IMDb > Automaton Transfusion (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Automaton Transfusion
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Automaton Transfusion More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 73 reviews in total 

61 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Hey guys.... wanna make a movie this weekend?

2/10
Author: from United States
7 March 2008

Yeah. I got my moms camera, and so If you guys aren't doing anything you should totally ask your friends to help. We'll need everyone we can get from school. My dad said he'd be willing to be in it too.

I already have a script I started working on last week. Just get some red food coloring and we'll go from there.

The horror equivalent of cheap porn. Just blood, no substance.

No. Ash would not be proud. Neither should anyone involved with this film.

Please don't bother continuing.

Special thanks: Everyone at highschool

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

I don't even know where to begin...

2/10
Author: brando647 from Spring Hill, FL
25 March 2008

I can only think of very few good things to say about this movie. The best way to sum it up is that it's a low-budget zombie horror flick. Don't go in expecting anything more. In fact, the lower you set your expectations, the better off you are. Honestly, this movie was such poor quality I had a hard time sitting through it. The filmmakers seem like they were out to have a good time when they shot this, but the end result is barely tolerable. The movie is barely 75 minutes long, but it felt like it took FOREVER to watch.

The list of what makes this movie near-unwatchable is long, so I'll try to keep this somewhat brief. The first thing I noticed about this movie was the picture quality. I don't know how best to describe it other than saying it looked as if they took a frame or two out every couple seconds. Motion in the movie seemed to have a jerky, stop-n-go feel to it that got old real fast.

On top of the odd choppy visuals, the movie appeared to be shot nearly all hand-held and, therefore, most of the best action was undecipherable. You can barely tell what exactly is going on in some of the zombie attacks. I think the biggest example occurs later in the movie when the protagonists are running through the woods with their newly-acquired weapons, the zombies attack and everything gets shaky. Next thing you know, one of the protagonists is in a car with someone who wasn't there before and they drive off. Moments later, everything goes shaky again the the two of them fall from the sky into a lake. WTF, mate? How did they maneuver from Point A to Point B here....?

The film suffers from the usual low-budget horror issues: terrible continuity, poor acting, horrendous dialogue, a mediocre story, and plot holes the size of the the Grand Canyon. And another thing: what's the deal with the title of this movie? I can't understand how it makes any sort of sense, at all. It's odd when someone asks what you're watching, you answer "Automaton Transfusion", and their eyes glaze over in confusion. Is it a medical documentary? Does it have some to do with machines? No, it's a zombie movie. Bah?

There is one decent quality to this entire film: the gore effects. They weren't spectacular, but they were pretty good for the meager budget they were working with. Rick Gonzalez did a fantastic job with some of the feasting and attack scenes in this movie. Honestly, if you can overlook the other issues with this movie, it's worth at least one watch-through to check out some of the effects.

One final thing (and this is more of a WTF question): after all hell breaks loose at the house party, why did the one blonde chick climb into her CONVERTIBLE and pause to think, as if "Ahhh...a moment of piece of gather my thoughts...". It's not as if the car has windows, a roof, anything to SLOW DOWN an attacking zombie and give her a moment to drive away. All it has to do is CLIMB OVER THE BACK SEAT. Seriouly....come on....

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Like Return of the Living Dead...IF IT SUCKED!!!

