IMDb > One Way (2006/II) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
One Way
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
One Way More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 14 reviews in total 

32 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Til Schweigers movie "One Way" let you feel the pain

10/10
Author: martecormann from Germany
25 January 2007

My husband and I saw "One Way", the new movie of the German actor Til Schweiger. There were no coughing, no feet-stamping and no murmurs to hear during the whole movie. Even at the end the silence continued. Than my husband broke it, saying: "Man, what a good movie was that!" The story and the pictures are very intense. They catch the viewer's whole attention which you can hardly escape.

The topic of the movie is rape. It's about guilt and atonement.About law, morals and justice.

In a today's criticism I read the sentence: "Sometimes it is the start of a movie that gives rise to doubts. In "One Way", the movie of the Swiss Reto Salimbini, a girl is followed by several men and raped brutally, as a black figure wearing a uniform (Michael Clareke Duncan) appears and butchers the wrongdoers with a machine gun. The plot changes from this revenge-fantasy to the New Yorker world of the publicity expert Eddie (Til Schweiger)…" Now I ask myself seriously: What is so disconcerting about the imagination that the victim imagines the death of the men that are raping her? Isn't it even understandable somehow? The visualization in the movie makes the fantasy visible for the viewers - and uncomfortable. "One Way" is consequently shown from the rape victim's point of view, which is definitely not a daily mean.

In an other criticism it is said that the rape scenes are shown very drastically. So I watched them critically. My judgment: I have seen more drastically rape scenes in movies and on television before. But what is really hard to the spectator is - during the whole rape the camera is filming the victim's face. Vivid, oppressive and frightening.

The pictures do not allow any evading and phrases like "…somehow she wanted that, too…" or "It's not as bad as it seems…" are absolutely wrong and out of place. The victim is injured with great physical and psychological pain.

Is it a woman allowed to take revenge if she has been raped, humiliated and emotionally killed? If she can't trust her pretending best friend or in justice? In "One Way" two raped and humiliated women experience emotional justice in the end and an initial slime ball develops into a better man. This is more than reality can (unfortunatly) sometimes offer.

Fill the movie theaters and watch it! It's worth it! Marte Cormann, www.kinoplausch.de

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Til Schweiger takes a more interesting career turn

9/10
Author: offenes_meer from Germany
4 February 2007

hmmmm, yesss. From the statistics I read that US females over 30 did not like this film. Whereas the younger audience especially in Europe was thrilled. Why would this be so? The film is about rape and about revenge and how the victim feels and into what kind of situation she gets put by her surroundings. Seeing how things are, the US are very ambivalent about sexual themes. Not to say 'hypocritical'. Judging from the themes feministic theory in the US put forward in the 70ies and 80ies sexual oppression and violence are very much more of a problem when they cannot be voiced at all. This may have been different in Europe with a more liberal approach in many countries (well, not all, I believe...). Anyway, this might explain, why a film like 'One Way' will not be received so open-heartedly in the US - it is painful. And it shows parents in their relationship to their children in a very painful way. Maybe this also explains the distaste of 'elderly women' (to phrase it this way without actually implying criticism).

This much for the background. The film itself is a treat in that it shows a comparatively new side of Til Schweiger as a 'real' actor besides the many comedian roles he has played - actually one of those bought him his ticket to the film world: 'Manta, Manta'. He played in some more serious films before: "The Ice Bear" (Der Eisbaer) and "Knocking on Heaven's Door", but even his last flick in 2006 "Where is Fred" (Wo ist Fred) was a comedy - not bad (and including some hilarious stunts by Christoph Maria Herbst and beautiful Anna Maria Lara) - but not really a revelation. Also the film puts him in context with many other good actors, especially Lauren Lee Smith. For a while Schweiger has been directing and/or producing his own films - maybe because this was the way of getting a job at all? I hope not - rather do I hope that he will some time tread in the footsteps of Clint Eastwood, Robert Redford etc.

