IMDb > The Companion (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
The Companion More at IMDbPro »Dosar (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 173 reviews in total 

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

a good thing, all over again. in b&w

8/10
Author: abhijit1507 from India
14 April 2006

dosar released today in calcutta. the film stands out for several reasons. one, its in black and white. director rituporno ghosh (of fame such as Unishe April, Dahan) went to great lengths to procure scarcely available b&w film and then work on post production. apart from some jumps in skin tone and lighting the experiment is largely successful.

as far as the content goes there is much to look forward to. its a story by shirshendu mukhopadhyaya, acting by the brilliant konkana sen (a much more creditable actress than her mother, the legendary aparna sen), the background score, the poetry...

...but (yes there is one) this is just another rituporno film. anybody who hasn't seen his other films will be delighted at his treatment, his sensitivity, his ability to talk about relationships in a manner that marks a genius...yet for bengali viewers who have been seeing his work for sometime now, it is "abaar rituporno" (again rituporno)...

future times might declare dosar as his best or as a landmark film, for it has all the ingredients.

there are two clear winners here. one is of course bengali cinema. the dirty tag of tollywood has plagued it for several years (and the fight is far from ended) but the crowds in the theatre suggest that good bengali cinema has a chance of rescuing itself from the morass it currently it is in.

the other is konkana sen. arguably her best performance to date, she stands at par with any legendary actress in Indian cinema with dosar.

one last comment about the film. this is the first time a bengali commercial film, in recent times, has been this explicit in depicting sexual bonding. clumsily done, but maybe thats intended.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A brilliant film in black and white.

9/10
Author: anup singh from India
6 November 2012

Dosar is one of my favourite Bengali film.All credits to the director for the way he has made the film.It is one of the many hits from Planman Motion pictures and simply amazing.I would say I have seen many movies but none impressed me to the extent this film has. The plot is brilliant and the way it has been executed is superb.Added to all this the brilliant performance by the lead actors Prosenjit and Konkona Sen,also my favourite stars.It is in the second half that both really were amazing when Prosenjit,who cheated on his wife Konkona had to regain her trust.The best thing and something that made it more superb is that the film was not in color but in black and white.To release a black and white film in 2006 with such a plot and that too so brilliantly could have been done only by Rituparno Ghosh.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Really different film;great to watch

9/10
Author: bak-and-sid (bak.and.sid@gmail.com) from Jaipur
22 October 2012

Dosar is Planman Motion Picture's film made in Bengali.What makes this film amazing is the fact that it is not in colored.This was a kind of risk taken by the production team to release a film in Black & White in 2006.Atleast this is what I really feel.But the movie is just too good to miss.Rituparno is an excellent director no doubt.He is one of the best director today that we have.Through Dosar,he goes on to show his excellence and the reason why he is the best.Prasenjit as Kaushik Chatterjee and Konkona Sen Sharma as Kaberi Chatterjee have given brilliant performance.In the film,both are in the lead and are a married couple.Dosar is about how at a point Kaushik betrays his wife.The second half is more interesting as the main story begins from there where we get to see some brilliant performance by both,specially Prasenjit.Kudos to the team of Dosar for coming out with such a brilliant movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Smart Movie !

7/10
Author: debi_chat from United States
1 September 2010

Remember the song "Perhaps Love"? it went something like.."some say love is everything/ some say they don't know.."...you would be forced to encounter this dilemma over and over while watching this movie.

incredibly enough, the plot is a love-quadrangle ! one wonders if there is anything left in this genre that the oxygen channel has played to its death...but rituparno does a tremendous job of redefining adultery and its legacy on a marriage.

what I liked most about the movie is the extent to which the characters were real. This is a movie where the characters speak like I speak, falter like I falter...even their mobile ringtones, their accessories...everything reeks of contemporary-ness (i made that word up)...urban, educated, working class...captured perfectly on the canvas and then rituparno has proceeded to paint the story of love, lust, trust, security, duty, responsibility, morality and so on...

watch it if you are a bong (and you know who you are), watch it if you are not one...

Was the above review useful to you?

Fine drama with searing performances

8/10
Author: Avik Kumar Si from India
15 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Koushik (Prosenjit Chatterjee), on the way back from a short (supposedly official) trip with Mita, his married colleague with whom he is having an extra-marital affair, meets an accident. While the accident claims Mita's life, it only severely injures Koushik. Koushik is admitted to a hospital with critical injuries.

And it is under these circumstances that Kaberi (Konkona Sensharma), Koushik's wife, discovers about the affair. Rituparno, the modern maestro of human relationship dramas, lays out this intriguing stage in his 2006 film, Dosar. A woman caught in the situation of having to care for her fatally injured husband while having to deal with her recently-acquired knowledge of her husband's affair.

Rituparno's forte was always the chamber drama centred around a few individuals and Dosar is a fine specimen from that category of work produced in the Bengali cinema universe in the last decade. Dosar is shot entirely in black-and-white. And the stark duo-tone along with the sparingly used soundtrack aids the poignant character of the treatment greatly, allowing the viewers to immerse themselves in the state of affairs easily, without being distracted by unnecessary frills.

Konkona Sensharma, indubitably one of (if not) the most natural actors of her generation puts in a searing account of the protagonist while a bed-ridden Prosenjit glows away silently in all glory. Saswata Chatterjee, in a minor role, is wonderful too. And a special mention must be made of Parambrata and Pallavi, whose own subplot gives the film an added dimension.

A perceptive take on conjugal relationships and its troughs, Dosar deserves to be watched as much for its pathos-filled treatment of a delicate theme as for the numbingly masterful acts by the two lead actors

Was the above review useful to you?

All readers of this review,watch the movie!!!!

10/10
Author: phalak gogia from India
17 May 2013

Dosar is the first bengali movie i have seen and my reason for watching bengali movie is Mr. Arindam Chaudhuri. I really appreciate the work done by him,he is all rounder is perfect in his work.I like all the book written by him as well as all the movies given by him and his production house planman productions.Another attracting thing in the movie is its star cast. Konkona Sen Sharma has done brilliant job and the way she portrays the character of a betrayed wife is just mind blowing.Also Prasenjit,plays his part excellently in the movie.The movie forces me to write this review as i find the movie amazing and all the readers who are reading this review must watch the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Hatss off to rituparno ghosh!!

8/10
Author: pooja gupta from India
18 April 2013

Dosar is a brilliant picture by Rituparno Ghosh.The movie narrates the story of a husband,Kaushik and his wife Kaberi (Konkona Sen) whose happy lives come to a standstill because of an accident, one involving the husband and his mistress,Mita!The mistress dies on the spot.This is where the real movie begins.Prosenjit has emoted superbly through only his eyes and his dialog delivery and timing is also excellent. Konkona Sen Sharma as the wife dealing with a gamut of complex emotions has given a very beautiful performance as wellHer performance along with the actor's acting along with the brilliant script is amazing. Overall,Dosar,the companion is a must watch.It is a brilliant film and a treat for every cine goers!

Was the above review useful to you?

Nobody beats Konkona Sen Sharma

9/10
Author: Naman Khuraana from India
28 March 2013

I have seen very few Bengali movies and this is the best i have seen in Bengali.I have seen this movie dosar for my favorite actress Konkona Sen,she is just mind blowing.She gave life to the characters in the movie and i think she is more brilliant in Bengali movies rather than bollywood movies.The way she acts,the way she delivers her dialogs,nobody beats her in Bengali movies.Apart from Konkona,Prasenjit was also very good in the movie,he compliments Konkona in the movie.I like both of them as they act like real characters.Taking about the movie,based on women infidelity,none of the director producer takes this kind of risk and make these types of movie,hats off to both the director and the producer.

Was the above review useful to you?

Such movies do not come out very often

9/10
Author: Kamal Kumar from India
6 March 2013

I don't like watching many Bengali films but Rituparno Ghosh is a brilliant director and Konkona being my favorite,I had to watch the film.I am glad I did not miss this awesome film because such movies do not come out very often.The story is really nice and the way it has been made is simply tremendous.The movie starts with an accident in which the women died on the spot sitting next to the man who was driving,the man survives with lot of injuries.After the accident his wife get to know that his husband had cheating her by having an extra-marital affair with the deceased woman and the ugliness that the revelation brings in its wake is what the film is all about from then onwards. .

Was the above review useful to you?

Fictitious by real...

9/10
Author: Phuspa Soni from India
4 March 2013

I will start my review from the lead pair Konkona Sen and Prosenjit Chatterjee.The way both have performed their role is just mind blowing..I think this is their best performance they have given till now.They were so real in the movie and you will not realize for a moment that all this in the movie is fiction.I have seen various Bengali movies and Dosar is on of the best movies i have seen.The movie is made by Rituparno Ghosh and has set an example for all the movie makers with such an excellent movie.Dosar is a story of a husband,betrayed wife and ups and downs came in their life.Dosar is the perfect example of how a simple yet excellent movie is made.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history