IMDb > Wild Hogs (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wild Hogs
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wild Hogs More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 255 reviews in total 

162 out of 228 people found the following review useful:

Its no American Beauty or Sideways in terms of the middle-aged crisis theme. Then again, that is a good thing....

8/10
Author: diac228 (diac1987@netscape.net) from Orlando, Florida
2 March 2007

To compare Wild Hogs to comedic greats and classic movies about mid-life crisis would be absolutely foolish. Sitting back and enjoying the wild ride is your best choice in getting the full enjoyment out of this flick. Containing a diverse cast that works quite well, a handful of funny cameos, tons of predictable yet enjoyable scenarios, and a rather surprising amount of physical humor; Wild Hogs is a startlingly delightful comedy that isn't afraid to reach low for a laugh. Coming off as more than just a guilty pleasure, we have good acting running the show, as our longtime cinema veterans mesh together and bring out their best comedic skills to deliver a nice trip through the United States.

Wild Hogs follows four middle-aged men losing excitement (among other things) in their daily aspects of life. Doug (Tim Allen) isn't the fun guy he used to be, Bobby (Martin Lawrence) is not able to run his own home, Woody (John Travolta) has lost pretty much everything, and Dudley (William H. Macy) has nothing to begin with. The four of them decide to take their boring lives out for a spin, and try to relive the glory days of college-- ride off in their motorbikes across the country. The main conflict is whether or not they can unleash the Wild Hogs in them and be able to reach California in one piece. The other problem arises when the well-known tough biker gang Del Fuegos crosses paths with them.

The premise is something we've all seen before, yet it can still be done well with the right group of people. Mixing John Travolta, Martin Lawrence, Tim Allen, and William H. Macy is something that truly would not, and could not have been predicted by anybody. Nonetheless, this unique quartet does a fantastic job. Not one actor is overused or overacting, and we see each of the actors' talents brought to life. Tim Allen puts his physical humor to the test and succeeds. John Travolta brings his comedic chops and also is shockingly hilarious. Martin Lawrence has his good movies (Nothing to Lose) and his really bad movies (Black Night, Big Momma's House 2) but in here, he doesn't go too far, doesn't attempt too hard, and holds his own as the uncertain Bobby. Topping them all is William H. Macy, whose physical comedy tops all the others in this movie. Rounding out the cast is an assortment of cameos and short roles that despite being good were quite underused (Marisa Tomei, Stephen Tobolowsky, Ray Liotta, John C. McGinley, Peter Fonda).

The laughs in here are present pretty much throughout the film, and it ranges from funny little one-liners, to physical comedy, to lowbrow comedy, to even a bit of absurdity. A bit of it is predictable, yet some of it comes flying out of nowhere (literally and figuratively). We have a nice bit of cinematography to capture some of it, including a nice shot of "death" taking a liking to William H. Macy and a brilliant game of "Bullslapping." The director, Walt Becker, knows better and lets the camera roll and the actors take control of what is going on. He was fortunate enough to capture the fun and silliness with little effort.

We don't have Oscar material in the least bit, but we have material that will spark laughing riots from the audience time and time again. Like most decent comedies of this decade, its best not to be taken seriously, because analyzing and nitpicking would distract from the overall experience. Like what the characters in the film originally wanted; it was a trip with no rules, no barriers, and no remorse. Wild Hogs does just that; it was a raw, strong PG-13 ride with the violence, sex, profanity, and look-away moments that anyone on the open road would witness. Also supporting this movie is a nice soundtrack, cleverly adding some good Southern rock, Bon Jovi, AC/DC, and even White Zombie. Try to catch some subtle Disney humor involving the actors and character's names.

Bottom Line: So what if the script isn't groundbreaking? So what if the direction didn't enhance anything? So what if the story became a bit predictable? We have four veteran actors making fools of themselves for almost two hours on the open road, and with very little time in between potential laughs. It was just pure popcorn entertainment, and isn't that what you want on a Friday night? Wild Hogs will not inspire you to do something, but it will inspire some conversations and maybe even a second viewing. Besides, it is rare to see Tim Allen and Martin Lawrence provide a slew of funny moments. While this movie could have benefited from fewer clichés and more unpredictability, it stands tall as the first good comedy of 2007.

Was the above review useful to you?

116 out of 199 people found the following review useful:

Hog Wild Laughter

9/10
Author: galahad58 from Pennsylvania
18 March 2007

Critics have been panning Wild Hogs in their writings. I have read a lot of negative response from the same goof-balls that have promoted some very bad movies. Sometimes I wonder if they are on certain payrolls to give a certain vote towards a movie. With that said---Wild Hogs is absolutely wonderful. In today's day of poor comedies (see anything starring Will Farrell for example) that do not produce a laugh or a smirk---Wild Hogs is a breath of fresh air. I have lately been happy if a movie has at least one good laugh to feel like my admission fee was worth spending. And in today's movie world, most movies are one joke wonders. Wild Hogs is a throw back to the days of My Cousin Vinny, Airplane, and Young Frankenstein. This movie was filled with laughs and good gags. The movie starts off slow and is reminiscent of a couple of failed Tim Allen projects (Shaggy Dog and Zoom), but after about 15 minutes it shifts gear and becomes a wonderful comedy well worth spending the admission fee. If you want to have a good laugh and enjoy yourself---see Wild Hogs.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

maybe here and there a bit overplayed but it was sure funny!

8/10
Author: caljane from United States
19 March 2007

Four guys in their late forties - probably more early fifties ... ;-) – go through their midlife crisis. No matter if loving, nagging or no wife, life is just not what it used to be – or ever was. Adventures are searched for, and John Travolta (not acting his best in this movie) has the saving idea for his buddies: a real road trip on their bikes instead of their usual short trip to a biker bar once a week.

Like in "City Slickers" the men have to go through some adventures and become heroes before they emerge with new energy to battle the next years of getting older ... however, the adventures these guys have on their trip are hilarious. The end slows down a bit with its predictability but this movie is very entertaining, funny and the ticket money well worth.

Was the above review useful to you?

141 out of 264 people found the following review useful:

Laughed and Laughed and laughed !!!! Great Fun

10/10
Author: taylor_deborahleah from United States
2 March 2007

Like so many others in the Theater I could not stop laughing. Even when tears were abundant running down my cheeks and my side hurt. Luckily everyone else was just as loud with laughter so I was not the only laughing fool in the place. With this group I didn't know quite what to expect as sometimes they are funny and sometimes not so much. The antics and the character actors in this film was PURE genius. It has the type of humor for everyone. Must see and Must DVD buy. Glad to see at least one good movie for 2007. Tim Allen and John Travolta who would have thought ? The big surprise in the film was William Macey. I din't realize the guy could be that funny. He played to comic goof and pulled it off with flying colors. Hats off to all.

Was the above review useful to you?

79 out of 142 people found the following review useful:

Looking for an escape from your life? Take a time-out

7/10
Author: Ritwik Raj from United States
24 February 2007

I attended a pre-release screening of the movie in Philadelphia, and I went in expecting a lot of zany sequences, funny violence and a truckload of laughs, and I wasn't disappointed.

Messrs. Travolta, Allen, Lawrence and Macy fit their parts well, and while the story doesn't demand a lot from the actors, they are good as middle-aged professionals tired of their boring lives. The film's theme is a road-trip across America on Harley-Davidson's, with leather jackets ("Wild Hogs" is what they call themselves) and all the other paraphernalia. The whole movie is littered with stereotypes and clichéd characters and plots, and this lends an air of predictability to it. Some people might say that it's closer to an animation, given the generous helpings of crashes and falls, but then I didn't find it to be a put-off because it doesn't pretend to be an action film. You fall, you look funny, you get back up, and story moves on.

At the outset, I thought that there might be a resemblance to Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, with it's concept of two tired guys out to discover the American Dream, but it isn't so. The humour is rib-tickling at times, and mostly slapstick. Among individual performances, nobody really steals the screen, but the overall chemistry between the Wild Hogs is good. Ray Liotta plays the bad guy with an overdose of menace, and Marisa Tomei did a good job of looking pretty. Some of the cinematography is breathtaking, but for a road trip across America, there was very little of variety in location.

I won't advise spending $15 on it in a theater, but it'll be a fun watch with friends, when the DVD comes out, much like how I would judge Eurotrip.

Was the above review useful to you?

109 out of 202 people found the following review useful:

One of the best comedies in the past twelve months.....

9/10
Author: diverreb from Dover, DE
24 February 2007

Being an avid middle aged Harley Rider, I loved the movie, as did the rest of the sold out audience at the Sneak Preview. Not many flicks get a full round of applause at the end... This one did, and it was well deserved.

The cast played very well off each other and all contributed equally.

Not much subtlety and no hidden meaning.... Just pure entertainment!

You know a movie is good when there is unanimous laughter throughout the movie. This one had tons of laughs & great sight gags.

I was worried that they were showing all the funny stuff in the previews, but that isn't the case. The movie will keep you laughing.... The only comedy to surpass this one recently was Borat!

Go see the movie.... You will enjoy it!

Was the above review useful to you?

114 out of 213 people found the following review useful:

Way better than the reviews say

9/10
Author: Lady_Stormy23 from Minnesota, United States
3 March 2007

I just got back from the theater and I gotta say, Wild Hogs was hilarious!It's a great mid-life-crisis type movie. Good, plain old funny. Making straight-up funny jokes like peeing on the side of the road and phrases like "...If we're gonna drink p***, we're gonna drink it cold!".

A couple hilarious scenes with Ray Liotta as a VERY bad boy as he usually plays and John C. McGinley (Dr. Cox from Scrubs). And he looked VERY good in that highway patrolman uniform.

I would have liked to have heard Tim Allen let out one of those simian growls like on Home Improvement and seen Jon Travolta dance a little. Of all the roles in the movie, I think William H. Macy got the best one. He had the best jokes and physical comedy.

So ignore the and 'professional' critics and ask someone who actually saw it

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Absolute Garbage

3/10
Author: DashTheGreat from United States
17 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

(Spoilers) Wild Hogs was your typical, quasi-funny movie that flames out at the end. This movie started off decently, hovering at least in the 5 - 6 area of scoring. The first half was decent, but was nothing to be proud of. The only funny parts are really in the beginning, such as when Macy's computer accidentally goes onto porn. After that, the movie started to go downhill a little, and still delivered. I can admit that, for a movie that has a guy crapping into a plastic bag, I did laugh at parts in the beginning. Then, the "Wild Hogs" met the other bikers, and it was all over. The freaking explosion in back of them looked like a nuclear bomb. I was hoping that the Del Fuego idiots were being roasted just to get rid of their bad, over the top acting. Instead, they of course have to come back and torture us some more. After this, the movie became dry and boring: you will look at the clock every 2 seconds. John Travolta becomes unbelievably annoying, and stock characters jump out of the woods like a Vietnamese ambush. In review, Wild Hogs was more like a G movie. The Wild West town that they went to was more like a cartoon, where Yosemite Sam would jump out and fire his revolvers into the air.

Ending - The ending was absolute garbage. It wasn't even remotely interesting, and the fact that both of the mens' families found them without even knowing where they were is the same black hole that ate Tim Allen and John Travolta's careers. Of course, this is one of those stupid movies where the characters "find" themselves at the end. Lawrence finds his grapes, Tim Allen feels good about himself, Travolta's life still sucks, and Macy gets the girl (who he promptly leaves to never return). Wild Hogs is a horrible movie that should be stuffed into your local incinerator and set to a fast burn.

3 / 10 - Somewhat funny, but boring in the second half. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Cartoonish

2/10
Author: cny_cd from United States
13 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was recently talked into going to see this movie by my girlfriend, and I must say that it was a disappointment to say the least. This movie reminded me of a live action cartoon, with all of the old pratfalls, bathroom humor, and homosexual innuendos and humor that we have all seen a million times before. The characters portray every stereotype of men in middle age (wives that boss them around, kids who think they are "lame", not being allowed to eat anything but lettuce, etc, etc, etc). The script seemed like it was written by a 12 year old, and the jokes were very stale and unfunny. The fact that this movie has been #1 in the country for several weeks running only illustrates the lack of anything decent in theaters. The movie did feature a great cast (including a few nice cameos), but even that couldn't save this film. If you're looking for mindless humor and a predicable script, go and see this mess. Otherwise, save your money.

Was the above review useful to you?

131 out of 251 people found the following review useful:

Almost Non Stop Laughs

Author: Alaina Shirley (purrrtyinpink07@aol.com) from Illinois
25 February 2007

So last night i went and saw a sneak preview of this movie. I figured it would be like a lot of recent mainstream comedies where all the funny parts were in the commercial. Not True. I started laughing within the first 5 minutes and didn't stop for almost the rest of the movie. Same goes for my mother, who in her laughter accidentally spit soda all over the man in front of her, to my 11 year old brother. I would warn you if you are considering taking kids under the age of 8 there is a surprising amount of profanity (when i went i thought it was a kids movie) and sexual humor. I would say go see it in theaters, it is one of the funniest mainstream comedies i have seen in a while.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history