IMDb > Grandma's Boy (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Grandma's Boy
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Grandma's Boy More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 21:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 202 reviews in total 

161 out of 227 people found the following review useful:

Don't trust the critics!

9/10
Author: dpo77 from United States
7 January 2006

First and foremost, I only gave this movie a 9 to out weigh all the 1s that morons are giving it, I believe that it truly deserves about a 6.5-7.0 (currently it has a 5.5 with 87 votes). Look this is a funny movie, it's not ground breaking and it is certainly low-brow but it's actually quite enjoyable. The critics are trying to make it into the worst movie of the new year, which is sad because, in my opinion, it's as funny as anything that came out last year, including wedding crashers (although wedding crashers, I'll admit is a better film). The story relies on comedy to get by, the plot bobs and weaves, sometimes awkwardly, in the name of telling a joke rather than flowing an interesting plot line, that said, I enjoy the filmmaker's willingness to disregard any attempt to make the story realistic or to make the transitions genuine. The flow of the story seems as if it is constructed in an alternate universe where random parties come together with ease, while it may sound as if I'm being sarcastic I'm certainly not, I believe that most movie transitions are simply labored and lame attempts to get from point A to point B, they just jump almost directly to what they want to do next in Grandma's Boy ala the first Wayne's World, which keeps the movie from sagging. All and all, I believe this is a great comedy, it's certainly not for those with high brow taste, remember, critics typically like comedies like Sideways and Broken Flowers, movies that, while entertaining, find it difficult to make a young person laugh. If you liked There's Something About Mary and previous Sandler films, with the exceptions of Spanglish and Punch Drunk Love, you will enjoy Grandma's Boy.

Was the above review useful to you?

144 out of 201 people found the following review useful:

I went back again!

10/10
Author: booeythang from Canada
19 January 2006

Never in my life have i went to see a movie playing in theater more than once. You get those people who have gone to LOTR or star wars 3 or 5 times, once was enough for me. Of all movies in the world that I could see for a second time, Grandma's Boy was the one that did it for me. Not only did i see it twice in theater but I Paid twice to see it! No sneaking in, no illegal downloading...I have supported this movie! And why? Because never in my life have i found a movie that made me laugh so much. And i laughed just as much the second time as I did the first, perhaps more. Joel Moore owns this movie. He plays his character so well that you can't help but wonder how he did it. Makes me want to get metal legs too.I'm not saying everyone will find this movie funny...if you've never smoked a joint, played a video game or made a sexually explicit comment....well then yeah you'll probably sit through this like a wet fish. A sick sense of humor is kind of a must. Maybe you have to be a bit of a dork, i dunno. Fact is it had a good beginning, middle and ending and what could be better than that? (Even award winning Backdoor Mountain left me disappointed with the ending!?!) SO that's my opinion and I'm sticking to it. 10/10 for the best comedy of the year...and two thumbs down to the critics who are obviously too old and boring to find the crazyness of youth amusing.

Was the above review useful to you?

80 out of 102 people found the following review useful:

You'll love it if you like these kinds of films (like I do)

9/10
Author: Brandt Sponseller from New York City
9 July 2006

Well, obviously some viewers didn't like this one, and that's the case with all comedies that we could compare to Grandma's Boy. I still haven't quite gotten a handle on what those viewers aren't seeing in these films that they would like to see. The typical answers are that they want something funny, something not stupid, not clichéd, and so on, but of course that doesn't tell us much, because lots of us do find these movies funny, not stupid and not clichéd.

So how do you know whether you'd like Grandma's Boy if you haven't seen it yet? It's worth noting that Adam Sandler it, it features a lot of Sandler regulars, and it's the vein of Adam Sandler comedies like Happy Gilmore (1996), The Waterboy (1998) and Little Nicky (2000). Actors like Rob Schneider, David Spade and Kevin Nealon have cameos or small parts, and it's also not off base to compare Grandma's Boy to the Deuce Bigalow movies (1999 & 2005), or Dickie Roberts: Former Child Star (2003). Chances are that if you like "those kinds" of movies, you'll find a lot to appreciate in Grandma's Boy, too, and if you don't like those kinds of movies, you should know (or should have known) to stay away from this one.

Of course Grandma's Boy is exaggerated and not realistic and even ridiculous and absurd at times. That's part of this subgenre of comedy, along with an ever-present irreverence and regular jabs of "crudeness" that work because at least in theory, they tend to appear when you least expect them. The idea at this point isn't to top the irreverence and crudeness of previous films, because to do that a filmmaker would basically have to resort to doing various illegal things in front of the camera. The name of the game is to give the false impression that maybe you're going to play things straighter this time around, so that the crazy stuff works in context. Director Nicholaus Goossen shows that he understands this well.

Grandma's Boy is about game designers, which by extension makes it about geeks and nerds. This may not be how most game designers (or most grandparents and their friends) really are, but this isn't a documentary, it's a very funny comedy, and this is at least about how those of us who aren't in the business imagine or want them to be. That's part of what makes comedy work--it has exaggerated, fantasy elements by way of caricatures/grotesques of (stereo)types that exist at least in popular, contemporary "mythology".

There are plenty of gags that people who like these sorts of comedies will remember for a very long time. They arrive about once every two or three minutes at least--just enough time to wipe away your laughter tears from the last gag. You can't get a much better recommendation than that. And if you know you don't like these kinds of films, please, do yourself a favor and just avoid this one, too.

Was the above review useful to you?

