IMDb > Wo ist Fred? (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wo ist Fred?
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wo ist Fred? More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

19 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

good for a laugh but not much more

7/10
Author: offenes_meer from Germany
17 December 2006

As has been said before, German citizens don't always think too much of German comedy films. Too often these are VERY obvious, blatant, superficial etc. - you name it. Seems we have a different culture here, if you compare to films like Dumb and Dumber, Jay and Silent Bob, Jim Carey stuff etc. you will find that in Germany this kind of film is more or less restricted to the age 12 to 16 where you will want to laugh and not think about plot lines, stringency of characters and story etc. So, let's leave aside a number of flaws in the plot and some not very credible twists. Sitting in the cinema, this film actually makes you roll of your chair a couple of times and has some really good gags - most of them drawing on ridiculous situations and confrontations. Although handicapped persons play quite a role (sometimes wondered, which were actors and which actually handicapped ..) they are neither being made fun of, nor exploited. Rather, some concern for their situation is raised. The thing that saves this film is the actors. Alexandra Maria Lara is more beautiful than ever and will make male viewers shrink in their seats in awe. Christoph Maria Herbst (Maria btw. can be a male or female second name in German) offers a wild and extremely convincing role as a wheelchair-confined basket ball fan (stay on for the snippet that comes up after the first credits at the end of the film!). Including one of the best dialogues I have seen acted in a long time: Herbst, having hurt himself badly is pensively picking a glass splinter from his shoulder when Denise asks 'are you hurt?' and he replies matter-of-factedly 'how come you ask?' not even looking at her. Till Schweiger has been bashed quite a bit in Germany - which seems 'normal' with any actor having too much success. Jealousy, I'd say. It can be said, that he is not too much of a character actor and mostly 'sells' his good looks. In this film he actually does offer a fair performance. Playing the grumbly guy with a bad conscience fits him well. I've never heard of neither the director nor the script author, but maybe we will be seeing some new quality work in German cinema soon?

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Best comedy of the last years ... and it's a German one !!

9/10
Author: exfd01 from Germany
18 November 2007

A man in love will marry his girlfriend but first he has to get a signed basket ball for her wayward son - but only handicapped fans have the chance to get one. Seems like the only way to get this ball is visiting a basketball match as a handicapped ... Really equal to Hollywood productions! One gag after another, finest slapstick, no sensitive humor but crashing gags the entire movie. Jürgen Vogel and Til Schweiger at it's best! Alexandra Maria Lara plays the "emotional" part - absolutely lovely! And Christof Maria Herbst has been the best handicapped nasty person at all!! And about piety of handicapped people - no gag at the expenses of disabled people! We've got a severely disabled child and have been amused and laughing during the whole movie!

Absolutely recommendable!!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

The Good German (Comedy)

8/10
Author: Thekingofdudes
30 October 2006

Saw this movie tonight in our local preview sneak - i have to say i'm a German citizen and not (really NOT) fond of our native movies, specifically comedies...but this movie was fun, really fun! The story follows Fred, who is engaged and not fully accepted by his lover's son. To win his friendship he has to get him the ball of the game from the Berlin basketball teal Alba. The clue is: only handicapped persons are given the game ball. To what leads this? Fred takes a wheel chair and is faking a handicap to win the ball and with it his lover's son's respect. The movie could be described as a German Farrelly like movie, as for the jokes pointed at handicapped persons...but these jokes are not insulting, they're really funny. As is the whole movie. And the best thing is....it has Alexandra Maria Lara in it!!! To tell you something: Lara looks sinfully good in this picture, she is astonishingly beautiful. What's left to say is, that if you like to have some 90minutes of fun, watch this picture - it's the best German comedy in years (and don't mind Til Schweiger, he is not that bad either)!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Nice comedy with some serious themes

7/10
Author: hepe-1 from Germany
9 November 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have just seen this in sneak preview.

It is a nice and lively German comedy dealing with some serious issues like disabled people, prejudices, love and the education of children.

besides that it is full of hilarious slapstick and comedy. the end is a little bit foreseeable but as the love story unfolds very slow it is still a very entertaining film.

the actors are quite good, unfortunately some of them are reduced to cliché stereotypes. altogether i rate it seven for the unconventional story, good actors and very good humor.

definitely worth a video if not the cinema.

Was the above review useful to you?

