IMDb > The Stranger I Married (2005) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
The Stranger I Married (TV) More at IMDbPro »The Man Who Lost Himself (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

16 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely beautiful.

Author: banana_nana from Canada
16 November 2005

I must say I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I found it heart wrenching and heartwarming; I cried and I laughed. Well put together and of course having favorite actors/actresses added to the excellence. My heart went out to Terry and his family. I felt the desperation and helplessness that was expressed probably from having experienced the aftermath that my brother went through after a truck accident left him paralyzed. It's getting harder to find movies these days that leave a profound effect on viewers like myself but those that are based on true life events when they're presented as well as this one leaves me hopeful that more will come. Thank you so much. Absolutely beautiful!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A Viewer from Texas

Author: MarieAnhriette from Plano, TX
28 November 2005

I watched "The Stranger I Married" as it is named here in the US last night and again today. I have to say that there were several times during the movie that I found myself crying. David James Elliott was excellent as the tortured man who had lost his past. Wendy Crewson's portrayal of the wife who wanted the husband she had known for so many years was heartbreakingly realistic. The portrayals of the three daughter was also excellent. Mr. Elliott was brilliant in the scene where he keeps saying "who am I" and "that's not me." The powerful and raw emotions he put into those words vibrated through hopefully millions of TV screens throughout the U.S. But it was the words "I'm not him, but I'll always be me" that put the exclamation point to a beautiful acting job. Mr. Elliott and Ms. Crewson are to be commended on an performance that was made even more sensitive because it was, and is a true story. The real Mr. Evanshen must be proud of Mr. Elliott's ability to bring his story to such brilliant heights.


Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Read the novel, watch the film, and then watch the actual documentary

Author: phbalanced
22 March 2006

This docudrama is based on the life of former CFL great Terry Evanshen after his horrific auto accident in the late 80s. The story is based on the novel by June Callwood and is an accounting of the events in the family's lives from the viewpoint of Terry's wife Lorraine who is played by Wendy Crewson. The role of Terry Evanshen is played by David James Elliott, well known to American audiences for his long running series JAG. Lorraine is the supporting wife who never gave up after a poor medical prognosis following her husband's post rehab report. Though the events took place over a period of several years in which the strong and supportive Evanshen family nursed Terry back to health, the film speeds up the events and concludes at a happy point, their daughter's wedding.

This made for TV movie had one of the highest viewer ratings for CTV in its original run. For viewers who have yet to see this film, it's recommended that you also read the Callwood novel and watch the actual biography on the Evanshen family produced by a series called W5 which is a more accurate and detailed account of the events in the Evanshen saga. The W5 documentary includes a visit to the Evanshen farm, and provides interviews with family members and friends.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

This is a very touching movie

Author: magsleps from United States
27 November 2005

I have always liked David James Elliott, but this movie really showed his performance on a really emotional level. He is a man who feels lost and unable to get back to what or where he was in his life. What a powerful and remarkable acting performance. I really would like to recommend this to anyone who has ever felt lost in their life at any period of time. Wendy Crewson really gave it her all as the wife who never gave up on her husband. She has shown what true devotion is and the strength to call upon the Lord at a point in her life when she needed him the most. The girls really did a good job in acting as little girls lost and trying to help their dad find his way back to them. This was one movie that by just seeing the previews, I knew that I didn't want to miss it. There is so much to be learned here. It can be understood and felt in any time of life altering changes.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Great movie

Author: tom_samaha from Montreal, Qc, Canada
15 November 2005

The movie starts off extremely well, and very few negatives arose, the main ones being the movie was essentially set in the present, as opposed to 1988 (Terry with the cell phone, and references to the Internet). I thought David James Elliot delivered the goods, and on a silver platter! His mannerisms when his character first wakes up and tries to adjust in the following days/weeks are simply outstanding, and go straight to the heart! The supporting cast was very well chosen and very well directed throughout. The fact that this is a true story only adds to the emotions of the movie. I hope it is shown again, or at least released on DVD! 10/10!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A realistic portrayal of living with the realities of traumatic brain injury

Author: jm0277 from Singapore
2 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I thought this story was excellent in portraying what it is like living with the realities of traumatic brain injury. Both my Mother and I could draw parallels from the movie, as my maternal uncle suffered similar injuries in a car accident. I felt myself near tears when he learned to hug again or when he felt is frustrations boiling over and had to go into therapy to learn how to deal with them (my uncle had to learn everything over again, from reading to tying his shoe laces.) The struggles, frustration and vulnerabilities portrayed by actor David James Elliott really show just what a great actor he is! It's so great seeing him do well after the end of JAG and I'm sure that the family of athlete Terry Evanshen (Upon whom this story is based) were very proud of the results! I would definitely recommend this gritty and realistic film to others!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

This is a story of a famous football player who like Superman has a terrible accident..

Author: camozzi1 from Canada
17 November 2005

This movie is based on the book by June Callwood The Man Who Lost Himself. I found that the movie was not a disappointment but rather enhanced the book. I would like to recommend the studying of this book in all high schools for a number of reasons: it is a true story, it brings out the importance of presence of mind, like John Kennedy Junior Terry Evanshen had "get-home-itis". Most student will drive vehicles and we do not wish them to be at the wheel nor do we wish anyone they may encounter on the highway to be driving without due care and attention. We can and have been distracted at the wheel but escaped Terry's drastic results. It also brings out the value of memory and what an important part memory plays in our happiness which is not to be taken lightly. Many novels are studied in school with far less meritorious points than this book would offer, I feel certain.

Was the above review useful to you?

Decent bio-pic surrounding traumatic brain injury

Author: juneebuggy from Canada
15 September 2015

A decent docudrama about Canadian football player Terry Evanshen who fell into a coma following a severe car accident and awoke a stranger. Suffering severe memory loss and personality change, he struggled to put his life and family back together.

This is a CTV (made for TV) production, its pretty good based on that, obviously not a huge budget involved but also not necessary for the type of story being told here.

David James Elliott does an excellent job, giving a powerful performance as a man lost. He awakes in the hospital with no recollection of his family or anything else in his life. Frustrated he begins to show increasingly erratic and aggressive behaviour.

I think the biggest part of this story is Terry's wife Lorraine played by Wendy Crewson. Strong and supportive, Lorraine never gives up hope that the man she fell in love with as a teenager will pull through and get better. Even after his medical diagnosis of permanent brain damage she (almost naively) believes that with her love and support the man she married will return to normal.

There are dark sides to this story which are accurate with TBI (traumatic brain injury) including some violence and Terry forcing himself on his wife. The children also become afraid of their father but are ultimately what help save him. Worth a watch. 9/10/15

Was the above review useful to you?

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history