MOVIEmeter
SEE RANK
Down 1,867 this week

A Crime (2006)

R  |   |  Crime, Thriller  |  11 October 2006 (France)
5.8
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 5.8/10 from 1,481 users  
Reviews: 14 user | 9 critic

Vincent's life is on hold until he finds his wife's killer. Alice, his neighbor, is convinced she can make him happy. She decides to invent a culprit, so that Vincent can find revenge and leave the past behind. But there is no ideal culprit and no perfect crime...

Director:

Writers:

(scenario), (scenario)
Watch Trailer
0Check in
0Share...

On Disc

at Amazon

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 47 titles
created 11 Jan 2011
 
a list of 237 titles
created 04 Jan 2012
 
NR
a list of 28 titles
created 10 months ago
 
a list of 49 titles
created 2 months ago
 
a list of 49 titles
created 1 month ago
 

Related Items

Search for "A Crime" on Amazon.com

Connect with IMDb


Share this Rating

Title: A Crime (2006)

A Crime (2006) on IMDb 5.8/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of A Crime.

Videos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Dark Harbor (1998)
Thriller | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A bickering couple drive fast through a downpour to catch the last ferry to their island retreat. In a flash, they recognize a crumpled body laying at the side of the road after much ... See full summary »

Director: Adam Coleman Howard
Stars: Alan Rickman, Polly Walker, Norman Reedus
Comedy | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

Eighteen-year-old mothers' son Harry (he lives with his overprotective mother Kate) shows his cruel side at one occasion and is hired as hitman/enforcer by the Jewish mob.

Director: Adam Bernstein
Stars: Norman Reedus, Deborah Harry, Adrien Brody
Beat (2000)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.6/10 X  

The story of writer William Seward Burroughs and his wife.

Director: Gary Walkow
Stars: Courtney Love, Kiefer Sutherland, Lisa Sheridan
Floating (1997)
Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.6/10 X  

Floating is the story of a young man's struggle to come of age during a violent period of emotional and financial bankruptcy. The film stars Norman Reedus as Van, a son shouldering the ... See full summary »

Director: William Roth
Stars: Norman Reedus, Chad Lowe, Will Lyman
Octane (2003)
Horror | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.2/10 X  

While on a late night road trip home, a woman must save her rebellious teenage daughter who runs off with a bizarre group of blood-letting psychos.

Director: Marcus Adams
Stars: Madeleine Stowe, Norman Reedus, Bijou Phillips
Luster (2002)
Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.4/10 X  

Luster is a refreshingly funny and sexy look at unrequited love. Jackson, a cute, lanky, blue-haired poet who works in a record store, is at the center of Everett Lewis' twisted black LA ... See full summary »

Director: Everett Lewis
Stars: Justin Herwick, B. Wyatt, Shane Powers
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.2/10 X  

Nearing his 60th birthday, a movie producer discovers that he may have less than a year to live as a result of inoperable cancer. The effects of his disease take the toll on him and his ... See full summary »

Director: Bruce Wagner
Stars: Frank Langella, Daniel von Bargen, Rosanna Arquette
Action | Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.8/10 X  

An assassin is hired to kill the men responsible for kidnapping an important man's son. With every death, the killer gets closer to the last kidnapper's name.

Director: Max Makowski
Stars: Francis Ng, Lung Ti, Vivian Hsu
Gossip I (2000)
Drama | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

Three college students base their class project around gossip and how fast it spreads, which soon spirals out of control.

Director: Davis Guggenheim
Stars: James Marsden, Lena Headey, Norman Reedus
Walls (2006)
Short | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.7/10 X  

It's midnight at The Court, a dirty ashtray of a rock club, and the tension is high. Music is blaring, beer is flowing and singer Keith Waters is about to get decked. "You didn't have to ... See full summary »

Director: Jack Roberts
Stars: Jayce Bartok, Tischa Culver, Kelli Giddish
Clown (2008)
Short | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.4/10 X  
Director: Tate Steinsiek
Stars: Peter Greene, Norman Reedus, Paul Sampson
Dead*Line (2008)
Short | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 8.4/10 X  

Seth is an ex-con who desires one thing: revenge upon the abusive guard who tortured him in prison. Hollis is a guard who believes he properly delivers 'God's justice.' Now exonerated, Seth... See full summary »

Director: Joseph Bakhash
Stars: Sarah Jones, Chris Mulkey, Norman Reedus
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
Roger Culkin
...
...
...
Bill
...
...
Ashley
...
Joe
...
Ben
...
Will
Clem Cheung ...
Li Huang
Jonathan Lam ...
Baby-Face
...
Scott
Natalie Caron ...
Jenny
Ben Wang ...
Chinese man
...
Mark
Edit

Storyline

While returning home after fixing the lights of a billboard, the worker Vincent Harris passes by a taxi with a damage door panel. When Vincent arrives home, he finds his wife murdered on the floor of the living room. He claims that the driver was wearing a red jacket and a ring with a large stone. Three years later, he lives in Brooklyn but is still chasing the killer of his wife. His dysfunctional neighbor Alice Parker has a crush on him, but Vincent is haunted by the ghosts of his past. When Alice meets the cab driver Roger Culkin out of the blue, she seduces him, damages his taxi and gives a red jacked and a ring to him. Then she forces him to meet Vincent, inventing a culprit to release Vincent from his past and stay with her. Written by Claudio Carvalho, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

taxi | taxi driver | sex | prison | dog | See All (13) »

Genres:

Crime | Thriller

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for sexual content, language and some violence | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

|

Language:

Release Date:

11 October 2006 (France)  »

Also Known As:

A Crime - Späte Rache  »

Filming Locations:


Box Office

Budget:

$7,000,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

|

Sound Mix:

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Goofs

Alice open Vincent's apartment door with a key but a closer shot shows, when the door closes, that the lock uses a magnetic card like in hotels. See more »

Connections

References The Engagement Ring (2005) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Excellent thriller in the tradition of Henri-Georges Clouzot and René Clément
28 June 2007 | by (Germany) – See all my reviews

Some people might have two problems with the film: 1. It's rather old fashioned (which is a good thing in my opinion, I don't like the regular hyped mainstream trash). The plot is the kind of story that could come from a novel of Patricia Highsmith, and the look of the film is more like it's from the late 70's or early 80's. 2. The pretty complex story with a lot of strange (and maybe) almost unbelievable coincidences. And you don't get a simple positive character for identification. Exact the same way many french thrillers from the good old times were working (especially those of Clouzot). Though sometimes these films seem a bit too over-constructed (and I must admit I had this problem when I first saw Clouzot's "Les Diaboliques", 1955). But when you accept this (and life itself sometimes surprises us with strange coincidences too), you will see an excellent, very emotional thriller with great performances. You'll never know what happens next!


24 of 35 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
need help my dog in movie mortypro
Music andre_lopez
awesome boltoflightning
The Trailer's up kaitie-may
in theatres? futureCSI
Beart - awful in English coisty
Discuss A Crime (2006) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?