IMDb > "Moral Orel" (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Moral Orel"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Moral Orel" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 45 reviews in total 

31 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Amazing show, very edgy

Author: Adam from United States
30 January 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I found it to be a very clever and intelligent show. If you have a mature and developed sense of humor and are open to jokes on controversial ideas, you'll love Moral Orel.

The story centers around the son of a Christian family. The boy, Orel, faces the challenges of the everyday life of a child who only wants to do good.

And then hilarity ensues.

The show takes shots at the commercialism of Christmas, the political correctness of America, and at religion in general.

If you're not afraid to laugh at things that might make Pat Roberson red in the face, then Moral Orel is for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

excellent parody

Author: Eric LaJuene from Schenectady, NY
29 January 2006

This is a great parody of the old show from the 60's or 70's called "Davey and Goliath" It's a show poking fun at far right wing christians so if you are a born again Christian you will not want to watch this. It is done in what looks like claymation. Orel is a little boy who lives with his family, mom, dad and little brother. They live in the town of Moralton in a NEW state wedged between Kansas and Missouri called "Statesota". This is really short like most Adult Swim programs. It is about 12 minutes long. There is some claymation blood and gore so if that bothers you you might want to skip this. This cartoon is really meant for left wingers like me or maybe atheists or perhaps people WITH A SENSE OF HUMOR. I'm sure there will be complaints and they will come mostly from people who never watched it but just heard about it. Have fun, hope it goes on for a long successful season or more.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious - Funny - True

10/10
Author: Justin from Vista, CA
10 July 2006

Having grown up in a town very similar to Orel's, I can safely say that this show is only slightly a hyperbole. Which is a scary thought.

The animation is good, but when you have content like this, that doesn't matter. If shows like Southpark and Aqua Teen Hunger Force have taught us anything, they have taught us that you can easily get away with terrible animation if your content is quality.

And, this show is pure genius. It is witty and entertaining, and pulls no punches.

I could do with a daily dose of this show. I'm shocked (and pleased) it managed to get on the air. I'm also very glad to hear there will be a season two.

Most Christians will hate it, bash it, and complain about the contents, but that doesn't make it any less funny (or any less true!).

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

A shining example

10/10
Author: rick-939 from United States
27 July 2007

People will either love or hate this show, however this does not give people who hate the show because of their religious belief the right nor the permission to push their own religious belief on others. Posting outrage, isn't going to convert anyone your going to actually drive them away.

There are 4 points to this show that ring true, that these people do not see for they are blinded by the opiate of the masses.

1. Taking the bible literally is a very bad ideal. Parables are to be translated. 2. Allowing children to be exposed to fundamental non restrained religion with generic explanations is a very dangerous thing. 3. All the answers is not found in ancient text. 4. Hypocrisy abounds.

Religion is not a bad thing, in moderation. The same with anything that makes you feel good.

When in the end its all one thing, and the steps to take to accomplish that goal.

1. Be kind and forgive one another. (GOD does the same thing)

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

One of the best shows on television

9/10
Author: Mr. Neutron from United States
14 November 2008

Most Christians will probably be severely offended by this show, but that's part of its charm. Its offensiveness is riding on the shoulders of an innocent little boy who simply doesn't know any better. He misinterprets others' advice and chaos ensues. The same could be said about religion itself. What I find so continually compelling about this show however, is that it dares to be different. The line-up on Adult Swim has swiftly shifted to gore porn as of recent (Metalocalypse and Robot Chicken being perfect examples), but Orel focuses its sights on the way religion controls people, changes them. Lying beneath the bitter sentiments however, is something even better: character development. Throughout the series, we see the various demented characters of Oralton for who they really are. This really kicks off in season three (which is currently nearing its end) and it's truly gripping. What you thought were one-off humor characters in the first season are revealed to be deeply troubled human clay-things in the second. Speaking of, the series gets quite dark at times, and with only the personalities of the characters... Yes, things can be dark without buckets of blood. But in the little town of Oralton, Statesota, we see much more than a bewildered mass. We see a portrait of the American psyche. (other psycho-analytical jargon here)

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Don't listen to the other reviews, Moral Orel is one of the best new shows on adult swim