1/10
Author: Aaron1375
8 April 2008

This was without a doubt one of the worst movies I have ever seen. What gets me is that is ranks a 4.2 here at IMDb, the place that is extremely hard on horror movies. How is it ranked so high? I love horror movies, but never before have I considered stopping a movie in the middle of it as I have with this one. However, I persevered and was rewarded with more crap. The acting is horrible, I have never before wanted people dead in my life and I am not talking about the characters...I am speaking of the actual actors. Even the zombies were horrible in this one. The only reason this one must be ranked high is the gore, which is good, but even with that I could not rank this movie any higher. The plot, losers go to bar, other more popular losers go to house in the middle of nowhere, zombies go on the attack, general running here and there and then wham movie ends in the most stupid fashion ever. During which time we have the lead guy trying to save his girlfriend, and this lead guy is the most annoying dip in the film and his scream is very annoying as well. I so wanted him to die, but he just kept going. We have a scene where the streets were empty and our three "heros" are just looking, the next thing you know there are zombies all around them to the point they can not make it to their car two feet to the left. You have a girl that gets into a convertible and seems to relax like she is safe. You also have worse production values and worse acting than found in most porn films, and you do not even get to see a boob or two in this film. All you really get to see is a bunch of people covered in blood screaming with a few good gore effects here and there. I knew this movie was going to be trouble when we were introduced to the actors while incredibly bad music played. By the way what was up with the super zombies anyway, they can rip a jaw off a girl, but can't get into a bar block off with a chair? To much bad stuff, just to much...must seek out filmmakers, make it so sequel can not be made.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Don't Hate the Haters Hate the Film

1/10
Author: gnd_hog from United States
4 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Film makers: We understand that you put your heart into this film. We understand that it is a low budget indie flick. We understand that you fancy yourself anti-corporate counter-culture rebels. None of this makes your film good. The world is not your parents' refrigerator. We are not obliged to paste up and fawn over your mediocre creations just because you worked hard on them.

Lest you write me off as a jealous hater who hasn't even seen the film. I was at the screening. The director acknowledged his parents in the audience and commented that they wouldn't let him go to late movies when he was a kid, so now he's forcing them to see his movie at midnight.

I found the film excruciatingly bad. There are numerous logical flaws. The characters do things just because the writer says that they do, not because they are driven emotionally by the circumstances or interactions. It is unoriginal, borrowing from every zombie movie of the last 20 years. It is dull and predictable. Some of this you could fix with some script edits and a little re-shooting or a second pass at editing. Some of it you can't.

As a novice filmmaker, shouldn't you ask why these people hated your film? Chalk this one up to lessons learned. You made a feature film, which is no easy task. Take those lessons and make a better film next time. By the way, even talented directors miss sometimes. Rob Reiner made North. M. Night Shyamalan made Lady in the Water. Kevin Smith made Jersey Girl. Francis Ford Coppola made Godfather III, and on and on. Your film was a labor of love, but it failed to entertain. And since that is its purpose, we have reason to hate.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Homemade zombie muck

2/10
Author: mrush from Jim Morrison's bathtub
10 April 2010

Oh another zombie movie that blew chunks.Imagine that.This movie promised the world on the DVD box but little did I know that this was another of those 8 Days of Horror or whatever they call it.Any of those movies I've saw were awful and this one was no exception.

First off I've no idea what the title means.It wasn't explained.After seeing this puke pile I'm guessing this homemade piece of junk was just given some weird mysterious nonsense title to give it a bit of class or mystique or whatever.

Anyway the mean old US government was doing more experiments in some little town on dead bodies to try and bring them back to life so they could fight our wars for us.Seriously.That was the reason given for this wave of zombies.The experimental zombies were released as a test and naturally and of course the experiment goes wrong.These zombies were made to be stronger and faster and able to think by the experiments so it was a bad decision to let these things loose on purpose it would seem.

Zombies run amok while a group of teens,the only ones left alive,run around trying to stay away from them.

Boy this thing stunk to high heaven.The acting was horrible.The script was worse.Special effects were clunky and badly done and just sort of thrown in here and there as opposed to sort of happening naturally during the course of the movie.These zombies were strong enough to rip heads and legs off yet seemed to be stopped by someone closing a door and turning the little lock on the knob.The continuity from scene to scene was a mess.The teens would run out the front door when a zombie came in the back way yet just a second ago they had ran in that very same front door with a swarm of zombies right behind them.The action jumped from scenes that looked to be out in the middle of nowhere to city scenes with no explanation of how the characters got transplanted so fast.

The camera was slashed around so fast during the fight scenes it was just impossible to follow what was happening.I eventually gave up trying.There's nothing really positive to say about this clunker.The info I read about this thing says it was shot in 9 days.From the way this mess turned out I would have guessed 4 days. This pile of garbage even ends with the words "To be continued..." on the screen.

