Reviews & Ratings for
Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones (VG) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

21 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

The best in the series

Author: N3tz0r from United States
3 December 2005

I just got this game the other day, and holy crap... It's the best game I've played this year! My older, more charming Prince is back! Don't get me wrong. I liked him in WW, but he was such a more interesting character in SoT and T2T. I got my wish, for the prince is no longer that badass wearing nearly nothing at all. He is now the smart-ass prince we all knew and loved! The speed kills add a whole new look to the game, Speed Kills allow you to take out your opponent before he even knows you're there as long as you hit the buttons at the right time, of course. If you fail to do this, then you will have to fight all of the enemies normally, for they will all now be fully alerted.

Overall, like I said, it's the best game I've played this year, in my eyes. Please, if you can, go buy this game, it is a really great game, or at least rent it and give it a try. Either way you'll have a blast!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

My first, and probably last, video game review

Author: view_and_review from California
20 March 2007

This is the first video game I've ever rated or commented on, but this game was so cool I had to put in my two cents. I don't play video games much at all, but every two years or so I will get the jones to play a game. I'd say the past ten years or so it has been discouraging because these video games are so difficult to learn and play. I grew up on Atari and Nintendo when you had just a couple of buttons and very simple tasks. Once Super Nintendo came on the scene my video game days were almost over.

Even still, I decided to give Prince of Persia a shot. Bear in mind, I chose this video game solely based upon a t.v. commercial. I'm not in tuned with video games and the latest and hottest, I just pick up what I see advertised. I knew that I was going to have trouble, but I stuck in there and eventually I got the hang of it.... Scratch that... eventually I GOT ADDICTED. I took the game to work, I played endlessly trying to beat that game. I couldn't put it down it was so captivating. The graphics were awesome, the movements were smooth and cool, and the fact that his fighting was hand to hand combat instead of shooting just made it that much better. He had kill moves that could be done with button combos which reminded me of my Street Fighter 2 days, and that speed kill feature is off da hook, crazy nice. There was a good story that went along with the game. The different obstacles and moves were just difficult enough to where I couldn't overcome them the first time around, but they weren't so difficult that I had to give up. Fighting the opponents was the same, and when the prince turned into the Dark Prince the fun was just beginning.

Like I said, I have very little reference for a good game versus a bad one, but this game was lovely. I eventually beat it in what was a short time for me (it had to have been weeks). The ending was even amazing, and I didn't know that games had credits longer than most movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

the game is wonderful

Author: taseen_m-1 from India
5 February 2007

its a wonderful continuation of the pop series and presents a befitting end to the series.The prince looks great as ever and the various new features which are present in this game add an extra spice to it.The speed kill system is wonderful and makes the job quite easy for the prince,also in this game i cant recall a single instant where the game presented bad camera angles as are present in the previous two games.The game play is although pretty much similar to the previous two games but the platforming in this one is really great.There is one more added attraction in this game that is chariot racing which is quite nail biting stuff.Also in this game there aren't any monotonous boss fights as were in the pop warrior within.All in all a wonderful gaming experience,a must play for everyone and i give it a well deserved 9.5/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

My favorite Prince of Persia game...has the best flow.

Author: Aaron1375
27 November 2008

Yes, this game is the final installment for this particular prince of Persia, a new one is waiting in the wings. However, as far as this prince is concerned this is the best game he is in. The reason, it does the best job incorporating the fighting and the acrobatics the best of the three. Basically, the fighting is fun and you have plenty of the wall running to really keep you entertained. Throw into that more boss fights than the previous two installments could muster and a nice little change in the prince as he becomes a dark self. It even has the addition of stealth kills that are easy to do and look very cool. The game is a bit short though, and the way it picked up with the sorceress of time alive as she died on the only play through I did in Warrior Within. Which means you should not make your game multiple ending and pick up only one of the possible endings in the next installment. So here we have an old villain emerge, an old ally emerge and a very dark side of the prince emerge. The dark prince side is rather cool and can slice and dice opponents very effectively. His main drawback is that water is a weakness of his and he slowly but surely runs out of health. Still he can replenish it by killing enemies and he does that quite well. The regular prince is still effective to at what he does and fighting and stealth kills are his thing too. You do not go over the same territory in this one like in Within so the game remains fresh. There is a chariot race like scene in this one, but not that great. It is okay, but it does not really add anything. So for my money all in all this is the best of the three prince of Persia games.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Prince of Persia 3 --- The Two Thrones

Author: (Wolf_Runner)
22 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Story: I love the storyline of this game. It picks up from the predecessor in the Prince Of Persia: Sands of Time series (Warrior Within), this being the third game. I'll stick to the basics of the plot. The Prince returns to his homeland on a ship with Kaileena, the Empress of Time, whose fate he managed to change by messing with the sands time or likewise. Upon arriving at shore, expecting peace and harmony, he rather sees that his homeland has been ravaged by war and chaos. Flaming arrows are flying everywhere, the ship gets torn up and burned. Cut to our hero floating on a piece of board a la Titanic, and the girl gets washed ashore, kicked by a brute checking if she's alive, and taken away. And so begins our journey.