Fred on his way to the right one

6/10
Author: Thomas (filmreviews@web.de) from Berlin, Germany
10 February 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Where is Fred?" is a German film from almost 10 years ago starring Til Schweiger, Alexandra Maria Lara, Jürgen Vogel and some more well-known actors, at least in Germany. The story is about a man, who ends up accidentally being perceived as disabled by the general public when he tries to catch a ball for his future wife's son. The film's director is Anno Saul. You may have heard of his films "Die Tür" or "Kebab Connection" and he directed Martina Gedeck and Jessica Schwarz in the past already and many more. The film is written by Bora Dagtekin ("Türkisch für Anfänger", "Fack ju, Göhte"). He used a script from an American writer duo that was behind the "Despicable Me" movies and "The Lorax". The American version of "Wo ist Fred?" was never made though in contrast to the German.

Even before the plot really develops, there are already quite a few references that this film will have a lot to do with disability, for example how Fred almost drives over a disabled early on, or how Kurt Krömer's character criticizes a building site for not being handicapped accessible. One of the main problems for me was that I found the love interest to Vogel's character simply more interesting than the one to Schweiger's. but that's just personal preference. I liked some of the supporting performances too. The initial love interest for Fred was truly one of the funny highlights with her psycho son and Christoph Maria Herbst delivers as always of course too. His fake attack fit the film nicely. A real one may have been too serious for a comedy movie. Also it was nice to see my favorite "No Angel" in a very small role. Honorable mentions to Gode Benedix (works a lot with Schweiger) and Martin Brambach (one of my favs). Shame the two only play very minor characters. Still I felt the movie could have been kept at 90 minutes instead of clearly over 100 and, without some of the weaker scenes, not much would have been lost. Maybe this applies to when Schweiger invents a twin brother and constantly switches between characters. This has been done better in "Hannah Montana: The Movie" actually. The funniest moment for me though was when he comes as the wrong role to the woman with the evil son and she asks him if he completely lost it now. The ending is sadly as predictable as it's cheesy. The whole love confession scene in the basketball stadium was truly cringeworthy.

All in all, it is a decent comedy and I would recommend it to those with an interest in German cinema. However, those who are easily offended when it comes to jokes about disabled people may want to stay away as the humor is occasionally a bit rough here.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Would have been the same in the USA

6/10
Author: trixi_sunshine from Germany
20 November 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well, I read that the plot is based on an American script (the most obvious sign of that is that it is about basketball, no one really cares about it in Germany) but they withdrew because they considered it too politically incorrect.

But having seen some of the Farrelly Brothers' movies, I really wonder why. Although the subject of handicapped persons and how to treat them is not sufficiently dealt with it contains a few laughs. Once more I wonder how Til Schweiger of all people could become so famous, definitely the worst part of the crew, once more. Must be his looks.

But the others compensate for it, especially the little fat kid who wants to have the basketball. What makes this film worthwhile is the cast consisting of Jürgen Vogel who usually excels in more serious roles and Christoph Maria Herbst who embodies a real handicapped person and a real basketball aficionado. Alexandra Maria Lara looks good too, granted.

It would be pointless to give away the plot because you'll figure it out after 5 minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

German cinema, where art thou?

2/10
Author: Christian Heynk from Germany
22 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Alexandra Maria Lara: A very beautiful and enticing woman, but not a good actress. In all the films I've seen her in, she appears to me as the exact same character. Whether it be in THE DOWNFALL, NACKT, VOM SUCHEN UND FINDEN DER LIEBE and now WO IST FRED! She always is (plays?) the young, good-hearted woman, who is a little naive and doesn't know how to handle the things happening to her. She disposes of a repertoire of probably five different facial expressions that she works with abundantly. I personally have a hard time believing that she could play a mysterious and slightly obnoxious character because it just isn't in here. So she's typecast as the nice girl next door, which she is, but, once again, she ain't up to snuff when it comes to acting. Til Schweiger: Same thing! The film: Downright stupid. As it was an American movie it would have been a great role for Adam Sandler who I don't like either. I wasn't offended by the fact that this is a film with handicapped people in it, I just thought that the jokes resulting from this weren't funny at all. I chuckled twice or three times but when I was halfway through it, I was just bored and annoyed and wanted this flick to end.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Terrible Movie!

1/10
Author: sixpackroegler from Germany
31 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Seen this one in a Sneak Preview yesterday and must say it was terrible. After the credits I thought: "Hey with this cast it'll probably be pretty good". Didn't at all turn out that way.

Lame predictable groaners, terribly simply drawn characters (maybe except a little Ms. Lara's) and an ending one could foresee 10 minutes into the movie. And worst of all, it misused a delicate theme (handicapped persons) for low level and mostly tasteless jokes without ever touching anything but the surface of the issue. The handicapped person the film sympathises with the most is the one who is just faking it. What kind of message is that? And the film doesn't have a thought through ending at all, it basically comes down to: "I love you, doesn't matter that you acted like a prick."

To sum it up: Great cast that must have been terribly bored to sign up for a terrible flick.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history