IMDb > Grandma's Boy (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Grandma's Boy
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Grandma's Boy More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 13 of 21: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]
Index 202 reviews in total 

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not the best, but can bring many fun laughs

5/10
Author: Alex
4 August 2008

I've only seen this movie once, and I'm literally in the middle of my second view as I type this. I went on this site out of curiosity to see what other people have thought of it, and I have to say I haven't agreed with a single other review.

Some people are saying it's the best movie. It's not. No way in hell. It's not the best in any way, ever.

Others, though, are saying that it's a piece of trash and that anyone who likes it is "retarded". It's not trash. If it was, it wouldn't have received such good review from so many people. And I suggest to these people that they accept that everyone has different taste, and that they should change their attitude.

Anyways, onto the movie. Like I said, it's not the best. The acting is OK, and the directing style when it comes to camera and lighting and everything is very simplistic (not to say that's bad). The writing could be better, but in some senses is oddly realistic. And as for the plot... I think it would fit much better as a sitcom more then a movie. It's very sub-par in movie form.

The movie made me laugh on several occasions. But instead of the jokes all tying into the plot, it seems much more like sequences of inside jokes and funny anecdotes then anything else. Sometimes, though, that's enough. A movie is meant to entertain, and the creators of this movie succeeded. Albeit not on the best level, but either way, they succeeded.

One problem- the demographic these jokes aim for is very focused. Only a few people outside of the gamer/stoner groups would enjoy them. FYI, I'm in the gamer. Although this may have been on purpose, it was still a slight mistake, as a few normal jokes that everyone could enjoy could easily have been stuck in there.

In conclusion, if you don't mind dealing with a somewhat laid back plot to enjoy a bunch of somewhat dirty, somewhat nerdy, Family Guy/Robot Chicken-like jokes, then this movie is worth renting at the very least.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Rocks Dude

9/10
Author: Crazybmb3 from United States
7 August 2007

Dudes this movies is amazing I mean pot and video games at the same time thats something to watch. The movie is awesome I love how most people in the movie act like they have no idea what their doing.

THe karate monkey is sick to I love when it drops kick the main character dude down the stairs and Dante with all his animals he's crazy man. ONe of the funniest parts is when they smoke all the crazy pot to-gather and act like they are playing video games when nothing is on the screen especially the monkey. This movie is amazing and anyone that says other wise is just not very smart or is to smart to appreciation something that in voles pot and video games.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"I f#%$ing love this movie!!!"

10/10
Author: kristin186 from United States
7 July 2007

I absolutely love this movie!!! When I first saw the previews I thought it looked really stupid but after I watched it I went out and bought it and have since watched it at least 50 times. It is full of great quotes, humor that doesn't make people feel bad about being nerdy, and some really funny scenes that became became instant classics in my book.

I loved seeing Allen Covert in a main role instead of a supporting part and Doris Roberts is great as his grandma. The supporting characters and the relationship between Alex and his grandma are what make the movie though. Everyone I have showed this movie to has loved it and went out and bought it. Anyone who has ever had a nerdy friend or is an undercover nerd themselves will love this movie. Give it a chance!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Best movie

10/10
Author: Doggpants from United States
7 July 2007

Grandma's Boy has got to be one of the best stoner comedies ever made! Even though it was considered rated R most people 14-24 would find it funniest. (high schoolers & College kids). The one character that brings out the best comedy in this film is Dante (Peter Dante). He is probably the best part of the whole friggin film. My dad and many other people want to see him in like a movie about dante, or in other stoner comedies. He played the roll in excellence. Whats also great is that it's very re-watchable, because of its lack of plot, and re-laughable jokes. Overall this is one of my favourite movies, and it completely underrated by the public, go check it out!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Greatest movie ever made....

10/10
Author: chicagodog from United States
22 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is absolutely the greatest, most under appreciated film I have ever seen. Every single scene is filled to the top with absolute hilarious moments. If you look at the game posters in the background, they are for hilarious, non-existent games like "gay robot". I have watched this movie 5 times this weekend and it has totally made me forget I work for an idiot. This movie will absolutely cheer you up if you are grinding away all week, like to get high, and are over 30. Kudos to Adam Sandler's production company for putting this masterpiece together and leaving him out of it. Rob Schneider was even awesome in it. This film will one day be quoted on a regular basis - there are just so many funny lines in it that it will eventually become a cult underground classic.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Should've been retitled to "Let's Smoke Pot and Play Video Games" IMO

6/10
Author: noizyme from Escondido, CA
3 June 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Grandma's boy was about a 36 year-old guy named Alex (Allen Covert) who is evicted and tries to balance his life with pot, video games, and trying to live with his choice of living with his grandmother and her two friends in her house. He's a video game tester and has a variety of kooky friends who are everything that he needs out of life. When a hot girl comes to work for the company that Alex works for, he spends more and more time trying to date her. He also designed a video game that he hopes will take off in the company, but his plans are slightly foiled by a jealous co-worker who tries desperately to repeat his previous success in the company by stealing Alex's game idea.

There was no moral point really to this movie, especially when you see that all Alex does is run to pot when his plans do not go as planned. It's a very modern movie, touching on subjects that happen to a lot of privileged 20-something's throughout their first ten years on their own. This movie really just feels like a showcase for some of Adam Sandler's friends/comedian buddies who have been in almost every one of the older Sandler pictures but hardly get any screen time. So Allen Covert plays a pretty good protagonist in this picture, but you really just get tired of the pot references in about every 5th scene.

I loved Nick Swardson as the fellow employee, Jeff. His naive mind in this character plays out like some of Nick's ideas on stage during his stand-up work. I thought another of Sandler's friend, Peter Dante, was a pretty good weed-pusher who always got abstract animals at his place to guard his stuff. But it looks like Peter's probably more known for his body than his comedy, so I got suspect of his ability in other films.

The greatest scenes IMO were the DDR match, Aphex Twin playing (loudly) in JD's creative space (but cut out the robot crap, please), Kevin Nealon and David Spade's characters (both as new age philosophers about life and food, respectively), the jokes about Grace (one of the grandma's friends) hooking up with Jeff and the Charlie Chaplin/Abbott and Costello jokes, and the Salt N Pepa karaoke was awesome.

All in all, I gave it a 6 from 1-10. Decent comedy about having fun and making the most from a weird situation in life, but I have a feeling this movie was an excuse to throw a raging party and just smoke bud for about 6 months during the shoot. But you should still check out the kid from 40-year-old Virgin smothering himself with some porn star at the house party...some movies just don't have that yet (there's a shocker).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Anything with Shirley Jones is Okay with Me

8/10
Author: Chaco1942 from United States
2 April 2006

At the risk of dating my sorry old butt I have to say that anything with Shirley Jones is worth a peek.

In my mind, however, I still see her as Laurie in Oklahoma. Has there ever been a lovelier lady on the screen? Well, maybe Sophia Loren, but that's the only one.

And don't forget that Ms. Jones was awarded the Academy Award for her shocking departure from wholesomeness to prostitute in Elmer Gantry.

I actually fell in love with my present wife in 1968 because she looked so much like Shirley Jones. Still does.

I used to look like Superman, but now I look like Super Glue. Such is life.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A pleasant surprise

8/10
Author: robert_rock from Canada
30 January 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was way off the mark with this film. I thought it was more of a family fun entertainment movie. My oldest son loves video games and his grandmother in equal measures and both of them wanted to see the movie together. Needless to say, if you've seen this movie, you didn't want to see it with your mother or your eight year old son. I loved the movie and thought it had some very funny scenes in it. This was a pleasant surprise as I thought I would hate it. The adult humour mostly went over my son's head, and the drug humour set my mom off a bit. All in all, my wife and I had a good laugh at the content and my mother's reactions.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not so bad, just don't go with high (haha) hopes

4/10
Author: centuryfarm from United States
23 January 2006

First of all, I'd like to say that I really enjoyed this movie. However, that said, I can't say that it was a "good" movie. I went into the theatre with pretty low expectations (something I've learned to do). I'm glad I did, because the plot and development wasn't stellar. The jokes were low-grade humor. But, I was in the right mindset to enjoy them.

I wasn't the only one. In fact, the entire theatre was laughing out loud. I didn't hear anyone complain after the movie came to a close. I even saw one guy fall out of his chair laughing! But again, I have to warn you, Grandma's Boy is NOT a top-quality film. It is a funny (albeit low-brow) movie, and if you go with the right mindset, you'll really enjoy it. Oh, and don't take kids to it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Watchable, yet God-awful

2/10
Author: Michael A. Martinez (aylmer666@juno.com) from Los Angeles, CA
6 August 2007

Strong premise for a comedy movie (a middle-aged video game tester has to move in with his grandma) turns out to be easy to watch and not nearly as revolting or potty-mouthed as comedy films have tended to be in the last few years, BUT is lacking heavily in the laughs department. I sat through the whole thing constantly expecting a "big laugh" to come in the next few minutes, and while the film was amusing enough to keep my attention, it failed to deliver. By the time we got to the completely unrealistic party scene where an overweight dweeb gets to suckle a ridiculously inflated breast for hours on end... my patience was at an end. Something was just too staged and formulaic about all of this, too much of a familiarity to the proceedings to really suck me in and surprise me like a good comedy needs to do.

Then when I saw Adam Sandler's name in the credits, it all made sense. While he's not in this film, he definitely contributed lots of his sappy one-note humor. Typical of his films, good gags are hinted at but totally mis-handled and then lingered on to the point where they become tired and annoying rather than funny.

Also, what's with all the drug use? I'm not against it by any stretch, but this film goes way overboard on presenting marijuana usage as "the thing to do". Literally, about half the plot and 60% of the "jokes" are centered around smoking pot and all the sweet, awesome stuff that happens to you when you're high. This reflects the humor of a mind (probably Sandler's) that failed to continue maturation after reaching his late teens, most likely a result of early success in comedy television and movies. People who become successful early in life easily lose touch with reality, and in turn, lose understanding of what is funny and what is not (like this film).

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 13 of 21: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history