Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Great Job with this movie!!!

10/10
Author: wakemans25 from United States
16 January 2006

Normally I try to avoid Barbie films, but this one was unmistakably awesome. Kudos to the graphics and character voice overs. It all flowed well. This enchanting tale is a great spin off of others, but is well worth buying! I don't have kids, but the kids I babysit, (including boys) find it intriguing and love the extra features on the DVD. I honestly don't know why this is rated so low, but for kids, especially your Barbie lovin' 8 year old will love this. Its not straight forward and predictive like most movies are. This "childrens" film has excellent morals and shows teamwork. It has no swearing, bits of romance (if your old enough to figure it out) and beautifully written storyline. Thats why I am giving it a ten out of ten!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Among the better of the Barbie movies

8/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
28 May 2012

I do get pleasure of the Barbie movies, they are not masterpieces but they are not movies to be scorned at either, at least in my view. And I really enjoyed Magic of Pegasus, just as much as Nutcracker, Diamond Castle and Prince and the Pauper. The dialogue is at times corny, and I did feel some scenes like Wenlock at the beginning felt rushed. However, the story itself is very imaginative and cute with an excellent moral, the characters(though Aidan may take some getting used to) are engaging with Annika a likable heroine, Pegasus adorable and Wenlock one of the better Barbie movie villains and the music is great, classical music enthusiasts will love snippets of Beethoven's Pastoral Symphony and Grieg's Hall of the Mountain King. The voice work is solid, and the animation is really beautiful especially in the ice-skating sequences. All in all, one of the better Barbie movies. 8/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

An Imaginative Family Movie

7/10
Author: sddavis63 (revsdd@gmail.com) from Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
10 October 2009

My 5 year old daughter is very into the Barbie series of movies. I've had mixed feelings about that - not wanting her to buy into the whole Barbie-doll image of things, and recognizing that the movies are a marketing ploy to convince young girls to buy more dolls and make more money for Mattel. This morning though she asked me to watch this movie with her, and - it being a lazy Saturday morning and with not much else to do - I agreed. I don't know if the movies have been made to help market the dolls, which seem to be losing their appeal a bit from what I've heard or if the dolls are there to market the movies (or, more likely, a bit of both) but whichever is the case, I have to admit - somewhat to my surprise, this wasn't half bad.

It's a fun and imaginative story full of magical places and people and memorable characters (both good and evil.) Essentially, Annika ("played" by Barbie) has to find a way to build a "wand of light" to reverse the evil spells of the wizard Wenlock, who among other things has turned her sister into a flying horse and her parents into stone. The animation here was pretty good - not Disney-calibre (if one thinks of Disney as the standard to aspire to) but generally pretty good, and while the movie is obviously tailored to young girls rather than middle-aged men, I still found there were enough twists and turns to make me wonder how it was all going to turn out. It's true that there were some holes in the story, or at least some logical inconsistencies, but again one must remember the target audience, who wouldn't really think of such things. This is an all around decent family movie. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Barbie becomes a princess

5/10
Author: cbudlong1 from Canada
27 November 2005

If you have a little girl, they will love this.... Just be aware that this is an attempt by Mattel to provide more fodder for the big Barbie merchandising machine.

Of course, it delves deeply into the fantasy staples of evil magicians with magical staves, who ride griffins and freeze all who oppose him. He tries to force Annika (Barbie's most recent incarnation) to marry him. Of course, Barbie escapes and has an adventure trying to help her family. Figures that everyone she meets is some kind of royalty - they always are in fantasy novels.

Something else that bothers me is the lack of credit given to the composer of the score. I understand that the classical tradition allows arrangers to quote from past musical masters, but the mention of Beethoven and his Pastoral Symphony, and Peer Gynt's Hall of the Mountain King really should have been done at the beginning. Sorry, but there are too many quotes throughout the movie to allow just the mention of the arranger at the beginning of the movie. (sorry - your name scrolled by during my rant)

Any more and I'll give it away.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A wonderful job

9/10
Author: (HannahCliff@hotmail.com)
20 April 2006

I would have to say that in general Barbie Movies have impressed me. I have a 5 year old Barbie fanatic niece and she watches them all the time so needless to say I have seen quite a lot of Barbie these holidays, but I am not sick of them.

This film, visually, has a lot to offer, especially the backgrounds, and the animation of the characters has improved with each new movie. One thing I noticed in particular was a vast improvement in the animation of Barbie's hair in this film. It has a lovely range of excerpts from classical music and I think that this is great, as it exposes a new generation to the classics. This film is well worth ago, especially if you have young relievers. They will be entertained for hours!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus - Brilliant

8/10
Author: Laura (westlife4814143@aol.com) from United Kingdom
12 March 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

For once a Barbie movie that is good. I'm 18 and a embarrassed to say this but I'm hooked on these movies. I hated Barbie when I was younger but the movies I love. Shiver is so cute and I've fallen in love with him. He's so cute as the polar bear and totally in love with Aiden. Oh man I'm in love with Shiver. I love Annika determination not to give up on hope and eventfully it works. I love this movie and hopefully they will be other good ones. Barbie & Swan Lake is other brilliant movie. I would recommend this movie to children of all ages (even boys) because the movie is that good and I'm hard to please. Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus is a movie that is enchanting and exciting.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Strong woman in Barbie!

9/10
Author: ayame-3 from United States
5 March 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

For a kid's movie, this is great. As an adult and mother, I enjoyed watching the movie with my daughter. There is a lot going on in this movie. The following *might* be considered a *spoiler*... Barbie learns courage and learns not to judge others so quickly in this movie. She also learns not to give up hope and to master her anger. I loved the sense of teamwork you get from watching Barbie and her sister and friends solve the puzzle. There's nothing in the movie I found offensive or inappropriate for young viewers. In fact, I felt that the moral messages of the movie were superb and well done.

The animation was pretty good. I really enjoy the ice-skating scenes and think that they were very well done. There's a lot of action in this film, so I suspect that most kids would enjoy it... not just the ones that are really into Barbie. My daughter actually picked it out because of the Pegasus. She loves horses. But she enjoyed the movie very much. My daughter is autistic, and was able to sit through the whole movie and enjoy it. She really liked the action scenes and any parts with horses involved.

One thing that I was thinking about was that many people object to Barbie (and Ken) because they are so beautiful. Yet, I think that kids, just like adults like to look at beautiful people and things. It's natural. As adults, we enjoy watching beautiful movie stars too. It's wonderful though, that the Barbie character and her "boyfriend" have a lot of personality. While it's fun to watch pretty people, it grows old if there is no substance behind the pretty face.

Overall, I'd say this is a great movie for kids and parents will enjoy it, too. :)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus is great <3

10/10
Author: Kiara Fauxbel (kiki_is_amazing@hotmail.com) from United States
23 February 2006

I just want to comment to the woman above, that the movie DOES credit Beethoven in the begging. In the beginning credits they show it. Thank you. I think this is an amazing movie. They picked just the right music for the mood of the movie, the animation is wonderful, and they picked the voices for the characters very well. It teaches children to never give up, and to always have hope. Princess Annika doesn't give up , and it shows children that they can do the same. The movie also has humor in in for all ages, parents and children, to laugh at. The colors in this movie are great, and kids can really feel good while they are watching it. I watched this movie for the first time, now I am a huge fan, and I'm sure your child will be too. Walmart sells tons of Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus stuff, so your child can continue to enjoy the movie even when they aren't watching it. Thank You!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

outstanding 3D

10/10
Author: jaemiewaters from United States
16 February 2012

it is a outstanding 3D movie you will enjoy this amazing 3D movie if you like Barbie than you will enjoy this outstanding 3D it is a movie that is heartwarming it is a movie that should be on the big screen for sure it is one of the best 3D movies i have ever seen it really is a outstanding 3D movie it hoot it is a must see this is a great movie in 3D this is a movie that you will be talking about for a long time this is one of the best 3D movies ever made you just have to see this amazing 3D movie i know so if you like 3D movies than you will die after you see this amazing 3D movie this is one of the best movies ever made in 3D you just have to check out this amazing 3D movie you want be sorry it is the best 3D movie ever made in 3D i never saw a 3D movie this good before have a great day everyone have a 3D day i know you will enjoy this 3D movie have a outstanding day everyone

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history