Darna Zaroori Hai (2006) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
18 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
Dar Gaya Na...
Thanigai Vaasan5 May 2006
Wanna get scared? OK. Let me try. Now? Now? Now? Scary yet? No? Really? How about now? No? Oh! You are beginning to laugh! OK. Laugh. Laugh. Laugh. Laugh.

BAM!

Thats the formula Ram Gopal Varma has come up with, for his audience, in this mercilessly shocking movie.

0. Boo...

A never-scared, self-satisfied, endlessly-laughing man, watches Darna Mana Hai in an empty theatre, hates it to the core and takes a shortcut through a graveyard, against his mother's advice. There...

1. The Professor

A Biotech student visits his professor at his house to clear his doubts before examination. The meeting turns into an annoyance when the professor behaves troubled with something. The student prepares to leave. Then...

2. One Call Please

A man, whose car breaks down, knocks the door of an unusual couple for help. As he gets more comfortable with them and as they display their new unusual hobby, they discover that their meeting was not just a coincidence.

3. Life is Risky

An ambitious Insurance Policy man approaches a middle-class family to impress them with his "Life is Risky" tactics. While he is constantly shown only the door, he even goes a step further in completing his target.

4. The Director

A romantic-movie director wants to make a horror movie. On the way to his out-of-city bungalow, where he decides to write the climax, he gives lift to a stranded girl in his car. As she narrates her story, his job becomes easier than he had imagined.

5. Ma...

A young man who saves a girl from running over by his car on a rainy night, wakes up to find himself in a lock-up, accused for a crime which he has never committed. As a stranger visits him in the station, the truth that unfolds then, seems stranger than fiction.

6. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Six brave children, misusing their school picnic freedom, hike in a forest and arrive at a haunted house where they meet an old lady who lives alone without fear. As they get friendly with each other, she challenges to scare them by narrating six frightening stories. While she stops after the fifth, the bravest kid asks her, "Where is the sixth one, Dadi Ma?". He will be told.

It would take too long to review each story. Therefore, I'd like to put it in a brief way. Each story has its own theme and its own shock value, though, a few similarities can be felt between The Couple and The Director (in both one tries to fool another with a scare) and also between The Director and Ma (the car, dark road, rain). Nevertheless, the rest are unique among them.

"Life is Risky" devastates a common man's sense of self-security. It jolts but doesn't scare. Rajpal Yadav is greaaaatttt as the Insurance man. Sunil and Sonali just fit in the role. "The Director" is beautifully made. When Mallika narrates her story in dark, it somehow reminded me of the song "Ye Sard" from RGV's Bhoot. I expected more but unfortunately it ended too soon and made me feel "Is that all?". Anil Kapoor and Mallika have done whats necessary. Nothing more. "The Couple" is slow, sensuous, playful, scary and predictable. You just cant forget that smile! Makrand shines in his role. Arjun and Bipasha have done a good job. "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" is the movie's central story. Ava Mukherji is, in one word, scary! The children have dutifully performed as they have been instructed.

Now the three best episodes. "Ma..." is a brilliant tale. Randeep is wow! Zakir is unbelievably superb. Rasika excels in her role. Are you going to Poona? In car? In the night? In rain? Beware! "Boo..." is the Prologue. Manoj Pahwa. Man! What a carelessly cool actor! His mother is a good diversion. She has done well too. Sorry. I wont say anything more than this.

Of all the seven stories, "The Professor" steals the show. Amitabh! The icon of Bollywood gives one more earth shattering performance! How many more styles does he have! This episode stops you, shocks you and gives you shivers, cos you don't know whats in it and whats gonna come next. Ritesh has rendered a befitting performance. He seems more scared of Amitabh's acting skills than the scenario he is in. Cos the old man rules!

This movie on the whole has more fear and shock value than Darna Mana Hai, although I should accept that except for "The Professor", DMH had much better story plots. In my opinion, the most shocking of all the 14 stories in both DMH and DZH is "The Professor" and the scariest of all is "The Teacher" from Darna Mana Hai. Overall, DMH didn't scare as much as DZH, but it made us squirm and feel creepy cos of the reality which the stories reflected. It left a long lasting impression in us. On the other hand, the shocks that DZH has in store, will hit you hard and cruel with sudden force, only when you naively think that its time to relax. Thats merciless! It shocks you. It keeps you excited. It makes you giggle with fear. And its fun. Its a different experience on the whole. Feel sorry for yourself, if you miss this great movie. And feel more sorry while watching it...

