Namgeuk-ilgi (2005) Poster

(2005)

User Reviews

Add a Review
13 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
Pretty effective psychological chiller.
HumanoidOfFlesh5 March 2007
An expedition team led by Choe Do-hyung marches on toward the Antarctic Point of Inaccessibility,one of the most difficult places to reach on the planet Earth and trodden upon only once by a Soviet team in 1958.Min-jae,formally trained in mountain climbing at Switzerland and in awe of the charismatic Do-hyung,is joined by the bookish navigator Young-min,the rather thuggish but sharp communications expert Seong-hoon,the genial cook Geun-chan and the electronics specialist Jae-kyung.When Min-jae discovers an old journal left by a British expedition 80 years ago,he begins to notice odd parallels between the journal entries and his team's experience."Antarctic Journal" is an impressive horror film that slightly resembles "R-Point" and "The Thing".There are some genuinely unnerving moments and Kenji Kawai's score evokes the utterly cold and relentless atmosphere of Antarctica.Unfortunately the film leaves a lot of questions unanswered.Still it gets a solid 8 out of 10 from this viewer.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not flawless, but surely a nice creepy film!
begotten5 August 2005
Six expedition members cross the Antarctic to reach their ultimate goal. On their Journey they find a Journal from another expedition group 80 years ago...six members as well. The hard journey and unbearable cold is driving them to limits and they are witnessing strange things. One member disappears , just on the same spot where a member of the group 80 years ago, disappeared. Coincidence?.......

Well, this film has gotten very negative reviews, and I don't think that's all righteous. The story is rather thin, that's right, but it does not force itself with twists and turns like a lot of other films are doing. It's all about the psychology of the human mind, or maybe it is not.... I think the movie was effectively mysterious and darkly atmospheric and even creepy at times! If you like the Korean film R-POINT than I'm sure you will enjoy this one as well! I think ANTARCTIC JOURNAL was even better than R-POINT in fact! The cast delivers good performances especially Kang Ho-Song (MEMORIES OF MURDER, SYMPATHY FOR MR. VENGEANCE) gives an impressing performance. This film is not brilliant, but it is worth checking out if you enjoy psychological creepy films!!
37 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Plot rarely used + other variables.
Flow2 December 2013
I was impressed with this one. Sure, I've seen some saying it's effective but not quite, not flawless but not perfect, well, maybe it's because mostly were expecting the standard Asian horror.

A ghost in Antarctica? Another girl with long black hair, covering her face, but she has no place to hang over from, no ceilings to walk on, except their small tents of course. Anyway, if you are open for something maybe not new, but a plot not worn out, Antactic Journal is quite the pleasant surprise. It's more of a mystery movie, will let you guessing, hard to predict the end (which is NOT a twist this time) but easy to realize where its heading. So just sit back, grab some popcorn, a beer or two and enjoy it, cause it has around 2 hours if I remember correctly.

The view is beautiful, all white, all silent, you can almost feel the cold. Shivers, shivers and an ocean of snow. I rated it 6, indeed not perfect, but nice to see something a tad bit different from time to time.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent film - 2 thumbs up - It is worth the best 80's flicks
Alban V1 July 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Amazing cast and atmosphere. Great scary build up and nice open ending (which will make you think for a while...maybe the reason why some people didn't like it) I actually understand the people who gave a bad review. They belong to a secret brotherhood that wants to keep excellent films away from the rest of the world. I would like to do the same, but I could just not lie on this one. ;o)

To answer someone who asked about the location, it was shot partly in New Zealand. I went to the place only because of this film and was quite amazed by what you got on screen in the end.

Also, a quick note about the Korean DVD: perfect piece of work containing info and perpetuating (English word?) the mystery.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Highly Enjoyable But Not Perfect
Muldwych30 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
'Antarctic Journal' is a chilling trek through the darker aspects of the human psyche. The film shows how reason and perception break down in extremely adverse conditions, and there can be few conditions more adverse than a polar expedition to reach Antarctica's centre. It certainly made me think that if I was going to do something like that, I'd want to know my fellow team-members really, really well. But even then, how well do we know anybody until certain circumstances bring out their true character? Headliner Song Kang-Ho provides a truly memorable performance, showing again why he is without doubt my favourite Korean actor - the kind of person who can save even the lamest of films like 'YMCA Baseball Team', and help the viewer overlook flawed films, like 'Joint Security Area'.

'Antarctic Journal' is the latter, for although it delivers well in scares and dread, not to mention breathtaking scenery and good acting, it stands before the two paths of psychological thriller and horror, not knowing which one to take. Thus you are presented with situations that either really happen or are products of mental stress and/or decay. I chose the second option most of the time, and the way characters transform as the oppressive and increasingly bleak nature of their plight overwhelms them grips you more than any paranormal device the film tries to suggest.

Nonetheless, you can't set things up for no adequately explored reason, and that forces the plot to wade through murky waters at times. The ending could have been clearer too, but since the writers didn't quite know what story they were telling, it's probably inevitable. Nonetheless, the disparate parts do not seriously ruin the whole, and there's plenty to enjoy. Think of it as a really good 2nd draft that just needed some more work, but still shows lots of promise.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great movie - vastly misunderstood
donnapri7 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is about a young man driven by hero worship who follows his leader into an adventure that far outstrips his ability to cope. The twist is we experience the story as it would feel like if he were actually telling it to us, if he were trying to communicate with his traumatized and fractured mind. Normally in a first person movie with narration we will see what the metaphorical fly on the wall sees, with clarification from other people's point of view and back story when needed. But there are no flies in Antarctica, not even viruses we learn. No third party witnessed what happened to this group of men, we will get no clarification. It gets weird right away - for example he tells us there was something in the snow, and that his teammates hated him and talked behind his back. There are times we're confused by what he says, we want to say something like, "Did you just say he fell into the ice and was stuck under it!?." Or perhaps we want to ask, "Did you just say that the ghost of his son was in the room, looking down, or was that metaphorical?" The movie does little to clarify, just giving us the feeling of that first jolt when believing the story, believing the misunderstanding. There is no time for questions as this crazy man pushes on and on. Eventually he loses track of the fact he is telling a story, and falls into delusions, thinking he is there, and taking us with him-- the movie portrays this by switching from first to third person. It's difficult to say what actually happened, what has been warped by his personal perspective, and what is complete delusion. I'd recommend questioning everything he wasn't there to see - this is only conjecture on his part and we know he is not in his right mind. I think he actually fell into the hole in the snow. The radio actually stopped working. And there was an actual British journal. He spends a lot of time conjecturing about what happened to the radio - it was sabotaged while I slept, they heard us but couldn't help us, they were looking for us but couldn't find us. This question is eventually answered for us, but not for him. What happened to the guys in the journal, he wrestles with. He tells, probably ruefully, about noticing the British trek seemed to have lost a member, and the reality that someone could die out there was so far from their minds they couldn't even say it out loud. I think what he tells us about the fate of the British Expedition is true. I don't think there is anything supernatural about the journal. Eventually he is way past the point of breaking and his focus narrows to simply reacting to the people around him, especially his leader. I don't think we learn what the leader actually said, or meant - only what we are told from this biased witness. Eventually we get back to where we started. We leave him, shivering on the ice. At this point he is beyond the ability to talk, so the story must end.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Nice pictures and atmosphere leading nowhere
dschmeding22 December 2007
Funny thing about Antarctic Journal is that it reminds a lot of The last winter which I have seen few weeks ago. There are many similarities... the setting in the arctic desert, a small group of people growing desperate and paranoid, chilly atmosphere, nice pictures, minimalistic score. Just like The last winter this movie looks like its going somewhere, hints at several ghosts, hallucinations or in this case inner fears and then ends up stuck in this endless nothingness. Antarctic Journal is a very slow paced and atmosphere driven movie, spending more time on introducing the characters than going for cheap ghost thrills. After all I think the drawer "horror movie" is plain wrong for the movie, its rather a psychological drama to me. Anyway, the ending to me was just a let down as in last winter, although more consequent. Maybe I didn't quite get the idea behind the movie because the ending is pretty confusing so you don't know whats truth or hallucination. But like another comment here said the movie doesn't leave you with the feeling of wasted time... its calm, far from chilling, rather strangely interesting and keeps your attention till the end. Maybe my rating might be too bad considering this and the nice cinematography but still I was expecting far more from the set up. Judge for yourself.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
sad story of how a movie that actually could be huge ends up being a huge waste of time..
charlesmanson19349 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
first of all.. i would've given it a better rating but seeing how it has over 6 already.. i think i doesn't deserve it.. personally i think this is a good 4 out of 10. mostly for the lead character and the beautiful shots.

now i'll make things short 1. it's way to long (2hrs) and it doesn't deliver anything in the overtime 2. it starts great. really great. it slowly builds up a story and i just sat there and was all nervous bout what's gonna come my way.. to tell you the truth.. i still sat there waiting when the credits rolled :( 3. it wasn't scary and it wasn't very psychological either.. it had everything to get there.. but it just touched various moments and situations.. leaving em to die in the 'cold' (harhar).. and instead of lifting those moments up, they actually went nowhere.

someone said 'tales of two sisters' in an arctic setting.. no way! if i had to compare it to the greatness that is 'tots', this would vanish from the face of the earth instantly.. seriously! i'm watching lots of movies. also lots of Asian flicks. and i'm sure that if this one would've been a bit chopped.. faster paced at times.. lose all those 'we show you the same thing for the 3rd time now, to make sure we lower the scare-factor close to zero'.. skip a few of the blah-blah scenes.. and esp. follow what has been built up to the end.. it would've been a great movie.

now it's just 2hrs going nowhere.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
an extremely tedious movie, watch at your own peril
puertoalto9 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Here we have Namgeuk-ilgi or "Artic journal" as it may be better known over here. A movie about an exploration team of 6 Koreans to the depths of the Antarctic, who come across the journals of a British expedition team some 80 years earlier. Fate has it that the mysterious misfortunes of the British are to be befall the Korean team in this forsaken barren wasteland as they struggle to reach their destination "the pole of inaccessibility" (the farthest point from the Arctic coastline).

The movie does sound like it could be worth a look, it has a decent cast, we got Ji-tae Yu whose always a solid actor, the movie also starts off promising enough, lending familiar elements from other horror/thriller of similar genres, such as "The Thing". Unfortunately the potential shortly outlives the expectations one would get from this kind of movie. Firstly, one cannot help but feel frustrated by the many "creepy" build ups which lead to nowhere (ie. a tense build up to what the audience perceives should obviously be a "scary" moment, but then that final "scare" part doesn't happen, only the build up). Secondly, the characters are spineless. Personally I find it very irritating in horror movies (unless they are of the humorous kind) when the characters act overly stupid. This movie certainly pushes the boundaries having seemingly brainless idiots in the narrative who cannot think for themselves and simply follow the orders of the so called team "captain" who has quite obviously gone nuts. Even more irritating is that the others agree not to use the "emergency" distress signal even after 2 members have died, because according to the captain it should only be kept for "real emergencies". There are also some discrepancies in regards to realism of this Antarctic trek, though the scenery is shot in a beautiful location, my guess is that real Antarctic is less forgiving and piloting helicopters, in Arctic blizzards to my knowledge among several other things, do not work.

In summary this is a very long and extremely frustrating movie which in the end, strays into many confusing paths, none of which lead to a satisfactory ending. If the brainless characters, the narrative suffering from an identity crisis or the slow pace do not put you off, then the 2 hour build-up to a very disappointing ending is sure to finish you off ^-^.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Because it's there.
fedor812 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Six Korean adventurers are on a mission to reach some obscure point in the Antarctic. Why? Because it's there. Look, I never understood it myself, this need to go to the balls-freezing testicles-frosticles poles or to be at "the top of the world". Leo DiCrapio was on top of the world WITHOUT having to climb Everest, right? If that little wimp (sorry, DJANGO tough guy) can do it, then even his Dusseldorf granny can.

Several days into the mission, a weird little alien (?) eye peeks out of the food they're eating. A few days later, a big elephant/creature/whatever eye sits in a crevice, staring at the luckless schmuck that fell into it right after attacking the annoying glasses-wearing nerd. (What's a nerd doing on a polar expedition?). Both those scenes are early on in AJ, setting the viewer up for a supernatural horror mystery. Or?

Think again. This could have been yet another drama about a man's descent into madness, had they taken out those two scenes, and perhaps one or two others that carry supernatural implications. For some strange reason, AJ (no relation to the putz from that boy band) almost completely neglects the supernatural in the second half, focusing instead solely on the "Captain" and the very obvious fact that he'd lost all of his marbles at some point.

Well, at least it should have been obvious – though not to the remaining three team-members. For whatever reasons, they kept following his suicide-mission orders with a minimum of fuss or skepticism until it was (predictably) too late. The act of cutting off the rope holding one of their team-members hanging in the crevice: that alone should have sounded alarm bells in their polar-exploring/snow-loving heads, not to mention his subsequent behaviour (half of which would have been enough to land him in a loony bin for a lengthy period of time). The way that actor plays the Captain - it should have been plain as day that he'd gone insane, and yet these other guys only reach agreement on this piece of bleedin'-obvious trivia once they arrive at the British hut. Perhaps this is a Korean thing, dunno, to be loyal to your superior(s) until the bitter end. That would certainly help explain the almost unique phenomenon of North Koreans not putting up much resistance against one of the harshest tyrannies in human history, whereas that same government would have been brought down a long time ago in any European country – and I mean ANY. (Not even the Russians would have tolerated it.) The way they all follow "Captain" into what is evidently a pointless suicide mission might be therefore more logical, or at least more familiar, to Korean viewers. I am not having a go at Koreans, but merely speculating.

It is a pity that the source of Captain's insanity wasn't explored more. Merely suggesting that "Antarctica drove him mad", or that his kid fell from the 14th floor many years ago, is not good enough. The parallels to the fate of the 1922 British expedition, the journal, the hallucinations, and of course the two bizarre eyes: all of these are just much-too-small parts in a much larger puzzle which the movie simply won't allow us to put together, or to at least know where to begin. I don't think that a movie of this kind should either serve us ALL of the answers on a plate as if treating the viewers like a bunch of avatards, nor do I believe that the vagueness should go too far in the other direction. The brilliance of movies that strike a balance – a fine line – between these two extremes cannot be overstated. Clearly, AJ has failed in this. Perhaps it was lazy writing, perhaps it was a lack of ideas how to resolve the movie's grand enigma, or perhaps the writer thought that utter confusion would eventually lead the viewer into some kind of a deep Buddhist trance that would help make all of this comprehensible on some deeper religious or (and I absolutely detest using this word) spiritual (yuck) level.

Ultimately, AJ's strengths lie in the beautiful landscapes, the mood, the solid soundtrack, the several fairly memorable scenes, and the sense of mystery. The slow pace will definitely put off avatards and other jamesocameronian riff-raff, but I didn't feel as if there was any tedium. The letdown, as is so often the case, is that the mystery was just a paper-tiger, a parlor trick, a gimmick to keep you interested for the duration. The movie has no real conclusion; it's far too open for interpretation, as open as the pooka of a 59 year-old prostitute, i.e. too vague to make any sense - apart from any subjective drivel that any ambitious/hopeful viewer might very pretentiously/optimistically/deludedly offer as an explanation. Looking forward to reading the other comments here for the usual silly theories!

A solid try, but next time more work should go into the script and the basic premise. Perhaps injecting a POINT to everything might help. AJ does not have an open ending – it has NO ending. You can't go off into too many directions within the framework of one single story. Take one direction and run with it. Or walk slowly with it through snow; that works too.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews