IMDb > Lonely Street (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Lonely Street
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Lonely Street More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

20 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

The King is dead, long live the King!

8/10
Author: anspruchsvoiier from Germany
12 August 2009

Usually, I don't pick up B-Movies for the evening, but I had nothing else to watch, so I went with this one. I have to say I am pleasantly surprised. While the movie has the look of a low budget film, it certainly doesn't feel like one. The characters are cliché and the acting is exaggerated, but that is all positive, because it perfectly fits the comical style of the movie. Another strong point is that the acting performances were pretty stable throughout the whole film. Especially the main character is charismatic enough to keep you interested. He also does a great job narrating the movie by letting the viewer know what the main character thinks in certain situations.

The plot is surprisingly fresh and keeps you guessing right up to the end, who the baddie is. All in all, this was a fun ride and worth watching. If you don't need big names and huge budgets to enjoy a movie, then this might be one you could enjoy. I know I did.

On a final note: I have to give kudos to the people behind this movie, because B-Movies here tend to have 10-star ratings by the time they are released, due to the many fake votes by those involved. I hate this trend and I appreciate a movie even more, if people don't resort to cheap tricks like that.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

One of the most enjoyable comedies I've seen in awhile!!

8/10
Author: night_wng2000 from United States
10 July 2009

The only reason I don't give this a higher rating, is that while it is a really fun and entertaining film, parts are a bit campy (but due to the style of the film, it doesn't distract from the story or the acting). The last time I saw a really good impersonation of Elvis, was Kurt Russell, in Elvis (1979-TV). I heard that he even sang the music in that one. This isn't really about the music, as much as it is a mystery/thriller, with a who-done-it slant thrown in. The actors did a great job. I thought Patrick did a credible impersonation, and I'm even a bit surprised that he looked like "The King". The comedy is light, but it's because the jokes/one-liners are only to make this fun. It's not meant to make you fall out of your chair laughing. I like how the crew was able to keep you guessing, as to who did what. They make it so you have to even ask yourself whether "Mr. Aaron", to protect his anonymity, may be guilty. All in all, as I said previous, one of the most enjoyable films I've seen. I have to also give kudos to the artist who sang the Elvis songs. While a true fan can tell it's not the real Elvis, the singer still did a wonderful job

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Elvis is alive and well and living in Albequerque ..............

6/10
Author: merklekranz from United States
28 September 2010

Pretty original idea about a 70 year old Elvis hiding out in New Mexico, and the murder of a tabloid reporter who uncovers the story. Robert Patrick with at least a bunch of makeup is strikingly accurate as the geriatric Elvis. Jay Mohr is lively and likable as the private investigator patsy, and Joe Mantegna is appropriate as a sleazy record promoter. Throw in some very funny dialog, along with a lot of silliness, and you pretty much have "Lonely Street". My only criticism would be the title, which seems more attached to an old Andy Williams record than Elvis, and too many stale fart jokes. With the right audience, cult status is a definite possibility. - MERK

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Very Pleasantly Surprised!

9/10
Author: jaylveck
10 September 2009

I really wanted to see this when I read that there was some Elvis content. At first I thought it was going to be some really lame movie. It exceeded my expectations and I loved it! I didn't actually see a rating but my daughter and I watched it and we laughed pretty good! I will be watching this again. And who is this Lindsay Price? She is sure beautiful and talented! I would love to hear her sing! The King is portrayed by Patrick just perfectly. We never got to know what Elvis would have been like had he lived, but I believe this is as good and believable as it could get. He even looks like a well aged Elvis. A wonderful job! I love this movie, I really do! It was well thought out by people who actually are Elvis fans otherwise they wouldn't have done such a good job. As for Jay Mohr, for some reason, I wasn't thrilled that he was in the movie at first. Why, I don't know. But he was really great, the face he makes under the bed of Hank Hankerson is absolutely hilarious!! When I saw that, I knew I was watching a movie I would like. I am definitely a fan of Mr. Mohr. Loved it and the plot!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Elvis looked great and makeup and Rob Patrick Ruled

8/10
Author: kidnevins from United States
31 May 2011

I normally hate Elvis movies being an Elvis fan but this one was wonderful. Elvis wasn't an overweight clown. He dressed the way Elvis would have dressed and acted the way Elvis would have acted if he were still here. I love the Elvis song and whoever sang it sounded authentic. It was a little hokey but you have to suspend reality with a movie like this in the first place. How did makeup make Robert Patrick look so much like Elvis?! Even down to the lips which are nothing like the actors. The script was well written but the actors hammed it up a bit too much. I would prefer that they played their parts straighter and let the script make the jokes, but it still worked. Definitely a movie for Elvis fans. I would also recommend Heartbreak Hotel.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A major surprise.

