IMDb > The Covenant (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Covenant
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Covenant More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 34: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 334 reviews in total 

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

OK For Sensitive Teens And Easily Disturbed Old Folks

Author: LeonLouisRicci from United States
21 October 2012

The kind of movie that has no graphic violence for those who hate graphic violence, no really terrifying scenes for those who hate to be terrified, PG-13 sex and nudity for those who hate that R rated sex and nudity, and so on.

It has stripped itself of anything that could make this anymore than a made for regular TV-like movie for children and preteens and easily disturbed older folks. So what remains is a tepid story about generational witchcraft where modern witches do nothing supernaturally scary, and have turned into bad Marvel/DC characters who have superpowers that consist of knocking each other around and conjuring up some spiders.

In the age of Harry Potter this just won't do. We have a completely inoffensive and sterile entry. It is so gentle, succulent and smooth that the wet pin-up actors are paraded like runway models smirking at the audience.

The best part of the film, is the interesting looking opening credits with the song More Human Than Human from Rob Zombie. The rest is less movie than movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

not the greatest movie ever, but ...

Author: goopeculiar from Denmark
23 June 2010

I watched this movie with my boyfriend and to be honest we were the most entertained when we made fun of whatever happened on screen. The plot was very predictable, the dialog was far from outstanding. If they had at least tried to find some decent actors (based on acting skills, not the steaminess of their body) they might have been able to get pull it off, but no. I couldn't bring myself to give this movie more than 4 stars (and I honestly don't understand how more than 15% of the voters think this movie is a 10) - it's not a complicated movie and you'll be able to understand what happens even if you don't pay attention all the time, but ... it's just not that great.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

the covenaters

Author: pookey56 from Canada
4 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

i cant say that this film is a real stinker, compared to some of the stinkiest films i've ever seen. But as i was watching it, i couldn't help but think of the guy who started this all with the classic, SCANNERS, and other films with mind-power guys such as the much much much better than THE COVENANT: DARK CITY, STAR WARS, LOTR, BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA, KUNG FU HUSTLE, as well as that episode on SOUTH PARK where Cartman was wee-wee weening people with his brain powers. I'm pretty sure i'm forgetting some of the other films too. I find it hard to even comment on the content of this movie, such as it is. This movie is what it is. You may even like it better than MATERIAL GIRLS, BLOODRAYNE, and BASICALLYITSTINKS2 (thank you, Mr.Wilson). During the fifties many directors made films about the latest and greatest technologies and space ventures to show how science and technology could go so terribly wrong. Some of them were great; some of them were so bad they were camp. THE COVENANT is neither. I wont be watching this movie again because frankly, it doesn't interest me. i've seen better X-Box commercials with clearer intent.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

The descendants of the Salem witches that evaded their 17th Century tormentors return for supernatural mischief-making

Author: khportia from United States
30 August 2011

Inchoate gibberish. When you have no confidence in the story or the actors, edit the film at such a frenetic and hysterical pace that neither the human eye nor the human brain can rest on anything long enough to register anything other than delighted stupefaction. This nonsense is predicated on accepting that there really were witches in Salem in the 17th Century. In other words, the religious fanatics who burned women at the stake had it right. For those truly interested in the actual story of what happened in Ipswich, Salem and other New England towns, the film Salem Witch Trials, directed with skill and understanding by Joseph Sargent, is highly recommended. Note to user: disengage mind before watching The Covenant.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A film for guy crazy teen girls and man hungry gay guys

Author: newyorkguy1 from United States
26 September 2006

Where can I start on this one? The Covenant had some negatives and positives. The negatives were that the movie wasn't at all what I expected from the advertisements. I thought it was going to be at least a little scary and it turned out to be "Just another teen movie". Actually, with a name like "The Covenant", I thought it was going to be about Vampires. Guessed wrong. No blood was involved and it had mild violence that could have been compared to watching a fight between Ken and Ryu in Street Fighter with a lot of "Haduken balls" being thrown around. That was kind of cheesy. The positives were that it did have some originality. Kind of tired of seeing sequel after sequel and this movie gave audiences a break from that. The other positive was that it definitely was a movie for guy craving connoisseurs. This director took every opportunity to showcase the hot bodies of these young hot guys and it certainly had a tint of homoerotica. Kind of like soft porn for the gay guys. The best moments of the movie were the locker room scene showing like 20 bare naked male asses, the swim meets with barely-there speedos that if cut just one centimeter below would probably show some penis, and the guy-on-guy (not so erotic) kiss between Caleb and Chase with Chase lying on top of Caleb at one point of the movie. The good parts mentioned would be good reason enough for this movie to been seen again for those that can't get enough of the male gender.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

I consider myself a movie buff, and a guy who loves good movies

Author: AceofSpades901999 from United States
17 September 2006

Anyone who rates this movie above a 3 has a very distorted view of movies, anyone who rated this piece of sh!t 7 or higher, i have absolutely no respect for their taste in movies, and doubt they have ever seen a good one. I am always up for giving any movie a shot and i did with this one, i tried to pay attention, i tried not to let my money go 2 waste but 15 minutes in my friends were laughing at me cause i was listenin 2 my iPod, 25 minutes later i couldn't even watch the overacting that was occurring within the film, so i up and left, i have never ever ever walked out of a movie, until this garbage, Anyone who said they enjoyed it is a liar, or they should be banned from this site. I get so angry when i see a person rate this an 8 when the Godfathers overall rating is a 9.1 its like saying that that movie was close which it isn't.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Good ideal, bad execution.. wow.

Author: nrn from United States
8 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So after being with a girl addicted to Underworld for 2 years, I decided to give "The Covenant" a try. I mean it has a good premise and all, 5 people bound together with supernatural powers. Too bad thats about where the good ends.

To start off with, the give us a GREAT back story about the foundation of the covenant, then lead off with The Teens going to a party and showing just how awesome the power can be.

After that the movie pretty much turns into a bore fest, relating the "power" to heroin or crack. The "power" is so addictive that You can steal other people's powers by having them tell you "I will you my power!1!".

Enter crack fiend number 5, that. unlike the others grew up knowing nothing of his powers and what they do (make people age fast... YIKES), who is hell bent on stalking A SINGLE OTHER GUY for his powers.

That is it. That is where the Covenant ends, and what it boils down to. Two people fighting over a fix of some crack. They introduce story lines and leave them just like that. They leave off characters, and have the 3 other covenant members as background walk-ons.

Then to top this all off. You would think that two people who could will whatever they want would have a pretty spectacular battle. Instead they jump around (which you would think they could possibly be flying in the air, two huge powerhouses with the ability to do anything, battling throwing buildings etc at each other), and shoot dragon-ball z type "energy balls".

Thats the big climax. Two people that can do anything jumping around.

Don't see this in the theater. Heck, only watch it on TV if you are really bored.


Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

drowning would be more fun

Author: Josh Anderson from United States
16 October 2006

This has to be the most awful movie that I have seen in quite a while. For one this movie had a blatant lack of plot. this movie started with what could have been a good idea, (with a lot of work) but instead they went nowhere. My friend and I where both bored to tears with it. the (and I emphasize the quotes) "horror" elements where not even close to scary, and I jump easily. it used standard "building up music" and then cut it off, just in time for the "scary part" yeah no-good there. they story-line itself, well lets just say that a five year old could be at least a little more interesting. The special effects; they look like they might have been done on an Apple II, OK, that was exaggeration, but really, they needed a little more wok, perhaps a little crisper, and life like.

basically this movie is for whiny little boys with no self-esteem, who hold a secret hate towards others, don't see it please i beg of you.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

I very nearly killed myself

Author: old_fluffy_possum002 from South Africa
12 November 2006

I will begin by saying that I went to see this movie with a friend of mine who is quite into cults and Gothic horror and all of that. Just by looking at the movie poster, I could see that it was most probably going to be lame. I was right.

The film starts with bleary heavy metal music and pictures of pentagrams all over the place... and all of a sudden we see a group of guys standing at a cliff, looking something like a darker version of the Backstreet Boys or NSYNC. Anyone agree that this sounds like crap yet? The dialogue was so awfully cheesy. The film was basically all visual effects and it seemed like the screenwriter had just put in words to cover up the CGI-less scenes. Some of the lines that told me that made me increase my dislike of this film were: "Harry Potter can kiss my ass." "Come to find Miss Muffet have we." And the best for last "I just saw... A DARKLING." The acting wasn't much better. Both the actors and actresses were woody and there characters underdeveloped and stupid (I mean, when I light bulb explodes in a creepy bathroom, no idiot would walk around in a towel trying to find out why.) In my opinion, in some way or another, the director must have known he had just created a piece of crap, because, probably just to get more people to want to see it, he made the actors either topless or in a tank top with "steroid" type muscles sticking out... AND they were almost constantly drenched in sweat.

All in all, don't waste your money. This is meaningless and pathetic porn. It was painful to sit through and seemed to drag on forever like a hurt donkey. Within five minuets of walking out the movie house, I'd forgotten all about it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A slight pitfall, and also just a popcorn flick

Author: verndougall from United States
24 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A movie that does not match the hype of what its somewhat, over the top commercials made it out to be. We have our usual string of cliché story, boy meets girl, boy needs to save girl, and damsel in distress. You can find this variety of movie in many places, but it still grabs a unique version on takes of magic. Using power comes with a cost, such as draining life essence. I will give this movie props though, for giving away a creepy atmosphere, and sometimes watchful music uses. If you wanna just have a nice time, not so great, but not terrible flick. You could always witness this one, it can be found to be affordable as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 3 of 34: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history