IMDb > Firehouse Dog (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Firehouse Dog
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Firehouse Dog More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 45 reviews in total 

15 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Some sleuthing, drama, and humor = surprisingly entertaining.

6/10
Author: Susan Prince (woohooo@bellsouth.net) from United States
6 April 2007

I used this comment on a thread somewhere in here, and just thought I'd add my two cents on a quick review:

I went to the theater with the intention of seeing "Meet the Robinsons" but it was sold out, so with a choice of "Blades of Glory" and "Firehouse Dog", I opted for the dog flick.

I wasn't disappointed. It is a cute film, sure there are the boring and not-so-brilliant crude fart jokes, but the film is not so much about the dog, but about the relationship between a father and son, as they both work through a serious life altering event that they both experienced in the recent past.

In the story there is a bit a mystery and sleuthing involved, drama, humor and some silliness with the dog that I didn't find it too over-the-top. The relationships of those who live and work at the firehouse are also part of the story and the fires add some excitement and adventure.

I enjoyed the film, but wouldn't call it a blockbuster or anything. The kids in the theater were attentive throughout and everyone there seemed to enjoy it also.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

I Disagree - great fun

6/10
Author: cosmorados from United Kingdom
8 March 2008

4 out of 10? What? Who the hell is voting on this, people who enjoyed "Dude, where's my car?" or Canadian's who want to have a chip on their shoulder about film-making in their own country, if other comments on this site are to be believed. Well, personally I don't care where the film was made, I watched it with my family and I enjoyed it. Yes, it's Disney style corny, but the funny bits are funny, the touching bits are touching and ultimately you're routing for the dog and the fire crew.

Starring the underrated Bruce Greenwood and a decent supporting crew the film is fun for the family as the story of a pampered Hollywood pooch who learns what being a dog is really all about moves at a decent pace with gags that children will enjoy with a few extra bizarre touches for adults as well.

and for those people who give it 4, have you people seen Batman and Robin, Cool as Ice, of the abysmal Legends of the fall. Personally I suggest you watch these first before slating this.

6 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Surprised by this movie - I enjoyed it, and so did my kids!

10/10
Author: christiec64 from United States
14 April 2007

I gave it such a high rating not b/c I think it's such a great movie, but b/c it did what a family/kid movie is supposed to do - make you laugh, keep the kids' (and my) attention, and not make you fall asleep.

It did all of those things. Based on some of these reviews here, I expected it to absolutely stink. But my kids who are 4 and 6, and I thought maybe too young for this type of movie, were riveted. They liked the silly humor, and when the father and son had their screen time together my son cuddled with me and was obviously moved. And I didn't feel like pulling my hair out and I never checked my watch.

All of this made for a fun, worth-the-matinée-price, movie experience. On top of it, my husband took the kids to see this movie last week; so this was my first time, and their second - and they sat still through it the whole way.

Funny, sweet, enjoyable movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Kids should love it

6/10
Author: zombiez67 from United States
14 April 2007

This is a movie the kids are sure to enjoy, yea it has the same plot most movies of this genera have, bad guy, good guy, and a animal hero, with a couple added new things in it. Over all its worth a rental if nothing else. The best actor is the "Dog" , not to say the human actors were that bad but the movie focuses on the mutt and that's what you should get out of it. It will probably be a rental fairly quickly and that is what i would recommend for those not willing to fork out 60$ bucks to take the family. As an adult i thought it was a half way decent film, not boring even if it is a bit predictable. If you like animal acting type films , you should like this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie

10/10
Author: hskerfan from United States
6 April 2007

Funny, Suspenseful and with a message. I attended Firehouse Dog, not really knowing much about what it was about, and expected to see a cheesy kids movie. Boy, was I wrong. Blown away is more like it. Firehouse Dog pulls you in from the beginning, introduces it's characters, and tugs at your emotions. There are all kinds of emotions you feel in this movie. I laughed so hard my sides hurt, I got choked up and my heart swelled with emotion. If you want to entertain the whole family, and provide a positive message, definitely see this movie. One of the best movies of the year! It's too bad that movies like this don't receive an Oscar, because a lot of thought got put into the story given in the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Doggone it, this is a terrific little film!

7/10
Author: Amy Adler from Toledo, Ohio
27 April 2007

Shane has some problems. As a middle schooler, he has been doing poorly on exams. This is because his single parent father, Marc (Bruce Greenwood) is a captain in the fire department and is one the job a great deal of the time. In addition, Shane's uncle died in a fire about a year ago and his father is still mourning the loss of his brother. No wonder Shane is suffering from lack of parental attention and direction. But, one day, a dog is rescued by the fire department on top of a burning building. Shane and his father take the dog home. Unknown to them, this is no ordinary mutt but a movie star canine who was lost during a parachuting screen shoot. Although Shane does not like the dog at first, the little furry one is talented and wins over the boy's heart. And, he also becomes a great fire dog, leading to the rescue of another fire captain. But, will the real owner of the dog come back to claim him? And, just who is setting all of these fires in an already decaying neighborhood? This is a terrific family movie. Yes, it is implausible, at times, but it does not matter in the least. The adorable dog of the film is smart, talented, and will melt hearts. The cast, although mostly unknown actors, is also just right for the film. The costumes, sets and movie production values are fine, too. Then again, many children and adults are interested in fire fighting and this flick has plenty of minutes devoted to battling blazes. In short, if you want to get a new and worthy film for your family's enjoyment, this is a terrific choice. It will have everyone cheering and clapping for the brave little canine and his taller companions.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Firehouse Dog

9/10
Author: rkyracer from Palm Springs, CA
9 April 2007

I was surprised when I saw the rating and thought about not going and seeing this movie. But, my wife and I were looking for a movie to take the children to see - difficult to find these days. We went and were pleasantly surprised by the total movie experience. Laughter throughout the theater during many parts of this film. Sure, some plot scenarios were far fetched but for a family movie, a comedy and a dog star type movie this movie was excellent. I have learned that the dog is an Irish Terrier - what a fantastic personality this animal has. I sincerely encourage everyone of all ages to see this movie. Look at it as a fun family film - not as an Oscar winning drama of great significance but certainly much better than the rating indicates.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

low-grade kids' film

3/10
Author: Roland E. Zwick (magneteach@aol.com) from United States
18 October 2007

In the utterly unremarkable "Firehouse Dog," a pampered movie star pooch named Rexxx falls out of an airplane and into the lap of a second-rate fire station where he is immediately adopted as the department's mascot. With his natural talent for search-and-rescue missions, Rexxx soon insinuates his way into the hearts and affections of all, including the young, slightly troubled son (Josh Hutcherson) of the station's chief (Bruce Greenwood).

Despite all its obvious good intentions, I can scarcely imagine anyone but the tiniest tots in the audience being either intrigued or inspired by this film. Apart from the slight difference that the Timmy-fallen-down-a-well predicament has been replaced by a Shane-trapped-in-a-burning-firehouse sequence, this is a thoroughly conventional "a boy and his dog" tale in which neither the boy nor the dog is really all that appealing. In fact, Rexxx is so un-cute and so un-cuddly that it's hard to believe that he could ever be a true canine superstar sensation in the real world.

As for the script, it consists mainly of feeble jokes, broad slapstick and obvious sentimentality ladled out in roughly equal measure. There are a few touching father-and-son moments along the way, but this is otherwise a very long, very uninspired "kid flick." There's nothing overtly wrong with either the values or the morals conveyed by the movie - unless, that is, one considers subjecting innocent and unsuspecting children to bad film-making to be, in and of itself, immoral.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Foolish but some good things inside

3/10
Author: Bollywood_Laxitive (bollywoodlaxitive@yahoo.com) from Bucharest
7 June 2011

I really had a lot of expectations when I went to see this movie knowing Josh Hutcherson plays the leading role and it also has Joanna Bennett in it, one of my favorite actresses of the Fassbinder era, and also Bruce Greenwood, arguably one of the titans of English language theater. Normally, when expectations run high, the disappointment is big, but this movie really did deliver! The story is intense and very well scripted, acting is superb by the entire cast to the tiniest role. Director Todd Holland,(TV's "Malcolm in the Middle" ), delivered a true masterpiece. If the flatulence omitted it would have been a very enjoyable movie with a positive message. Josh Hutcherson who has to carry his movie does it in a sovereign manner! Photography by Victor Hammer is amazing, this is a benchmark achievement and gives a new dimension to what is normally labeled as "Heimatfilm". The landscape, the mountains and hills of Upper Hollywood are photographed in a way that they always reflect the mood of the characters, thus enhancing the story and transport it on a superimposed visual level. Same goes for the music by Jeff Cardoni. They all add up the enhance the increasingly unsettling atmosphere on the remote firehouse and draw you in this story of love, longing, and utter betrayal. Of course, there was another of those idiotic wolf attacks. I have not seen a movie as good as this one in quite a while! Enough with the wolf attacks! I rated it 10 out of 10!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Quite entertaining

5/10
Author: creeda1 from Ireland
7 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Watched this because I like dogs. The dog itself was perfect - some sort of Irish terrier cross - very "doggy" looking. The story was quite good I thought. The nasty little boy turns out to be quite a pleasant fellow.......although I think he is meant to be adorable! Couldn't understand more than 30% of what anybody was saying, but that didn't really matter - they all seemed quite standard people with nothing interesting to say. The firemen were a sort of Keystones Cops bunch - a black person, a Latino, a woman and a blond chap who seemed quite stupid. Unlike other reviewers I didn't mind the relatively coarse scenes of the dog farting and snoring....I did however object to the scene where the dog has been reunited with his original owner who - to celebrate - offers the animal a variation on a group of hookers - three differently colored poodles! This really seemed vulgar and not particularly suitable for the children who are presumably the target audience - but then indoctrination can't start too soon!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history