Graphics: The graphics in this game are just grand. Very crisp, detailed. The colours work great, the settings look pretty cool. The characters all look defined and the enemies are sweet. Though, occasionally, some areas will have a bit too much blend in a situation where this becomes an impairment. But only a few times.

Audio: The audio is excellent, I like the narration and the personal comments from the Prince. The interactions with the Dark Prince are class. The music has a dramatic, old-school feel to it, fits the game nicely. Voice acting is spot-on.

Gameplay: Takes a little while to get the hang of. This game plays out fairly smoothly, the environments are very interactive which is a quality I demand in a good action-adventure style game. The agility of the Prince is great fun when moving through the game and for incorporating into battles (more later), the combos kick ass. When you're playing as the Dark Prince (Prince has been 'infected' so to speak), you have totally different combos and weaponry, as the Dark Prince has a dagger-chain weapon embedded in his arm that you can manipulate, including to drag and drill enemies with (reminiscent of Scorpion from the Mortal Kombat series). Having detailed basic interactive abilities like switching sides on ladders, ledge-shimmying, a take on 'tight-rope' scenarios, stealing weaponry, wall-running & wall-jumping complete with transitions and jumps, and being able to use the environment in battle is sweet. On the other side, I find using the right analog constantly to adjust your line of vision to be annoying and a bit dizzying personally, and there are a few areas where you may be at a total loss as to what to do/where to go next and how. That's to be expected, it's an adventure game with puzzle elements. In any case, thank goodness for save points (though they're not incredibly frequent), unlimited retries/continues, and good old'

Positives: Basically everything I discussed. Good storyline, great graphics, very smooth and fun game-play, audio is ace. Bosses are fair, tricky. I also get a good kick out of the attacks I manage to do without having figured them out, my favorite being taking any size normal enemy and head-tossing them at a wall or off a cliff. As for the Dark Prince, the Daggertail is quite entertaining.

Negatives: The only negatives I can figure from this game are constantly having to use the right analog stick, the mild feeling of motion sickness that constantly switching views gives me after a while, and the fact that when you start out playing it's very easy to make a mistake and jump to your doom. Did that a lot. Even later in the game, just from mixing up what I should do next (as I said, yay for GameFAQs, though I try not to spoil myself). Turning back time is quite a neat ability. I try not to be overly picky about video-games, so that's really the only note-worthy minus points I could gather.

Overall: 9 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

Wraps up the trilogy well, and what a way to go

Author: Grann-Bach ( from Denmark
10 April 2009

This completes the new series, and takes the consequence of the ones before it, similar to how Warrior Within(the saving method of which this retains) built on the first. It has elements of both of them, and adds quite a lot(and far more than aforementioned earlier sequel). You may still wield two weapons, but now the choice of the other one... sword, mace, dagger or axe... affects the way you do so, in the range, force, etc. of the blows. There are still many different ones within those four kinds. The Free Form Fighting System is also still in use, so spamming powerful attacks is still possible, however, this comes closer to The Sands of Time in the combat, with more strategy and tactics necessary, among other things because of those archers... arrows in general are present in this, and they are very welcome. The battles are longer and tougher, and do not get tedious like they did in the one immediately preceding this. Making things interesting is also the fact that you no longer use a lengthy blade as usual... and I will leave it at that, lest I spoil something. One can also tell that the good people at Ubisoft had Splinter Cell on their mind... a couple of the new moves are right out of those, and stealth is a genuine option at several places. They make it work, and it doesn't stand out as (much as) one might think. Speed Kills are part of this... and no, that's not a campaign telling us to slow down on the freeway, nor one against that particular drug. It's a way to take out opponents, typically when they aren't yet aware of your proximity, and all you truly need is to get the timing right, albeit the first time you try the specific ones, before you know what's coming, you will have to react split-second, as well as not get trigger-happy. It works impeccably well, and really adds to this. The Bosses vary, but at their best, they're incredible. The plot is great, picking up where the last one left off, confirming which of the endings they used, and taking you through one place that had yet to be visited in these three... The Prince's home, Babylon. Only it's not how he remembers it, and you'll soon find out why. The idea is magnificent, and making your way through the city is entertaining. As a character, he grows and develops a lot in this, and this really does close this version, these post-2000 entries, well. The voice acting is all satisfactory. Yuri is back, and thankfully, he left the vast majority of the emo back in the first one, but he did bring the humor with him, as well as what comes of his inner talks with his... other half(who's got a nasty case of cynicism). Yes. In this, you also get to control the Dark side of the leading man sometimes, who's stronger, but whose life gradually drains, one of the aspects of this making for serious tension. Does the word Daggertail mean anything to you? Once you've gotten to use it in this, it definitely will. It is a lot of fun, downright addictive, and a marvelous spice for the squaring off against enemies(and it can be used at points for maneuvering, marvelous). You once again get to use the special abilities. The chariot racing is pure awesomeness captured perfectly. The foes are relatively diverse, and less annoying than those of WW. The camera is a little limited, compared to the ones before this, and the panoramic view is less available, and once or twice, even kinda phoned in. The story-telling is similar to SoT. This gets you into it the fastest, and is also the shortest of them. There are graphic glitches and even bugs beyond the others, and it is sadly not as stable, either. This can be disturbing, though it is not as bleak as the second one. There are grotesque creatures herein. The tone is a mix of the others. The style is achieved well, and this uses slow-motion rather well. This also requires patience, reflexes, fingers adept at VG's, and time. The AI is nice, in that they all respond and act the way you'd expect them to. The re-playability is reasonable, you earn Sand Credits as you go, and if you get them all, you will unlock everything, in all of the artwork galleries. And you may just gain something else, as well. The videos(sadly, sans subtitles, although mostly, you can tell what's said) become available upon completion, all but one are the ones you watched along the way in this, and that one is an absolutely hilarious, if criminally brief, gag reel. The cut-scenes are well-done, and can be fairly effective. The CGI is utterly stunning. The animation and look of everything is fantastic. The level design is perhaps the tiniest step down from earlier in these, here and there, but overall it remains at the high quality of them. They utilize the new moves and acrobatics unbelievably well. The puzzles are still well-done, and this can be challenging, and should satisfy a decent range of people, with three difficulty settings. Do you like those ledges that fall off after you step on them? Well, they've made a triumphant return. The audio is well-done, everything sounds the way it should, and the music is nice. The heavy metal of the middle chapter is gone. The attitude towards nudity in this is the same as the earlier two, but it does somehow seem less provocative. The violence is debatable, but there is some blood. There is next to no gore. Language is nonexistent. I recommend this, and the entire franchise up to this point(the pre-beginning of new millennium-ones are immensely well-done, as well, they just happen to be old, and you can tell), to any fan of action-adventure titles, anyone who enjoys the culture, and all who appreciate swordsmanship in games. 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Worthy of a prince, but not the one to crown it all.

Author: Field78 from Netherlands
8 May 2006

The Two Thrones is the third and last installment in the Prince of Persia trilogy that started three years ago with the astonishing Sands of Time, a game that turned the popular 2D platform series into a complete and spectacular 3D adventure. Jumping, swinging, grasping, hanging off ledges, solving puzzles and graceful combat made up for one of the best games I ever played. Now I know that many people weren't too happy with the dark and grim atmosphere in Warrior Within, but I was actually quite satisfied with this new style. The extremely spectacular free-fight system that came with it, allowing the player to battle up to 6 enemies at the same time, was especially noteworthy, as well as the great storyline that kept twisting and turning in unexpected ways.

The Two Thrones returns to the sunny style of SoT, with minimal bloodshed and less body parts flying around. The Prince has defied death on the Island of Time, and is returning to his hometown of Babylon, only to find a fierce army murdering and looting its way through the city. It doesn't take long for the Prince to once again go on a quest to destroy evil and restore peace. The Sands of Time, however, have altered him slightly, causing him to change into a dark alter ego, the Dark Prince, from time to time. This is a nice way of bringing some innovation to the game play, as the Dark Prince makes use of a particularly vicious razor-chain, that allows him to make long jumps and dispose of his enemies much more efficiently. Yet, it does not revolutionize the game play as much as I hoped for. Changing into the Dark Prince happens when the story calls for it, not when the player wants it. Life energy slowly diminishes when playing the Dark Prince, which gives a certain amount of pressure to move and waste enemies fast in order to replenish energy quickly, but we already saw something like this in WW, when playing as the Sand Wraith. Other innovations include the speed kills, which enables the player to kill an enemy with a few strokes, and adds a little stealth to the existing game play. It is nice that you can use this techniques to quickly get rid of a few enemies when you are faced with many, but there isn't much variation in speed kill moves, and it takes away a lot of opportunity to go into an adrenalin-pumping free-fight frenzy. Speed kills become much more varied and useful when fighting the mini-bosses, and the resulting battles are quite spectacular to see.

