IMDb > The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 40:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 396 reviews in total 

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

For the most part a good car action flick.

7/10
Author: tmm_8705 from California, America
28 June 2013

The first film was BREAK POINT with cars. The second one was Miami VICE with cars. This is REBEL WITHOUT A CAUSE... with more cars. To be honest, I kinda liked this one better than the last two, despite Lucas Black somehow beating Paul Walker as the least charismatic actor in a starring role. What I mainly like is the direction by Justin Lin. The focus on police undercover stories is dropped in favor of the street racing culture and its connections to the mob. Was actually delighted to see Sonny Chiba appear, I must have missed his name during the opening credits. Purely as a movie about car action, I think it succeeds better than the first two. There's a goofy quality to it that kinda helps one go along with things. Best to sum that up is Lucas Black smiling like a dork with blood on his teeth, living for the thrill. That's probably what this film series needed, and less soap opera/undercover drama. Consider me surprised.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

It wasn't as bad as I had thought it would be....

8/10
Author: Ryancoke25 from Canada
11 November 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Hey, this movie was actually pretty good!! I'm amazed!!.. I enjoyed the first F&F but it totally got super cheesy in the 2nd... and with all the local teenagers dressing up their $400 cars to be "Fast & Furious", frankly I was just sick of the whole thing...

So I saw that Tokyo Drift was coming out, and I laughed and said to the wife, "Jeez, They just don't know when to quit do they?" We got a kick out of it and I put it out of my mind.. A while passed and a few of my buddies were trying to get me to watch the movie with them, I declined and made fun of it, Until one rainy day when I was bored out of my mind and the only thing on PPV was guess what... So I ran down and got a bag of chips, which at the time I thought would be better than the movie, and started watching... Well I have to admit I was quite wrong about this one..

Very well done, they got rid of the police guy in this movie... (Thank God) The cinematography is awesome, a few parts of the movie you might think you're going over... HEY! This movie actually has a storyline! And for those of you Vin Diesel fans, he does make a cameo... Overall I think anyone who originally put down this movie and enjoys racing flicks should watch it...You wont be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A Nutshell Review: The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift

7/10
Author: DICK STEEL from Singapore
28 July 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Fast and the Furious franchise relies on the simpleness of 2 factors to attract an audience from boys to men - sexy cars and fast babelicious chicks, topped up with plenty of testosterone and adrenaline in overdrive. Racing cars of all makes, be they the European, American or Asian models, one thing's for sure, the stunt driving team deserves all the credit. The first movie made a huge star out of Vin Diesel, while the rest had relatively smaller shots at glory, from Paul Walker, who returned for the second, to babes like Eva Mendes, Michelle Rodriguez and Devon Aoki.

The third installment decided to insert refreshing elements, and set itself in the land of the rising sun. Presumably influenced by the driving technique called drifting, which made it to mainstream consciousness via the Japanese manga Initial D, it's just too bad that the Hong Kong movie by Andrew Lau and Alan Mak, adapted from the manga, got to it first, like almost a year ago. Perhaps if the latest shenanigans of racers from both sides of the Causeway were widely publicized, this film could even be made closer to home! (In case you're wondering, the Malaysian police had recently conducted a dragnet rounding up illegal racers on its North South Highway. Flashy cars with raunchy stakes - the winner gets to take home the loser's chick for a night's worth of lurve)

There will be no doubts, comparisons between the East's Initial D, and this one from the West. In my opinion, this one edged out Initial D. There are many aspects in which Tokyo Drift is superior, and naturally having a bigger budget means that the filmmakers can afford to put more cars on showcase, more cars involved in races, and more races in varied locations like a tight car park, on the streets of Tokyo, and as a homage too to the source, they couldn't miss the mountain range. Scenes were for both day and night, unlike Initial D's predominantly night scenes.

It's never about the acting, though Tokyo Drift will lose out in terms of having relative rookies helm the show throughout, unlike Initial D's stellar supporting cast of Chapman To, Anthony Wong, to established popular teeny-boppers like Edison Chen and Shawn Yue. But Tokyo Drift did have veterans like Sonny Chiba lend a hand, and the coup was the casting of Keiichi Tsuchiya, the original inspiration for the manga, in a cameo.

Taking over the lead role from Paul Walker and Vin Diesel is relative newcomer Lucas Black as Sean Boswell, a good for nothing troublemaker with the inborn need to speed. He comes from a broken home, and is the root cause of his and his mom's moving from city to city, because he cannot get out of trouble from the law. When the final straw broke the camel's back, he gets sent reluctantly to live with his father in Tokyo.

