Barry Munday (2010) Poster

(2010)

User Reviews

Add a Review
20 Reviews
Sort by:
9/10
'Barry Munday' is a surprisingly poignant and introspective comedy
d_art1 April 2011
In this comedy directed by Chris D'Arienzo based on the novel Life is a Strange Place by Frank Turner Hollon, Patrick Wilson plays Barry Munday, a suburban wanna-be ladies man, who makes up in the hospital with both of his testicles gone after being attacked in a movie theater for hitting on the wrong girl. To make matters worse, a paternity lawsuit is filed by a woman he can't remember having sex with. Realizing this being his last chance to ever be a father, Barry decides to take on the responsibility on being a good father.

My initial impression of the concept of this film was that this film could either be a feminist revenge fantasy or a raunchy comedy. Thankfully, this film was neither of those, but turned out to be a surprisingly poignant little comedy, with a honest, introspective look at what being a man entails beyond having the body parts, if you will. Given it's a comedy, there were many predictable directions this film could have taken at the expense of Patrick Wilson's character, Barry. Surprisingly, the film avoids the obvious and portrays Barry in a sympathetic and real way. Barry starts off as an irresponsible loafer, whose main interest involve bedding women, who soon after loses his most prized asset and what he feels makes him a man. He goes through a slump until he finds out that someone may actually be carrying his child (from a previous fling he had no recollection of). In a sense, he realizes being a father may be the only thing left that connects him to his manhood.

Barry meets the mother of the child, Ginger Farley (Judy Greer), who isn't particularly a looker, to put it nicely. Her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Farley, as played by Cybill Shepherd and Malcolm McDowell, seem to agree that Ginger hadn't quite lived up to their expectations, in beauty and otherwise, unlike their model daughter, Jennifer (Chloë Sevigny). There's noticeably a bit of a sibling rivalry between Ginger and Jennifer. As we get to know the characters, we see personal baggage behind both Ginger and Barry which perhaps contributed much in how they viewed themselves and their lifestyle. With Ginger full of bitterness and resentment toward Barry, the relationship between Barry and Ginger is often awkward and comic as Barry is honestly trying to know her better for the first time. Advertisement

Patrick Wilson (Watchmen) is close to perfect in the role of Barry, where he deftly milks the comic aspects of his shallow character as well as his eventual change to a deeper, sympathetic, and more serious side. Judy Greer plays the awkward Ginger Farley with caustic wit and consistency. Cybill Shepherd and Malcolm McDowell in their supporting roles as Ginger's parents, the Farleys, turn in expectedly seasoned performances. Bill Dee Williams (do I even have to mention Empire Strikes Back?) is his usual charming self as Barry's Delorean-driving boss, who happens to be close to the Farleys. Jean Smart is great as the blunt, yet sharp-minded, Carol Munday, Barry's mother.

This independent film marks Chris D' Arienzo's directorial debut and it is a strong one. The comedy feels natural because it's fairly close to life for the most part. The emotions of the characters feel genuine. It is unexpectedly touching. Patrick Wilson does great work in his role as the titular character. It's not what I would call a laugh-a-minute comedy, but a deeper, thoughtful film that happens to have much comedy—usually the type of films I gravitate toward. This film left me with some thoughts long afterwards, which says a lot about a comedy, let alone any film.

For more of my movie reviews, you can also follow me at http://twitter.com/d_art
23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Balanced, Funny, Poignant
Cinnyaste10 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
A Man might argue a story about losing testicles would induce a cringe and protective leg-crossing. However, it's not testicles that make a Man, it's responsibility and maturity. And therein lies the core of this tale; balls, it turns out, are not balls.

Barry Munday is a dim bulb, breast-obsessed horndog searching for gratification at every possible turn. One drunken night he impregnates a mousy, bitter woman... and completely forgets until the (celibate?) woman's lawyer delivers a paternity demand. In the interim, an angry father has de-testiclized him with a trumpet. The end of the Munday lineage?

The comedy is quite subtle and placed squarely on the shoulders of the stellar cast. Supporting standouts are Jean Smart who genuinely shines and a number of oddballs, including every member (pun intentional) of a genital mutilation support group. Sadly, Cybil Shepherd and Malcolm McDowell are nearly non-entities. Chloe Sevigny (the woman's sister) has a great turn as the family favorite, stripper, female horndog equivalent to Barry.

This film belongs to Patrick Wilson, but particularly Judy Greer. In other films her edgy sidekick has been one-note abrasive. Here, in a tour-de-force, she juggles that same edge, bitterness, sexiness without sex appeal and near naked vulnerability. Her performance is an eye opener. Judy Greer fans (I was not really one of them) will rejoice.

If a laugh riot filled with obvious penis jokes is your bag (pun again intentional) you will be disappointed. The production designer clutters the background with quite funny visual clues underscoring the issue at hand (and again intentional). For example, hanging in the office of Barry's boss is an antique graphic with large text reading 'Seamen'.

Then there's Judy Greer's weird, mysterious, Japanese male neighbor. Despite Ms. Greer's protestations she's a virgin (before Mr. Munday), is the neighbor truly the father?

Great comedy creates a tapestry of the human condition between the laughs. "Barry Munday" delivers in spades. While not earth-shattering, the revelations - sibling rivalry, emotional and physical abandonment, true sadness, ego gratification, family denial at any cost, irresponsibility - in this comedic (left-handed) spin of "Taming of the Shrew" presents a beautifully crafted arc for the two main, emotionally damaged characters.

With multiple layers, smart writing, fine acting and terrific direction, "Barry Munday" is a wholly satisfying comedy light on the didactic, heavy on the weird, right on target overall.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Can you keep your manhood after you lose the family jewels?
TxMike22 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I sought out this movie for one reason, it has Marc Tubert in a brief role as a maternity doctor. I met Marc last month as we walked the fairways of the Texas A&M golf course, watching his daughter and other University of Arkansas golfers contend for the NCAA championships. He is a very nice guy, and after meeting him there, it was fun to see him in a movie role!

I like Patrick Wilson, he is a very talented singer and an actor able to tackle a variety of roles. Here he is simpleton and slacker Barry Munday, seemingly spending all of his waking energy minimizing the amount of work he actually does, while chasing "tail" at every opportunity. One fateful day he meets a randy young lady, well actually a teenage girl, and they end up in the movie theater together. When the girl's father shows up, with a trumpet in his hand, and assaults Barry to protect his daughter.

Barry wakes up in the clinic, not certain at all what happened to him. He soon is told that he lost his testicles, both of them were damaged during the attack and could not be saved.

Barry is coping as well as he can in succeeding days, when he gets word that Judy Greer as Ginger Farley is pregnant, and Barry is the father. He asks "how sure are you that I am the father?" She is sure, she was a virgin before she met him, and he is the only one she had been with.

Wilson and Greer are remarkably good in this different kind of romantic comedy. This premise could have gone into the slapstick gutter very quickly, but it didn't because of an intelligent script. For the first time in his adult life Barry had something to care about, and for the first time in her adult life Ginger found someone who seemed to genuinely care about her.

We enjoyed it.

SPOILERS: Barry and Ginger grow on each other, he is there for childbirth, it appears that they are becoming a close-knit family as their child begins to grow up.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Surprisingly Delightful.
Matt_Layden8 May 2011
After a horrible incident at a movie theatre, Barry Munday wakes up in a hospital without his testicles. To make matters worse, a lawyer informs him that a woman claims he is the father of her unborn child.

The concept of the film makes it seem like it's going to be a lot more cruder than it actually is. Barry Munday turns out to be a rather mature film that has immature bits of comedy, which makes it come of as a sweet film with real issues it wants to discuss. Munday looses what many think is a man's manhood, but in reality, it took him losing his testicles to truly become a man. Based on the book Life is a Strange Place, Barry Munday is surprisingly delightful.

