IMDb > Blind Date (2007/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Blind Date
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Blind Date More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 7 reviews in total 

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Depressing, and quite hard to watch at points, but very worthy.

Author: callanvass
2 February 2010

Blind Date is a movie I came across, many times every time I have entered the video store. Due to the lack of comments on the IMDb page, I decided to leave it alone. The temptation began to be too much however, and I decided to give it a look after all. It's one of the most original movies I have ever seen, but there isn't really any happy moments to be had, after I finished viewing it, I became pretty depressed. Blind Date is very cheap looking, but the incredible performances of Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson is what really make the movie. The pain and suffering they are obviously going through, is quite heartbreaking. Most of it is set in an old fashioned, fancy type looking bar, I thought it was great, and really set the mood for the movie. The only problem I had with the movie, was the deliberate slow pace. It was never boring, it just seemed to drag on at certain points, and the different blind dates, did get a little old after a while. I did appreciate the effort on the low budget it had, and it was quite a thought provoking film, when all was said and done.

Performances. Stanley Tucci is remarkable. Filming this must have been very hard, and it shows on his face. To be depressed in almost every scene, was quite the feat. His chemistry with Patricia is amazing. Patricia Clarkson is wonderful. Her pain saddened me, and I was really rooting for her and Stanley to pull themselves together.

Bottom line. Blind Date is an interesting film, despite being extremely depressing, is worthy when all is said and done. Make sure your in the mood for this though, because it may tend to ruin your day, if your not.


Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Two to tango

Author: jotix100 from New York
23 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Don, a magician, is seen practicing his art in a club that has probably seen better days. Through a personal ad in a local newspaper, he meets Janna, a woman of a certain age, that has an aura of mystery about herself and the way she interacts with Don. It is clear these two like one another because they keep meeting at the same place on different occasions. Throughout the story, a girl's voice comes on to tell us something about her parents.

As this tale unfolds, we realize the real identity of the two people that are presented to us, who go through different emotions; they are, after all, well acquainted with one another. The thing that binds them is a tragedy that has left them wounded individuals because the terrible loss they have suffered. By pretending they are just meeting in casual ways, they seem to be re-igniting a passion that has died between them and have terribly changed them forever.

This is an American tribute to the late Dutch filmmaker Theo Van Gogh, who was murdered by an Islamic extremist in his native country. Stanley Tucci, an actor who has tried his hand at directing before, adapted the original material with David Schecter. The result is a film that tends to disorient the viewer not paying close attention to all that develops between Don and Janna.

Patricia Clarkson, one of the best screen actresses working today, offers an insight to the suffering Janna. Ms. Clarkson and Mr. Tucci, who plays Don, do wonders with the material and prove they are at the top of their craft.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Quite Original

Author: ghzakaria
29 October 2008

Unfortunately, I haven't had the chance to watch the first version of this film, the one that was made by Theo Van Gogh. Therefore, I'm not very sure that the summary I used is true for I don't know how much this "Blind Date" is different from Theo Van Gogh's "Blind Date." Anyway, I liked the way the film is made. It is very simple, yet deep and clever. The narrator is used in a very good way.

For a moment I was about to hate the ending, but the last camera movement fixed things. It was a clever and touching evening.

Performances are very, very good. And Tucci has done a good job as a director, making the film looks as simple as it should be.

On the other hand, the film could use a faster pace in some places, and closer shots in many cases would have done the film much better. But it is still a very good film and a very original one too.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Hard to recommend to a general audience

Author: HallmarkMovieBuff from United States
18 September 2010

This film plays out like an acting exercise by two very capable, well-established actors. What holds the simple plot together, along with the series of vignettes showcasing the actors' skills, are two things: the personal ads introducing each segment, and the narration by the characters' deceased daughter.

Blind Date is probably more valuable as a teaching tool in a professional acting class than it would be as a night at the cinema for the general public.

Excerpts from Blind Date will doubtless appear in retrospectives of Clarkson's and Tucci's acting careers, as illustrating examples of their work. That Tucci also directed likely strengthens the focus of the film in terms of his and his co-star's portrayals.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Leads are well-matched, but material is off-putting and mostly intolerable...

Author: moonspinner55 from las vegas, nv
26 March 2011

A self-described 'funny magician' and his wife, a retired dancer, indulge in role-playing games to keep their minds off their recent misfortune in losing their daughter. Freely-adapted from Theo van Gogh's 1996 Dutch-language film of the same name, this talky effort from director/co-writer/lead actor Stanley Tucci is a smoothly-paced yet internally-mercurial drama which is alternately thoughtful and boring. Tucci and Patricia Clarkson (not surprisingly) match up well together on-screen--but of all their many character incarnations here, I never felt I was seeing living, breathing human beings. The film is a high-wire act, all show and circumstance. Tucci's opening sequence, performing his joshing act in an intimate-yet-ornate nightclub, is a highlight; yet the modern-day mood is nearly destroyed by a child's narration, speaking pretentiously as if she were just retrieved from a 1950s film noir. *1/2 from ****

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I found this to be a compelling film.

Author: jkmpoco from San Francisco
30 September 2010

I discovered the this movie on On Demand and was delighted. Yes, it deals with potentially depressing content, but its beauty is a testament to the depths of human emotion. I think this is a stunning film. Tucci's character is complex. He engenders pathos as well as being a bit off-putting at times. Patricia Clarkson does a grand job of portraying the subtleties in each of the personae her character takes on. Both actors area achingly beautiful in this movie. I liked the mise en scene created by the shabbily elegant club that evokes the early decades of the 20th century. The score/music is haunting. The movie is rather like a play, but with the bonus of close-ups add immeasurably to the experience. Tucci knows tragedy, and it certainly shows here. I feel fortunate to have found this gem.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Artsy, sad and somewhat pretentious movie...

Author: dwpollar from Evansville, Indiana USA
6 December 2011

1st watched 12/4/2011 – 4 out of 10(Dir-Stanley Tucci): Artsy, sad and somewhat pretentious movie made by Stanley Tucci about a couple who play games that consist of one of them putting in a personal ad – the other answering it, and then each play the parts displayed in the ad. Stanley's character is a magician who appears to own his own bar and the woman, played by Patricia Clarkson, is the troubled wife. The story is narrated by their daughter, who we find out later died in a car crash where the couple was at fault. The games they are playing are supposed to be therapy to help them handle their problems they have had since the daughter's death. Some of the role-playing just doesn't make sense – some of it has some funny bits, but mostly it's the two of them not really making much progress and wasting their time together. The movie is based on another movie but was re-written by Tucci and David Schechter. The movie feels like Tucci's attempt to make a foreign movie, but here's the problem – Tucci and Clarkson are Americans, and the movie just doesn't come across very genuine. Sometimes actors are just not suppose to write or direct and maybe this is the case for this well-known actor. Sorry, this is just the way I see it after viewing Tucci's failed attempt at an art-house type film.

Was the above review useful to you?

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history