Thinking that the Asian city has nothing to offer, before you can say "drift", he finds himself drawn into the world of underground racing, with plenty of flashy cars, hot chicks and mean Yakuza-linked punks itching to challenge anyone to a race. As clichés rule over this movie, Sean falls for the Drift King's (Brian Tee) main squeeze Neela (Nathalie Kelly, thought she looked like a cross between Paula Abdul and Rosario Dawson), while unwittingly got brought under the wings of Han (Sung Kang), business partner of Drift King, who teaches him the true meaning and purpose of drifting (which is a no-brainer purpose of snagging hot chicks).

Anyway, to a gaijin, Sean is ignorance personified, from culture to racing, he takes these challenges head on, stupidly. And surprise! A movie like this offered some one-dimensional character development of troublemaker turned good, who learns the meaning of brotherhood, although fame did get into the way of course. But herein lies another strength against Initial D, the lead did not turn out to be "all powerful" - here he has to learn the basics of drifting in an incredible short period of time, and turn out well of course, at the expense of expensive tyres, and cars (always a pain to see them being wrecked).

Any racer worth his salt must pimp his ride or zhng his car, and this one offered no less. The star attraction in the franchise are the vehicles. From the Nissans to the Mustangs, it seemed that the Mitsubishi Evo will be a mainstay, and the hero always drives one. It's almost a no- brainer to film movies like these, having stunt drivers to do the actual stunt driving, then cut to actors looking as if they're driving, and insert multiple cuts of hands on steering, foot on pedal, looking mean, etc. Instead of just incessantly focusing on drifting, there are the standard zig-zagging car chases, and some usage of Nitro for that quick boost of horsepower, which the first two movies frequently used.

Given its ending by an uncredited cameo which will send fanboys of this franchise into highs, this movie still has potential to be relatively popular and the franchise can indeed continue. It wouldn't be far out if there's an announcement of The Fast and the Furious: North-South Highway, and yes, you heard it here first! So race away, and unabashedly indulge in this movie that makes no apologies for being fast and furious to the loud sounds of its contemporary soundtrack!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Tokyo Drift

7/10
Author: Terryfan from United States
3 April 2015

Now let me state I haven't seen it in a long time so I'm going by memory of how I felt about this film.

The Fast And The Furious: Tokyo Drift is the third film in the series and unlike the first two films it doesn't have the original cast members which is a let down since it's normally wise to have the cast reprise their roles for the films.

But for the story for this film it just makes you understand why they went to a new cast.

The plot centers around an American Teenager Sean Boswell (Played by Lucas Black) who gets into trouble with the law after a street race with an high school kid so to avoid going to jail he is forced to move in with his father Major Boswell (Played by Brian Goodman) in Tokyo, Japan.

But old habits are not easy to bring as he begins to rival with Takashi (Played by Brain Tee) who serves as the film main Antagonist, the feud begins when Lucas begins to chase his girlfriend Neela (Played by Nathalie Kelley).

What most fans would be disappointed about the film is that the film features no of the original characters.

But the film plot is interesting but still feels kind of let down considering. Plus we first see Han in the series

The action scenes and taunts are good for the film despite it flaw acting but it just a hard film to not talk about.

The film is just hold back for many reasons but if you're a fan of the series give it a watch.

I give The Fast And The Furious: Tokyo Drift an 7 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"Tokyo Drift" Charts A Change of Pace

8/10
Author: zardoz-13 from United States
17 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Better Luck Tomorrow" director Justin Lin's "The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift" qualifies as a departure from the norm for a franchise. First, the action takes place in Asia instead of Los Angeles. Second, until the ending, we don't see anybody familiar. Although the hero is a misunderstood misfit, he isn't anything like the major characters in the previous films. Lucas Black plays a high school kid who is attracted to trouble, but he isn't a professional thief or a public servant. As Sean Boswell, he winds up in Tokyo and has to prove himself in an entirely different culture. Inevitably, our hero clashes with the nephew of a Yakuza boss played by the legendary martial arts superstar Sonny Chiba. Lin does a terrific job orchestrating some complicated action, especially the scenes where drivers drift. The drifting here, particularly during a town race, is breathtaking stuff. On the basis of its stunt driving, ""The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift" ranks as a good movie. Of course, the Chris Morgan screenplay is shallow, but he fills the action with interesting characters. Lucas Black is terrific as the fish-out-of-water hero. Brian Tee makes a first-class villain as TK, while Sung Kang is appropriately laid-back and cool as a glacier. Superior stunts, adrenalin-laced races, and a sympathetic protagonist make this "Fast and Furious" installment a breath of fresh air.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Really good film.