Patrick Wilson is perfectly cast as Munday, he nails the character in a role that demands him to be a womanizer, dumb, sweet, innocent and likable. Wilson gives us these little moments where the character will do something, when he isn't the main focus of the scene and it adds more depth to an already well written character. Judy Greer plays Ginger as the family outsider who is difficult to deal with. She comes off a a mature 12 year old. Her parents are played by seasoned actors Cybill Shepherd and Malcolm McDowell, both small roles but they do leave an impression. Jean Smart is the more memorable parent, she plays Carol Munday, Barry's mother. Do I even need to mention Lando Calrissian and the fact that he drives a DeLorean?

There are moments are pure hilarity, like when Munday accidentally calls out his child's name during sex, but there are moments of charm and delight, like the expression on his face when the child is born. His eagerness to be a part of the child's life is admirable, he's lost the one thing that will give him a child and now he discovers that he is possibly the father of one? That's enough of a sign for him to want to be a father that he accepts it without having a paternity test. But then the question arises, is he really the father?

Barry Munday is not a flat out comedy, it's more character driven. Munday, played excellently by Wilson, is a character that sells the film. If you can't connect to him, the movie might falls apart for you. I thought Wilson did an excellent job in this role and it's my favourite performance from him thus far.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Family Jewels
tieman6420 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Patrick Wilson, who has made a name for himself starring in films in which he is literally or symbolically castrated and/or left impotent ("Hard Candy", "Little Children", "Lakeview Terrace", "Watchmen"), stars in "Barry Munday", a film in which he finally fully loses his gonads.

Wilson plays Barry Munday, a serial womaniser who unfortunately suffers a vicious attack in which his manhood is mauled. The rest of the film finds him struggling to woo a dorky woman whom he impregnated before his crotch luggage went AWOL. She hates him because she rightfully views Barry as a lazy, filthy oaf. He loves her because, now emasculated, she's the only woman who can bear him a child. It's a good idea for a comedy, but director Chris D'Arienzo struggles with his jokes, and the film's quirkiness is strained, forced and second-hand.

Interestingly, the film suggests that the only thing keeping men from domestication (and monogamy) is the phallus. Remove the penis and the philanderer dies, shifting from a conqueror to a feminized male desperate for any woman he can get. In the western world, men are themselves slowly becoming "feminized". Some gender theorists deem this as being beneficial, as it prevents the resuscitation of stable gender orders (gender is a social construct). Others insist that "masculinity" isn't dying; today it simply "violates" you with perfume on, or even worse, via the invisible currents of binary transactions. The film goes into dark, interesting territory during its second half, but D'Arienzo's script isn't smart enough to do anything with the material. It's "Knocked Up" for the indie crowd.

7.9/10 – Worth one viewing.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
A different kind of comedy.
Paul Magne Haakonsen26 February 2011
"Barry Munday" is the type of comedy that will give you a certain inner warmth, but not necessarily make you laugh out loud. And in a way it is nice with a comedy like that, but I was missing on more funny moments throughout the movie. It is the sort of movie that makes you appreciate life and all its unpredictable moments.

The cast in "Barry Munday" is quite good. And I must say that the movie is carried by Patrick Wilson (playing Barry Munday) as a very kind, good-hearted and lovable person. And there were also some pretty good names on the supporting roles list, such as Malcolm McDonald, Billy Dee Williams, Cybill Shepherd and Colin Hanks.

I found the movie to be surprising in the way that it shows that despite life throws you a curve ball, you can still manage to make something good out of the situation you are in. Keep your head up high and be positive, and that is a good morale for the movie.

The story is nicely acted out on the screen and you want to see what happens next. Sure the story is not a fast-paced one, but it gets you to where it needs to be in its own manner and pace.

