IMDb > Big Nothing (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Big Nothing
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Big Nothing More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 80 reviews in total 

90 out of 111 people found the following review useful:

My BN comments

9/10
Author: wing6704 from United Kingdom
23 April 2007

I have been reading through reviews of this movie after I watched it and I have to say I completely disagree with a lot of the overly harsh comments.

Simply put this is a fantastic 'fun' movie. The dark humour is perfectly balanced and fits snugly in the story without stepping over the line that may insult or even alienate some viewers. Indeed the film will appeal to a variety of people, casting it's target audience nets far and wide.

Kudos to the DoP, the cinematography in this film is fantastic and solid throughout. There was never a dull shot I thought was out of place, it suited and told the story well. Not far behind is the lighting which is also incredible. So many shots stick in my mind, and I'm sure I may even borrow a few of the lighting arrangements on my own productions.

Acting is also good, something which has also been picked at. Pegg pulls off a surprisingly good American accent as does his female counterpart. It was also nice to see Schwimmer on the big screen again, the role shows a small detour from his usual characters. I found the characters were believable in their relationship to one another, something which is very difficult to establish in the time it accomplished.

I suggest people give this movie a chance. Make your own minds on what you think rather than rolling with what the critics say. The film isn't a masterpiece by any means, just bloody good fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

91 out of 115 people found the following review useful:

Original, disturbing, hilarious!

10/10
Author: medina from United Kingdom
3 December 2006

This movie really caught me by surprise. I hadn't heard about it until about two days before the release and decided to give it a chance. I didn't regret it! Big Nothing is the story of two nice losers who decide to blackmail a porn-addicted priest. A fool-proof plan. Needless to say, everything goes wrong. Big Nothing made me laugh my head off and managed to shock me quite a few times, which is what made it so unique. Superficially, it might look like another crime caper but the sheer number of twists and turns and the fun factor of the whole thing really sets it apart from the rest of the pack. And just when you think you get the gist of it, the tone itself changes, and you're leaving the caper behind to plunge into a downright Gothic, although still hilarious, movie. It's a very intense ride which made me feel almost battered after the screening. My friends reacted in pretty much the same way. We laughed so hard we cried, and we jumped our of our seats quite a few times. I suspect some people will be disturbed by the tone change, but that's what makes the movie so unique in my opinion. It seems to get great reviews overall, although I read a couple of nasty ones in the press. Those guys are probably too old for that kind of ride, and I actually wouldn't recommend it to anyone wearing a pacemaker. Nothing's perfect in this world, although I have a hard time finding what I didn't like. Kick-ass soundtrack and photography complemented the storyline perfectly. A fantastically punk movie. Disco-lovers should give it a miss! This was my very first review. More to come!

Was the above review useful to you?

98 out of 131 people found the following review useful:

Funniest film I've seen in a LONG time...

10/10
Author: Limbastic from London
30 November 2006

As a huge fan of the likes of Tarrantino, Fincher, and the Coen brothers, I'm betting that the skewed nature of the comedy is not going to be for everyone, but if you like your movies heavy on the WTF quotient, this one's for you.

I saw it at the Cardiff Film Festival last week, and the audience couldn't get enough of it. Really a fun "laughing your arse off" kind of a time. The twists, surprises, and laughs build and build to an ending which I won't give away but was not at all what I expected. Pegg and Schwimmer are a crack comedy duo, but the addition of Eve to the antics ups the ante nicely. It loses a star for taking a bit longer to get going than I would have liked, but I'm not quite sure how I would have cracked that particular nut.

All in all, this film's got more energy sparking off it than anything that's come down the pipe in quite a while. Will be seeing it again this weekend with my mates. GO BIG NOTHING!

Was the above review useful to you?

83 out of 112 people found the following review useful:

Didn't want it to end!!!!!

10/10
Author: bbcfac from London
31 October 2006

Just saw Big Nothing at a press screening and absolutely loved it. It's hilariously dark and funny. I'd rather not reveal anything of the plot but let's just say there are plenty of laugh out loud moments, yet sometimes, the film is surprisingly tense, keeping you on the edge of your seat. I love Simon Pegg, and though I was skeptical of pairing him with Schwimmer, I have to say the two work brilliantly together. Schwimmer couldn't be further from his Friends character, and Pegg is, well, Pegg! Judging from the reaction of the audience around me, this should be a hit. Can't wait to go back and see it again. Only criticism, I would've loved 15 more minutes, but at the same time, I did enjoy the crazy pace of the movie. Oh, and the soundtrack rocks!

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

Very amusing crime caper

9/10
Author: Stressqueen from London, England
4 December 2006

This certainly isn't a critics movie. OK, so Big Nothing isn't the most original film in the world. Blackmail attempt goes horribly wrong, etc. etc. I can also see how some people have problems with seeing Simon Pegg as an American.

HOWEVER, in it's defence, 'Big Nothing' is a lot of fun, is snappy, stylish, well paced and all in all a very enjoyable piece of film making. I found it really funny (I loved Mimi Rogers' quip about Pink Floyd), and the film got a good reaction from the rest of audience too. If you're after a good old slice of entertainment then Big Nothing is worth seeing. Definitely a 'Friday night' with popcorn type of viewing.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

A Must See Movie!

10/10
Author: rockets32 from United Kingdom
14 May 2007

Big Nothing is a great comedy, with plot twists and humour all the way through this movie. I found that the movie started off nice and quickly and which really gets you right into the story. I think that David Schwimmer is amazing and also Simon Pegg playing as Gus, as the two actors are a great combination and also Alice Eve acted well. Being honest i didn't wont this movie to end...

The story will NOT bore you at all, through the beginning, middle and end. i liked the movie a lot because of the cast, story plot and surprises through out the movie. It would of been nicer with an extra few minutes in the film because of the length, but there is many extras on the DVD, to view. Highly Recommended as a top movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

Pegg/Schwimmer the new Pegg/Frost

8/10
Author: specialbobby from canterbury, england
5 May 2007

I just watched Big Trouble with absolutely no expectations, how could i, it had a very limited release in my area and almost no publicity alongside some terrible press reviews, i don't think it even has US release date yet and made no dent at the UK box office.

Along came the DVD and because Simon Pegg and David Schwimmer are in it i was compelled to give it a chance and to my surprise the critics judge to harshly again, this film is 82mins of pure fun, great chemistry between the two leads, an easy going quirky script and some nice dark touches with some great plot twist.

The film escapes its low budget by not looking like it was filmed in the isle of Man and North wales, believe me i looked for the cracks, they didn't show.

Watching the DVD extras its clear these guys had a great time making the movie and I'm pleased to see Pegg/Schwimmer have teamed up again for Run Fatboy Run, lets hope they work as well together again.

If you like a light hearted black comedy then you could do a lot worse than watch this little gem, ignore the reviews and take a look for yourself and if your in the US why not get hold of a copy on import, you won't be disappointed.

p.s Kudos goes to the lollipop.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

A gritty and hilarious black comedy.

10/10
Author: maz underscore from Australia
29 April 2007

Big Nothing is a wonderfully black comedy with a tight twisted plot line, a very well chosen soundtrack and perfect acting. It's fast passed, interesting and very funny.

Simon Pegg is just amazing as con man Gus and even David Schwimmer is surprisingly wonderful as the misguided Charlie. The supporting cast is also brilliant, especially the surprise of Mimi Rogers as Mrs. Smalls.

Although this films plot isn't completely original and you can tell where the writer got a lot of his ideas from; the acting, direction and cinematography really make it something special and worth watching.

It's strange seeing the very talented British comedian Simon Pegg in the role of a burly American con man, but he really does pull it off and if you had any doubts about him as a character actor before this film should set that straight. He is just wonderful.

Although I enjoyed Schwimmers acting in this, I thought his character could've been a little more developed as someone who was a little more desperate for money. His relationship with his wife could've been explored a little more too.

Big nothing has everything a good black comedy should have and more.

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic Movie

10/10
Author: anneomminous from United States
11 July 2007

This movie is a great action, thriller, suspense comedy. Definitely not your usual David Schwimmer movie, it's much better than that. It would seem he took this role to demonstrate his full range as an actor, and he succeeds in breaking out of his "Friends" typecast quite well. I can't believe it didn't make it to theaters. Definitely rent the DVD. The score was also pretty good. If you have seen director Jean-Baptiste Andrea's other film, DEAD END, you'll find this one much improved over his first effort. The writing is much improved, and the production clearly benefited from a bigger budget. There is a lot of stuff going on between these characters, and the dynamics between them change all the time, so the movie never gets predictable. Great stuff all around.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

You're In For A Dark Thrill

Author: Chrysanthepop from Fraggle Rock
18 May 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I heard about this film from a friend who loved it. Being a fan of Pegg and Schwimmer, I myself was enthusiastic. Finally, I got to watch it last night and was blown away by its style, slickness, very dark humour and wit. I'd advise one to watch it later at night, as most of the film takes place in the night and it just has a nocturnal feel to it. Trust me, you won't fall asleep because 'Big Nothing' won't let you. It moves at an extremely fast pace but given the length of the movie (87 minutes) I wish it was a little longer. It starts off by introducing Charlie as an unemployed who finds a boring job at a call centre, where he meets Gus giving one the impression that it's a drama film but once the two are fired, the film really moves at full gear and the slickness builds up more and more. The music contributes to that. Andrea and Asher's writing is solid. Though it is essentially a black comedy one really sympathizes with the characters and at certain points feels both sad for them and laughs at them. As director and writer Jean-Baptiste Andrea clearly knows what he's doing as he leads the film without derailing at any point. David Schwimmer and Simon Pegg as the two moronic losers are spot on. Schwimmer does show some mannerisms of Ross Gellar from 'Friends' but still does a great job. It's a bit funny to hear Pegg speak with an American accent (and it doesn't really appear natural) but that's perhaps because I'm used to his Brit way of speaking. But, on the other hand, his character is a former (?) con-artist, so Gus may not be an American at all. Nonetheless, Pegg's awesome. Pegg and Schwimmer have worked again in 'Run Fatboy Run', a hilarious comedy only here they work as director and actor instead of co-actors. Alice Eve as the young nymphet is very good as is Natasha McElhone (who's accent, at times, sounds forced). Mimi Rogers is there for one scene but it is a very funny scene. 'Big Nothing' deals with strong themes such as 'crime does not pay' or 'money not being the solution to happiness' and ends in a wonderfully ironic way as: Josie the Wyoming Widow (a murderess) comes across the Oregon Undertaker, (former) conman Gus is conned in the end, and Charlie finally receives an offer to have his book published but he already chose an alternative route which leads to a different destiny. His wife tells him that one doesn't need money to be happy and he realizes that she was right but it's too late. This little black comedy is a thrill ride all the way.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history