The same can be said from the chariot races that you can do once every while. But just like the Dark Prince appearances, they come only incidentally and they're over just when they become fun. Most of these innovations feel like nice extras instead of fully integrated new parts of the game play, like the 3D platform action and free-fight system.

There are more aspects of the game that give the impression that development of TT was slightly rushed. The story is very straightforward this time, and lacks most of the exiting twists that were so prominent in SoT and WW. As a result, the game is only half as long as Warrior and can be finished in mere days instead of weeks. The graphics and FMVs are okay most of the time, but the in-game cut-scenes look at best five year old. Did production run out of polygons? When not playing as the Dark Prince or riding a chariot, I found that jumping and running along walls was getting a bit monotonous after the two previous games; difficult puzzles are scarce, and finding solutions to situations becomes increasingly simple, with only speed kills offering some variance most of the time. The influence of Jordan Mechner, who wrote history with the original PoP and rewrote it with SoT, is dearly missed at some times.

But as harsh as this all may sound, by no means does this make TT a bad game; it merely prevents this game from becoming a masterpiece like SoT and (to a lesser degree) WW. Although the thrills I got from playing its predecessors were a bit absent, I still got a good time playing TT. Even though not masterly, it is at the very least competently made.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Fun, some new incredible acrobatics and some cool fights.

Author: Robin_forfan from Sweden
11 December 2005

The only bad thing about this game is the bloody conflict between his inner "bad" self and his "good" self, now you think "but hey, isn't that what the game is all about?" you are most certainly right my friends, but that is not what i mean. You can only be the dark prince when you must, there is no choice here.

Good prince :"hm i sure could use a chain here" ZAAAAAAAAP, "yeah baby I'm ready and I'm a dark prince but not really evil because i kill just like the good prince" But surely he must be evil, he is wearing black (well his body is). I hope you understand my point, its kind of silly.

This game would have been the best of the three (with the sands of time theme) if you would have more choice, if you could chose your destiny.

Anyway, it looks really great and like a fairy tale, but i personally like sands of time and warrior within more for their ambient graphics.

The "speed kill" which is new, is the most welcome addition to the game in my opinion, it adds some need for timing and skill. No new skills, the only skills that you will probably need is rewind and slow-mo.

This game could have needed some more time in the plot-making factory and the skill-creating office, otherwise a really really fun game to play.

If you are a fan of pop, do buy this game. If not, still buy it :), at least play the demo or rent it.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

how did this happen?

Author: concrete_door from Canada
15 July 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

okay first of all what happened to the bad ass Kalina she is now an old whore who is aways calm but in the second game she was evil twist did whatever the *bleep* she wanted she didn't care who she hurt or how it was done she would do anything to save herself. next is the prince himself he was sissified since the second game now he is stupid and who ever voices him should burn inf *bleeping* hell! the awesome sound track from the second is replaced with the worst band in history maybe i did make the mistake of playing the second game first but it did rule. i really tried to like this game but i just couldn't. but there is no fun in this game this game is garbage and the controls suck and the camera is bad when you try to move it up or down and the story is the worst of the seris.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Brings back the magic lost in WW

Author: Mortific from Norway
26 December 2005

This game has much more innovation than WW had, and beats that game hands down. But still, the only thing which is really focused on is the gameplay. And that is where they should focus, the story was incredibly bad. Just continues in the same track as the previous two games, then suddenly at the end, they rush it incredibly to wrap stuff up, and even failed in that. You have the Prince struggling with his dark self this time around, it's not really what you'd expect and is the games weakest points. When you play as the DP, everything feels rushed and boring. New to this game is the Speed Kill system, if the enemy hasn't seen you, you can get behind them or over them, and start a little "timing-mini game" where your dagger will flash for a brief second, that's when you need to press the attack button. This keeps gameplay fresh, and ties it ties in with the acrobatics in order to get a good vantage point. But it's not all good, they were supposed to be angry and aggressive. They were a bit dull with the slow music and didn't really give the rushes it was supposed to. And you never really needed to time them, there were not much variation, and you could easily learn when to press. It was only the first time through that you were on your toes. The music was ten times as good as WW, but didn't quite have the "catchyness" of SoT, say hello to middleeastern music once more. The game looks incredibly UGLY, I know games out in 2001 that looked 20 times as good. There are MASSIVE amounts of clipping errors, and I believe the 2 earlier games in the series looked better. This looked horrible. Even the main weapon is 2D. Little to now replay value however, you get one different code for each cleared difficulty setting. (Easy, Normal, Hard) And they are not really hard to get to. The gameplay is excellent, even though the DP takes it down a bit. If you want to buy this, don't set your expectations too high, and appreciate the gameplay, that's about the only thing they nailed in this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history