IMDb > Because I Said So (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Because I Said So
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Because I Said So More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 184 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Just simply bad

1/10
Author: diddel87 from United States
26 April 2013

I normally don't write reviews, but this movie was so bad I had to make it my mission. Unless you have some free time you don't care about wasting, please flip the channel. I'm currently recovering from a concussion so all I am able to do at the moment is watch movies. Watching this movie is more like trying to relive the rage you had with your own mother growing up. Acting is bad, cast is bad, script is bad, wardrobe is bad everything Is bad! I am really surprised that this horrendous movie only received one razzie award baffles me. Diane Keaton alone deserves a cpl of those. I don't understand the roles of the other two sisters as they bring absolutely nothing to the table.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pfft, because I said so.

2/10
Author: copperncherrio from United States
13 March 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I like the guy, the love interest, I like Mandy Moore. I usually like Diane Keaton, and she had some great clothing in this film. But, this is the most horrific waste of their talents.

When the movie started, I was happy with the pace and the closeness of the sisters and the mother… even though it bordered on the line of creepy, but they kept it kosher.

I was even fine with all the weirdness of the mother setting up dates for her daughter. Then soon it got illogical and annoying. Mandy Moore's character was charming at first but them just silly… to the point of stupid. And Diane Keaton has random scenes that did the impossible: make her into a stereotype of an overbearing mother who is pushy and annoying.

HOW THE DO YOU MAKE DIANE KEATON ANNOYING?!?!?! I really don't understand that. The person(s) who directed/wrote/produce has the talent to make actors that I once liked, annoying. You know, this movie had potential to head somewhere alright and semi-entertaining, but it was a massive fail.

DEAR GOD, the nagginess of the mother is summed up in the movie poster, pfft, because I said so.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Where's my gun?

1/10
Author: adamgf-1 from United States
17 September 2008

Halfway through this movie, I was thinking 'I wish Mandy Moore's character would come down with a case of terminal Cancer or catch genital warts or some other STD preferably AIDS from one of the squeaky clean 'Hi There!' guys she's going out with.' Or I was actually hoping somebody's head would just blow up and their brain matter would splat all across the wall in front of Diane Keaton so she could scream even louder. The only thing this movie needed was a shot of Diane Keaton masturbating. Who made this movie anyways? Confused mormons from Beverly Hills? Did John Tesh make this movie? Was Diane Keaton having a mid-life crisis or an almost over with crisis? The only thing I liked about this movie is that hot chick Lauren Graham. Why didn't they show her naked? That would at least make this movie maybe worth watching. No it wouldn't. I would like Mandy Moore but she needs to do more drugs and check herself into rehab or something. She at least needs to wear skimpier clothing and stop being so incredibly wholesome. If she weren't so perfect for this movie, I would say someone else should have been cast for her role. How come nobody in this movie had a tattoo or a tongue piercing? It was like going back to 'Leave it to Beaver' days but with Internet Porn!! Mandy needs to get a nose ring and have a threesome ...

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Had to turn the TV off. UNBEARABLE to watch.

1/10
Author: LittleFrida from Germany
14 April 2014

After 40 minutes - and that was too long already - I had to stop. Otherwise I would have thrown my TV out of the window.

4 women, constantly screaming all at the same time, wildly gesticulating, totally pointless and extremely un-funny dialogues, obviously an attempt to make all those hens coming along extraordinary unique, chaotic and oh so clumsy, yet so lovable - NOT.

It was the first movie I just couldn't sit through. THE HORROR.

The makers should be seriously ashamed of what they delivered here.

I couldn't even have a laugh about how miserable it was.

That is all.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Annoying movie about females who guilt trip each other

1/10
Author: mariondowning-427-469344 from America
9 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The title of my post sums it up really. This film is about a mother and her three daughters who talk in whiny voices and use tears to try and justify their behaviour and manipulate each other. The mother also lies to her daughters and sneaks around behind their backs to fulfil her own agendas.

