IMDb > Salaam-E-Ishq (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Salaam-E-Ishq
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Salaam-E-Ishq More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 49 reviews in total 

28 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Salute to love - Quality viewing

Author: Ikky Khan from Australia
17 January 2007

Salaam-E-Ishq tells an epic tale of six couples. Oblivious to one another and separated by miles of distance, they are tested by life's two eyes: Tribulation and Success. Yet somehow, through destiny and fate, these six couples are brought together by the phenomenon of love…

Shah Rukh may be the greatest start since Amitabh and Amir may be Bollywood's most authentic "actor/performer" but love him or hate him, Salman Khan has some magical element that no other ever has. His pairing with Priyanka is spot on....hopefully they do more projects together.

This is one long movie...goes over 3 hours but it is not laborous and if anything, it is needed to tell the tale of 6 couples coming together from different parts of the globe.

You would have to be mad to walk awaywith the feeling of contentment after watching this. Any movie that hasSalman Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Anil Kapoor, Juhi Chawla, Sohail Khan,John Abraham and Vidya Balan will ensure a top viewing just by theirpresence alone. Nikhil Advani does a great job putting it all together.

The movie has everything...heart break and tears and laughter. John Abraham, Govinda and Akshay Khanna I'd have to say have given the performance of their careers. Vidaya Balan is not dolled up and the viewer can truly appreciate her acting talent here. Sohail Khan, while not having a major role, will make you laugh just with his facial expressions alone.

Guaranteed this one will have you back for more. Not a candy floss date movie but one to watch to really appreciate the good points of life and take some lessons out of it.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Salaam-e-Wonderful

10/10
Author: springsunnywinter from United Kingdom
14 March 2007

A very nice heart touching film that I really enjoyed although I'm not very keen in romantic comedies especially in Hollywood.

The film has six stories about six couples they are all told bit by bit all at the same time not one by one (like in Darna Mana/Zaroori Hai) and they are all linked to each other. My favourite story is Govinda's & Shannon's and the funniest story is Sohail Khan's & Isha Kopikar's. The best couple has to be John Abraham & Vida Balan. In each story the couple have their own major problem that are:

Couple 1

John Abraham Vidya Balan

Problem: Commitment but not together

Couple 2

Salman Khan Priyanka Chopra

Problem: Together but no commitment

Couple 3

Anil Kapoor Juhi Chawla

Problem: Married but boring life

Couple 4

Akshaye Khanna Ayesha Takia

Problem: Afraid to marry

Couple 5

Govinda Shannon Esrechowitz

Problem: Communication

Couple 6

Sohail Khan Isha Koppikar

Problem: Married but still virgins

But they all have one common problem LOVE!

About nearly 4 hours but all that time was worth it and I never knew that it went by & 4 hours of good stuff is better 1.5 hour of rubbish. It is said to be inspired by Love, Actually starring Hugh Grant. I've not seen it but I know that Salaam-e-Ishq is a 1000 times better than Love, Actually.

The best songs are Salaam-e-Ishq and Dil Kya Kare.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Wonderfully and cleverly made and extremely funny!!!

Author: thegenei from United States
28 January 2007

I am not an Indian, but I love Bollywood movies as I do love the Indian culture. This movie is the best Hindi I have ever seen that I just have to write this comment. The plots links to one another beautifully, It's just very clever and very advanced directing. It's somewhat similar like "Love actually", but yet it's unique in its very own way. Each plot is beautifully written for the couples, and all the stars were exceptional. The best is part is the with John Abraham and his wife, I feel. Be prepared to bring some tissues as this is a little tear jerking movie, but then hey which Hindi movie isn't right :-) ?

Go and watch it folks, I watched it last night, might watch it again today, and will also buy the DVD

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Too Long and boring

4/10
Author: silvan-desouza from India
19 February 2009

OK the director remakes LOVE ACTUALLY The director Nikhil Advani after debuting with KHNH does his second half and wait

He makes a 3:30 hours + film which loses on patience, time.etc The viewer seems like a 3 hrs sleep watching this film

OK they had 6 stories so it was necessary but why? 6 stories?

We have the Anil- Juhi story convincing but boring don't TV serials show such stories?

