IMDb > Because I Said So (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Because I Said So
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Because I Said So More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 19: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 184 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Barely OK

5/10
Author: Cynthia from United States
24 February 2007

I really like Diane Keaton, and unlike some of the reviewers, I didn't find her annoying here. Certainly the mother is over the top, but I can live with that. Why is she so hysterical about getting her daughter married off in her 20s? The girl's history of bad choices isn't much explanation. I've seen Mandy Moore before where she came off as charming and pretty, but here she does not charm. She's boring. The sisters are more interesting, although we don't see much of them.

All in all, if you really need to go to the movies and you want to see something light, this is tolerable. You might laugh heartily a couple of times. I did. But mostly you'll just sit there, not quite bored enough to want your money back.

I never rent movies because I love to see them in theaters, but if I did, this would definitely be a rental.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One of the Worst Movies EVER

1/10
Author: breezybrenda from United States
19 February 2007

This movie was painful to sit through! Given the fact that I like Diane Keaton, don't mind Mandy Moore and I also like lighthearted chick flicks this says a lot. I fully expected to like this movie yet found it actually uncomfortable to sit through the whole thing. It was simply horrible.

The characters were unlikable. Diane Keaton's character was so ditzy that it left the realm of "funny"and just became dumb. Also, I don't know what they were trying to do with her character's hideous wardrobe but the ridiculous styles and fabrics, rather than enhancing the character, were distracting. The physical comedy came across as trying too hard and it was just plain dumb.

We were so sorry we spent our money to see this in the theater! If you want to see a good chick flick go see Music and Lyrics instead. Much better.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

This film really sucks

1/10
Author: Argemaluco from Argentina
4 December 2007

Director Michael Lehmann started perfectly with the excellent film Heathers.But,after that promising first work,he made big craps like Hudson Hawk,Airheads and 40 Days and 40 Nights.But,Because I Said So is not only the worst movie of his career but also an enormous crap which bores and is totally unfunny.This "film" is so execrable that I wanted to take my eyes out while I was watching it.Diane Keaton is totally wasted on this film and I think that the only reason she participated here was because she needed some money.Because I Said So is a pathetic and crappy ''comedy'' that I really hate.I want the money I wasted on this crap back!Certainly,the second worst film of 2007(for the moment,the worst one is License to Wed).

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

what were they thinking...the producers...the writers....the gaffers?

1/10
Author: robk47 from United States
10 August 2007

I cannot believe that after watching a daily the director did not turn to his crew and say; "Okay, pack it up...this movie stinks."...there is no other way to put it. The story had some promise for about fifteen seconds. The acting by Diane Keaton makes you wonder if she had been doing drugs and the rest of a reasonably good cast, except for the not so cute kid, is totally wasted by a bad, no horrible, script and really poor directing. The kid's constant use of the word "gina"...NOT funny. The wardrobe person who put the hat on Johnny at anytime in the film should have immediately been replaced. The only redeeming aspect of this movie was the dog humping the hassock as clearly somebody did some serious humping to get this movie made and this was the metaphor for that...in a word the film, if you can even loosely call it that was AWFUL.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Errr

2/10
Author: madiley from Chicago
25 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was so predictable that you can't really give it away. I knew that Diane Keaton would sleep with the Rev. Why was Piper Perabo even in the movie she barely had any lines except for sex driven dysfunctional sister.Every scene she was in dealt with her sex appeal or she was talking about sex. Poor Lorlai, seemed very weak. Her lines seemed to be delivered mechanically and felt like she should be lecturing Rory and using a larger vocabulary. Mandy Moore she has worked on better projects. The dog humping the ottoman every time the DianeKeaton put on the porn site was childish. And the vagina joke was straight out of Kindergarten Cop and I half expected the Arnold to show up! Having said all that if you can't figure out in 10 seconds who Mandy Moore ends up with.... well enjoy the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

lame tired sexist painful

1/10
Author: menope from United States
20 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Crude, crass and uncouth. What can I say about a movie that incorporates male genitalia jokes, a ottoman humping dog, dialog about orgasms, sex while on the phone and a little sister who is banging two boyfriends and "just cant figure out the right thing to do". Tired and Formulamatic showing the worst of life leading girls everywhere to believe that all this is Okey Dokee. The plot was transparent and relied on shock value to tell the story. Diane Keaton's character was old and annoying. A cross between HomeAlone and a MTV sex special, this movies plot stunk. I would expect Adam Sandler is a lame movie such as this. I went to this with the wife thinking it would be a nice little romantic comedy and came away with a real disappointment.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Hey Diane, Get a new agent.

3/10
Author: darkstarvideo-1 from United States
3 May 2007

I can't for the life of me understand why Diane Keaton agreed to do this. I realize there may not be a lot of roles out there but Meril Streep seems to be doing OK. In Diane's defense this is not nearly as bad as anything Jane Fonda's been doing. As a 40 year old guy I realize I was not the target demographic for this thing but it's not too good even for the marshmallow fluff genre. More than a few gags, if not direct dialog, are stolen from other movies....Bad Screenwriter! Mandy Moore tries her best to be a sweetie but I find her far more effective as a villain, like in Saved. The director is a television director and that makes sense because this really feels like a made for TV affair. Six months from now I doubt I'll have any recollection of this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Terrible writing and acting

1/10
Author: feressb from Canada
1 June 2007

The script is simply AWFUL. There are perhaps 2 or 3 laughs in the whole movie. The acting is overboard or nonexistent with MOORE. Same goes for Keaton, except it is mostly overboard with hysterics that are simply not entertaining. There is a kid character in the movie who could not be more obnoxious. Trouble making kids are typically hilarious in other movies.. but gosh this kid must have been selected for his absolute lack of ability to act entertaining in any way.

I could not care less for any of the characters.. and wow is that ever hard to do in a movie full of potential. It was just painful to sit through.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Oh dear had just watched Judi Dench

1/10
Author: Hazel Woodward from South Africa
25 March 2007

I know comparisons are odious, but good grief! How to be bewitched by an unattractive ageing woman: watch Judi Dench in 'Notes on a Scandal'. She was BRILLIANT. How to be mortified by the antics of a slightly more attractive ageing woman: watch Diane Keaton in 'Because I said so'. Diane Keaton doesn't seem to know how her face looks any more: she forgets that as one ages, one's expressions look manically different from how they feel from behind one's face. She throws herself about with a kooky exuberance that may have worked once or twice in her favour as a joke, but the joke wore thin terribly quickly. And oh dear, what a poor script she had to work with! I liked the Mandy Moore character and her sisters, (just to look at I suppose - also the fact that their mother exasperated them but they wouldn't hurt her feelings for worlds) but the architect was badly miscast. He looked twinkly and friendly, and was supposed to be remote and charmless.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Disappointed

1/10
Author: Netta6 from United States
31 July 2007

Simply appalling! A Mother encouraging a daughter to sleep around? Disgusting is what it was. I have 5 daughters of my own. There is no way I would ever encourage them to have sex outside the bonds of marriage. This movie was billed as the "over protective mother" movie. It was just the opposite. An over protective mother looks out for a child, encouraging them to make good choices, to guard their virtue, and their morality. It may seem old fashioned, but they won't have STD's, and they won't have illegitimate children. They will also have a healthy relationship with no baggage. I was embarrassed for all those involved who sunk so low.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 19: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history