14 user 10 critic

A Crime (2006)

1:59 | Trailer

On Disc

at Amazon

Vincent's life is on hold until he finds his wife's killer. Alice, his neighbor, is convinced she can make him happy. She decides to invent a culprit, so that Vincent can find revenge and leave the past behind. But there is no ideal culprit and no perfect crime.



(scenario), (scenario)



Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Tough Luck (2003)
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

A tense and intricate web of deceit and betrayal entangles Archie, a wandering grifter who is hired by a traveling carnival owner to murder his beautiful wife.

Director: Gary Ellis
Stars: Norman Reedus, Marco St. John, Rick Negron
Thriller | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A loner American computer hacker is brought to Russia to commit bank fraud, only to find a family and love in the incomprehensible, violent, and chaotic Moscow underworld.

Director: Chris Solimine
Stars: Norman Reedus, Konstantin Yushkevich, Slava Schoot
Red Canyon (2008)
Action | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.8/10 X  

In Red Canyon, Regina and Devon return to their family home in the badlands of Utah to face the memory of a brutal attack - and put it behind them. But in coming home they awaken a killing ... See full summary »

Director: Giovanni Rodriguez
Stars: Christine Lakin, Tim Draxl, Katie Maguire
Hello Herman (2012)
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

Set in the not so distant future, in Any Town USA, sixteen year old Herman Howards makes a fateful decision. He enters his suburban school and kills thirty nine students, two teachers, and ... See full summary »

Director: Michelle Danner
Stars: Norman Reedus, Garrett Backstrom, Martha Higareda
Dark Harbor (1998)
Thriller | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

A bickering couple drive fast through a downpour to catch the last ferry to their island retreat. In a flash, they recognize a crumpled body laying at the side of the road after much ... See full summary »

Director: Adam Coleman Howard
Stars: Alan Rickman, Polly Walker, Norman Reedus
Floating (1997)
Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.7/10 X  

Floating is the story of a young man's struggle to come of age during a violent period of emotional and financial bankruptcy. The film stars Norman Reedus as Van, a son shouldering the ... See full summary »

Director: William Roth
Stars: Norman Reedus, Chad Lowe, Will Lyman
Comedy | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

Eighteen-year-old mothers' son Harry (he lives with his overprotective mother Kate) shows his cruel side at one occasion and is hired as hitman/enforcer by the Jewish mob.

Director: Adam Bernstein
Stars: Norman Reedus, Debbie Harry, Adrien Brody
8 Uhr 28 (2010)
Drama | Romance | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A married woman runs a successful gallery and falls for a man she met accidentally.

Director: Christian Alvart
Stars: Nadeshda Brennicke, Mehdi Nebbou, Mark Waschke
Beat (2000)
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.6/10 X  

The story of writer William Seward Burroughs and his wife.

Director: Gary Walkow
Stars: Courtney Love, Kiefer Sutherland, Lisa Sheridan
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.5/10 X  

A French couple's (Emmanuelle Béart, Michaël Cohen) passionate love-hate relationship unfolds from the point of its dissolution.

Director: Michaël Cohen
Stars: Emmanuelle Béart, Michaël Cohen, Léopold Kraus
Action | Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.8/10 X  

An assassin is hired to kill the men responsible for kidnapping an important man's son. With every death, the killer gets closer to the last kidnapper's name.

Director: Max Makowski
Stars: Francis Ng, Lung Ti, Vivian Hsu
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

A thesis picture: is Western Europe turning a blind eye to the dangers of Islamic fundamentalism? Professor Alceo Bandini believes so. He writes and lectures to a few students at a Roman ... See full summary »

Director: Renzo Martinelli
Stars: Harvey Keitel, Jane March, Jordi Mollà


Cast overview, first billed only:
Roger Culkin
Alice Parker
Vincent Harris
Li Huang
Jonathan Lam ...
Natalie Caron ...
Ben Wang ...
Chinese man
Stephen Payne ...


While returning home after fixing the lights of a billboard, the worker Vincent Harris passes by a taxi with a damage door panel. When Vincent arrives home, he finds his wife murdered on the floor of the living room. He claims that the driver was wearing a red jacket and a ring with a large stone. Three years later, he lives in Brooklyn but is still chasing the killer of his wife. His dysfunctional neighbor Alice Parker has a crush on him, but Vincent is haunted by the ghosts of his past. When Alice meets the cab driver Roger Culkin out of the blue, she seduces him, damages his taxi and gives a red jacked and a ring to him. Then she forces him to meet Vincent, inventing a culprit to release Vincent from his past and stay with her. Written by Claudio Carvalho, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis


The victim could be anyone


Crime | Thriller

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for sexual content, language and some violence | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:






Release Date:

11 October 2006 (France)  »

Also Known As:

A Crime - Späte Rache  »

Filming Locations:


Box Office


$7,000,000 (estimated)
See more on IMDbPro »

Company Credits

Show more on  »

Technical Specs



Sound Mix:


Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »

Did You Know?


Alice open Vincent's apartment door with a key but a closer shot shows, when the door closes, that the lock uses a magnetic card like in hotels. See more »


References The Engagement Ring (2005) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Excellent thriller in the tradition of Henri-Georges Clouzot and René Clément
28 June 2007 | by See all my reviews

Some people might have two problems with the film: 1. It's rather old fashioned (which is a good thing in my opinion, I don't like the regular hyped mainstream trash). The plot is the kind of story that could come from a novel of Patricia Highsmith, and the look of the film is more like it's from the late 70's or early 80's. 2. The pretty complex story with a lot of strange (and maybe) almost unbelievable coincidences. And you don't get a simple positive character for identification. Exact the same way many french thrillers from the good old times were working (especially those of Clouzot). Though sometimes these films seem a bit too over-constructed (and I must admit I had this problem when I first saw Clouzot's "Les Diaboliques", 1955). But when you accept this (and life itself sometimes surprises us with strange coincidences too), you will see an excellent, very emotional thriller with great performances. You'll never know what happens next!

29 of 41 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you? | Report this
Review this title | See all 14 user reviews »

Contribute to This Page

15 Most Bingeable TV Shows

"The IMDb Show" presents the 15 most bingeable TV shows of all time, featuring "Rick and Morty," "The Office," and "Lost."

Watch now