2.9/10
801
18 user 12 critic

Silent Scream (2005)

The Retreat (original title)
R | | Horror | 28 October 2005 (USA)
Set in the deep freeze of a northern Michigan winter, when a group of college students volunteer to assist their psychology professor with his research, their weekend retreat turns into a nightmare.

Directors:

, (as Lance KR Kawas)

Writers:

(story), (story) | 2 more credits »
Reviews

On Disc

at Amazon

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Fractured II (2015)
Drama | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 2.3/10 X  

May Oster, played by Athena Lebessis, is a beautiful, pensive, somber woman in her mid twenties; a beautiful woman that discovers her boyfriend's bloody scarf in her apartment following a ... See full summary »

Director: Lance Kawas
Stars: Eric Roberts, Jake Busey, Reima Abouarabi
Street Boss (2009)
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

Based on the true story of how the FBI brought down one of Detroit's most notorious mobsters.

Director: Lance Kawas
Stars: Robert Gallo, Nicholas Turturro, Edward Carnevale
Restitution I (2011)
Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.7/10 X  

A true crime writer investigating a small town murder spree uncovers the devastating truth that changes the town forever.

Director: Lance Kawas
Stars: Mark Bierlein, Tom Arnold, Mena Suvari
The Deported (2009)
Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

A U.S. Italian actor is deported to Mexico by some crooked I.N.S. agents, and a pack of orphans help him find his way back to America.

Director: Lance Kawas
Stars: Nicholas Turturro, Talia Shire, Gary Valentine
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

During her first semester at college, a co-ed finds housing at a seaside mansion where, following the death of a fellow-student, she becomes entangled in a murder mystery surrounding the property and it's secretive tenants.

Director: Denny Harris
Stars: Rebecca Balding, Cameron Mitchell, Avery Schreiber
Silent Scream (1990)
Biography | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  
Director: David Hayman
Stars: Iain Glen, Andrew Barr, Kenneth Glenaan
Action | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

In the tradition of Friday the 13th and My Bloody Valentine comes the House of Blood. The sweltering laid back summers nights of Miami Beach usually full of dancers and nightlife turns ... See full summary »

Director: John Rusnak
Stars: Peter Hooten, Brian Kahrs, Mike Kradlak
Silent Screams I (2015)
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.8/10 X  

Andre Essen (Elya Baskin) says goodbye to his daughter, Natalia (Sasha Kolos), as she heads to America as a foreign exchange student. Natalia bonds with her surrogate family, Amanda (Callan... See full summary »

Director: Vitaliy Versace
Stars: Brando Abro, Ellina Adel, Scott Albrecht
The Retreat (TV Movie 2013)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Director: Luis Robledo
Stars: Matthew Abe, Barbara Carrillo, Bianca DeGroat
Self Storage I (2013)
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.2/10 X  

The friends of a night watchman, at a highly secured self storage facility, are home from college and looking to party.

Director: Tom DeNucci
Stars: Eric Roberts, Michael Berryman, Jonathan Silverman
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.1/10 X  

Tormented by the serial killer who took her mother's life, journalist LAURA NELSON investigates the only clue he ever leaves behind at his crime scenes: his diary pages.

Director: Andy Hurst
Stars: Chloe Snyder, Mark Hengst, Andreas Beckett
Silent Scream (1999)
Crime | Drama | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

Emma Jones, is an up and coming actress in Hollywood, who catches the eye of celebrated film producer, Roger Hardiman. He is making a movie about his Silent Screen Legend mother, Helena ... See full summary »

Director: James Chean
Stars: Dana Plato, Joe Estevez, Penny Ray
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
Nicole
...
Mark
...
Chloe
...
The Figure
...
The Figure (as Tom Zellen)
Bob Brown ...
The Figure
Randy Bergeron ...
The Figure
...
Brad
...
Steve
...
Amy (as Carey Shawn)
Roger Bergeron ...
Derrick
David Craze ...
Pete
Chrissy Lawver ...
Sandy
Courtney Kling ...
May
...
Richard (as Mike Kinney)
Edit

Storyline

A group of college students travels to the cottage of their psychology professor Barren in an isolated island as a reward of their teamwork in the research of Barren. They expect to spend the weekend with lots of sex, but a serial-killer turns their party in a nightmare. Written by Claudio Carvalho, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Plot Keywords:

college | sex | retreat | island | winter | See All (42) »

Taglines:

No one can hear you... See more »

Genres:

Horror

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for horror violence/gore, sexual content and language | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

28 October 2005 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Silent Scream  »

Filming Locations:


Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Goofs

When Steve and Derrick are stranded after their car dies and Steve sneaks off for a cigarette, his jacket collar changes from up to down to up again. See more »

Connections

Spoofs I Love Lucy (1951) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Routine but decent slasher effort
4 September 2012 | by (Los Angeles, Ca) – See all my reviews

Agreeing to accompany a professor to a cabin in the woods for a psychology experiment, a group of students find themselves stranded with a savage killer knocking them off one-by-one, forcing them to try to get away alive.

Pretty much standard issue slasher fare here, not that it's a bad thing by any stretch and actually has some solid points to it. The atmosphere, with it's wintery woodland setting out in the middle of nowhere, the growing realization of what's going on and the different traps create a pretty nice set-up here, and then the fact that the killer tends to show up whenever it's necessary to off someone makes for some really enjoyable moments as well. The pace is great and the kills are outstanding, so it's got a lot going for it even though there's a few flaws. The final twist reveal is a total cheat and really works against the film, the characters' actions are plain idiotic, and the cheapness does shine through on occasion. Otherwise, this one's pretty fun.

Rated R: Graphic Language, Graphic Violence, Nudity and a sex scene.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
another crappy flick. loser_2000
First review. misbegotten
Sure, I get it Jammal0
McKiddy chris-2231
Guys theres a killer outside and its pitch black dark alabama2561990
Discuss Silent Scream (2005) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?