Keaton's character reminded me of my mother who would try and guilt trip us about everything to control us and make us have no life so she wouldn't be alone. My sister bought the tears and 'loving' words such as "You can't leave home after everything I've done for you", "I am your mother and I love you very much, this is why I don't want you to be hurt", "You can't leave home because there are men waiting to rape you". Yeah really loving mother who was out for herself and didn't want us to choose our own lives and live them.

I was so angry while watching this film and was just waiting for Mandy Moore's character to do what she wanted- then she just ended up doing what her mother wanted anyway. The DVD would be a good door stop though, except door stops are cheaper.

If you don't like watching films about women guilt tripping each other and no comedy (even though they are labelled as such to manipulate you into watching), stay away from this glorified door stop at the video store.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

This movie is truly awful.

1/10
Author: scottyt from Melbourne
6 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is truly awful. Firstly the plot line and the narrative about a woman needing to find a man, whilst terribly clichéd also comes off as incredibly insulting. To top it off the characters are hardly worth any of viewers sympathy; such is script's and the director's focus on 'trivialising' situations which, in any other type of type of context, would seem appalling. In summary, a girl two-times two lovers, then gets caught, we are expected to 'sympathise' with her, because her 'mum made her do it', then in a truly disturbing chain of events, she ends up with the man of her dreams, after he realises he actually is in love with (despite the fact he was heart-broken only moments before)... Don't even get me started on the plot with the mother, Diane Keaton... she comes off as terribly controlling and desperate, but again we are supposed to 'sympathise' with her as the 'love (of her daughter) made her do it'. As if this wasn't already bad enough, the mother ends up marrying the father of her daughter's lover (both weird and wrong) but this is only after the daughter has tried to set her up with the 'uncle' of her 'other' lover! Confused? Confusion is your only saving grace here. Honestly, one of the worst...

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Annie Hall Dressed Up?

1/10
Author: (j.lacerra@yahoo.com) from Philadelphia
21 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a film about an unfunny and overbearing mother trying to find an acceptable (to her) mate for her last (of three)eligible daughter. These women are all attractive and smart enough to find their own men. But mom has an almost prurient interest in shaping their lives, including their sex lives. Keaton, a once reliable actress, cannot carry off the insane mother routine. Psychotic quirks that were humorous in, say, Baby Boom, here seem like just over-the-top hamming it up.

All the characters are card-carrying glib-cool-with it folks. The women are portrayed as vacuous consumerist nymphomaniacs, and the movie demeans the very women it purports to promote by driving home the relentless message of how shallow and one-dimensional they are: they live only for the next 'cute' guy, and sex.

The qualities that made Keaton, the quirky strength of her character in Baby Boom, and the quiet trusting vulnerability of Kaye Corleone, or the ragamuffin attractiveness of an Annie Hall, are all here, but on steroids. It really does not work for the Daphne character here; you just hate her!

I must admit I turned it off in disgust halfway through. This movie is demeaning to women. But far worse, it is bad cinema.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

what a romantic comedy should not be

1/10
Author: from Seimani
24 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The only one good thing about this movie is its being an example what a movie should not be. The mum played by Diane Keaton is acting really childish, there is no sense in what she's saying. It seems that her only problem was lack of sex, its indifferent for her, what man is with her daughter, until there is one. All the dialogs are unreal, because nobody actually listens to others, everyone is just shouting out loud.

The Mandy Moore character doesn't realize, what she is doing. She talks like a 5-year-old, doesn't bother much about future. Why does she think a musician is a good father ? Most of the time his dad is babysitting his son, who is making comments about people's penises and vaginae in public.

