IMDb > Kuwait Connection (1973) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Kuwait Connection More at IMDbPro »Zi'ab la ta'kol al lahm (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Marhaba! (bravo!)

8/10
Author: ajji-2 from Lahore, Pakistan
15 August 2006

Wow! I was very curious to see this Egyptian action/crime thriller from 1973, and boy, was it worth the wait! Similar in a lot of ways to the Italian films of this type, this one features gun fights, car chases, lots of nudity, askew camera angles, lots of hand-held camera work (though more out of budgetary constraints, than any post-modern considerations, ala Michael Bay, Tony Scott, etc), and just plain weirdness. A few scenes are effectively done in the style of giallos, and there's quite a few surprises in the deceptively linear story. Some scenes and effects are laughably inept (like the point blank shooting of a naked woman where the squib turns out to be dry…!?), but the overall package is so deliriously trippy, you hardly mind the flubs. there is even a touch of lesbianism and a (possible) hint of incest in the script, which is familiar in places but accumulates enough elements to appear somewhat unique. But despite the crudeness of style and the sleaze, the film manages to say something meaningful, and end on a poignant note…just when I thought it was going towards a more happy ending. I love this baby, and I want to see more Arabic films like this one (if indeed there are any). apparently the film was later banned in Egypt, but that's all good in my book. Marhaba!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Arab Connection

7/10
Author: vastolive8 from Lebanon
29 December 2005

I've heard a lot about that movie many years ago & i only had the chance to see it a week ago. Frankly i was really surprised and stunned of what i saw.The late Egyptian actress Nahed Sheriff gave it all in the movie with a few full frontal nude sex scenes leaving nothing to the imagination, also the Lebanese actress Silvana Baderkhan had her quite share of nudity as well. I believe the idea from this movie is copying American action movies in a middle eastern way, i give credit to the Lebanese director Sami Koury for convincing his Arab actresses to take it all off (not an easy job ) i dare some of the Hollywood actresses nowadays to do 20 % only of what those actresses did back in the early 70's. Too bad directors don't make movies like that in the Arab world anymore..It was the days before the Egyptian & Arab censorship on the movies..its not a masterpiece but if you like to see an erotic action Arabic movie, Go & see it because it's worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This movie is credited for the nude appearance of the beautiful Egyptian actress Nahed Sheriff

9/10
Author: infotoc
15 November 2005

This movie is credited for the nude appearance of the beautiful Egyptian actress Nahed Sheriff, even though the movie does not seem like having a strong plot, but the Lebanese director and producer Samir A. Khoury has overpass all this by exposing his actresses. Starting with Nahed Sheriff who shows it all in this movie, you can see the 3'Bs as well as many full frontal and a sex scene with Ezzat el Alayli (an Egyptian actor). The movie revolves around "anwar", a journalist who has seen so many wars and finally become one of the murderers he used to dislike. Overall the movie is worth watching and why not keeping it in your library as one of the best Arabic erotic movie ever!

Was the above review useful to you?

Amateurish and boring..

3/10
Author: georgeuriah from Greece
7 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Don't be fooled by the storyline given by IMDb, sad to admit that I was, though. The movie is amateurish, to say the least, even by '70s standards and I'm sure that even Jess Franco could do it better. The story makes no sense at all, beginning as an action flick, turning into a love story halfway and somehow managing to incorporate a shootout for the finale. It also features the unbelievable scene where Anwar enters a party, stumbles half-dead in the living room, but the lady of the house continues her oriental dance, without blinking an eye, although as it later turns out, she was his lover in the near past!! Not mentioning the totally unacceptable "disguise" of the old lady!! Only thing positive the "assets"of Nahed Sheriff, otherwise yawning from start to finish.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Classic Crime/Horror Hybrid from the Middle East

Author: Dazzler Blue Jean from United Kingdom
4 March 2012

I just checked this incredible obscurity after an American friend recommended it. Wolves Don't Eat meat has all the intrinsic ingredients that feeds the needs of the most ardent exploitation fan - sexy sleaze, pulpy violence and a funky electro score (from Morricone collaborator Patrick Sampson) and infuses proceedings with an off kilter weirdness that would certainly cross over to the 'analytical' art-house crowd. Budgetary mistakes or not - no other crime movie from the Middle East quite looks like this one - the first speechless 30 mins is a tour de force of mood and strangeness as our assassin anti hero stumbles in to a crazed orgiastic pot party following a frantic car chase. The Italian influence is prevalent throughout (particularly the deranged ambiance of Bergonzelli's surreal giallo In The Folds of the Flesh) and when we get to the shocking slaughter house face off Wolves Don't Eat Meat has already established itself as a left of centre masterpiece. There are some positive reviews on the site for this wonderful obscurity - ignore the more negative comments of the other 'critics' (I use this term very lightly) - it's OK to have opinions (be they negative or otherwise) but to ignore this movie would be WRONG.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

No scenario, no acting but a surprising freedom.

1/10
Author: kafkatim from Morocco
13 July 2009

Ziab la ta'kol al lahem is an awful movie.This is only a superposition of scenes without a clear link.Acting is also very bad, despite the presence of a good actor like Ezzat El allayli. But something is really astonishing in this movie, talking about sexuality, emancipation of women, nude scenes are very rare in Arab cinema,even in this days. I really congratulate the director and the actors for their courage. We want to see more of this style in Egyptian movies, but with better quality. The reasons that led me to vote this film as an awful one are not only scenario and acting, but also the lack of prfessionalism. This movie look like an amateur one.We can see a lot of errors in the screen. If you want a good arab movie Ziab la ta'kol al lahm is not the one recommended.But if you wish to encourage the uncensored movies in all the arab world watch it and make your friends and your family do the same.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Fierce Egyptian exploitation classic.

8/10
Author: HumanoidOfFlesh from Chyby, Poland
2 December 2010

"Wolves Don't Eat Meat" by Samir Khouri was banned in many Arabic countries due to its scenes of bloody violence,gratuitous full-frontal nudity and its political message.The director is from Lebanon and he worked on several movies in Italy including few Sergio Bergonzelli's movies."Wolves Don't Eat Meat" plays like the cross between action flick and erotic drama with some giallo elements thrown in.The cinematography is rough and the action scenes are highly intense.There are car chases,execution style killings,violent shoot-outs and masked killer on wheelchair.The orgy of violence in slaughterhouse has to be seen to be believed.In Arabic movies you can't show any nudity,but "Wolves Don't Eat Meat" contains plenty of naked female flesh.8 wolves out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

If You Wanna See An Egyptian Movie.., Keep Not To See This Movie

1/10
Author: Amr El Gammal from Egypt
9 July 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Egyptian Movies has A Lot Of Filmes With High Level Of Drama Or Romance Or Comedy Or Action Even Sports... "Ziab la Ta'Kohl AL lam" Was banned In Egypt Because It Content Nudity (Full Frontal Female Nudity) And This Kind Of Nudity Is Prohibited In The Egyptian Movies.. When I Saw this Movies I Felt Down... Fool Story.. Nude Actress.. Bad Action.. Some Horror & Awful Colors.. Dear Friend.. If You Wanna See A great Egyptian Movie...Simply: Stay Away Form "Ziab la Ta'Kohl AL lam".. We Have Great Movies In Egypt... We Have A Great Actors Who Won A Global Wins Like: Omar El Sheriff Or Gameel Rateb.. We Have Great Directors Like "Yousef Shahin" So Believe Me Pall.. You Don't Need To See This Movie..

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history