We have Govinda- Shannon story which is funny and works well

We have Akshaye-Ayesha story again believable but gets boring soon and the focus is on comedy more and that too slapstick boring comedy

We have Salman- Priyanka story which is the worst, not just acting terms, it makes no sense at all

We have Sohail- Isha story to make you laugh and the trick works at times thanks to the boredom set by most of other stories

We have John- Vidya story a good story in all respects

But then by the time all stories come in bits n pieces the viewer gets bored and sleepy The climax isn't appealing though especially The climax of Salman- Priyanka story Nikhil Advani's handling is alright at places, some stories are well handled but weak at places Music(SEL)is good, but too many songs Cinematography is nice, every story is given a different look, texture and it works

Actors Govinda rocks, after a dismissal comeback with BB he actually makes you laugh and love him in this film despite his age and weight Anil Kapoor acts his part well, though he looks out of shape and tired John excels in his part, Akshaye Khanna overacts for a change

Sohail Khan is too over- the - top and Isha has nothing to do Anjana Suknani is dismissal

Priyanka and Salman deserve an award for this film you are shocked?

Salman Khan doesn't act only, just talks like he is in his sleep and that fake accent oh god Priyanka overacts to such a standard you feel like throwing something on her, she does get better towards the end Vidya Balan is good, Juhi Chawla is okay Shannon is okay

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Salaame-e-Ishq (a valentine present)

8/10
Author: Angelus2 from United Kingdom
14 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

**** SPOILERS BELOW****

This was Govinda's big comeback which was widely considered to be his best by a lot of critics.

I have heard good and bad reviews, some saying that the film was a waste of time and some saying Govinda's performance was the only thing worthwhile.

Me and my family went to watch this particular movie as my father i a big fan of Govinda we were accompanied by my cousin who newcomer to bollywood films.

The film inter-wines the lives of 6 couples with their own problems.

Khamini(Priyanka) is a actress who wants to be a heroine in Karan Johars movies while Rahul (Salman Khan) plays the paid actor who is willing to help Priyanka achieve her dream by acting as a hot and up-coming couple.

Ram (Sohail Khan) and Poolwati (Isha Koppikar) are newly weds who are looking for their first night together which results in a fire and lots more humorous accidents.

Raju (Govinda) is a taxi driver who is looking for his dream girl who happens to be in he form of Steph (Shannon Esrechowitz) who is in search of her boyfriend.

Vinay (Anil Kapoor) is a man bored with life as he has everything a man could possibly have wealth a loving wife Seema (Juhi Chawla) and children yet his heart yearns for excitement and this leads him to meet a dancer named Anjali who is everything he needs.

Ashu (John Abraham) and Tehzeeb (Vidya Balan) are a couple who are separated by a tragic accident leaving one with amnesia while the other must fight for the love they once had.

And Finally Akshaye Khanna plays Shiven a man scared of commitment who has a fiancé Gia who is getting angry waiting.

The stories are beautifully inter wined I personally felt pulled into Raju's world as I am going through the same thing where a girl has no idea how much I love her. LOL.

The jokes were very funny especially Govinda's gags the songs were preety bright and colourful a true bollywood fiesta the last film I went to see on the big screen that made me feel amazed and full of excitement was Kabhie Khushie Kabhie Gham.

I felt that Shannon was brilliant in her role as the girl willing to do anything for her love.

But one thing that hit me was the mind of westernised Asian males.

I am an Asian male and felt ashamed that their were some guys out their who are willing to go out with girls whether white,black etc.

But when it comes to marriage they shy away and look to their families for a person to spend their life with.

The one thing that I felt wasn't needed was Priyanka and Salman simply because it felt overacted her whole image was mainly the issue.

simply Govinda and Shannon were the true diamonds in this film nd shined brighter then the rest.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

spend those 4 hours elsewhere

Author: liju-jm from India
26 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

5 OK stories(the Sohail-Isha track ain't a story!!),a never before seen combo of stars, an awful screenplay and a director who thinks he's got it all right. That's how I'd sum this "tribute to LOVE".

Salman Khan - Usual ROCK STAR act but unfortunately lesser footage, his fans would still enjoy his presence(well i did ;)) John Abraham - Gaveit a sincere shot Akshaye Khanna - The best thing about the movie but over the top at occasions Anil Kapoor - Hmmmmmm.....OK....but dude whatever happens never do the clean shaven look ever again. Govinda-HERo No 1's an ol time thing mate Sohail Khan - while his brother's doing the ROCKSTAR routine, SOHAIL's done the family proud by trying hard to be PORNSTAR thruout the flick...Im glad he finally gets laid.

Juhi Chawla, Ayesha Takia, Priyanka Chopra, The Firangi babe and Isha Koppikar - sorry ladies Bollywood's an all male carnival you're all destined to be eye candies and they've done a good job that ways.

4 hours and a 150 rupees later all I'm left with is a sore back :(

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

The wait was worth it!!!

10/10
Author: masteritteshad from United Kingdom
28 January 2007

This film was fantastic. The 13 characters were all in a way important to the film. Nikhil Advani has shown that he can be as good as KJ and Aditya Chopra by doing this film.

Kkamini (Priyanka Chopra) wakes up to another scandal in the morning newspapers. The most sought after item girl in Bollywood cannot help, but get involved with all sorts of problems with the media. Problems that she attributes as the cause for not landing up with coveted heroine roles. The roles that she came to the big bad world of Bollywood for.

But things are going to change because Kkamini has devised a plot to change her image in the media, the public eye and most importantly the big producers of Bollywood. A plot that will propel her from being an item girl to being the number one heroine in India. The only thing that she did not anticipate was the arrival of Rahul (Salman Khan) into her life...

Vinay Malhotra (Anil Kapoor) wakes up in his picture perfect suburban London home every morning. He is cared for by his picture perfect wife, Seema (Juhi Chawla) and is kissed goodbye by his picture perfect daughters. He goes to his picture perfect London PR job and returns to his picture perfect wife, daughters and home.

But things are going to change after Vinay meets the not so perfect Anjali (Anjana Sukhani). Unconventional, over-confident and extremely determined, Anjali comes from a world that Vinay could only dream of. A world where the very modern single girl living in London gets what she wants, and now Anjali wants Vinay Malhotra. Shiven (Akshaye Khanna) wakes up to a nightmare. The most consummate bachelor in New Delhi is engaged to get married in the next 10 days. The most consummate bachelor in New Delhi has suddenly realized what's in store for him. The most consummate Bachelor in New Delhi wants to break off the engagement. And in the process, he hurts his fiancé to be, Gia (Ayesha Takia) but retrieving the freedom he wanted so much seemed more important. He had been dating Gia's sister and regretted it.

But things are going to change for Shiven, because with each passing day, with every agonizing hour, he begins to realize that without Gia, he is incomplete.

Tehzeeb (Vidya Balan) wakes up in the morning only to find a small diamond pendant by her bedside. An anniversary gift from her very romantic husband Ashutosh (John Abraham). They had eloped and got married two years ago. Struggling like all young married couples in Mumbai, both of them work at a news channel. Tehzeeb is a field reporter and Ashutosh is a film editor. Completely crazy about each other they find it quite difficult to keep their hands off each other.

But things are going to change because Tehzeeb is going to be involved in a tragic accident that will change everything in their lives and that will put Ashu's love for her to the ultimate test.

Raju Taxiwala (Govinda) wakes up in the morning and gets into his colourful Delhi taxi. He drives from his home in Chandni Chowk to the New Delhi International Airport like he has for the last 15 years. He joins the long queue at the airport like he has for the last 15 years. Unlike other taxi drivers, he does not complain about the ever-increasing queue. He hasn't complained about the increasing queue even once in the past 15 years. Why? Because he enjoys watching the doors of the New Delhi International Airport. Opening and closing. He enjoys watching the passengers coming out. Hoping that among them will be HER. His blonde dream girl, Stephanie (Shannon Esra). The girl that he has waited for the last 15 years.

But things are going to change for Raju because his dream girl does come from those very doors. The only problem is that Stephanie has come looking not for Raju, but for Rohit Chaddha (Kushaal Punjabi) – her boyfriend.

Ramdayal (Sohail Khan) and Phoolwati (Ishaa Koppikar) are a newly-wed couple in Haryana. He wants to spend the rest of his life with his newly married wife. He wants to spend every hour fulfilling the lust that has been building up within him towards her, all these years.

But things are going to change for Ramdayal, because no matter how and where Ramdayal tries to fulfill that burning desire, something goes wrong and Ramdayal and Phoolwati are thrown into a series of events that become tragically and comically almost fatal.

Altogether the best film outside the Johar and Chopra camp for a very long time. The music was unbelievable from Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy. My favourite song is the title song.

All the actors were excellent. Govinda and Salman are back to their best.

Was the above review useful to you?

Only for the actors and music!

6/10
Author: vinodmohankunal from India
5 January 2014

Nikhil Advani's second directorial venture SALAAM-E-ISHQ is no great film, in fact not even a good film.But,still the film is fairly entertaining because of the presence of so many stars in the movie.This is definitely the USP of the movie.Despite the length of the film,it never bores the viewers solely because of the above reasons.

The story is about 6 couples: 1.Anil Kapoor and Juhi Chawla. 2.Govinda and Shannon Esra. 3.Akshaye Khanna and Ayesha Takia. 4.Sohail Khan and Isha Koppikar. 5.Salman Khan and Priyanka Chopra. 6.John Abraham and Vidya Balan.

Each of the stories at some point in the movie interconnect with each other.The stories entertain for sure,but there is nothing special about them.The actors and music lift this movie.The direction by Nikhil Advani is average.But the last scene of the movie was very good.It was the best scene of the movie.The music by Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy and lyrics by Sameer are good.The 'Babuji' remix was an unnecessary song.The editing could have been crisper.Other aspects like cinematography,make- up,costumes,art direction, are all okay.

Amongst the actors, Akshaye Khanna and Priyanka Chopra are the best.The others including Juhi Chawla,Ayesha Takia,Isha Koppikar,Shannon Esra, Vidya Balan,Anil Kapoor,Salman Khan,Govinda,Sohail Khan,John Abraham, Anjana Sukhani,Kushal Punjabi,Prem Chopra,Tinnu Anand,Viju Khote,Bina Kak,Vrajesh Hirjee,Vishal Malhotra,Kamini Khanna,Manoj Pahwa and others were also very good.

The stories based on their entertaining value are as follows: 1.Govinda and Shannon. 2.Akshaye and Ayesha. 3.Salman and Priyanka. 4.Sohail and Isha. 5.John and Vidya. 6.Anil and Juhi.

On the overall,though not a great movie, SALAAM-E-ISHQ is fairly entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

Govinda & Shannon rule this movie

10/10
Author: orimonceau from Singapore
7 June 2011

Whenever I re-watch Salaam-e-Ishq, I usually skip to Govinda and Shannon's love story. It's the best story in the lot.

John and Vidya's story is also heartwrenching and beautiful but too much of a tearjerker in some scenes. John acts very well in this film and Vidya is wonderful and a great actress as ever.

Juhi Chawla acts perfectly as expected and Anil also did very well.

Watch Govinda steal this movie with his understated, subtle yet sincere and funny performance. Shannon pairs with him perfectly and acts wonderfully in this film.

Brilliant work Nikhil! Much better than Kal Ho Naa Ho imo.

Was the above review useful to you?

Lovely

8/10
Author: MovieInspector from United Kingdom
21 March 2011

Salaam-E-Ishq is a movie directed by Nikhil Advani that tells the stories of 6 couples and their common problem: love. The music of the film is especially good; not a single track is below great. The John-Vidya story is probably the most heart wrenching one. The Salman-Priyanka story is good, and so are the stories of Govinda, Anil-Juhi and Akshaye-Ayesha. I think the Sohail-Isha story was a little bit of a waste, but it is still funny nonetheless. What I really liked was the fact that each story was interesting in its own way. The film could have been a little shorter perhaps, but that isn't really a flaw. It is definitely a great tribute to the power of love. I'd like to praise the entire production team, but especially director Nikhil Advani and music director trio Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy for doing such a good job here.

Verdict: A great romantic family film, a must watch. I give it 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history