However, if you are planning a night of fun and laughter, "Barry Munday" might not be the best of choices. That being said, this is not a bad movie at all. It is nice in its own way. "Barry Munday" is a movie that should be watched by all who appreciate life and the joy of living.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The batter on deck, Barry Munday, has one strike, no balls
jotix1006 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Barry Munday cannot pass an opportunity in which to have sex with any women that strike his fancy. Barry is an insurance salesman whose work is a sort of an afterthought. He and Donald, his partying friend, are always chasing women they can have an easy time with. Most of the time he scores, so when he spots a shapely young woman going into a multiplex movie complex, he decides to follow her. She wants to sit on a specific location. As Barry starts getting frisky with the woman, a man coming out of nowhere holding a trumpet, attacks him viciously. Next thing we see is Barry Mundy in a hospital room. He wakes up to terrible news, because of the attack, he has lost his testicles!

As if that was not enough, Barry Munday gets hit with another setback: a paternity suit from Ginger, a woman claiming they engaged in unprotected sex, and now she finds herself pregnant. Barry comes from a background where his own father abandoned his mother and himself, at an early age. As much as he tries, Barry cannot, however much he tries, to recollect his time in the sack with Ginger. So Barry goes along, albeit reluctantly trying to make good about something he does not even remembering doing.

The months preceding the baby's birth are not happy for Barry. To make matters worse, Ginger is the antithesis of the woman he went after. On top of that, she makes it clear, all she wants is a father for her baby, nothing more. With his new handicap, Barry has to face a future that is not too bright, but with the help of his single-mother he confronts the situation head on. Ginger, on the other hand, gives no hint as to how they met since Barry does not remember their time together.

An interesting premise by Chris D'Arienzo, who is making his screen debut. He also contributed to the screenplay which is based on a novel by Frank Turner Hollon, which we never read. The material is fresh, although the director makes Ginger to be someone hard to love by anyone. The idea of a man castrated because he messes with someone else's lover is not exactly new, but as written, one feels for what life had dealt Barry, despite his womanizing and wild days. The comedy involves the families of Barry and Ginger who can do crazy things when they are together. Then, there is also the question of the Asian neighbor who might, or might not have been involved with the plain Ginger, something that is not explored by Barry.

Patrick Wilson is a fine actor who gets better with each new appearance. His life as a Lothario dominates the first portion of the movie. Barry had a way with the ladies. Judy Greer has been kept busy lately. She deserves all the work she gets for she is an actress that even in the tacky outfits she is made to wear, always delivers. The only thing that does not work is the character of Jennifer, Ginger's sister, who does not seem real, and as played by Chloe Sevigny, she is an obnoxious presence in the film. Jean Marsh is wonderful as Barry's mother. Others in supporting roles include Malcom McDowell, Cybill Shepherd, and the suave Billy Dee Williams playing Barry's boss.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Not believable for a second, but kinda fun...
jzsar12 January 2011
As others have testified, Patrick Wilson's Barry is treated like the worst human alive for reasons not made clear...enough. He's a womanizer? Yeah, and all the women he bedded WANTED it at the time, including Judy Greer's Ginger. I got so sick of her constant berating that I had to yell some unspeakable words at the screen. Sorry, Ginger, but you had it comin'! What makes it all bearable is Wilson's good-ole-guy Barry, almost innocent in his train-wreck approach to women. He seems so sweet and puppy dog up against all the arseholes who use him to channel their inner hatreds against. And Ginger eventually softens up and owns up to her fault and has a pretty good line about the blessings of ugliness. Good enough all around to watch instantly if you have Netflix.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A perfect film
screamingfoot12 December 2010
Yes, I said it. Perfect. No, it's not a Hollywood blockbuster and it's not populated with A-list actors, but it's pitch perfect and has the best possible balance of cast and story brought to life with a subtle hand.

Judy Greer is a joy to watch on screen and I looked forward to every moment of her in this film.