Hey! Look who is behind you!
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Miss karna zaroori hain!!! (No one has learned from their mistakes)
kooleshwar28 April 2006
The first movie "Darna Mana Hain" was not really brilliant as far as implementation was concerned but scored top marks on attempt for being such a different concept in Indian cinema.( Clearly inspired from tales from the crypt though).

Hence I went in to this movie expecting that the great churner of horror films Mr. Ram Gopal Verma may have learned from his earlier mistakes and definitely offer a much better film this time.

Sadly this movie if anything was worse than the earlier one.

Basically this movie is divided in six different segments made by six different filmmakers.

It started of very well though in fact i would say exceptionally well in a segment directed and conceived by comedian Sajid Khan clearly if there was a filmfare for best opening sequence in a film this would get it. The idea was creative and it properly mixed the element of horror and some humour even poked some fun at the first film. And set the expectations for a great film in fact the brilliant start made the future disaster all the more unbearable.

The other segment that deserves mention is the one with ranjeet hooda that is not exactly that scary but scores on humour (yes humour) and more like thriller besides the opening segment this was the most impressive with some genuine creativity and convincing acting.

The only other segment that deserves mention is the one with Anil Kapoor and Mallika which again scored on humour and though predictable was convincing mainly due to the acting of the lead actors. Mallika is definitely maturing as an actress and showing her talent in the limited roles she receives.

The other segments including the one made by Ramu himself were shoddy, unoriginal, uncreative and utterly disgusting. The less that can be said about them the better, Ramu did clutter them with some big stars but the story is the greatest star in such films and no amount of acting talent can even salvage a bit entertainment from the wreck.

Special mention the for the Segment involving Rajpal Yadav and Suniel shetty which will go down in Hindi film industry as probably the most uninspiring scenes in an A-list movie ever. This segment alone had the potential to destroy this entire film. Rajpal yadav has now finally beaten Johny Lever and the uncrowned king of annoyance and i hope we are spared watching a similar role from him in the future.

Even though 3 of the segments deserved mention only one had any entertainment value and even that didn't score very high on the horror front.

This movie in fact is almost incapable of being listed in the horror category (thriller maybe)due the absolute lack if horror in it.

No marks can be given for attempt as this is the second attempt.

Please avoid this movie at all costs, the filmmakers haven't learned from their mistakes and neither did I learn from mine(watching the first one).

Please learn from mine and watch a rerun of bhooth instead. When it comes on TV do watch the beginning though.
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
no difference in the second one...
rakssharma432128 April 2006
Darna Zaroori Hai proves to be the same as Darna Mana Hai...even the suspense in the stories is similar..one more thing is that the movie appears to be a little old as most of the child actors have grown up now..we see Shweta Prasad who also played a major role in Iqbal recently..the child actors from Koi Mil Gaya and Raju Chacha are also there..it seems Ram Gopal Varma put the discarded stories of Darna Mana Hai in this one...still the movie is worth a watch. watch out for the Amitabh Bacchan story as its a real shocker..overall good acting performances by all actors even though their roles were minuscule. lets hope we see more movies of this type in the future.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
one of the best work of Ram gopal verma
amit_sinha6230 April 2006
Its one of the best work of Ram gopal verma and must watch for ramu's fans. The film is out of box thinking though very simple message is attached to it. Its good that he has broken the typical horror movie of Ramsay Bros. trend. Don't miss the first 15 minutes of the movie ! If you miss it, You don't deserve to watch this movie. Though having six different stories , they all are blended very well. I must say that though Ramu haven't given hits like DDLJ or KKHH , but he is the most intelligent director and far ahead with his contemporaries. This is one of his successful experiment. Amitabh is at his usual best and have given excellent facial expressions. The characters seem to perfectly fit.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Well done!
Karthik Abhiram30 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Just got back from watching this movie at Sathyam Cinemas (Chennai). It was very well executed, and technically, I'd say it was better than "Darna Mana Hai".

The stories themselves are similar to the ones in the first film. This movie again features six stories, wrapped up in a framing story (six kids enter a dark and scary house and old grandma tells them stories that are guaranteed to scare!).

(Minor spoilers follow)

A man goes to see Ram Gopal Varma's "Darna Mana Hai" at a theatre, but has to take a shortcut through a graveyard...

A student visits his professor for a late-night tutorial before an examination, but the professor is scared of something...

A man's car breaks down and he enters a house to make a phone call..

A life insurance salesman takes things too far...

A successful director picks up a beautiful hitchhiker on his way to Khandala...

A young man finds himself imprisoned for murder that he doesn't remember committing...

(End spoilers)

Very well made movie, this -- a lot of the impact comes simply through creative camera-work or sound effects. The movie has a great cast as well.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Though not as polished as it could have been, Darna Zaroori Hai is still a stunning accomplishment
psychoticabdullah27 June 2006
Darna Zaroori Hai is one of the few Indian Movies that are made in this genre -that is horror-and considering that alone, I think we all ought to give it some credit for this venture. Prod/Dir Ram Gopal Verma proves once again that he can not only pick up unusual stories but also portray them well.

Based on the same format as its predecessor, Darna Mana Hai, Darna Zaroori Hai Has got six stories-one in the beginning (not related to the plot) and five others which an old hag narrates to five unlucky children which are caught inside the woman's mansion due to heavy rain and storm. And then there's one main story; that of the old woman and the five kids which binds the movie together.

All the stories have there own charm. Some are good, others are even better. Apart from sticking to the creepy theme, they portray their individual meaning.

There have been several improvements in the sequel technically as well. The film has been shot most beautifully, the direction being pretty good. The special effects put now and then into the scenes are also surprisingly slick for an Indian film and completely enhance the ghostly setting. There is also quite a huge star cast in the film with most actors acting very well. The Audio effects remain typical for a horror flick and help you immerse deeper into the feel of the movie.

All good said, I would want to add that although Darna Zaroori hai is still a stunning accomplishment with what it does do, there are many finer points in the film that remain half baked deteriorating what could have been a most thrilling horror film. The main story has no depth and is absolutely typical in its very root. The short stories are all good but in one or two cases you may have wanted the ending to be more climactic then what happens eventually, even though the setting for the climax has in all cases been done most proficiently. The pace is quite astonishingly managed in the first half of the film but begins to twitch severely in the latter half. All this leaves you thinking that if only this could have happened like this, it would have been perfect.

In the end, let may say it comparatively: that although not as polished as Ram Gopal's excellent horror thriller "Bhoot", Darna Zaroori hai still makes on my "good-movie" list. It is definitely better then its prequel.

I give it a 6/10 (Good).
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Film Factory deteriorates
Avinash Patalay20 July 2006
Film Factory deteriorates

Picture this – there was this small time thela who used to sell pav-bhaji's and its taste was second to none. Due to popularity business expanded and now its an restaurant. You still go there but sadly the taste is clearly missing. That's the analogy of RGV and Film Factory.

The prequel 6-segment Darna Zaroori Hain was an unexplored area, no film-maker dared to risk, which should be lauded. Not exceptionally well, but it had its moments. Darna Zaroori Hain takes one level up – six different directors, one for each segment (Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez can do we, should we be left behind?). Well intended thought – however the result falls flat.

Segment One: Manoj Pahwa's shouts and overacts. Clearly the segment director is a rookie. Probably the most irritating segment. And why reference to Darna Mana Hain?

Segment Two: "THE" most anticipated for obvious reasons. Clearly Ramu is not committed…. "and...." he doesn't care! Big B is wasted. At the bare minimum, a better plot could have been chosen.

Segment Three: Proper utilisation of resources - Arjun Rampal, Makrand & Bipasha. Well executed but bears resemblance a segment from the prequel.

Segment Four: The insurance agent segment is the number one… from bottom though. The talent of all the actors are washed down the drain. For starter - the basic premise is flawed

Segment Five: The Anil Kapoor and Mallika segment is done well – though gives away the suspense in between. Nevertheless, it is good. And Karan Johar/ Aditya Chopra leaves a bad taste.

Segment Six: Cleverly the pudding is saved for the last. The best of all the segments and whoever the director is – had spent sleepless nights, brainstorming over the plot and its execution. Its does carry RGV style. Randeep Hooda and Zakir Hussain are simply superb. Watch out for the scene where Zakir Hussain imitates the killer – awesome.

The last segment which binds all the stories together is similar to the prequel except that its replaced with kids. The kids surely must be watching a lot of horror TV shows/ movies – for their act very well. And all the granny's are not goody-goody, beware Little Red Riding Hood.