113 out of 170 people found the following review useful:

This film would have sucked had Sandler been in it

8/10
Author: cindy-201 from United States
15 January 2006

One of the funniest movies beginning to end that I've seen in a very very long time. Allen Covert did a REMARKABLE job writing this film, and It's easy to see where Sandler really gets his material from. Nick Swardson (Terry the gay male prostitute from Reno 911) was absolutely hilarious. Linda Cardellini (ER) was great too... I don't know how many women in the gaming industry are as cute as she is - but - it was great to see her in something as funny as Grandma's Boy after seeing her every week on ER for the last couple years. Having exposure to gamers - a couple of whom are testers, I don't think this flick could have been *much* more accurate. Overall - I LOVED this movie. Start to finish it just got progressively funnier. GOOD JOB MR. COVERT!

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

Freaking hilarious

10/10
Author: ckaspereen from usa
21 September 2007

One of the funniest movies I have ever seen, if not the funniest. As many others have said, this isn't highbrow comedy, but that doesn't make it any less enjoyable. The puns and gags are highly memorable, and there are a lot of lovable actors, many of which you wouldn't expect to see in a movie like this, which makes them even more entertaining.

Whenever my friends have a LAN, we have to watch this movie at least once, as most of them are game designers. Many people have said that the movie is unrealistic, but beyond the obvious physical and logistical deviations, the general attitude and behavior of the characters isn't too far off from what I see when I've been around my friends.

I can't believe anyone could rate this a 1. If you did, call the morgue, you are dead inside.

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

An Incredibly Funny Film

10/10
Author: dar2106 from United States
6 December 2006

All though i admit this is not a movie that would be enjoyable for those with "high brow" humor. But those with "high" (aka pot/stoner) humor would absolutely love this movie. This movie received High Times Movie of the Year. For those who enjoy movies like: Happy Gilmore, Billy Madison, Super Troopers, and Harold and Kumar; you would totally love this movie and find yourself peeing your pants.

This movie, while lacking plot, sacrifices nothing for humor. Adam Sandler clearly only disassociated himself from this movie, because of its racy drug content.

Anybody in the teen to thirty classes would love this movie. Or anybody that enjoys "dirty" humor. The unrated version of this movie is ridiculous and the special features are just as good. With hilarious comedy, and funny goofs.

Honestly this movie is a must watch, especially for this with a taste for bud, or those who enjoy drug induced lifestyle, this movie will knock your socks off, and for those who enjoy the occasional brew and enjoy the high school days this movie is a must watch.

Sorry if my comment is incoherent I'm really messed up…hahaha….living within the true nature of the movie…long live Frankenstein… Hilarious!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely Hilarious!

9/10
Author: full_can_of_beer from Canada
4 January 2007

One of the best stoner films i have seen in a long while. Even though I love such movies as Harold and kumar go to white-castle. I'd have to say this one was a lot funnier. With snappy lines the movie was great. Decent plot made the movie had just what it needed to be a classic stoner flick.i went to rent this movie with low expectations and when I had finished watching the movie even my father (who is somewhat strict) thought it was hilarious. See this movie. I was surprised to see that this movie had only a 6.6 on IMDb.com and see all of the comments that were negative. All in all this was a great movie and i would suggest it to anyone who likes a fun loving silly movie. oh and IMO i think that guy DOES look like Mel Gibson!

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 68 people found the following review useful:

Naughty, nasty, vulgar; brilliantly cast and acted and funny as hell.

10/10
Author: localhero83 from California
19 November 2006

"Grandma's Boy" is a comedy in the truest sense of the genre, there is only one serious plot line in the whole movie and it is immediately transformed into one of the funniest scenes in the film.

I didn't see the movie in a theater, so I don't know how a large audience reaction would have been. However, all of 5 adults in my household - ranging in age from 18 to 59 - laughed 'til it hurt at least 6 or 7 times when we watched the DVD.

But just a few names in the supporting cast shows that this was a film brimming with gifted comedic talent. Among others, they include: Doris Roberts, Shirley Jones, Shirley Knight, Kevin Nealon, David Spade and Rob Schneider. Great talent, great writing, great performances make for a great bawdy comedy.

I'd put "Grandma's Boy" the same category as "Animal House". To me it is just as funny. It won't achieve the classic status of the latter because it is neither the first nor the best of its kind. But it is very funny and, for non-prudes, well worth the rental price

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 83 people found the following review useful:

Stoner Fun

6/10
Author: elitt from United States
26 January 2006

A 35 year old video game tester (Allen Covert) gets evicted from his apartment and is forced to move in with his grandma (Doris Roberts) and her two elderly friends (one of them is played by Shirley Jones). He tells his goofy friends at work that he's living with three babes, but the "jig is up" after they show up at the office.

This is one of those C-list acting B movie comedies that should be awful but it's really pretty funny. There are laughs throughout the entire film. Most of them are juvenile, toilet, and stoner jokes but they work for the most part. The film is loaded with toilet humor on the same level as the American Pie films. There is also a sweetness to it that helps balance things out.

The film does begin to fall apart towards the end and a some of the writing is pretty predictable. But this is a fun movie that will probably go by the waste side due to lack of stars, so catch it on DVD. It's pretty enjoyable and certainly a guilty pleasure. (**1/2)

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 100 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly funny

7/10
Author: coldstick from United States
15 January 2006

If you go into this movie expecting a sophisticated plot, dramatic characters, or heartfelt moments, you will be very, very disappointed. On the other hand, if you don't care whether a movie has a plot, as long as it's funny, Grandma's Boy will definitely satisfy. With plenty of stupid and silly moments (the Lara Croft scene is hilarious) and one-liners, most fans of "stupid humor" will enjoy themselves. If you're an uptight, stick-up-the-butt type, you will likely curse the day you saw it. Stay home and eat Cheetos if you take dumb comedies that seriously.

No, it's not perfect. The "robot" kid is freaking annoying, and some of the gross stuff feels forced. But ah...what are you gonna do? Better than watching another painful romantic comedy, right?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 21:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history