If you don't need action and fireworks and gun-play and are a fan of great writing, acting, and great filmmaking, this is for you. I hope it makes it into a theater near me because I'm definitely seeing it and will be dragging some friends with me because I know they'll appreciate it.
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
More Rom than Com
pbayle323 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is so off Hollywood that most stores don't carry it. I sought it out because it gives a rare starring role to Patrick Wilson, a talented and amazingly handsome character actor. He has been my idol since I saw his co-star turn in Little Children, and if you like him you will want to check him out. Even with his looks muted by bad hair and a ridiculous goatee, he is a pleasure to watch. Barry Munday works better as a romance than a comedy, and better as a character study than either. Munday is a recognizable caricature of American men as seen by a resentful feminist like his co-protagonist Ginger Farley (Judy Greer). Much of the movie is amusing, but it is rarely LOL funny. Munday starts out the film as an unambitious schlub whose only genuine interest is chasing skirts. The father of one of his amours follows him into a theater and smashes his testicles with a trumpet, so that they have to be removed. Just as he recovers, Ginger, one of his last hookups, claims to be pregnant with his child. At first coldly contemptuous of Barry, she gradually warms to him, even as he grows to become a loving husband and father. Aware that he can have no other children, Barry uneasily bypasses several hints that he is not the real father. The first time I saw this, I was disappointed that Barry seems to react to his "accident" as if he lost an IRS refund check. But instead of becoming angry, Munday even more uncentered than he was before and uses different approaches to acting like an adult. Toward the end, as Barry and Ginger come to a mutually supportive relationship, he literally finds his voice and his face just glows. The movie is not entirely clear where Barry and Ginger wind up, however. It is clear that Ginger and Barry come to love one another. But their scene in bed ends in an unsatisfactory way, she doesn't marry him, and she doesn't give the daughter his name, even though he badly wants her to. At the end, we are told rather than shown that Barry, Ginger, and their respective families are happy. Greer appropriately repellent at the outset and handles her transformation convincingly. The supporting cast does well, especially Jean Smart as Barry's mother.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Every man's worst nightmare: He wakes up without his "loved ones" ---er, his b4lls.
Boloxxxi8 December 2010
Womanizer becomes tamed when he loses his balls (literally, folks) and learns he is to be a father from a one-night-stand he'd forgotten about.

The movie starts out showing what Barry Munday was like before he became Barry "No Balls" Munday. He was a slacker who goofed off at work and made passes at the women who worked there. And when not at work, he continued this behavior on his own time. Eventually, his tom cat ways catch up to him (early in the movie) when his nuts are crushed by a trumpet wielded by an angry father in a movie theater. After mourning his balls for a short period, he later learns he is to be a father from a brief encounter earlier. He becomes a changed man; responsible, sensitive, kind; a loving, attentive father-to-be.

This movie is "unspoilable". I am ABSOLUTELY confident of this since it's already spoiled by an unfunny script. I guarantee you that if you look out your window for an hour and a half, or so, you will see something as interesting if not more so FREE OF CHARGE. Listed as a comedy, it's more something that "intends to be" or "tries to be" because it's NOT funny. The most it will do for you is possibly make you crack a smile in one or two places; that's it. I had no problem with the cast. They are a likable enough bunch. It's the story --as it usually is when a movie fails to deliver-- that sucks. Love, Boloxxxi.
23 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
One of a Kind
Aly_Bird14 February 2016
The idea itself is absolutely unique and to be honest till near the end of the movie i thought (like most of who watched it) that she was faking the story and Burry didn't do it!!

She came to him after he became desperate for removing his testis, she came in that ugly looks and was blaming and swearing and he didn't push it back at all. And as he told her later on while they were in his car that she appeared now to (redirect) him!

He believed that she became pregnant from him however he didn't remember a thing at all of that night.

The main idea is never to give up and to see the good things in everything.

Way to go! I love it

Thank you very much Cheers
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Horrible waste of time
non-shill11 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not sure what genre this movie was supposed to fall under. Comedy? It isn't funny. Drama? Get serious.

What we have is a guy who loses his testicles under ridiculous circumstances, and seems OK with it from the start. Me, I'd be pretty upset, but hey, maybe I'm just nutty. Apparently, this is supposed to be hilarious--a guy losing his balls--because... Well, specifically because it's a guy.

Roughly 90% of the movie is spent with almost everyone treating the main character like total garbage, including general nastiness and incessant name-calling. Why this happens, I've no idea. Was it supposed to be funny? It's not. Why is Ginger so incredibly hostile? The two main characters had consensual sex, and she is every bit to blame for the situation as he is. She informs him that she's pregnant, and rather than blow her off, he steps up to the plate and tries being nothing short of an excellent man and father. Yet this is met with nothing but hostility.

Oh yes, she tells her family that he raped her. Comedy gold! And of course, he forgoes the paternity test. Uh... WHY would he do this? Because someone he doesn't even know claims she was a virgin before they had a one-night stand? Sure. Very realistic.

Not funny, not entertaining, and constantly annoying. There is no reason to watch this movie.
7 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
A quite boring romantic comedy
Argemaluco18 November 2011
With the film The Accidental Husband, I thought I had found the worst possible premise for a romantic comedy (a hacker legally marries two people who hate each other); then, I saw The Switch in order to prove that it was possible to fall even lower (a man exchanges his sperm with...ah, forget about it). And more recently, I watched the film Barry Munday in order to remind us that there is simply no limit for the presence of bad ideas in Hollywood. Needless to say, I found Barry Munday very boring and a waste of time.

There was only one reason why I decided to watch Barry Munday: the great Judy Greer. I have been a fan of this actress' for a long time (since I saw her in the film Jawbreaker), and I have been waiting for years to see her huge talent recognized. Unfortunately, she seems typecast in supporting roles of "best friend" or "talkative secretary", even though she still manages to bring solid works in those minor roles. Her performance in Barry Munday is also competent, and it is what saves this film from reaching deplorable levels.

For the rest, Barry Munday is a weak, tedious and unfunny romantic comedy, and I cannot recommend it, despite Greer's performance.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Hilarious indie comedy
NateWatchesCoolMovies27 October 2015
The world of quirky indie comedies can be an annoying pool to wade through, speckled with entries that can be too quaint and odd for my liking. But every once in a while they throw out one that's funny in its own little way for specific reasons, and just a bit touching too. I found Barry Munday to be one just like this. Lovable Patrick Wilson, an actor who keeps impressing me in different ways with his naturalistic charm and laid back ease in front of the camera, is hilarious as Barry Munday, a dumbbell of a dude who fancies himself the ladies man and haplessly tries to get himself laid. A lot. When he loses his testicles in an accident involving an underage girl, a trumpet and a movie theatre (I know), he becomes hopelessly depressed. When awkward Ginger Farley (adorable and underrated Judy Greer <3) contacts him claiming that he got her pregnant after a drunken hookup, his life is both upheaved and given ironic purpose as he gets to know her, deal with her 'out there' personality and his own, and be there for the birth of his kid. Wilson faces each scene with the cavalier innocence of a high schooler in a mid thirties man's body and is priceless whenever on screen. Greer is a frumpy little bunny as Ginger, a grouchy, socially awkward chick with brief flashes of feeling that she fiercely guards. Malcolm McDowell and Cybill Shepherd smirk their way through their work as Gingers parents, Jean Smart is loopy fun as Barry's hippie mother, Chloe Sevigny a sly devil as Ginger's slutbomb of a sister, Billy Dee Williams as Mcdowell's colleague, Shea Wigham steals scenes as Barry's moronic buddy, and there's a nice cameo from Shooter Mcgavin himself, Christopher McDonald. It's a low key turn from everyone, but in not going to crazy mode they find the subtle beats of comedy that to me are always more fun than going silly and over the top.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A Different Kind of Comedy
gavin694210 January 2013
Barry Munday (Patrick Wilson) wakes up after being attacked to realize that he's missing his family jewels. To make matters worse, he learns he's facing a paternity lawsuit filed by a woman he can't remember having sex with.

First of all, what is up with the homely Judy Greer? You get Greer for your film, and then you make her look dumpy? Big mistake! And you have Chloe Sevigny but do not make her the lead actress? Bigger mistake! (One scene totally makes up for this grievous error, however.)

And then we have additional casting choices that are excellent, such as Malcolm McDowell and the criminally-underutilized Billy Dee Williams. A lot of good comedy relies on good casting... actors who know how to deliver a line, improvise, and ad lib if necessary. I think they nailed it here... the real hero of this film is the casting director.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
well it's an Awful Awful and Awful movie. Who knew Patrick Wilson can do a movie like that!
Saad Khan17 December 2010
BARRY MUNDAY – TRASH IT ( F ) Barry Munday, well it's an Awful Awful and Awful movie. I wasted my time on this movie because I thought it has Patrick Wilson and he doesn't seem like a guy who does terrible movies but I was wrong. The movie and premises looked funny in the promos "a guy who lost his tactical/balls and then he gets the news that his one night stand is making him a father so, now he tries to fulfill his fatherly duties". The story looks fresh on paper but it's terrible on screen; I had to forward almost the entire movie. Patrick Wilson was over the top & weird. Judy Greer was incredibly annoying and dreadful. I think it's the entire director's fault that made her character as annoying as he could have made. Maybe he was thinking its comedy and it works but lets be honest it DOES NOT!!
12 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bad.
DetectiveBurst29 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I am tired of seeing movies featuring men incessantly abused by women with the expectation that people are to accept it as somehow humorous. There was nothing funny about how Barry was constantly insulted and humiliated by just about everyone in the film. What's worse is that Ginger tells her entire family he drugged and raped her. Is that supposed to be funny? Here's a guy walking around with people thinking he's a rapist and he actually becomes enmeshed with a woman that would lie about that kind of thing to obscure the fact that SHE didn't want to take responsibility for having sex with him. Where is the humor here? It denigrates the horror of rape and dilutes a woman's chances of being taken seriously when it does happen.

All this movie did is annoy me. There was nothing insightful or interesting or funny about this film. It's unfortunate such a good cast got tangled up in such a bad film.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
great cast unfunny
SnoopyStyle25 June 2016
Barry Munday (Patrick Wilson) is a lascivious womanizer slacker. He's a real boob man. He hits on a young girl at the movie theater and her dad smashes his balls with a trumpet. He wakes up in the hospital with his testicles removed. His girlfriend returns and breaks up. He gets a paternity suit from Ginger Farley (Judy Greer). Despite not remembering the night, he accepts responsibility. He starts to act differently. Carol (Jean Smart) is Barry's single mother. He doesn't know his father. Ginger has her parents (Malcolm McDowell, Cybill Shepherd) and her outgoing sister Jennifer Farley (Chloë Sevigny).

It's a wacky premise similar to Knocked Up although castration is no manwaxing. The characters are less likable. The comedy is unfunny because of that. There is a sad aura around the whole thing. This has a cast of great comedic actors but it's missing the comedic writing. Chris D'Arienzo is no Judd Apatow.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
A possibly funny premise ruined by inconsistencies, boring comedy, and rude characters
napierslogs15 May 2011
Barry Munday (Patrick Wilson) is a ladies man. At first the movie is trying to tell us that he just thinks of himself as one, but they did show us him getting his way with a lot of women. I guess I'm supposed to think that since it's just a comedy, there's no point to being consistent.

Barry wakes up in the hospital and discovers he's missing his testicles. That's an original set-up for what could be a fairly funny comedy, but 10 minutes in and that premise is mostly forgotten. We then get a boring comedy about Barry trying to get to know the mother of his unborn child. The two stories are only related by the fact that if he ever wants to be a father, now is his last chance.

There are some fairly funny lines, but the situations are not clever and the characters are not endearing. There is nothing to connect us to Barry and the rest are just rude, unrealistic characters. Notice how I never called the far-fetched premise unrealistic but I called the characters unrealistic? Yeah, that's how bad they are. We were also told the impregnation occurred on February 11th and the expected due date is December 10th. Really, a 10-month gestation period? I actually think that they just didn't want me to do the math. Well, I'll make it easy, don't watch "Barry Munday".
2 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews