MOVIEmeter
SEE RANK
Down 3,289 this week

A Crime (2006)

R  |   |  Crime, Thriller  |  11 October 2006 (France)
5.8
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 5.8/10 from 1,503 users  
Reviews: 14 user | 9 critic

Vincent's life is on hold until he finds his wife's killer. Alice, his neighbor, is convinced she can make him happy. She decides to invent a culprit, so that Vincent can find revenge and leave the past behind. But there is no ideal culprit and no perfect crime...

Director:

Writers:

(scenario), (scenario)
Watch Trailer
0Check in
0Share...

On Disc

at Amazon

Interview: Magic Mike

The Magic Mike XXL guys give some relationship advice to a 74-year-old fan.

Watch Now

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 47 titles
created 11 Jan 2011
 
a list of 440 titles
created 26 Jun 2012
 
a list of 23 titles
created 09 Feb 2013
 
NR
a list of 28 titles
created 25 May 2014
 
a list of 23 titles
created 5 months ago
 

Related Items

Search for "A Crime" on Amazon.com

Connect with IMDb


Share this Rating

Title: A Crime (2006)

A Crime (2006) on IMDb 5.8/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of A Crime.

Videos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Dark Harbor (1998)
Thriller | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A bickering couple drive fast through a downpour to catch the last ferry to their island retreat. In a flash, they recognize a crumpled body laying at the side of the road after much ... See full summary »

Director: Adam Coleman Howard
Stars: Alan Rickman, Polly Walker, Norman Reedus
Comedy | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

Eighteen-year-old mothers' son Harry (he lives with his overprotective mother Kate) shows his cruel side at one occasion and is hired as hitman/enforcer by the Jewish mob.

Director: Adam Bernstein
Stars: Norman Reedus, Deborah Harry, Adrien Brody
Hello Herman (2012)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.8/10 X  

Set in the not so distant future, in Any Town USA, sixteen year old Herman Howards makes a fateful decision. He enters his suburban school and kills thirty nine students, two teachers, and ... See full summary »

Director: Michelle Danner
Stars: Norman Reedus, Garrett Backstrom, Martha Higareda
Sand (2000)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

A young man tries running from his past by hiding from his two violent brothers, only to have them track and harass him and his friends.

Director: Matt Palmieri
Stars: Michael Vartan, Norman Reedus, Kari Wuhrer
Beat (2000)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.6/10 X  

The story of writer William Seward Burroughs and his wife.

Director: Gary Walkow
Stars: Courtney Love, Kiefer Sutherland, Lisa Sheridan
Hero Wanted (2008)
Action | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  

After he awakens in a hospital, a man tracks down and murders the man that left him and a bank teller for dead during a robbery, only to end up having the slain thief's associates come after him in retaliation.

Director: Brian Smrz
Stars: Cuba Gooding Jr., Ray Liotta, Tommy Flanagan
Crime | Thriller | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

In this updated version of Shakespeare's Hamlet, a young man comes face-to-face with personal treachery after suspecting that his father may have been murdered.

Director: Stacy Title
Stars: Jonathan Penner, Randall Batinkoff, Norman Reedus
8 Uhr 28 (2010)
Drama | Romance | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  
Director: Christian Alvart
Stars: Nadeshda Brennicke, Mehdi Nebbou, Mark Waschke
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.2/10 X  

Nearing his 60th birthday, a movie producer discovers that he may have less than a year to live as a result of inoperable cancer. The effects of his disease take the toll on him and his ... See full summary »

Director: Bruce Wagner
Stars: Frank Langella, Daniel von Bargen, Rosanna Arquette
Meskada (2010)
Crime | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

Passions run high when hope for a economically strapped town seems blocked by the investigation of a murdered kid, son of a county commissioner.

Director: Josh Sternfeld
Stars: Nick Stahl, Rachel Nichols, Kellan Lutz
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  
Director: Isabelle Brocard
Stars: Emmanuelle Béart, Hafsia Herzi, Laurent Grévill
À boire (2004)
Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

Three disparate people meet in a bizarre skiing accident: a doctor who had just been left by his wife, a beautiful but direction less woman, and the bumbling Algerian man who caused the ... See full summary »

Director: Marion Vernoux
Stars: Emmanuelle Béart, Edouard Baer, Atmen Kelif
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
Roger Culkin
...
...
...
Bill
...
...
Ashley
...
Joe
...
Ben
...
Will
Clem Cheung ...
Li Huang
Jonathan Lam ...
Baby-Face
...
Scott
Natalie Caron ...
Jenny
Ben Wang ...
Chinese man
...
Mark
Edit

Storyline

While returning home after fixing the lights of a billboard, the worker Vincent Harris passes by a taxi with a damage door panel. When Vincent arrives home, he finds his wife murdered on the floor of the living room. He claims that the driver was wearing a red jacket and a ring with a large stone. Three years later, he lives in Brooklyn but is still chasing the killer of his wife. His dysfunctional neighbor Alice Parker has a crush on him, but Vincent is haunted by the ghosts of his past. When Alice meets the cab driver Roger Culkin out of the blue, she seduces him, damages his taxi and gives a red jacked and a ring to him. Then she forces him to meet Vincent, inventing a culprit to release Vincent from his past and stay with her. Written by Claudio Carvalho, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

taxi | taxi driver | sex | prison | dog | See All (13) »

Genres:

Crime | Thriller

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for sexual content, language and some violence | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

|

Language:

Release Date:

11 October 2006 (France)  »

Also Known As:

A Crime - Späte Rache  »

Filming Locations:


Box Office

Budget:

$7,000,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

|

Sound Mix:

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Goofs

Alice open Vincent's apartment door with a key but a closer shot shows, when the door closes, that the lock uses a magnetic card like in hotels. See more »

Connections

References The Engagement Ring (2005) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Excellent thriller in the tradition of Henri-Georges Clouzot and René Clément
28 June 2007 | by (Germany) – See all my reviews

Some people might have two problems with the film: 1. It's rather old fashioned (which is a good thing in my opinion, I don't like the regular hyped mainstream trash). The plot is the kind of story that could come from a novel of Patricia Highsmith, and the look of the film is more like it's from the late 70's or early 80's. 2. The pretty complex story with a lot of strange (and maybe) almost unbelievable coincidences. And you don't get a simple positive character for identification. Exact the same way many french thrillers from the good old times were working (especially those of Clouzot). Though sometimes these films seem a bit too over-constructed (and I must admit I had this problem when I first saw Clouzot's "Les Diaboliques", 1955). But when you accept this (and life itself sometimes surprises us with strange coincidences too), you will see an excellent, very emotional thriller with great performances. You'll never know what happens next!


25 of 36 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
need help my dog in movie mortypro
Music andre_lopez
awesome boltoflightning
The Trailer's up kaitie-may
in theatres? futureCSI
Beart - awful in English coisty
Discuss A Crime (2006) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?