8/10
Author: Bruce722 from United States
5 June 2013

The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift is the least popular of the Fast and Furious franchise but it's also the most underrated. While I thought the country accent was a little overblown and some of the cgi looked a little too obvious, the movie was really good. The plot is fresh and exciting, the acting is spot on, and the cars are great. That's honestly one of my only gripes with 2 Fast 2 Furious is that, while really entertaining, it got away from the car element quite a bit. This movie brought back the cool car factor that made the first film so special. Overall, while it wasn't as good as the first two, it was still a great movie in its own right and one that can stand alone without the others.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

i dunno wt film u watched

8/10
Author: spicinamillion from United Kingdom
26 June 2006

okay so most people are expecting another version of the original two. well its not, its a whole new kinda racin. so don't go in expecting to see straight roads. and yeah the film takes a while to get going, but its all info that u need to understand the film.

Tokyo drift, still has the cars the all the thrills that the other two had,but in a slightly different way. so don't set your mind on the ova 2, and spoil it 4 yourselves.

i say its worth while going to see it in the flicks cause u ain't gona get the entire impact of the film on ur own t.v i hav to say that the small surprise at the end is brill! but hey you'll hav to watch it!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A love letter to import fans everywhere

10/10
Author: ShockHour from Spain
6 July 2013

In my honest opinion, this movie was probably the best movie of the first Fast and Furious trilogy.

It took you to Japan (a place the Otaku inside of me always wanted to go), exposed you to the flashy streets of Tokyo, showed you the mountain highways, and taught you how to drift.

When I first watched this movie, I was in 9th grade, and it was absolutely brilliant, the colors were vibrant, the soundtrack was awesome, and there was this one great character called 'Han' played by Sung Kang. He was, and still is the definition of suave/cool, this guy was like the big brother you never had. He demonstrated a lot of talent, making his heartbroken character believable, and also acted as a guide to the audience, showing them the underground of drifting in Nippon.

The main character in Sean (Lucas Black) was by far one of the worst actors I have ever seen. Definitely not a believable 17 year-old, not curious, and his wonky accent really tore the movie up, incredibly.

Instead, I used the character Sean as a metaphor for ignorance (which the character excelled at greatly). Of course, when one goes to a different country with or without research, there is a learning curve, but it was hard for Sean to adjust because he was so set in his ways, and ultimately wound-up disrespecting many people, leading to the death of xxxxxxxxx.

You could say Sean is your link, or avatar in Tokyo Drift, and just pretend you're very ignorant, and don't know how to use the internet.

The actor who played Drift King Takashi did a stellar job, right up there with Han, and Morimoto was great. Lil Bow Wow gets a lot of unwarranted criticism for his character in Twinks, but he was really good at taking the pressure off of things, as a comedy relief character. Neela was a believable character, you'll love her, no doubt.

The cars were absolutely amazing, my personal favorite was the Mazda RX-7 Veilside Fortune S6 13B that belonged to Han. I loved how they made areference to Initial D, by mentioning the Toyota Corolla AE86.

The women are pretty in Tokyo Drift, cue some lewd joke.

-.5 My only knocks on this movie were the facts that Sean Boswell was poorly written, and the actor was more wooden that a hollow oak cabinet.

-.5 Although the pacing was great, keeping you interested all the way, I feel like this movie was way too short, it could have been elaborated upon, and someone shouldn't have died.

FAST FURIOUS 7: The story from Tokyo Drift, the last chronological entry of the FAST series goes full-circle when the 7th movie pick-off where Tokyo Drift ended.

Hopefully someone will be resurrected.

Justin Lin is an absolute treat to have as director.

Hopefully, James Wan (new director for F7) can provide the same level of storytelling, and explosiveness the series had with Justin Lin.

Although, he is coming to a party, where everyone is already drunk.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

No rats in buckets, no CGI, just an entertaining flick featuring excellent car racing

8/10
Author: CinemaCocoa from United Kingdom
13 April 2017

Branching away from any original cast members of the first two films, thankfully, Tokyo Drift provides a refreshingly new look to the franchise.

Tokyo Drift is possibly my favourite of the series, or at least its up there with the first film; it only has a few problems that can be swept under the "It's Fast and the Furious, what do you expect" carpet. The story follows American "teenager" Sean Boswell (Lucas Black) whose reckless driving lands him prison time, but to avoid this he moves in with his father in Tokyo. He attempts to move on a dangerous rival's girl, and must become a competitor in the street racing's drifting scene.

I say "teenager" as that's what IMDb says, and he does go to school in the movie… but honestly, he's the oldest teen I've ever seen. Along with every other "teen" in this movie! While I talk negatives, the majority of the film is set in Tokyo yet 95% of the dialogue is English and Sean has a knack of meeting every foreigner in the city. I don't mind this so much, but I fully expect all of the Japanese characters to speak Japanese, especially when Sean isn't present!

But, unlike 2 Fast 2 Furious (choke) this film actually cares for its characters and their personalities (as Sean says early on: "It's not about the ride, it's about the rider") from Sean's fish-out-of- water acceptance, to his mentor Han's closet of skeletons. The villain isn't ridiculous either, his uncle is part of the Yakuza and he has a serious "king of a little hill" problem. Again unlike 2 Fast 2 Furious (gag) the cars have never looked better, sleek and refined and the drifting action is spectacular, especially when synchronized. Plus, no CGI, just skilled professional drivers, making the film worth seeing solely for the racing.

There's no stupid Tyrese Gibson mugging at the camera, no rats in buckets, no CGI, just an entertaining (albeit poorly localized) flick featuring excellent car racing and professional stunts.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift

8/10
Author: Phil Hubbs from UK
15 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I've said it before and I'll say it again...this is the best darn Fast n Furious chapter on the track by miles (puns away!). No big names and no massive overblown stunts, this is just pure driving at its finest, real driving, drift driving. The film works because there is no pressure on its shoulders, the sequel was terrible so there were no expectations here. Now I know this has been long forgotten by the recent tidal wave of cookie cutter sequels and merely because Vin Diesel came back, but none of them hold a candle to this.

The plot is basic and involves a young tearaway who seems to be getting into trouble where ever he and his mother move to. One stunt too many causing major damage to property and writing off his car means he's being sent away to his father...in Japan. His father was in the military so this is why he's based in the land of the rising sun, and because of his bad record (and to avoid jail) this young lad gets shipped to Japan to live with his dad. That's a punishment!!? sounds pretty cool to me.

Of course the entire plot is predictable and hokey as hell, its virtually bordering on 'The Karate Kid' with cars. New kid in town, makes a close friend who helps him, makes enemies with the local bully cos he falls for his girlfriend, gets into all sorts of scrapes in the meantime, his father can't control him...blah blah blah, yeah its damn unoriginal sure, but that's not why we watch these films is it. It is a shame the main lead in this is totally miscast, he looks like a doofus and sounds it too with that hick southern accent of his, but mainly he's just not much of a good looking lead, strange choice.

You like Japanese super saloons? more specifically you like Nissan 350Z's? you're at home here my friend. The first car sequence in this film is set within a multi-storey car park, a damn tight one!. The skills on show in this one sequence alone are breathtaking, the 350 drifts around the ultra tights bends inches from the walls, people and other parked cars. You gotta see it to believe it and its clearly real.

The visuals in this film are a real treat, Japan is an extremely photogenic city and always looks good, especially at night. The sight of these glistening hyper cars purring along the highways and small streets of Tokyo, cruising part the neon lights, bustling crowds, old town areas and towering lit up skyscrapers is simply gorgeous. Most super cars/heavily modded cars look good anywhere, but set them in Japan and they just look even better, some lovely eastern car graphics and mod kits in this film too.

Most of the car sequences in this film are stunning in all honesty, even the training sequences where our US lead learns to drift, its all filmed perfectly. The guys behind the camera knew how to get the best angles and shots for these sequences, the cars just look awesome. 350's, EVO's, a Mazda and a highly modded Silvia make up the roster this time but come the big finale race naturally the Yank tunes up his dads old Mustang to challenge the bad guy. Its kinda silly really because I really don't think there would be any way an old Mustang could beat a Nissan 350Z, especially at drifting, the Mustang couldn't handle it.

But I can't deny the final race is pretty cool, its quite tense and does get your adrenaline going slightly...even though we know who's gonna win. The whole reason behind the race is daft anyway, why would a mafia kingpin allow a race to decide who leaves town. And why would the loser simply leave town? what is this a western!? doesn't the Yank and his friends owe money? wouldn't they cut his fingers off or something haha.

Anyway this is hands down the best actual racing film in the franchise if you ask me, a very highly professional and realistic street racing flick which deserves respect. The location simply enhances the experience, the only thing I don't like about these films (including the first two) is watching these awesome Jap cars get bashed up, its painful to watch because they're amazing cars and damn expensive to run!. The very end is also fun with a cameo from 'Toretto' (Diesel) but again I gotta laugh, does this guy really think he can beat a Jap drift car in a tight multi-storey car park with a huge brick of a US car like the Plymouth Satellite!? damn thing is wider than a bus!.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 40:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history