IMDb > Crossover (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Crossover
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Crossover More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 35 reviews in total 

164 out of 184 people found the following review useful:

You need to see this movie! Trust me.

1/10
Author: simonbirch from Denmark
30 January 2007

Why?

Because everybody in the entire world would be able to create a better movie than this. I saw this movie because comments on this site. I didn't believe my own eyes! A drunk monkey would surely have done a better job than the writers & actors in this movie.

WATCH this movie and be AMAZED... Please do, i beg you! Actually i DARE you! Then you can say to yourself, "Hey, at least i will never watch anything this terrible again"

And people... Try to avoid hitting yourself in the head, while watching it. I had a hard time doing that.

Was the above review useful to you?

115 out of 132 people found the following review useful:

Holy crap, I can't believe this movie even made it to theaters!

1/10
Author: JB82185 from United States
16 September 2006

This movie was easily the absolute worst movie I have seen in a long, long time. Wayne Brady, what are you doing? You are funny! I saw you on "Who's Line"! Why are you in this piece of crap movie? Seriously, I'm going to be objective here. The directing was cheesy and predictable, with stupid-looking segways of quickly blurring images of cheaply decorated sets. The production budget on this one was desperately trying to look much more expensive, which it failed at miserably. The lighting, make-up, and costumes all look as if I could have funded them myself. The overall look and quality of the film resembled that of a mid-80's Egyptian soap opera dubbed into French. (Either that or the Golden Girls.) Granted, the moves displayed by these self-proclaimed "street ballers" were quite impressive, but it comes of as an insult to the audience. It's as if the people who approved and funded the making of this movie said to themselves, "All we have to do is put a few shots of street balling and it doesn't matter how cheap we make the rest of the movie because it has a built in audience." Heres some advice, invest in a good writer, better casting, better directing, and production and maybe you'll begin to have a movie that borders on "not-awful." I couldn't stop laughing at how bad this movie was. I'm ashamed to have spent my hard earned $8.25 on this sad excuse for a major motion picture.

Was the above review useful to you?

97 out of 121 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic movie?!?!??!

1/10
Author: ZilchSr (ZilchSr@yahoo.com) from Florida
21 January 2007

Fantastic movie? Fantastic? Are you kidding me? This "fantastic" movie has an average rating of 1.1, with 1 being the lowest rating on IMDb after over 1,200 votes. Fantastic? Fantastic trash, maybe.

The acting was bush league, and the plot was lame. All this is is just more of this same old tired and boring urban-up-and-comer-defeat-the-odds-make-a-life-from-nothing worship garbage.

I can't believe I wasted my time with this movie.

Voters rated "Gigli" higher than this, which should give you an idea of exactly how bad this movie is.

Was the above review useful to you?

91 out of 110 people found the following review useful:

Crapover

Author: Heather Henderson (UrbanFilmCritic) from United States
31 August 2006

For all who have cried for quality urban film-making free from gangsta, thuggin, and drug related themes…keep looking.

Detroit is a city rich in culture, history, ethnicity and empowerment but in recent years has developed an unfortunate reputation that upsets many natives. Those with a voice, the politicians, the rappers, even the filmmakers try desperately to reverse that negative image much to their credit. Writer and Director Preston Whitmore II, a loyal patriot indeed, attempts an urban tale about street ball, dreams fulfilled, and dreams deferred. It seemed like every few minutes there was a needless montage of city landmarks that were not part of the storyline. A gimmick that seemed patronizing at best, insulting at worst. I too love my city and I understand patriotic sympathies. However, they simply have no place on the celluloid. If a filmmaker wants to show the good of the city make a good movie! But that was just part of my problem with Crossover. It wasn't dramatic enough to be taken seriously and not funny enough to be a comedy. The funniest thing in the movie was the main character Tech (Mackie) spending half the movie studying for his GED. The plot was mediocre and the acting simply ghastly. Wayne Brady (who said he could be a leading man?) has to prove he's black to all his critics and quite unconvincingly portrays Vaughn, part businessman, part thug who has more than a legitimate interest in street ball. The cookie monster is a scarier underworld figure. Wesley Jonathan who was absolutely priceless in Rollbounce was less than thrilling-- almost boring. And Eva Pigford's play acting of the femme fatal just ruined a character that might have been interesting.

Crossover (or Crapover as I was calling it by the end) was a film that probably looked good on paper but lost its focus somewhere between the pitch and the production. I often advise urban screenwriters to beware of this potential peril. It's a death sentence to the film, but more importantly it is another unwanted blemish on the genre of film that is blemished enough.

Was the above review useful to you?

153 out of 242 people found the following review useful:

Crossover is Crossover

2/10
Author: mickeyshamrock from United States
3 September 2006

Do you like crossovers? Then do I have the movie for you! It is called Crossover. When I heard they were going to make a movie called Crossover I started practicing my crossover like everyday. When the movie came out I brought my rock to the theater and crossed-over all these dudes in line, it was hilarious. Then I crossed-over the popcorn dude. I got the Producer's Pick, you know, a hot dog and a large soda, then I crossed-over that too. Then in the theater this guy started talking on his cell phone, you know what I did… Yup! Crossover!!! Shut him up real good. EDITOR'S NOTE: The basketball scenes in Teen Wolf are better than the basketball scenes in Crossover. Crossover.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

Ouch!

1/10
Author: ShenStyle178 from United States
8 September 2006

This movie was a Crossover that is for sure. I broke my ankle on purpose just to try and get through the painful story line and horrible streetball action. If you want to see streetball just rent the And1 Mix Tape tours, even though they are a jumble of random moves, they are still better action then Crossover. This acting was not good either. The character development and personalities are cliché. And why now is Wayne Brady trying to get this tough guy persona. Ever since the Chappelle show appearance he is now all of a sudden more sinister. All in all this was not a good movie, I guess you can tell from my vote 1 out of ten, and that is 1 is just because there is nothing lower.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Crazy

1/10
Author: Firefighter_1025 from United States
16 January 2007

You know what's funny? I'll tell you...this movie. Once again drum roll please....Or, should I say DRUMLINE please. Drumline type movie that bombed like all of the rest. Nothing was good about this movie except the end credits where some persons name was my name and it made me as giddy as a school girl. I thought I was renting a movie about a poltergeist, but that didn't happen. But I was wishing that I was in the grave at the end of it. It's kind of strange that director's would take on something of this crappy caliber and try to make something of themselves. Writing was dumb, actors were...you know, and the scenes just made me want to take a bath and scrub myself from all of the bull that I've encountered.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Crapola (his is a spoiler people)

1/10
Author: RachelSmith45 from United States
9 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was the worst movie I have ever seen. First off every single character is the most shallow, worst drawn out character I have ever seen. I've seen better acting in porno's!! The movie is BARELY about basketball. Instead there are 3 times in the movie where you actually see a freaking basketball! The rest of the movie is set at the mall. The two guys, Tech and Cruise are so stereotypical it was hard to believe that was actually written and partially directed by a black man. The story line is so bad it hurts. Cruise (who you never see in school or even reading) got some scholarship to "Cal U" and its dangerous for him to play street ball (Ooooo lets all get scared). What the hell.

The worst part are the women. They have the worst one liners. "Is that true" "Its so big" "are you kidding" "is that for real . Yeah if you're going to put hood rats in your movie please don't let they say anything. The 'love story'is so unbelievable. Cruise and the better looking hood rat magically fall in love after he revels he wants to go to California and become a doctor. Less than 3 minutes later in the movie. (I think 3 days went by on screen) She's pregnant with his baby. He wants to marry her. HAHAHAHAHA. People in the movie started throwing things! (Come on now mister producer I did the math. It takes 2 weeks after sex for a women to have a baby. They were together around 3 days.)As for The ugly hood rat, she and Tech they get into an argument after tech realizes that he is a body double in a commercial and not the main man. (oh and his rival is the main man) Whatever. Then we find out that mister Dummy Tech that was the one that wanted to go to college. (WTF this dude couldn't add 125 plus 35 they're round numbers!) The plot thickens, Mister "thug" tech took a felony for Cruise, and that's the reason why Tech is so stupid and had to get his GED. (yeah so now apparently you get felony's for hitting white people and when you skip your senior year you can't add either).

Eva reveals that she is a gold digger to Cruise and only wanted him because he was going to California. (who didn't see this coming) Cruise falls off his bike (the stunt work was horrible) and punctures a lung. (he didn't even hit the ground that hard) What the hell why does that even matter. NONE OF THIS CRAP DOES. Play some basketball why don't you and don't montage it.

So in the end. Everyone breaks up. Eva (the pretty hood rat) is a ho who had a baby by the whole freaking block. And the two guys to to community college. WOW. Crapola.

The acting is bad, the script is bad, there isn't much basketball, the film is low budget. Don't see it or if you want to see some crap at least sneak into the theater through the back door.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

So Bad It's Good!

1/10
Author: MIDDLEMYATT from Los Angeles, CA
21 March 2007

My kids and I enjoyed this dreadful exercise in predictability and bad acting for all the wrong reasons: We playfully wagered on what actors would say next (and I use that word "actors" very loosely). It's full of clichés of all kinds. We would rewind and laugh at the scenes containing Eva Pigford's unbelievably horrid acting (please, for God's sake, stick to simply being a model!). We'd pretend to be menaced and afraid by appearances of that definitive "hood" slick guy, aka Wayne Brady ("New Jack City's" Nino Brown has got nothing on him!!!). And we were amused at how surprisingly weak the basketball scenes were. The on-the-court scenes contained lots of edits and cut-aways that marked staged shots. And for a movie about b'ball, the court scenes were extremely minimal and unexciting. On a serious note, please observe this theory of mine if you rent this film (for God's sake don't buy it): Sometimes, being surrounded by bad actors and faced with a bad script can even make a good actor bad. Case in point, Anthony Mackie. He's clearly got skills, but he had no business being in this foul of a film! This movie surely falls under the "So bad it's good" banner. If you rent it expecting anything else, you will surely be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Cross Over should be CROSSED OUT

1/10
Author: mstalltammi from United States
24 February 2007

OK.. first of all Wayne Brady should be shot for doing so terrible! Johnathan Wesley should have had enough experience to do better than he did! I mean after all he did play "Sweetness" in Roll Bounce which was only a tad bit better! Eva The Winner from America's Next Top Model should definitely stick to modeling! Her acting was so bad, that it seems like she was joking! I guess winning an award for acting is out of the question! At least it is, based on this movie! LOL. The rest of the cast, I had never seen and hopefully I won't ever see again! This movies was awful! THe plot was weak!They all need to take more acting classes IMMEDIATELY! I barely made it through the movie! This movie should have been called CrossOUT!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history