Author: gabrieldel from United States
4 February 2006

Many people say that adult swim is losing its touch with brand new shows like Perfect Hair Forever and Squidbillies but I see it as a new direction. Moral Orel is adult swim's newest show. Animated using claymation, this show is about a young boy named Orel and his troubles growing up Christain. This show uses offensive humor sort of like South Park which is the main cause of the negative feedback but the show feels innocent and with that brand of offensive humor brings hilarious results. If you like twisted situations and claymation you should watch Moral Orel. If your a big baby that gets offended by this sorta humor Moral Orel is defiantly not for you. 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievably well done

10/10
Author: gonelunch1 from United States
4 January 2009

This is an amazing show. The Williams Street (southern corporate bods zieg heil ted turner) bods canceled it after 3 seasons, but it was amazing. Not only did it walk a fine line between criticizing a putative deity and criticizing the morons who choose to speak in the deity's name, but it also showed us how actual adults (inevitably marginalized in Moralton) do adult things like move on and call a halt to unproductive relationships. (Stephanie and Danielle respectively). The ending is unexpected and unbelievably sweet - it makes me cry every time. I can't wait to see what DS does next!

If you get the chance to see this on DVD, be sure to check the extras. I'm an auditory learner but DS's commentary made me go back and look at the visuals and they were amazing!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Amazing.

10/10
Author: EvelPlatypus from United States
29 April 2009

Moral Orel, created by Dino Stamatopoulos, is my favorite television show of all time. The show depicts (at least in the first season) young Orel Puppington growing up in Moralton trying to be a good protestant by sticking to the moral code and lost commandments, unfortunately screwing it up in the process, only to be corrected (in his study with belt in hand) by his supposedly good father figure and father, Clay. In the later seasons, though, it turned much, much darker, focusing on the dramatically repressed citizens of Moralton. In the final season, however, they abandoned the brighter episodes to much more depressing story lines (did I mention this is all done, very well I might add, in stop-motion animation?).

The show has ended, much to Moral Orel fan's dismay, but it was a pretty bad decision. Moral Orel was VERY well written and funny throughout, less we forget dramatic, offensive and blasphemous. Let me warn those of you whom are offended by parody of religion, TURN BACK NOW. This show parodies religion every episode somehow, whether subtle or blatant. For those of us who can take a joke, Moral Orel is over, but Orel shall forevermore live within our hearts knowing the ending. He was canceled before his time, yes, but we have 43 episodes of amazingly done animation. This show is nothing like anything else on Adult Swim, since it contains very few vulgar words (nothing needed to be censored), it's overall style is comparable to Davey and Goliath. Watch it and enjoy one of the best achievements in American television in only eleven minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Great parody of a crappy show...

8/10
Author: hellcopinc (hellcopinc@aol.com) from LA (lower arkansas)
15 May 2006

I remember the old "Davey and Goliath" show and thought it was dumb when I was 10. This is a great parody of that show. The humor is on the lower end of the "South Park", Family Guy" spectrum. It is a funny show. I don't understand why some people don't like it. The episode where Orel gets hooked on crack is hilarious. The episode where Orel starts drinking had me laughing for days. What I like most about the show is it keeps with the "Leave It To Beaver" mentality with out being cute. It is worthy of its Adult Swim counterparts and should be given consideration.Give it at least three episodes before passing judgment or go to the study with dad.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Dark Animated Comedy

7/10
Author: TheExpatriate700 from United States
23 January 2011

A juvenile religious fanatic. His alcoholic, closeted homosexual father. A sexually and emotionally repressed mother. The father's gay, satanist lover. Scenes of gay bashing, molestation, and underage drinking. All the things that make a comedy great.

Moral Orel is an Adult Swim comedy with an extremely dark heart, even crossing over into dramatic territory in its last season. It focuses on the family of Orel, a young evangelical Christian living in the Midwestern town of Moralton. Due to his often literalistic interpretations of his parents' and other adults' advice, Orel's actions frequently culminate in distinctly immoral results.

This is a show that gets better as it goes along. The first season and a half were characterized by an extremely formulaic approach as each episode followed Orel's screw ups. (The episode "Loyalty," for instance, is a masterpiece of dark humor.) Although many of the individual episodes were funny, watching more than one or two at a time could grow very tiresome, very quickly.

However, the third season is arguably a masterpiece of adult animation. It marked a dramatic shift in tone for the series, with much more emphasis on the development of individual characters aside from Orel. For example, the episode "NUMB" focuses on Orel's repressed mother Bloberta, and often crosses between the darkly comic and the genuinely disturbing.

Moral Orel will clearly not appeal to all people, and is best enjoyed by those whose sense of humor leans toward the warped. Nevertheless, with those who are up to it, it is a great, under-appreciated series.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history