Four Kings (TV Series 2006) Poster

(2006)

User Reviews

Add a Review
16 Reviews
Sort by:
worth watching
bsy10292 February 2006
I realize that if NBC pulls "Four Kings" after a short run, it won't be one of a few. But I have to disagree with the harsh review. I just saw "Elephant in the Room" and I thought that the jokes were pretty unremarkable, but the acting and the plot really stood out. Bonus points to the creators for making an interesting opening title--its artistic but not too long. The actors have chemistry, which pulls them through some of the more mundane dialog.

Some shows (espcially sitcoms) can make you feel like you've just wasted 30 min watching nothing. For "Four Kings," you know you've just wasted 30 min, and you're proud of it.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good start....
brettlee726 January 2006
Seems to me like the actors are talented, and basic setup is workable, but the show just needs a little polishing. The writing is funny, but the production seems a little shaky. A good show overall, and I think if it makes it through the season it'll be able to pick up and be a great sitcom. After a season or so the writers/producers/directors can be able to see the little things that are making the show a little slow and fix them. Overall though, the characters are good starts, and the actors, particularly Todd Grinnell seem to be really promising. Sethe Green, the only actor with any recognizable previous experience is actually not as impressive as some of the others. Good show overall, hopefully will last long enough to fix some of the minor glitches.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
It's a shame this show was canceled.
uckpshh13 June 2006
Although the laughs were somewhat scarce, and the scripts a little under-developed, the chemistry within the cast was undeniable. I have to admit, that while this was not a "Seinfeld" or "The Office", for the first season of a new comedy, this was a showpiece that NBC hadn't had for a long time. This show actually showed promise. Unlike "The War at Home", which for some reason is still running, this was a tasteful, relatively smart comedy. For whatever reason, the only TV success Seth Green has had, is "Family Guy", which miraculously made its return only a short while ago. Everyone was cast well in their parts, and they were all believable as friends. Frankly, this show had some potential, and I can't recommend you watch it, because there's absolutely no point. However, I wish this show had stuck around a little longer, because it deserved to.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
not so bad
cutiepie315742 February 2006
I watched it for the first time tonight,it's not so bad.There was a really,really,funny scene about gay camp story with Seth Green.If it was only that funny all the way through it would rock.I'll have to keep watching to see if it goes anywhere. I think that it might not be strong enough to make it if it does not get better and polished up quickly it will probably get canceled. Sictoms are here today and gone tomorrow now a days. I honestly didn't even know it existed till tonight but, it caught my attention and I'm an avid channel surfer so it's got to be interesting to make me stop and watch. You got 5 seconds tops to grab my attention.Any how, I'd watch it again to see how it develops.I'm thinking it will get canceled before it really goes anywhere.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Kings
ksmie19626 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I really liked the show, the interaction between the guys, the flash backs to when they were young. All was good. I especially liked how Ben is the favored character while poor Seth Green is the unlucky one. The huge granny underwear was a hoot. I loved how Ben picked his buddies when it hit him how self involved and selfish his girlfriend was. I think that this series could be the new all male friends, the potential is there and it was cute, funny, charming, gross, and all the things a good comedy needs. I think people should give it a chance. Hopefully people who are expecting a Will & Grace clone will realize that this is different and just go with it.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Eralk Fang on Four Kings
Eralk Fang2 February 2006
If you enjoy the comedy on Will & Grace, you will probably enjoy this show. I do. The comedy is of course a little more 'masculine', as the main characters are four twenty-something straight men. Seth Green is quite funny as Barry, the jerk of the four. Todd Grinell as Jason is just as, if not more, funny, and where on Earth has Shane McRae been hiding? Sure, Bobby's character isn't that hard to pull off, but at the time of this writing, we're only four episodes in, and I find myself fond of the character. Again, the comedy is similar to Will & Grace, and if you don't find that funny, there's only a slim chance you'll find this funny.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This was a funny show
Tina Schuh10 September 2006
I know the show's been over for a while. Not to mention the last post here was some time back. However, I still cannot believe Four Kings was canceled. My only question is why. The characters Barry, Ben, Bobby and Jason are all great parts. We especially liked Barry and Bobby. They were funny. We liked Barry for seeming not to trust his friend's intentions of hooking him up with a girl. And we liked Bobby for playing a softhearted and seemingly dimwitted character. Both my husband and I enjoyed this show. The two of us don't usually agree on television. However, this one was very funny. I'm sort of sad to see it's gone. So many other shows need to be axed, but not this one.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Woefully Underrated and Tragically Short-Lived; This Show Was Brilliant!
Let's think, people. We have a winning cast, tiptop writers, and directors who know how to channel both into a winning combination. "Four Kings" unfortunately joined the ranks of obnoxiously short-lived shows... much like the original "Battlestar Galactica" (1978) and "Dilbert" (1999).

