IMDb > The Game Plan (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Game Plan
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Game Plan More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 83 reviews in total 

115 out of 153 people found the following review useful:

Great Family Movie

10/10
Author: sluggy3000 from United States
22 September 2007

We saw this tonight. It was wonderful. My husband took one look at all the little girls seated in the theater and said, "Did you choose the right movie?" But he laughed from start to finish, as did all the other men in the theater.

The story is about a selfish star quarterback who plays for the Boston Rebels NFL team. (Ah, if only it were so). He has a fabulous bachelor pad and a bulldog. He adores Elvis and has adopted his nickname, calling himself Joe "The King" Kingman. A wee eight year-old girl shows up on his doorstep and says she is his daughter. This throws him off balance to say the least.

The Rock plays the part very well. I heard a LOT of sniffles during emotional parts. The little girl who plays his daughter is adorable.

I highly recommend.

Was the above review useful to you?

83 out of 119 people found the following review useful:

Reminds Me Of Classic Walt Disney Movies

10/10
Author: Joe King (joeking1123@yahoo.com) from Arlington, Texas
24 September 2007

I was a child of the 1960s, and grew up seeing many of those classic Walt Disney films when originally released. After Walt Disney passed away, the Disney films decades later didn't seem to have that same feel to them. "The Game Plan" seems like one of those classic Disney films from the 60s, but up to date rather than in days gone by. I saw a Sneak Preview on Saturday. In "The Game Plan," Boston Quarterback Joe Kingman is quite surprised when he suddenly learns that he has a 6 year old daughter from a previous marriage. It is a story on how his life changes from the playboy lifestyle of perhaps the most eligible bachelor in the NFL to that of a high profile dad. It's a light hearted comedy. My call on "The Game Plan" is that it will be #1 at the Box Office this weekend. It's a good movie. Go see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

52 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

A very good family movie

8/10
Author: barrys82 from Mexico
13 October 2007

This film was very good. A great family movie with the only purpose of entertaining people with that unique touch that only Disney can give. It has a very simple yet enjoyable story about a famous football player who's life is all about football, parties, women and his dog apparently a very good life but also a very lonely one when someday a girl appears at his door telling that he is her dad and there's where he must learn how to be a parent and at the same time to live. The cast is good. The Rock proves that he is more than an action hero, he also can do comedy in a very good way, the little girl Madison Pettis is so cute and his acting is great, she looks very natural. Roselyn Sanchez delivers a good supporting role as the girl's ballet teacher and Kyra Sedgwick although it was a short performance it was also very convincing. In conclusion, a very good family that you will enjoy

Was the above review useful to you?

63 out of 85 people found the following review useful:

Cute movie, kinda corny

8/10
Author: apboyles from United States
22 September 2007

Well, I got to see this tonight as a sneak preview. I went in excited because the trailer cracked me up and wasn't disappointed. It was cute. Some of the lines are corny but some of it was serious stuff. You get to see some emotion from Johnson. The beginning cracks you up, you see this guy basically in love with himself trying to make it to the big one of his football career when he has a little girl thrust upon him. He doesn't know what to do, how to handle her. I think that the background relationship with his father could have been fleshed out a little better,you only get a hint of it, but otherwise it was a good movie. Some of the parts are HILARIOUS!! The little girl in the movie has got definite attitude and it cracked me up. Overall it was a decent movie, a good one to see.

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

A great family film

7/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
19 October 2007

OK, I know that The Game Plan was very cheesy and extremely predictable, but who cares? What were people expecting? It's Disney, it's supposed to be this kind of a film. I saw The Game Plan with my friend yesterday and we both liked it, we got a few laughs from it and it was over all a well made movie. We were both very impressed with the little actress, Madison Pettis, who played The Rock's daughter, she was incredibly believable and didn't over do her role or was too cute that it made you sick. The script may not be Oscar material, but it was perfect for a family film and the story while it may not be the most original, still had it's funny and touching moments.

Joe is a quarterback on Boston's football team and they are about to go to the championships. His personal life is usual the same each night, party all night with his buds and party all night with the good looking women. But all that changes when there's a stranger at the door, a little girl who claims to be his daughter, her name is Peyton and that she's his daughter from a short marriage he had. With his expensive home and party life style, Joe may need to make some changes to his life, as hard as that may be. But he ends up gaining something more in the end, a loving daughter to call him "daddy".

Like I said, this is a Disney film, don't expect Oscar worthy material, it's just a fun little family flick. No one will ever get sick of the "big guy with muscles" trying to relate to the little one's, just look at Kindergarten Cop or The Pacifier, both films were good and have a lot of fans. Besides if someone can tell me the honest truth that they were not laughing at The Rock's allergic reaction to cinnamon and started speaking like Daffy Duck, they really must not have a funny bone in their body. The Game Plan is the perfect family film for the season, it's a cute film.

7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Thoroughly enjoyable family fun

9/10
Author: sdod2 from Bothell, WA, USA
30 September 2007

This was a thoroughly enjoyable family movie. Saw it with my wife and 10 year old son and we all had a great time. The Rock is improving as an actor and was quite funny, especially in the Ballet... The little girl was very cute. The humor was squeaky clean and the message was clear and sweet. Loved it. Kyra Sedwick was funny in places which I'm not used to seeing. The supporting cast of football players was well done. There isn't much football in the movie so it won't turn off non-athletes. I think the Rock's charm will continue to drive his career as he is able to always bring the charm while pulling off the tough male ego.

Was the above review useful to you?

39 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

Sweet Game Plan

8/10
Author: jon.h.ochiai (jochiai@socal.rr.com) from Los Angeles, CA
7 October 2007

In "The Game Plan" after being high-jacked to the mall by his 8 year-old daughter Peyton (adorable Madison Pettis) and her ballerina crew, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson as Superstar Quarterback Joe Kingman is held captive at a "Make Your Own Doll" shop. Roselyn Sanchez as Peyton's ballet instructor Monique arrives to the rescue. "The Rock", crammed in children's chair, is combing out the hair of the doll he made. "The Rock" humbly tells Monique, "Thanks for saving me…" Joe wistfully concedes that he is not at all good at this—being a Dad. Monique reminds him that women being better anyway, are better at this sort of thing. Then in a touching admission, she tells Joe that fathers are important in that they teach daughters courage, and "They make us brave." Director Andy Fickman's "The Game Plan" is surprisingly both touching and sweet. Sentimental is a given—if you have a problem with that, you need to crawl back under a rock, because the sunshine emerges shamelessly in "The Game Plan". "The Game Plan" works, because of The Rock's undeniable charm, and his natural chemistry with Madison Pettis.

Film critic Richard Roeper commented that The Rock has squandered the opportunity of being the next huge action star, with his recent roles. I don't think so. For one thing: Action star roles are not very interesting. The Rock is a smart guy, and he is choosing roles with career longevity in mind. The Rock's gift is light comedy. He is incredibly charming and has amazing comedic timing. Granted this comedy leverages the incongruity of his physicality and athleticism offset against cute little Peyton "P" and gorgeous Monique. The Rock is a strikingly handsome man, and standing 6'4" with the ripped body he is imposing. Note the great CGI work seamlessly covers his tribal tattoos. I am a huge fan of The Rock. Here in "The Game Plan" he is funny, charming, and charismatic. As cute and adorable as Madison Pettis is as P, The Rock is never over shadowed. His evolving relationship with Peyton is poignant and endearing. Pettis is stellar, not overplaying cute-- she just is. She also displays amazing restraint on the whole precociousness little girl deal. Although the audience is a little shaky on Peyton's real story, her mission to know her father (Joe) lands as genuine. Among the interview questions she asks trolling for the desired answer, "What is best thing that ever happened to you?" The initially selfish Joe says that it his limited collectors release of his athletic shoe. Wrong answer.

The Rock plays Joe Kingman, All-Pro Quarterback for the playoff bound Boston Rebels. He revels in his celebrity lifestyle. Joe is rich, good-looking, single, and lives with his bulldog Spike in his mega bachelor pad. His agent Stella (taut and hilarious Kyra Sedgwick) tells Joe, he is about to make "Tiger Woods money". He parties with supermodel Tatiana (good vapid Kate Nauta). He hangs with his player crew (hilarious Hayes MacArthur, Brian White, and Jamal Duff). Arrogant Joe mercilessly tells his wide receiver Sanders (solid and charming Morris Chestnut) that he needs to retrieve his "Man Card". That is the way Joe rolls. Joe is also a greatness poser. Joe is all "I am great. You're not." Joe's world immediately alters when little Peyton (Pettis) arrives at Joe's door, announcing that she is in fact his daughter. Peyton tells Joe that she is staying with him for 4 weeks while her mom is doing humanitarian work in Africa, and can not be reached by cell phone.

In recap, Joe is now a Dad, and leading his Rebels to the Super Bowl. Clearly he has a clue for only one of these responsibilities. Fortunately, Joe finds a dance school for little ballerina Peyton. To his utter disbelief the instructor Monique (beautiful and feisty Roselyn Sanchez) has no idea regarding Joe's celebrity. Monique soon enrolls Joe into his responsibility as a parent. The resulting aftermath is Joe's participation in a ballet production. There is a hysterical scene as Monique hands Joe his ballet tights. Joe dismisses, "Oh, no! I am a freakishly large man!" Will Joe knock it off, and surrender to his innate greatness becoming a leader for his team and a loving father for Peyton? No worries. Thankfully "The Game Plan" is a Disney Pictures movie. "The Game Plan" is also the rarity in contemporary times—a family movie that is smart, sentimental, sweet, and all heart. The Rock is awesome. In my older age I'll embrace cheesy and sentimental, when stories celebrate the very best in people. Take a chance on "The Game Plan".

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Big on football; big on family

8/10
Author: Brett Chatz from United States
5 October 2007

Big Joe Kingman is living the all-American dream: he's a superstar quarterback and living large. His team loves him and big sponsorships are flowing thick and fast.

There's only one little hiccup for the big man: an 8 year-old girl shows up on his doorstep one evening. The King's entire life is turned upside down within a month.

Joe discovers that this peppy little gal is none other than his daughter. Dad and daughter have to make up for lost time, often with hilarious results.

The Rock shows yet again why he is an all-American superstar: he's bright, brawny and full of talent. Madison Pettis does a sterling job as Peyton Kelly, his sassy little daughter.

The duo has brilliant on-screen chemistry and Disney has compiled a sure-fire family winner in The Game Plan.

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

The Game Plan as ALL THE RIGHT MOVES

8/10
Author: DarkAngeloX from United States
30 September 2007

Personally, it was the trailers that made me want to see this movie from the start. Let's get serious, this was not supposed to be 'Shindler's List' or something. It's a comedy about a football player! If anyone expected anything more they were deluded from the start. "The Rock" was very decent in this role, but he wasn't supposed to be the superstar of the film, just the superstar of the team -- that a big difference. Pettis was amazing, as was Kyra Sedgwick. And the team...the team of knucklehead football players stole the show in every scene they were in. The comedy had its slapstick moments but for the most part it was heartfelt and warm. I took my 7 and 6 year old daughters to see and they loved it. Definitely a must-see family film and certainly a DVD buy!

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

This was wonderful!~!

10/10
Author: Roxburyfunny1
1 October 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Everyone knew the Rock could act but this was a major stretch that he handled amazingly. The cast was terrific and the chemistry between him and Madison was adorable. I think what I liked best was the story line. Disney actually branched out with something different and gave it a wonderful cast. There's a lot more to this then meets the eye so don't just judge it but the trailer or reviews go decide for yourself. It was a treat to sit there and watch this. It's one of those movies you look forward to seeing and it doesn't disappoint. The dog especially is one reason to see this because it's adorable and played a big role in a way. The music was great Elvis all the way and Yes the Rock can sing. Recommended for anyone who likes a great family movie!~!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history