IMDb > "The Girls Next Door" (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The Girls Next Door"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The Girls Next Door" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 34 reviews in total 

29 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

I love this show...

10/10
Author: jupiter303 from poland-usa
19 August 2006

I almost never watch E!. Can't stand the silly hype usually. But where I am living currently (abroad) there aren't too many options.

This show however is great. Actually one of the better reality shows I have seen, compared to "The Osbourns" for example and the rest, half of which I can't even remember.

The three ladies on the show are simply fun and the series just kind of sucks you in. Not so much for the T&A, just the fun of it all. Hef is admirable for his age, straight talking and easy going, a role model and inspiration for many. Not in the "traditional sense" perhaps, but still in a good way. With his 80 years of experience it's no wonder he could pick some charming ladies to be around and on the show as he has.

I was always curious what his life was like and this show satisfies.

Don't take it too seriously, just sit back and have some fun and relax with it.

Quite a simple concept really, but in this day and age not east to find on TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

eh, honestly- give it a chance

Author: cognitivethinking77 from United States
30 August 2005

i know that a bunch of playboy bunnies running around a mansion with someone who is turning 80 next year seems a little...trashy. but honestly, if you actually sit down and watch an episode, you will realize that the girls actually aren't that trashy. two of them have college degrees. one has a masters. the third is a massage therapist. like really? come on. you can't just call them dumb because they are hot and live at this mansion. the only one who doesn't seem smart or poised is Kendra- and if i had to guess her age i'd say 18 or 19. shes just a typical girl, nothing to get upset about. this show is completely harmless, and in the middle of the day when nothings on, its nice to watch gorgeous girls goof around.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

Get over it...

Author: golightly32 from United States
11 January 2006

The Girls Next Door is funny light hearted television, in a not so funny light hearted world. I'm not quite sure the world of television has been entirely up to par in the past few years anyhow.

Is it thought provoking, and life altering? Maybe not, but it's just fun to watch. Sometimes, and some days you just need some light hearted entertainment.

If you don't agree with the show, or the participants then just turn the channel or hand yourself over to those DVD's you're so happy to own. Don't belittle other's successes (even if they aren't your notion of success). It's just TV, not brain surgery.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

This show is great!~

10/10
Author: blondetexaschic from United States
6 December 2005

I have to admit before seeing this show, I thought Hugh Hefner was just a little sleazy, but in all reality he is such a caring and kind hardworking gentleman! And I love how this show shows its viewers the everyday lifestyle of Hef's girls! I am not afraid to admit, after watching this I began to like Hef soot much, and this show is awesome! I recommend it for anyone who likes a fun show without any drama. I am addicted to it now! HAHAHA! And after seeing this show, it really makes me want to live in the Playboy Mansion! And even his girlfriends just seem like they would be fun to hang out with! And I just can't say enough about Hef! I just love him now! He is SO cute! And what he has done for those girls to me is great! I mean so what they have a 9 o'clock curfew, but hey they can get whatever they want when they want! And his number one girlfriend Holly Madison seems to really care for him, so I think it is sweet!But anyways, I recommend this show highly! I find it incredibly interesting and just down-right fun!~

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Love it..

Author: xImBreathlessx from Boston, MA
13 November 2005

I absolutely love this show but i have to admit that the show wouldn't be what it is without Kendra. Kendra is one out of the three playboy playmates featured in this show, she is so hilarious and has the best personality. I honestly don't get why people hate on this show, if you don't like it then don't watch it. Anyways, each episode usually has to do with the girls going on trips or doing a photo-shoot,i definitely think it's one of the most entertaining shows out there right now. I have to admit that when i first heard about this show, i was like "are you serious?, i wouldn't watch this if you paid me", but it became one of my favorite shows. I highly recommend everyone to at least watch one episode of this show but i warn you, you will be hooked.

*Marissa*

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

The show is an instant classic!

10/10
Author: brr8760 from United States
30 March 2006

Ohmigod, am I hooked on The Girls Next Door! I was never a Hugh Hefner fan (seven girlfriends... please), but he is one cool guy now that he's older. Smart and clever, Hefner's appearances on this show are brief, but effective, like Hal Holbrook in the movie "Wall Street." He has the casual importance of a pioneer nearing the end of the road. And his three girlfriends-- head gal Holly, insecure Bridget, and flighty Kendra-- are endlessly interesting, even when talking about nothing very important. What else...? The theme song rocks, the Playboy mansion is a beautiful fantasy for everyone, and the staff is a hoot. Really, this show is like a modern version of "King Lear," with three sexy ladies and a bunch of tiny dogs.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Funny, Engaging and a little bit Naughty!

9/10
Author: strawberrystarness from United States
20 October 2006

Girls Next Door is a reality TV series about three females, Holly, Bridget and Kendra, that are all dating Hugh Hefner. Each of the girls is between 21 and 28. Hugh Hefner just celebrated his 80th birthday! Holly is Hef's main girlfriend and the other two are slightly lower on the food chain.

This show is very funny. There have been many funny moments throughout the seasons it's been on. It shows that the girls are smart and sensible and that they truly love Hugh Hefner. Hefner is very chivalrous and very much a gentleman. He's always a very gracious host, although he can be rather picky at times.

The Girls Next Door gives the audience a taste of what life is like in the Playboy Mansion. We get an inside look at how the mansion runs, the parties that are thrown and so much more.

This show is not for children. There is nudity (often times a lot of it) although everything is censored. However the main focus of the show is about how life is at the Playboy Mansion.

I personally LOVE this show. It's my addiction. It's an awesome TV show and gives us that taste of celebrity reality that we crave. It's funny engaging, a bit naughty and very well worth watching!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

You can dress up a pig, put lipstick on it and call it Monica, but in the end, it's still a pig.

2/10
Author: davidandm from United States
17 June 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

On the surface, the giggly blonde three-some do their best to show how much fun they are having at the mansion. Throwing parties, attending charity events, an occasional nude/semi-nude photo shoot. Hef wanders in and out of these scenes to give his opinion or laugh at something the girls are up to. A reality sitcom with lots of playboy logos and pink bedrooms.

To those of us with higher standards, it's nothing but a dirty old man with tons of money and Viagra sleeping with his very well-paid call girls. You can take a pig, dress it up, put lipstick on it and call it Monica, but in the end it's still a pig. That about sums up the bottom line of this show. I suppose some might argue when the old man kicks off these 3 hookers will have nice bank accounts and can move on to a real job. But money can't buy you self-respect, and I would hate to wonder what these girls see when the mirror stares back at them...

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Are you kidding me?

1/10
Author: frisbee10 from Denver, CO
30 December 2007

People like this show? Why not just watch "Girls Gone Wild"-- it's just as trashy, the girls are cuter, and it's not full of high-maintenance idiots. College degree?!? What a joke. One girl got a degree in communications (yeah, the same major as all the football players) from some school that nobody has heard of, and the other girl is "taking online classes." I'm rolling on the floor laughing. What else are you going to do with your time in the brothel? And what idiot counted a massage therapist or real estate agent as a college degree? Look, if their CV's were good enough for a real job they wouldn't be prostitutes, and if they were remotely pleasant, tolerable, or intelligent people they could have a hot rich guy who is less than 50 years older than them.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Delusion, Talent and Money

5/10
Author: lambiepie-2 from Los Angeles, CA
18 February 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Personally, I like "The Playboy Organization". Hugh Hefner took a simple concept of a men's magazine with "girl next door" type nude pictorial and grew it a recognizable multi-national organization.

What Hugh Hefner has is three twenty-something women, all with different personalities, but are typical platinum blondes with all the right attributes, who are his 'girlfriends'. These women all live at the huge and fabulous Playboy mansion and share Hugh Hefner when needed. There are cute little squabbles, cute little jealousies, wonderful little parties, they all share the magazine projects and they all share Hef. They're SO cute!! It's such a cute portrayal, right? You've got to be kidding. Or better yet, to whom are they kidding - the guys who write to "Penthouse Forum"? (Sorry, couldn't resist.) What a crock! But... that is the beauty of the show.

Some guys will watch this and fall into the "crock". Other guys will watch for the eye candy and skip the informative narratives. (And there are plenty.) Some women will watch and be totally disgusted that an 80 year old man who talks openly about taking Viagra, and has had a below the waist implant romps around with these three twenty something 'girl friends'. Still other women will call them nothing but gold digging tramps who 'rob the old age home' for men with money and connections and have no self respect or morals.

But...other cosmopolitan women will look at this and know it's 'full of it' because no woman is comfortable in sharing her man with any other woman, let alone live in the same house with them and also work together. They would kill each other, and Hef would have to find other women for his enjoyment. But these women don't. And week after week they get cuter, and more delusional about their individual relationships with Hugh Hefner. If you watch the program knowing that, it is entertainment, you can't help but laugh.

But make no mistake, this show is as crafty as Playboy Magazine itself. And while it looks like these gals have the "upper hand", it's Hugh Hefner at his wittiest and smartest pulling 'just another one' on the media market. Ya gotta give the man a hand for that, 80 years old or not. Now that's real entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history