I cannot really understand how could anyone want to be connected with this film, after reading a script. Why make something this bad ?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Diane Keaton is the definition of a meddling mother

2/10
Author: MLDinTN from TN
7 November 2007

Keaton plays Daphne the mother of 3 girls. Her 2 oldest are married and she is so concerned about the youngest, Milly getting hitched. First of all Milly is in her early to mid 20s and Daphne is acting like she is an old maid. Milly dates but just hasn't found the right one, but her mother is so controlling she thinks she has to find a guy for her. So, she lists an ad on the internet. 2 guys start dating Milly whom met with Daphne. And what is gross is that Milly dates both guys but doesn't tell either one and gets very close with both. Talk about breaking hearts. It seems a little slutty for someone who is portrayed as sweet and successful. But what is worse is her mom is encouraging it.

There is just a lot of things that are not appropriate going on. What about in the beginning when the mom and sisters are waiting on Milly and call her to find out she is getting it on with some guy. That is not cute, that is sleazy. Plus at the end, the mom does the same thing.

Overall, it just wasn't a very good movie. Poor plot with characters you don't like.

FINAL VERDICT: Keaton is like nails on a chalkboard. And Moore is a 2 timing two nice guys. Why would you want it to work out for Milly when she is deceiving 2 nice guys. Simply, a waste.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Inconsequential Misfire Has an Over-the-Top Keaton Dominating an Underused Cast

2/10
Author: Ed Uyeshima from San Francisco, CA, USA
13 September 2007

When I watched Diane Keaton on Charlie Rose after 2005's The Family Stone was released, I was struck by what a laser-sharp, perceptive and funny non-conformist she continues to be when she is challenged to reveal herself. What an utter comedown to see this superb actress play such a dithering, overbearing and one-track character in this dismal 2007 misfire. Ostensibly a comedy with dramatic moments, this is exactly the type of unoriginal studio-manufactured product that gets released in the post-holiday box-office wasteland. Limply directed in handbook style by Michael Lehmann (who made the sharp black comedy, Heathers, and the infamous turkey, Hudson Hawk), there is barely a scene that rings true thanks primarily to the manipulative, formulaic screenplay by Karen Leigh Hopkins and Jessie Nelson. That this movie was ever green-lighted is the biggest wonder about the film.

The paper-thin plot has Keaton portray Daphne Wilder, the single mother of three grown daughters. About to turn sixty, she has already married off her two oldest, level-headed Maggie and sex-crazed Mae, and her overprotective nature will not allow her to rest until her youngest, Milly, is married. Daphne goes to the extreme of posting an online personal ad in order to interview potential suitors and finds two prospects - passively manipulative architect Jason and deceptively casual rock musician Johnny. Daphne's blueprint for a perfect husband is Jason, but Johnny figures out how to meet Milly on his own. Milly dates both men unbeknownst to each other. The standard complications ensue, not the least of which is how Daphne's long dormant libido is awakened by Johnny's easy-going dad Joe. The rest of the cast is serviceable at best and ill-used at worst. Mandy Moore is an appealing presence as the clumsy, endearing Milly, although she is overloaded with enough cutesy idiosyncrasies to make Keaton's own Annie Hall look relatively unaffected.

As Jason, Tom Everett Scott seems to play the same role over and over, the superficial yuppie who does not fare well upon closer inspection. By contrast, Gabriel Macht conveys the necessary sincerity to make the overly sensitive Johnny the more desirable prospect. As Maggie, Lauren Graham (Gilmore Girls) has at least one running gag as the psychiatrist to a hopeless nebbish (expertly played by Tony Hale of Arrested Development) to take advantage of her comic talent, but Piper Perabo (Imagine Me & You) is little more than a glorified extra as Mae. Stephen Collins plays the too-convenient-to-be-true Joe as if he walked off the set of 7th Heaven. When the movie is not dealing with Milly's eroding self-confidence, sitcom-level laughs seem to be the only aspiration that the sputtering script has. Saddest of all is Keaton who is encouraged to exaggerate all her mannerisms into a morass of fluttery excess, most conspicuously in an embarrassing meltdown scene that has her character lose her voice. The 2007 DVD is sparse on extras - a seven-minute making-of featurette, a five-minute short spotlighting the production design and food preparation, an unrelated iVillage ad and a music video of "World Spins Madly On" by the Weepies.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history