It felt like I was watching a two part episode of "The Beverly Hillbillies" or something,like when the Hillbillies went to England when they learned they owned a castle over there and they just couldn't get all the Jethro fighting a dragon jokes in a one 30 minute episode,I see the reason for doing a TV show like that but who ends a movie like that?And to beat it all I read there was a Part 2.Anymore no matter how bad and unwatched the first one was they always convince themselves someone wants a Part 2 of it.

This was just another homemade piece of junk from people who have little talent for horror movies.Too bad today's technology is so easy that everyone who used to think they could write the next great American novel now thinks they can make the next great zombie movie.

Just because you got a camera and you can do a little CG on a computer doesn't mean you got any movie making talent.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

I was ripped off for 9 bucks on this one.

1/10
Author: lipanwrangler from United States
9 November 2008

This was a pile of fecal matter called a movie. Wow. I can't believe how awful it was. Whoever is responsible for those quotes on the box that made me buy it should be hanged. I guess it's my fault for being so naive though. I was just craving a good zombie flick, that's all. What I got was a really bad student film. Like a high school student film. Avoid this one.

Well, it appears that I need this thing to be ten lines long, so I guess I can say a few things about what exactly sucked about this movie (which was pretty much everything, but...). Here we go: first off, the film quality was really really annoying. It looked like it was skipping frames or something. I think maybe they wanted it to have the slight motion blur like 28 Days Later, but they just ended up making it look really bad. The acting was pretty bad, although not completely awful. I think some of the mohawk-guy and the black-guy's reactions were good, but they weren't really given much to work with in the way of a script. And yeah, the "script" was pretty much non-existent. I'm out.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

It ain't great, but damn, it's entertaining!

8/10
Author: ZombieLuvr-1 from United States
7 January 2008

There are a bunch of low budget zombie movies out there right now that are a lot of fun and I try to see them all. I saw Automaton in May or June of 2007 in San Francisco at the Hole in the Head film festival. It played with Zombie Farm and Driller back to back to back. Zombie Farm is a kick ass zombie movie, too. Driller was a goofy, but entertaining slasher-monster movie.

All the movies had good theater crowds (at the Roxie) that were there for the movies and not just for the filmmakers.

If you're not expecting the budget and acting of studio movies, then all of these are worth seeing. Automaton is pretty relentless. Again, it's low budget, so don't go in expecting multi million dollar precision, set that aside and you'll like it a lot. It's coming out on DVD in March. The mood and gore overcome a mediocre story to make this movie well worth buying.

Zombie Farm is way over the top with gore and comedy. Sit back and enjoy the ride, but don't look too deep and you won't be disappointed. I just saw that it's out on DVD now, so it's worth watching. The acting is so over done that I'm not sure if it's really good or really bad, but it's entertaining.

Driller is pretty polished and looks to have a much higher budget than either of the others. The story line is fun and the movie has good gore, but the acting is awful. Get past that, and I really liked this one too. No word on the DVD yet.

I rate movies like this for what they are. In the low budget zombie genre, Zombie Farm and Automaton Transfusion are eights or nines. If you compare them to Oscar Winners, then they're more like fours. I give Driller a six on the entertainment scale and a three on the Oscar scale.

The low budget invasion has landed and in the midst of a bunch of crap there are some gems. None of these are the next Night of the Living Dead, but they are all very enjoyable (and, actually, better quality than NOTLD).

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Fast zombies with bad synch....

2/10
Author: innocuous from Raleigh, NC, USA
11 February 2009

This is a strange hybrid of a movie that had only enough ideas for a trailer (which is what it started out to be, apparently) and a movie that spent what little budget it had on make-up effects. The effects end up being OK (possibly six stars out of ten) but the complete lack of any plot, realistic dialogue, characters, actual acting ability, comprehensible editing, or decent photography shoots the whole thing down. The film-makers did not seem to understand that violent and gory scenes have to balanced against other scenes and that the key to entertainment in horror films is to elicit concern or sympathy from the viewer.

The most irritating aspect of this movie, though, has to be the "synch" problems in many of the scenes. Not audio synch, but frame rate and editing. If you go to the forums, you'll see several explanations of what caused this, ranging from an intentional statement of the director to a setting error on the video editing equipment. Whatever caused it, it's inconsistent from scene to scene and is irritating as hell. I mean, fast zombies are already a bit jerky, but they're really bad in this film.

Don't waste your time on this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Avoid this movie like a STD!!!!

1/10
Author: cdbiams from Canada
22 October 2008

What kind of garbage is this? I would have given it no stars except this site wouldn't allow it.

Please, people, save your money. Do not buy, rent, or download this garbage!

The Director could have spent more time on the plot and actually directing these "actors"...and over seeing the editing....and use "origin" camera photography...and paid closer attention to the script...and directing the extras better...and...well the list goes on and on and on and on ...

Instead all the money went into special effects where it appears to be OK at some points but the lack of acting and...(see above)...ruin the scenes. Plus the blood screws up trying to get the special effects over. I know when a "zombie is eating someone" that there will be blood. However, if your going to spend the money for effects, show them!

Here is a example of one scenes that made me so p!$$ed off that made me come here and post.

About 42:25 into the movie, the three male amigos enter into a house where "the party of the year", (that statement alone makes me want to throw up), is being held. They are trying to get away from the mass amount of zombies outside. So they run into the house and fight off the zombies trying to get in. They are meet with one of the amigos girlfriend who went to the party without him. As the zombies give up their pursuit of the 4 people inside, (rather quickly I might point out...for zombies they have no "direction"), the 4 people turn to see a "unpopular" zombie inside the house about to attack them...in his underwear. *rolls eyes* I should state that one of the amigos has a shotgun.

Now what would you do? You would shoot the unpopular "bean pole" zombie. But no....these idiots forget that they have a shot gun, (Thanks to the Director..**rolls eyes again**), and run outside the house into what would appear to be certain doom with the amount of zombie extras that Director placed there....but yet nothing happens to them. Just 1 minute ago there were hundreds of zombies. Now...nothing!

Even if you were stoned or drunk or involving yourself in self lobotomy...it wouldn't help.

I heard that there is going to be a "Automaton Transfusion 2" releasing in 2009.

wow. I will be totally avoiding it like a STD.

I know of a lot of "B" movies that would be better entertainment than this garbage. If you like this movie then you'll love these pieces of garbage: 1. Glitter 2. Freddy Got Fingered 3. Heartbeeps 4. Liquid Sky or even ***shudder*** 5. Pigs.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

To Be Continued? They Must Be Kidding

4/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
17 October 2009

In Downey, the teenagers Chris (Garret Jones), Scott (William Howard Bowman) and Tim (Rowan Bousaid) are best friends and decide to drive to a bar downtown to watch the gig of a grungy band while Chris' girlfriend Jackie (Juliet Reeves) goes to a party with her preppy friends. While heading to downtown, the trio of friends notes that there is no car in the road despite the rush hour and then they find that the streets are empty. When they arrive in their destiny, they are chased by zombies and run to the bar. Chris decides to return to Downey while Jackie and her friends are attacked by a bunch of zombies.

Despite the awful camera-work and the flaws in the screenplay that uses all the clichés of zombie movies, the first half of "Automaton Transfusion" is not so bad. The gore special effects and the acting are indeed very reasonable for a B-movie. There are funny moments and like in many Ed Wood's movies, there is not continuity in many sequences, with the sun shining when it should be night and so on. However, when Chris decides to return to the high-school with his friends, the plot becomes more imbecile culminating with attitude of Scott and the ridiculous explanation for the outbreak given by the military janitor. But the worst is the inconclusive ending "to be continued": the director and writer Steven C. Miller must be kidding. My vote is four.

Title (Brazil): Not Available

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history