I will leave the comments to the film itself to the other two I have seen posted. Just this: it is a dark film, giving rise to hope, nevertheless. And it does show many things to make people thoughtful - and I do hope this makes them like the film rather than dislike (which would be the far more easy thing to do).

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Perjuries, Ambition, Family Secret and Truth

8/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
9 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In New York, the competent creative director of Birk Advertising Eddie Schneider (Til Schweiger) is living a successful moment of his professional life and is engaged and has just proposed Judy Birk (Stefanie von Pfetten), the daughter of the owner of the company where he works. Eddie is also a wolf and very successful with many women, and is having an affair with a neighbor of the street where he lives with Judy. When he gets the account of the greatest American airline for his company, he is promoted to partner and he celebrates with his assistant and friend Angelina Sable (Lauren Lee Smith) in a lunch party in a restaurant. After hours, when they are in the garage, Angeline notes that she had forgotten her car keys in the office, and when she returns, she is violently raped by the despicable brother of Judy, Anthony Birk (Sebastien Roberts). On the next morning, when Eddie arrives in the garage, he finds the traumatized Angeline on the floor and he takes her to a hospital. He returns to the company and Anthony blackmails Eddie with pictures of his many affairs. Eddie has to take a side between his career and engagement and his friendship with Angeline.

"One Way" is a great movie supported by a magnificent screenplay that uses elements of thriller, crime, drama and even soap opera. The intriguing beginning, with a girl being gang raped by four teenagers and an enigmatic general rescuing her is absolutely original and brilliantly explains the character and traumas of Angeline, magnificently performed by Lauren Lee Smith. Sebastien Roberts is perfect in the role of a cynical scum and I confess that I loved when Angeline uses a sexual device to rape him. Til Schweiger has also a great performance in the role of an ambiguous character divided between his career and the loyalty for his friend, but he redeems in the end refusing to blame Angeline. The sweet Stefanie von Pfetten fits perfectly to her characters and her confession about a family secret in the end is the great twist of this movie. Eric Roberts has a minor but efficient participation in the role of Eddie's lawyer. In the end, I really liked "One Way" a lot and I do not understand why it is so underrated in IMDb User Rating. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Pacto Quebrado" ("Broken Pact")

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A movie that asks the important question...which is worse, Til Schweiger's acting or getting raped with a strap-on?

4/10
Author: MBunge from Waterloo, Iowa
26 July 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie starts out with Michael Clarke Duncan playing a black, militarized version of Harvey the Invisible Rabbit. It goes on to introduce us to a main character that is a cheating, arrogant weakling. A perfectly fine young woman is brutally raped with her clothes on and THEN we see her naked in the shower. Three cops show up who appear to have learned everything they know about police work from the Erik Estrada Correspondence School of Law Enforcement. Eric Roberts pops by as a lobotomized version of Perry Mason. Oh, and this film also features one of the rare non-porn appearances of a strap-on dildo. If that all sounds like something you'd like to watch, put down the meth and go eat an orange.

The plot of One Way is rather involved but I'm not going to get into it in too much detail. That's because this story is like running on a treadmill while falling down the side of a mountain. It feels like you're stuck in the same spot and careening wildly out of control at the same time. Anyway, here's the basics of it. Eddie Schneider (Til Schweiger) wants to marry Judy Birk (Stefanie von Pfetten), his boss's daughter. His professed love for Judy, however, doesn't stop Eddie from banging as many other women as his unit can handle. Eddie is an extremely talented and extremely self-destructive a-hole. He's the sort of guy who makes himself late for the most important business meeting of his life because Eddie just has to get a morning quickie from an anonymous red head, then incorporates his being late into the pitch that lands the company a big client.

Judy's brother Anthony (Sebastien Roberts) finds out that Eddie is a cheating bastard. He doesn't tell Judy or their parents. He doesn't confront Eddie. No, Anthony decides that it gives him an excuse to rape Eddie's friend and assistant, Angelina Sable (Lauren Lee Smith). Only after that does Anthony blackmail Eddie with evidence of his cheating. Eddie lies in court about Angelina to get Eddie acquitted. But in a case of leaden irony, Judy finds out about Eddie's infidelity on her own and breaks up with him, which leads to her father firing Eddie.