9/10
Author: Michael O'Keefe from Muskogee OK
18 April 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

LONELY STREET is a comic murder mystery that features Robert Patrick as a healthy seventy-something Elvis Presley. With excellent prosthetics and some time-well-spent, Patrick is awesomely believable as Elvis, who has faked his death and is contemplating "coming back". Jay Mohr plays the bumbling detective Bubba Mabry, who is hired to snoop on a tabloid reporter by a famous celebrity only known as Mr. Aaron(Patrick). When the reporter is found murdered, who else but Bubba is the perfect suspect. While this goes on, Mr. Aaron is in the studio of Jerry Finkelman(Joe Montegna), who wants the honors of recording the King's comeback hit "When The Rebel Comes Home"(actually sung by Jim Brown, an Elvis tribute artist from Belfast).

The production team takes great pains in presenting Elvis' memory with respect and dignity assuming he faked his death only to "clean up" his body and get in shape to age gracefully. Elvis fans will be in awe and should be very pleased. Patrick is superb as the septuagenarian Presley. You will want to watch this movie again just to reassure yourself. The supporting cast features the fetching Nikki Cox, Mike Starr, Paul Rodriguez and Lindsay Price.

Was the above review useful to you?

Funny stuff but kind of sleazy; if you are easily offended, its not for you

7/10
Author: Amy Adler from Toledo, Ohio
30 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Bubba Mabry (Jay Mohr) is a two-bit private eye in Albuquerque. As he explains, he rents a cheap motel room on a monthly basis, places ads in cheap places and has very little overhead. Even so, his bills are paid with difficulty. Then, oh glorious day, a huge bodyguard, JG (Mike Starr) comes calling and offers Bubba the chance to make some good bread. First, he must be led in secret to his client, Mr. Aaron (Robert Patrick). But, Whoa Nelly! Mr. Aaron is really THE KING, Elvis, who faked his own death. Now, although grey-haired, he's fit and can croon up a storm. So, what's the problem? It seems a man named Tank has been snooping around way too close and JG doesn't know why. Is he there to do harm to Mr. Aaron or just to expose the secret? Therefore, Bubba is supposed to key an eye on Tank. Simple enough. But, more folks enter the picture. There's the aging record producer (Joe Mantegna) who may have some dark secrets. Also, a woman named Bambi, a Playboy bunny type, is seen going to Tank's place. Also, another pretty gal, Felicia (Lindsay Price), has entered the fray with an unknown purpose. This is before Tank is found murdered, bullet through his head. Is Mr. Aaron going to be taken out next? This fun, funny film is on the sleazy side but still enjoyable. One of its strongest assets is the setting in Albuquerque, which is exotic, alternately lovely and seedy. Then, too, the cast of Mohr, Mantegna, Price, Starr and company are wonderful. Best of the lot is Patrick, whose Elvis impersonation is flat-out terrific. The ladies are dressed to the nines while an assortment of Elvis costume knockoffs are worn by a bevy of cast members, making for continued mirth. The clever script and energetic direction are also assets. Are you lonesome tonight? Then, get Lonely Street for it is one of those films which chase away the doldrums.

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie could've been so much better!

4/10
Author: Irishmoviereviewer from Ireland
9 February 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I honestly thought this film would have potential if there wasn't too much of dirty talk, bullcrap, gangs and slow scenes. I thought Bubba was really good looking for a detective-gone-Elvis type. It was a good idea for having a character being different and whatever but, not in a movie that wasn't well done! This movie would've been better off if it was redone again and this time, in a better Elvis style. Seriously, they should have not dissed the King of Rock'n'roll like that with this movie!

Robert Patrick looked so much like Elvis, I really thought it was the real Elvis by looking at him. Unfortunately, he is not here with us today since 1977, so it does shed a tear a bit in your eye. I was surprised to have seen Joe Mantegna as the villain Jerry Finkelman, what has he gotten himself into?! He should've said no in taking part in this dopey movie! I suppose hes getting paid big bucks so thats probably why he got involved in the first case!

I would not consider this the worst I've seen but, I think it would have needed a total makeover with regarding, the language, the clothing, the style and the storyline! This is why I am giving it a 4 rating because that is the way I see inside this film..

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history