The segment directors have not done workshops together. There is loss of continuity between the segments, clearly the common vision is missing (which wasn't the case in the prequel owing to a single director).

On a final note, we respect Ramu's penchant for horror flicks... time and he again he has refused to beaten off in horror genre, though not as successful as his core competence - underworld.

Watch only when aired on the telly.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Basically its about 5 kids who have come for their annual picnic. AND THEN!!
vineeta8130 April 2006
As i said five kids are there who go into the forest for the purpose of trekking. But then clouds gather up and they get stuck and deciding not to go back they enter a nearby cottage. Over there they meet an old lady who tells them 5 horror stories.One about a Professor then one about a family man then one about a man whose car breaks down and then one about a film director. I think Ram Gopal Verma is following the footsteps of Ramsay Brothers, but his horror flicks are subdued and still thrilling. You just cant predict what when and how something will happen. Kudos to Verma. Not an excellent movie but the thick star cast and thrilling antics can still manage to lure you into the movie theatre. All in all, not that bad. Go watch it!
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Darna Option Hai
SelvarajanK10 May 2006
Darna Zaroori Hai the sequel to Darna Mana Hai starts off with a brilliance and ends in not so brilliant way. The theme is the same as before, so one can easily come to a conclusion how it will end even before getting the ticket to the film, So no complaint the way it ended. If Manoj Pahwa's was brilliant in portraying horror, Amithab's episode touched the peak with the background-score, if Arjun Rampal's was do with beautiful horror, then Rajpal yadav's was to do with fear, if Anil Kapoor's was to do with bluffing, then Randeep Hooda's was on revenge. So we had all the flavors of POSSIBLE horror in the film with excellent performance from all most all the people in the lead. The Maturity of each actors helps the film to reach at least half-way where it was heading. Did it deliver that good at the right content, well that of course depends on how much you were horrified. After the film i started counting at how many instance i felt a Shock/Tremor/Horror. When i finished counting it wasn't even two digit number but it wasn't zero either. The film does at least triggers a small shake in your body, for me it was with the episode with Amithab Bachan, the others where tilted towards the comic side but the lesson in those stories to learn was don't play too much with others when you don't know how much they can handle. As far this film goes except few scenes you can handle most of them. You cant expect every frame with blood on it to say its a horror film, this film will horrify you provided you see the film without expecting when will you be horrified meaning concentrate on the drink and pop-corn rather on the story and at the end count the pop-corn on the floor that's the number of time you where horrified.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Darna Zaroori Hai or Darna Mana Hai Part-2 ??
kathuria_nidhi9 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Ram Gopal Varma is indeed a filmmaker who likes to juggle hats when it comes to film-making. It's hard to slot him as a director of single or specialized genre. From underworld mafia gang-wars to 'rangeela' musicals, he has proved himself to be the demigod of experimental cinema. The Indian cinema seems to on an upswing and the golden era is not too far, as our optimism grows with a row of hits and different films like 'Zinda', 'Rang De Basanti', 'Gangster' or even the film that boasts of a rustic comic streak 'Malamaal Weekly'. In the light of being uncommonly charitable to most of the recent Indian films, what do we think of 'Darna Zaroori Hai'?

When you read the label on the bottle that says 'POISON' in red color, you won't dare to meddle with it, unless you are on a suicide mission. But when you read the title 'Darna Zaroori Hai', you want to be SPOOKED with the capital S. So, does the film manage to scare you? The answer, 'NO'! An ensemble of quite predictable seven short stories, the film proves to short circuit right after the first story, directed by Sajid Khan; intelligent story line, great acting by Manoj Pahwa, sharp camera work and sound recording. To be fair, another story worth mentioning is the one directed by Chakravarthy (of Satya fame), starring Randeep Hooda as the man possessed. Ram Gopal Varma, the man who claims to love the world of horror and directed spine-chilling 'Bhoot' in the past, ironically tells the story in this film, which is perhaps the weakest of the seven stories. Though ironically again, the acting by Amitabh Bachchan in that piece, as a man intimidated by an invisible entity, is top notch, as the man delivers the expressions of trepidations with the most natural ease. Riteish Deshmukh, his co-actor also delivered a pro-reactive set of emotions, with brilliance. A story that seemed like revenge onto life insurance agents again, had powerful acting by Rajpal Yadav. But was it scary? No. Comparing the sequel to Varma's first, 'Darna Mana Hai', this one has weaker story lines and yet scarce punch of the ghost factor. Our verdict: Good for a DVD scare. -Nidhi Kathuria
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
HAHAHAAHA....Horror Movie!!!!!
rohan1071 May 2006
Hmm, I went to see...Actually, I was dragged along by me mates to see this so called horror movie" Darna Jaroori Hai". I had a doubt about this one coz the posters were quite enticing with its huge star-cast...Movie history hasn't been so kind to huge star-cast flicks and part twos and this show was no different...The movie was utter crap to say the least! ....There are these six little stupid stories as with Darna Mana Hai! .....I felt, I was reading a Balbharti or Kumarbharti book throughout! I mean....come on... How long are ppl going to be fooled by such stuff...Oh yeah, the scariest part was...well...nothing...Those who got frightened, or should I say startled, were only because of the horrendous music which was pretty irritating at times.All the stories were predictable. The last story was a Hindi version of "GOTHIKA". And it was the most funniest...I,along with my friends were laughing throughout the movie and so were most ppl in the theatre!! Actually the movie title should be " Hasna Jaroori Hai"!!! ....Guys, sheer waste of money.....Don't even bother watching it on a DVD.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
the worst movie of all time.(spoiler)
movie-lover_9328 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
First this movie begins with a fat guy who goes to the theater and he get chased by a witch, pointless and they copied or stole some music from<(what lies beneath). then it about three kids go to an old lad mansion where she tells them she 5 ghost stories and all stories are worse than the other. this movie is good for kids. and they will have a fun time watching it. the movie made me laugh it was like watching my little sister movie. nothing is good about this film. The first story about a college professor and his student, somehow the professor starts hallucinating about some one in the house. the second about a man has a car accident and goes to a big mansion soon a couple make him crazy then the worst twist in life comes. the third is about two young married couple a dumb lunatic comes and says that he will kills them. and the fourth is better, i mean it was original it start Anil Kapoor and Malika Sherwat, about a hitchhiker goes scares the hike out of Anil Kapoor. and the fifth is the worst it was like the movie "gothika" the really copied off in a bad way. here is an advise do not waste your money
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Who's scared?
exinator15 October 2006
Too predictable... Too cheesy... not scary...

Mr. Ram Gopal Varma if you have so much of extra money with you, just pass it on to me. Won't be wasted and trust me, audiences won't be tortured this way.

It seems Mr. RGV is angry with this world and his sense of making the world pay is by watching his movies....

6 kids landing up in 1 haunted house.... stories follow and all of them are known by you even before they get started.... The ending, too is something you know and you realize that at the beginning of the movie itself.

Nothing scares you.... a bad comedy if that was what this movie intended to be. The only stories which stand out are the ones starring Randeep Hooda, Arjun Rampal and Anil Kapoor. Sajid Khan's version is more like a good theatrical trailer.

Watch it but trust me, you won't get scared... you won't get entertained... you'll just get angry, at Mr. RGV... biting nails? Yeah you better!
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Renamed "Why did i rent it" in some countries.
lazrer19 August 2006
I am disappointed with this movie. Darna mana hai was new in its own way and had some good stories. Darna zaroori hai reflects bollywood's (creatively failed)efforts to cash in on DMH.

If you show me Fight Club once i will be amazed and in love with it, but if you show me "Jhagda Dhaaba" with same plot and twists like FC then i would ask for my money back.

If u think DMH was nice then really don't watch this movie. Its a complete disappointment and has one story almost the same(some one scares som1 who is already a ghost).

To be honest if u have seen DMH u would need to have an IQ of 50 to like this movie.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Good Stories spread on a Bad Layout !
Asphyxiod25 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
First, I would like to say that, its Slightly better than Darna Mana Hai. Darna Zaroori Hai is fresh & a good attempt for its Off-beat style. These kind of Movies are mandatorily required for Indian Cinema which in turn is lacking differentiation from conventional filmy plots also carrying on & on the same old theme with a hero & a heroine running from opposite sides until they bang on the center of the screen with green mountains on its background, making the director feel a nirvanian satisfaction.

Nevertheless, Had this film shown to group of sensible audience, the film makers could have come out with many over-directed removable scenes.

The fatal flaw of the Movie was their background score of a nursery rhyme. Every time this score buzzes, our brain starts flowing currents of Pathetism. This score was horrible & absolutely mediocre.

Starting with the first story, directed by Sajid Khan, was simply a Crap. The second one by RGV & performed by Amitabh Bachchan was too short to believe. The Stories after that are good enough to hold our attention on to the screen. The Story of Arjun Rampal-Bips-Makarand was good & gripping. The one with Anil Kapoor - Mailika Sherawat was also good enough.

Watching all the clips, we understand that those direction / script flaws were actually saved by good acting. All of them did a great Job.

Finally, the best act of the Film, was from the Story of Rajpal Yadav playing an Insurance Agent who breaks in Sunil Shetty's house. Yadav's performance was Top-notch.

Just when, you could see the last Story of Randeep Hooda ends, its advised, to get your ass off the seat ! The Grandma story was absolutely unbearable......and again... the Nursery Rhyme Score....It sucked like hell !

Overall I rate 5/10 just for 3 good stories & great acting by all of them.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Don't bother..
folkpoet804 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
OK, this may contain spoilers. I'll start with the start. The first episode was pretty witty, where the guy dies by looking at the poster of the movie itself. Pretty witty, but nothing scary.

Amitabh episode left me pretty baffled. My copy ended when the student looks at the "image" in the mirror. Did something else happen after that or was my copy complete?

Arjun Rampal episode was a complete REPEAT of the Nana Patekar episode from Darna Mana Hai. I had an impression that Arjun would be the dead guy. Nothing special in the episode.

Rajpal Yadav/Suneel Shetty episode was the WORST. I have no clue what the message was unless I miss something. I can't believe after so many years, Suneel still speaks such pathetic Hindi. His dialog delivery was horrible. Rajpal Yadav is a brilliant actor (Main Meri Patni Aur Woh! YES!!), but here his role didn't do any justice. So he dies at the end. What's scary in that???

Anil Kapoor/Mallika Sehrawat episode was funny, not scary, and probably the best in terms of acting. Poor guy dies thinking that she was a spook. Witty again!

Randeep Hooda episode was a cheap B-Grade Story. A soul acquires a body, and kills her killers.

Overall, Darna Mana Hai was a great movie and really had good direction and mature acting, even from unknown faces. This movie, although much anticipated, was a waste of time. I'm sorry, but so many directors, a hoard of actors, still couldn't save the poor screenplay. 3/10
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Not up to the mark . . .
catchpreet200529 April 2006
I saw the movie today and seriously, I feel that the movie doesn't live up to its expectations. There is nothing scary in the movie; rather it seems that the movie belongs to the comedy genre. "Darna Mana Hai" did have the horror element to some extent but "Darna Zaroori Hai" fails to evoke the fear in the mind of the viewers. Out of the six stories, the Randeep Hooda story excel the others. However, Manoj Pahwa's story, Arjun Rampal/Bipasa's story and Anil Kapoor/Malika's story are satisfactory. Ritiesh/Amitabh Bachachan's story, surprisingly directed by Ram Gopal Verma, is mediocre. Finally, the Suneil Shetty/Sonali Kulkarni story is a total let-down. The movie suffers due to bad screenplay, not-so-scary-stories and, at some places, awful acting.

In conclusion, the movie is a complete disappointment to all those avid Ram Gopal Verma fans, who watch his movies for his unusual and distinctive stories!

So, if you have all the time in the world to throw away, then call your buddies at home, eat popcorn, watch "Darna Zaroori Hai" and laugh all the way through the movie!!!
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Not Impressed
baburoy1 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I was not impressed. I was expecting a movie that could chill me to the bone. It was probably that I went to see the movie with big expectations.

When a horror movie is made, it needs (a) good story (b) good atmosphere (c) good direction (d) good acting.

What this movie lacked was on the story front.

I am impressed with RamGopal Verma's filming style. He managed to get 7 different directors for the 7 stories. Yes, there are 7 stories - apart from the six stories being told there is a story which revolves around the story teller.

The actors did their job well, they performed to their best ability (yes, Mallika Sherawat has acted for a change) and credit needs to be given to them and the directors.

This movie could not scare me, but again I did not come out looking for the producer and asking for refund of my money (refer to the 1st story of the man who went to see Darna Mana Hai and walked through a graveyard).

I have posted my comments on my blog site (http://babu-roys.blogspot.com/2006/04/you-need-to-get-scared.html) also.

I would not want to see the movie again, but I will not rate it as bad.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews