IMDb > "Sons & Daughters" (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Sons & Daughters"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Sons & Daughters" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

40 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

Complex and crazed but very compelling

Author: larajane from London
9 March 2006

I downloaded this show because, well, apart from living in England and thus not having ABC, I download most new shows, but I rarely bother getting the second episode unless it's really good. I wasn't expecting much from this, the title isn't especially gripping, and anyway is the title of a lame duck Aussie soap from way back :) However, about 5 minutes in, my friend and I simultaneously announced 'wow, this is actually really good!' and now, having seen the first two episodes, I am really impressed. We both were.

Sadly, however, it will probably be cancelled because it demands too much of a lazy, apathetic viewer. It has more than 4 characters, it has overlapping dialogue, it has actors who look like real people (gasp) instead of blow-up dolls, and it requires a (hear the bell toll, Fred) sense of irony to appreciate the comedy. Shame you guys didn't make this in Europe - you would be set for life :/ I hope it lasts though, the kids are great, it had some laugh-out-loud moments, and enough acidic humour to keep me chuckling after the credits roll - more than I can say for Two and a Half Men and their ilk. I liked that I didn't know any of the actors too, star vehicles are tedious affairs. I loved Arrested Development, and while I don't accept that this is a rehash or replacement of that show, I do see some similarities. It is intelligently written, it's different, and I hope that people give it a chance, before writing it off, just because it isn't what we're used to.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

A brilliant show that wont last

Author: Nick McDougall from Australia
5 April 2006

When this show first started it had the rather lofty legacy left by Arrested Development to live up to, due to various comparisons made by TV critics. This proved fairly unfortunate considering the die hard fan base that surrounds Arrested Development, but at the same time it is not altogether unexpected.

Certainly the two shows bare many similarities. Both are about comical situations that arise from immediate and extended family relationships, and both have a large ensemble cast. Character roles are also very similar between the two shows, Don the struggling actor uncle is much like Tobius the struggling actor uncle, Carrie the sarcastic teen far more mature than her two parents is much like Maeby Funke, Henry the awkward teenager resembles George Michael, and in the center Cameron is relied upon to hold his family together much the same as Micheal Bluth did.

However, that being said co creators Fred Goss and Nick Holly still manage to create a show where every character feels original, realistic and sympathetic. The absurdity of the situation never outshines the emotions of the people within that situation, the humour of an episode never eclipses importance of the relationships between the members of the Walker and Fenton family.

The partially improvised scripting helps this show break away from the normal verbal patterns witnessed in other sit coms, where its generally just examples of feed line, punch line, pause for laughter, feed line, punch line pause for laughter, repeat ad nausea. instead their dialog flows more naturally, overlapping, stuttering and fumbling. Somehow it's truthful, relatable and still very funny.

As the first season nears its end it saddens me to think these characters probably wont be returning to TV screens, due to fairly poor ratings. 11 episodes is barely a blip on the radar for most shows, and its not nearly sufficient in the case of these characters who have so many more stories to tell and so much more history to reveal. If there's any justice in the world we will be seeing much more of Sons & Daughters, but unfortunately we live in a world where American Idol is the most watched show on TV, so justice clearly went out the window.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

This television show was perfect.

10/10
Author: Mark (cosmicity) from United States
19 July 2006

One of my favorite shows of all time, One of the biggest network crimes against the American public: cancellation of this show after not even airing the 13 episodes that were made. Up there with "Freaks and Geeks" and "My So Called Life" as shows you just can't believe didn't become a massive success. (Maybe I'd add "Firefly" to that list, but I'm a bit of a SciFi geek and that show maybe didn't have the scope...)

If you have not seen this show, it is a MUST SEE. No question. Every character is fantastic. The dialog is brilliant. The plots are bizarre and completely relatable at the same time. In a nutshell, it's the kind of show you wish you could have made.

Ugh. It just hurts me to think about this being canceled. What message does that send to the outrageously talented people that made it? Hang it up? If they can't succeed, WTF!?

-mark

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

The funniest sitcom of 2006

10/10
Author: hoosfoos22 from United States
7 July 2006

This series was excellent. Never in recent years ,has there been another network sitcom where the cast of characters were so genuinely quirky and not forced.The actors were very good at owning their characters in such a short time. The writing was unique, because the punch-lines and timing were not typical. Maybe it was canceled because there was no laugh track. Some might say that it was a failure. I would say not because every episode was well crafted. Their is an assumption that Americans need another dumbed down formulaic situation comedy. This should make any human being with more than two Gray cells to spark together very sad. If an audience were looking for a show that had wit ,great writing,good acting,improvisation and comic timing,this was it. Given time, this could have been another Seinfeld. It is my hope that they at least release the season on DVD. One of these networks might get the idea some day ,of testing some of their shows that are on the fence, by putting them on their websites and see how many hits they get. Time will show just how good this show really was. maybe our sons and daughters will appreciate it.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

This Show ROCKS!

Author: smmagdaleno from United States
17 April 2006

This is absolutely my FAVORITE new show on television and I really hope the network gives it the chance it deserves. However, by running it against American Idol, ABC pretty much signed its death warrant. I'd started watching Sons & Daughters because American Idol has been such a disappointment this season. Now, after having talked up the show for WEEKS, I got my family and co-workers to watch, only to find that each of the ten episodes has already run and there are no upcoming episodes scheduled. This show and the actors on it are brilliant. I do see the similarities between this and Arrested Development, but I'd also compare it to Curb Your Enthusiasm since some of the dialog is improvised. This show is wonderful and I sincerely hope ABC sees its way clear to give it a "thumbs up."

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

great show, fun and entertaining to watch

Author: nancy-siegel from Canada
31 March 2006

I have enjoyed the action and intensity of the show and it's characters. I have found most episodes humorous and enjoyable to watch.

The characters have their own individuality.

Liz is a sincere character that women can relate to. Cameron's teenage son adds an interesting dynamic to the family unit.

Sharon and Don episode with the sex drought was entertaining.

Ezra on the show is great and I love how natural he is with his lines.

keep the season rolling it's great.

the relationship between family member keeps you connected at all times.

i will continue to follow this show. it new and not dated. cant watch CSI or desperate housewives.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Well executed, and fun!

Author: under_Whelmed from Canada
29 March 2006

To the guy who said "get rid of this show"

As soon as I started reading your negative response to this show I thought to myself; "I bet he prefers shows like Home Improvement". Sure enough. It says a lot about your taste, and of course you would not enjoy a show like Sons & Daughters. You prefer rehashed one liners and plot devices. (how many times did that guy screw up a macho'd up home improvement??) This show is not groundbreaking, but it is infinitely more entertaining than the Home Improvements and Yes Dears of the world.

For those mourning the death of Arrested Development I suggest you give this show a chance. It may not live up to such high standards as that show, but it is more entertaining that most other comedies on the air.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Another good show that will be canceled

Author: Philo_Kvetch from San Francisco
22 March 2006

I was a fan of "Significant Others" which was broadcast on Bravo a couple of years ago and which had Fred Goss in the cast. I found that show very entertaining due to it's talented cast, witty writing and lack of a laugh track. I like this show even more. While some viewers seem to find Goss irritating, I think he's great. What a pleasure to see Max Gail again! As a matter of fact, I think the whole cast is superb. Their facial expressions are spot on and the dialogue (either written or improvised) is head and shoulders above the usual sitcom fare. I remember reading somewhere that this show is just a placeholder for something else on ABC which means its lifespan could be pretty short. That would be a shame since this the best thing to come down the pike since Arrested Development and we know what happened to that worthy effort.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

My favorite television show, maybe ever!

10/10
Author: beforedave from United States
8 November 2006

Regrettably, I admit to watching a lot of television. I often avoid the networks, for I find value in about 1 to ever 10 shows. Sitcoms often make my want to lie down by their lack of intrigue. Sons & Daughters was funny and intelligent. It was as much a drama as it was a comedy, without feeling like one. Somehow the show moved me emotionally each week. I miss the show. I miss the comical realities. And like an ex-girlfriend, if I end up seeing any of the characters in another show or on screen somewhere else it will break my heart by putting the nail in the coffin of my hopes that this show will come back. When I think of Sons & Daugthers, I think "Curb Your Enthusiasm" Meets "Arrested Development") Arrested Development lasted 3 seasons on networks, somehow through the multiple sporting events it had to stay on hold for. I was a big fan and I never knew when or if the show was playing. I thank god it lasted 3 seasons. S&G unfortunately didn't make it through one. Shows like AD and S&G are on major networks never have a real chance. They should be on cable like CYE, where they would thrive. I wish there was a way to download or purchase all episodes. Anyway, Sons & Daughters is for me, all things needed in a sitcom and more. You cannot get a better mix of TV elements. Regrettably, I admit to watching a lot of television. I often avoid the networks, for I find value in about 1 to ever 10 shows. Sitcoms often make my want to lie down by their lack of intrigue. Sons & Daughters was funny and intelligent. It was as much a drama as it was a comedy, without feeling like one. Somehow the show moved me, and I miss it. I wish there was a way to download or purchase all episodes.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Embrace the New and Unknown

Author: jimhorn1 from ventura, california
25 March 2006

I realize that everyone has an inherent right to express their own opinion. And, I guess if you don't like Sons & Daughters, you really don't like it. My concern is that Mr. Goss and Mr. Holly are pioneers in the wasteland of current, every-shows-a-reality-show network television. As such, they are bound to present new and heretofore unexperienced moments in television watching. History teaches us that we, as a species, fear the unknown. Therefore, we really don't want to know about it at all, let alone experience it. But, Fred and Nick are giving it to us anyway. And it's wonderful. If you read the ABC blog and the IMDb boards, the show is cultivating a base of excited, open-minded individuals thankful, ecstatic even, for the fresh, new and exciting television brought to viewers by Sons & Daughters. For those afraid of television that breaks the formula, I beg you to give it another chance. Keep an open mind. If we didn't have pioneers, would the west have been settled? Would Hollywood have been built? Would television have been born? And even if you still hate Sons & Daughters, perhaps you could allow for the fact that this show may just open the door for a whole new format of network situation comedy or dramedy, as the case may be. And you may just fall in love with those shows looming in the not-to-distant television future. Subsequently, you would have Fred Goss and Nick Holly to thank for your future favorite flavor of network TV. So, try to set aside your ignorance and your fear and embrace the new and the unknown as the catalysts to positive change. And, in those regards, in the here-and-now, give Sons & Daughers a chance. (This goes for you, too, ABC!)

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history