Ugh. I've already gone into more detail than this thing merits. To wrap things up - Angelina starts hallucinating; Anthony winds up dead; Eddie is put on trial; the story bounces back and forth from being about vigilantism to personal redemption to familial dysfunction; and Judy reveals herself to be one of those women with colossally bad taste in men.

The acting in One Way is okay. Lauren Lee Smith is fairly good as Angelina until the character gets saddled with a mental condition and Stefanie von Pfetten is appealing as one of the wimpiest empowered women you'll ever see. Til Schweiger is…well, he's Til Schweiger. If you like the stuff Til Schweiger does, you'll find Til Schweiger doing it here. The rest of the cast is asked to do too many ridiculous scenes and speak too much bad dialog to fairly evaluate their performances.

The direction is also okay, but it's a little disturbing that the best staged and most affective scene is the rape of Angelina and the worst staged, least affective scene is the revenge rape of Anthony. I mean, writer/director Reto Salimbeni can only make the rape of Anthony work by equating being handcuffed with being paralyzed from the waist down, which creepily makes it seem as though he put much less thought into it than he did with the more realistic violation of Angelina.

One Way certainly has narrative ambitions. It's trying to take on subjects of morality, ethics and responsibility. Unfortunately, those concepts aren't addressed with much talent or skill. It's a little like listening to a 6 year old try and tell you what War and Peace is all about.

There are moments in One Way that make you think that this film might have turned out better in an alternate dimension where radical changes were made to the script. We can only watch the movie that was made in this dimension, though, and that's not something anyone really needs to do.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A very good and must see movie

9/10
Author: jdroa from Philippines
30 June 2008

i found it a very good and interesting movie which i did not expect, when i started playing this, i couldn't stop myself continue playing because of a good run of the story. i just planned to see only the start of the movie but i finished it, i don't know, maybe it was the good story. i recommend this for those who have not watched yet. the beauties of two young ladies, Judy and Angelina are a plus! the story will not astray you like those other movies. i like all the casts here and they acted professionally, i was sad and happy in the end.

Actually i am not that familiar of these casts because i am an avid war movie fan, but if you watch this seriously (must be) because this is a serious movie with just a short comedy of course, you will be educated on some sort of morality, honesty and fidelity i think this movie earned a fans from matured viewers.

Was the above review useful to you?

Top movie

9/10
Author: criticeye1 from United States
9 August 2011

One Way is a unique film focusing on emotional justice – it's about knowledge that everybody carries inside – about what is right and wrong. Unfortunately being right doesn't equal being given justice. Especially when it comes to women's abuse, there is a huge discrepancy between what people feel the deserved punishment would be and what sentences the legal system gives. One Way is an intense film, that portrays betrayal, violence against woman and friendship. Taking this into consideration, it's a miracle that at the end of the film there is positive hope for the protagonists that they'll face a better future. An unpredictable story, that keeps the tension rising till the last shot. Me and my wife saw it together and spoke about it the whole evening. It's out on DVD now... check it out!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

surprisingly professional for a German production

7/10
Author: honigbaer from Karlsruhe, Germany
20 September 2007

I've read several reviews prior to watching the film and I really was afraid I could waste a lot of time with it and although I don't believe too much in reviews I was shocked about how bad they said the film was. However, before I read them I saw the trailer somewhere on the internet and I liked it. That's why I dared watching the movie and was rather pleasantly surprised with it. It's certainly no blockbuster but it's good entertainment and keeps interesting until the end. Especially since I'm German I'm proud of how good a German production can be nowadays compared to Hollywood movies (keep in mind the $7 million budget). Some said they considered the general as ridiculous, but he is a part of Angelina's psyche and I think it's rather obvious that victims of certain brutal crimes develop a psychic illness of some kind to bear with what they have experienced. So the biggest weakness, in my opinion, is the clearly audible German accent of Til Schweiger, but I rather smiled about it and had a good time nonetheless.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Very good movie.....rape scenes are amazingly credible!

9/10
Author: marc armstrong from Austria
17 April 2007

I enjoyed this movie very much, I like that as the plot unfolds we are thrown many curve balls that catch us by surprise and keep us in our seats. I was impressed with most of the acting (especially the villain)Anthony Birk played by Sebastien Roberts. I didn't know him before so I don't know if he plays villains often but man is he nasty!! I love Eric Roberts, I thought he was great but I was expecting to see him a lot more. I wasn't certain about (the General) character played by Micheal Clark Duncan but in the end it works.The only thing that bothered me in this movie was the overwhelming violence in the opening scene, I thought that was a little much. Definitely a movie to see.

Marc

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Sadly Disappointing

3/10
Author: Yva-Laz-Vegas from Ireland
19 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm afraid this film is rather bad. I just went to see it yesterday and was surprised it was given a cinema release.

I am a strong supporter of independent film and especially of Swiss directors, but this film sadly never gets out of C-Movie territory.

The story itself has the makings of a fantastic movie, the themes of violence against women, betrayal and revenge are topics of enduring interest.

I am normally delighted to see European (in this case German) actors participating in international films which will showcase them to a wider audience. I'm well acquainted with Til Schweigers work, but I thought his acting was awful in this film, full of clichés and hamminess. He was even better in King Arthur (another bad film) where he only had a few sentences of dialogue. Even though he was typecast as a villain in that one, his acting was miles better than in this latest offering.The supporting cast were also pretty bad in this film, especially the guys who played the boss of the advertising agency and his son, they were just awful.

The filming of the violent attacks were needlessly graphic in this case and did not lend to the gravitas of the film. Other films have done this in a much more poignant(or relevant) manner e.g. Lilja-4-Ever, The Accused, Boys Don't Cry, Irreversible...etc. etc.

The whole concept of the victim introducing an imaginary hero to help her cope with the trauma of rape didn't work at all in this instance and I thought this was a very weak point in the script and it's direction.

The plot of the film is actually very interesting material, and if worked with in another way, could have been great. I intend no disrespect towards the makers of this film, as releases like these are normally a labour of love and an awful lot of very hard work goes into them, but i cannot give this film a good rating as it simply badly executed.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Brother-in-law

6/10
Author: jotix100 from New York
10 August 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The young advertising executive Eddie Schneider is am ambitious man. He has an appetite for sex as well, and this will get him in hot water, sooner rather than later. He is living with Judy Birk, the daughter of his boss at the agency. Little does she realize what goes on with her young stud when he leaves their place!

Eddie's popularity ultimately gets him in trouble. His future brother-in-law, Anthony Birk, who has had Eddie followed, has gathered enough evidence to end his engagement. Anthony also has eyes for Eddie's assistant and one-time interest, Angelina Sable, who he wants to bed. Angelina, a young woman fighting the demons of having gone through a rape when she was a teenager, proves to be the wrong person for Anthony to mess with. When Anthony turns dead, Eddie turns against Angelina, something he will later regret, since only the girl knows what really is going on.

"One Way", written and directed by Reto Sambileni, is a film which pretends to have been made in New York, but just by looking at it, one realizes it was filmed in different parts of the world, with some exterior photography to give the impression this was American. Then, there is the performance of Til Schweiger, an intense German actor, that tries hard to give the impression he is the slick New Yorker, he is not. Mr. Schweiger bears an uncanny resemblance to Anderson Cooper, minus the gray hair.

The actors, mainly Canadians, do what they can with the thin material they were given to perform. Eric Roberts is one of the lucky ones with his defense lawyer. Sebastien Roberts, who plays Anthony, has some good moments. Lauren Lee Smith, is not quite convincing as Angelina, the girl with a dark past. There is an absurd prologue involving a young Angelina as she is being hunted by some youths, as a US general comes to make things right for her.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history