From the creators of the infinitely-worse "Will & Grace," "Four Kings" is just simply the story of four friends. Maybe this doesn't cut it for some people, but this show had it all. It was never off, and always on. Especially great standouts are Seth Green as rampant horndog Barry and Shane McRae as Bobby, the "Drunk Cuddler." I cannot wait until the entirety of this magnificent sitcom graces store shelves with its presence on DVD.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Getting Better
ehoward677-113 February 2006
The pilot episode was only mediocre, but I am not disappointed that I stuck it out. The writers are doing a pretty good job of developing the characters, and it's starting to pay off. The episode's following the pilot are pretty funny, and I expect it will keep getting better. Seth Green always plays his part well. The support cast is developing as well. In particular, Green's boss and the CEO have added a lot to the show. The writers have done a good job of weaving all the characters in with the two bosses. I would like to see the setting developed a little more. I know that sounds picky, but shows like Will and Grace, Friends, etc. are supported by their set. So far, the apartment hasn't really been developed all that well. It's still early, though. Keep an eye on this show. It has potential to be great.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not very good
bregund6 January 2006
I normally like Seth Green in anything he does, but as the Barney Fife/Jack Mcfarland comedy relief character in this show, he's terrible. It's not his fault of course, it's the terrible writing. This show is awful, the characters have no chemistry. It's always a bad sign during promos when they pitch the show with the words: "from the creators of...". In this case, it's "from the creators of Will and Grace", as though the TV-viewing public is supposed to instantly like the show just because it's from the creators of another hit show. In one awful scene in the pilot, Seth Green repeatedly propositions his brother's girlfriend, right in front of his brother. It might have been funny if written properly, but Green comes off as a creepy pervert instead of a two-dimensional clown, a la Jack Mcfarland. I don't see this show lasting very long at all, people just won't watch it.
7 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Sorry, this isn't it, Seth?
Syl6 January 2006
I love Seth Green. His appearances on THat 70s' Show is always worth watching but last night, I felt the show needed to overhauled. Four single young guys inherit a New York City apartment that most of us would die for. The grandmother must have been an heiress to have such space in the first place. So I felt the need for realism should have been brought out. Anyway the plot about four best friends getting this apartment was not believable. I would have been thrilled if they had to move in with one of their parents which would have provided great humor and dysfunctional about the show's set up. There did not seem to be much humor in it. I am only watching it because it falls before My Name is Earl on a winning Thursday night. I think they should go back, scrap this series, and start over. We need more family involved series. How about Seth and his friends move in with his wacky parents in the suburbs after a fire burns their place down. THey could have Dabney Coleman play the father and Christine Estabrook, play the mother and dysfunctional siblings. The list of possibilities with somebody like Seth Green are endless and the network is blowing it.
5 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Sylvia, what?!
brynnkk26 January 2006
Sylvia says: I love Seth Green. His appearances on THat 70s' Show is always worth watching but last night, I felt the show needed to overhauled. Four single young guys inherit a New York City apartment that most of us would die for. The grandmother must have been an heiress to have such space in the first place. So I felt the need for realism should have been brought out. Anyway the plot about four best friends getting this apartment was not believable. I would have been thrilled if they had to move in with one of their parents which would have provided great humor and dysfunctional about the show's set up. There did not seem to be much humor in it. I am only watching it because it falls before My Name is Earl on a winning Thursday night. I think they should go back, scrap this series, and start over. We need more family involved series. How about Seth and his friends move in with his wacky parents in the suburbs after a fire burns their place down. THey could have Dabney Coleman play the father and Christine Estabrook, play the mother and dysfunctional siblings. The list of possibilities with somebody like Seth Green are endless and the network is blowing it.

I say...what?! The show is actually very adorable. 'Earl' is the show that needs to be removed from existence.
3 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
First Impressions
ScooterKSU8 January 2006
This has been a good year for sitcoms. After a good decade without a new good one, this year has seen three very watchable half hour programs that debuted this year. But then again, with all the great sitcoms this year, there still was the absolutely horrible The War at Home. But one of the better new ones, My Name Is Earl along with The Office, was moved to Thursday this week as NBC tries to resurrect its once unbeatable Must See TV lineup which hasn't been Must See since Friends started to suck, and for those keeping track at home, that would be circa the mid-nineties.

To round out the new all comedy lineup is Will & Grace which I didn't even realized was still on and is followed by the new Four Kings. The show follows four friends who are now living in an apartment left to one of them by his dead grandmother, who just so happened to coined them the Four Kings. The show stars the werewolf from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and three dudes whose IMDb pages look as impressive as mine, well that's if I had one. For some reason my appearance on Letterman back in 1994 or the numerous times I was on public access don't warrant my very own page. But anyways.

Last night started off in earnest with a decent theme song in the Counting Crow's Hangin' Around. Then it was all downhill from there. There were very few jokes that actually made me laugh, but that could be due to the episode focused around the grandmother's death and proceeding funeral and I'm not the biggest fan of dead grandma jokes. But that's just me. Plus everything in the show was even easier to telegraph than Reunion. When the show is advertised as four dudes living together, you knew that the grandson would pick to live his buddies over his girlfriend, or as one of the guys put it "Bro's over ho's." I think that was the first time someone used that phrase since Friends started to suck. Had she actually moved in with the Four Kings that may have made for an interesting show. Seriously, these networks really need to hire me as a consultant.

The only bright spot of the whole episode is when Oz went to break up with his girlfriend, even though I wasn't really sure why all the guys had to break up with their girlfriends, or personal trainer in one of their cases, don't ask, it wasn't funny. But Oz's confrontation with the twin daughters was hilarious. Sadly, since he broke up with their mother that will most likely be the last we see of them.
2 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Worth watching... but lacked of a spark.
insomniac_rod1 September 2008
This was a clever show with mature sense of humor. The main problem with it is that there wasn't a spark; I mean, the kind of sensation that makes a difference between regular shows and great shows that pass to history.

The actors who played the principal characters were not that funny except for Seth Green who always comes and gives the best performance.

The situations were kind of funny but were uncomfortable at some points. Still I would recommend it for those who are tired of the humor brought in pop-American shows.

I also don't think it would've last for more than two seasons.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Sorry NBC - Try Again
lmason-39 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I love Seth Green, I really do. But this show was so awful! The jokes were forced and the same old and predictable. The scene with the personal trainer I could almost quote without having ever seen the episode before. I have not seen anything so pathetic since the ill-fated "Martin Short Show."

However, after saying that, I may watch another episode to give it another chance. Sometimes the pilot episode spends so much time setting things up that it loses substance.

NBC is trying so hard to get some good, new comedies out there and so far has only "Earl."
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Find something to read
bob.c6 January 2006
Thursday on NBC used to be "Must See TV" Well......Will and Grace is OK, but the Two Queens followed by the Four Kings is just too much.It was so bad, I'm not sure where to begin knocking it, so I won't.My Name is Earl is the only Pearl in this NBC line-up. Sure hope they don't let this go. I've got to write ten lines about this show or this review won't get posted. Well the International Movie Data Base people make the rules. Frankly, I don't think you should be forced to read ten lines about a show that can be described in one word. "Bad" . I'm up to nine lines. One more line and maybe I can get this posted. Hope this helps your decision making.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews