonderful show.

So watch 'Dirt' and let the dark comedy cheer your day up!

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Bitchy, Scandalous Fun

10/10
Author: iheart_ny from United States
9 January 2007

The very first scene in the pilot of Dirt shows Courtney Cox as Lucy Spiller, a Friend-less tabloid editor who basically spits on everyone. Now, that is the role I like to see Courtney Cox in. I hate to see her in the role of cutesy charming girl-next-door. She's stupid and annoying in those kind of roles.

Lucy runs "Dirt" and "Now" Magazines, and she'll do anything to get her story, including blackmail, betrayal, maybe even someday, she'll resort to murder. That would be fun to see.

What I like about Dirt is the way it's shot, it's just beautiful. I also like how Cox's character makes every pathetic little excuse for a human being cry. Her performance is to die for. And, even though I've only seen the pilot, I see no signs of slowing. It looks like it will keep getting better and better. The people on IMDb who have given this a "1" need to go out and watch some truly horrible programing. Because this is far from it. It's terrific and you should definitely watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

There is potential...just potential...

6/10
Author: Spoonmore from United States
2 January 2007

The endless previews for the show got me interested. And I found it interesting that I was interested because when a network advertises the crap out of a show, I'm easily bored. I thought I would give the show a chance because FX always seems to give us racy, dramatic, unique shows. And I wanted to see Courtney Cox as a bitchy, lost editor in a hot red dress. I'll admit it.

The pilot was a little rocky, but most pilots are. I try to never judge a television show by the first episode because it takes time to develop the story lines and characters. This show could easily find a groove if it wanted to.

Courtney was fitting in her roll. She's got the tough, commanding demeanor about her. But it still seems as though she hasn't completely found the character. But maybe that's how it is supposed to be right now in the show. I think her character has many places to go in time.

I found that the real star was Josh Stewart who plays a failing actor who finds himself sucked into the world of a "celebrity". Stewart is that smirky, doomed, lovable rebel that Jason Dohring recently made a career out of on "Veronica Mars." As I mentioned before, the show is on FX, so obviously there is a lot of sex. A lot. I think this is one of the weaknesses of the show. The softcore porn distracts from the plot and the sweet camera shots that are accompanied by great music. I doubt that will go away.

The show has a message. We live in a messed up world. We are all awful. But has the world become so despicable that there is no humanity left? I have hope for this show but it could easily suck. I'll give it a few more chances, though.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Courtney Cox is still Gail Weathers

8/10
Author: ryanbramhart3 from United States
3 January 2007

I loved Dirt, Basically because Courtney got to be the ruthless story hungry b*ch I'd come to love through the Scream Series. And the character of Lucy Spiller is like Gail divorced Dewy in order to run 2 magazines.

Lucy sets up pratfalls for the celebrity community around her. A community she navigates in and out of with an uncommon ease. She also is very aware of her place among them. She runs the PEOPLE magazine rip off called Now - in which she has the power to build a career for stars and starlets with heartwarming pieces on them. But she also runs Drrt the STAR ripoff - that has the ability to break them.

And she's more concerned with the breaking. Using the leverage she has she employs a young talent who made a few bombs and got dropped by the industry to tattle on his friends. And when he does consequences arise.

But what makes Lucy one of the coolest maneaters on television is that she does have a heart albeit, a very small one. Or at least a warm spot for her photographer who's got some heavy duty mental problems. Also she shows the cracks in her tightly glossed veneer after taking a new love interest home and then tasering him the next morning when she thinks he only slept with her to get a foot in the door. All in all, this might be a nice follow up to the Nip/Tuck dark sadonic tone.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Cox and Hart-Magic!!

9/10
Author: beresfordjd from United Kingdom
8 October 2007

Along with Heroes one of the best series to come out of America in a long while. Courteney Cox has proved herself an extremely good actress, leaving Monica from Friends way behind. She plays a total bitch with only one redeeming feature, her loyalty to Don, played by Ian Hart. The chemistry between them works so well ,I was hooked from the first episode. The first series has just ended in UK and I could not miss any of it. The performances were uniformly great and the story lines pulled no punches given the strictures of TV. I for one cannot wait fro the second series. I am not sure how it has gone down with the great British public as I can hardly find anyone else that has watched it!! It has been shown on little-watched channel 5 so it must have been difficult to garner a big audience. It certainly deserves to be seen by a wider viewing public. BTW check out Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip if you get the chance. Matthew Perry shows he too can shake off Friends (also a terrific series)

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Something's Missing...

5/10
Author: landress from United States
6 January 2007

I wasn't planning on watching this show. Don't get me wrong, I like Courteney Cox, but it just didn't feel like my type of show, based on the previews. However, after coming down with the flu, I was left to a few sick days and I happened across the pilot. First the good, it drew me in. I was just flipping through and it caught me and made me want to watch. It was dark, it was edgy, it felt different from most other things on television. However, it also felt like either something was missing from the show or that I was the kid at the far end of the table left out of the joke. I liked the characters, quite a bit more than I probably should have, but something was not right with the story. I'm not sure whether it was the intentional choppiness to try and represent the story of the schizophrenic photographer, or the fact that it bounced back and forth too much between story lines.

I don't think I'm going to give up on this show. But, for it to stick, it needs a little bit of re-working and making the show something more than simply edgy.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Could easily be good...or not.

6/10
Author: salome000 from United States
3 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I agree with the previous post...Dirt could be very good or very bad. I, too, never go with the pilot...it was easy to see that no one was completely comfortable with their characters but I feel that's just temporary. Two things I'm not crazy about already...the first being all the sex. For some reason, watching Julian McMahon on Nip/Tuck in the act is sexy but these characters make me uncomfortable...as if they, like me, just don't feel it's necessary. The second thing that worries me is that I'm already feeling like things have gone over the top and it's just the pilot. One starlet dead, one on life support, a mentally ill photographer who talks to his cat, a basketball player with a hooker (who ends up dead, it seems) isn't overly realistic to me. I read 'dirt' online and in mags all the time and don't see anything like this. Hopefully, the writers will realize I'm more interested in Britney Spears and K-Fed drama than I am in a star's untimely death (River Phoenix, Chris Farley). They are right about some things, though...everyone wants to know what's going on with famous people...it's nice to see these people with incredible lives have the same issues as the rest of us! All in all, I'll keep watching!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

The worst thing I have seen in a long time...

1/10
Author: PHeath60 from Clearwater, Florida
3 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This show doesn't know if it wants to be a drama, a soap opera, or a porn movie. Just the worst thing I have seen in a long time.

I hate to see Courtney Cox and David Arquette, who have vocally come out against the "stalkarazzi" before, turn around and glorify them. It's almost as if they are thinking "if you can't beat them, join them". That is the least of the problems with this show though. There is no direction, the plot is weak at best, and the acting...well everyone seemed to have either a stony expression or the look of shock the whole way through.

Definitely not going to tune into this one again.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Best show I have seen in a long time!

10/10
Author: Jamie Bonner from United States
23 December 2012

Wow, an excellent cast and an original, gritty hardcore plot...kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Up there with Dexter and Breaking Bad. Very upset that it was canceled. Courtney Cox was great and her side-kick photographer is brilliant. The special effects and the way they present the story is unique and very well done. Great, great acting! Good job Courtney! Why on earth would something like this be taken off the air. One of the best shows I have seen in a long time. I was not going to watch it as the cover was pretty lame, but what lay inside the watch it now on Netflix was a treasure. They should bring something like this back or something similar to it. It uncovers the world we live in today and the lengths we will go to to expose people and their private lives.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Again, a great show that got canceled...

10/10
Author: orange_bicycle from United States
4 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love this show. It is so rare to see leading women who are funny, genius, ball busting and gorgeous. Courtney Cox and this amazing ensemble cast have created one of the smartest satires of contemporary Hollywood and Journalism/Media culture. Cox, who has probably experienced the worst sides of tabloid journalism, still plays her role with such intelligence. All while you think Lucy is Satan herself...it is still impossible to hate or revile her. Truth is her God. And who can fault that level of honesty-her most consistent trait? Only those that are true pariahs. Lucy Spiller best line ever, "I'll sleep when they put a stake in me." This show got panned by the critics-I think they weren't patient enough and maybe had trouble seeing Cox play someone so diabolical. I'm glad to see it has a high IMDb rating. It runs a long the vein of Jay Mohr in "Action". Which is also a favorite. Courtney and casting directors if you ever read this crap, please do something like this again. I could never watch that steaming pile called "Friends". But take your chops to the big screen. Lucy Spiller (Cox) should not be wasted on TV sensibilities.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history