IMDb > Deaden (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Deaden
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Deaden More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A descent into the abyss

8/10
Author: emotionlhavd from Spain
17 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Deaden" is a difficult movie to talk about. I don't have any doubts of my feelings about the picture but it can be an uncomfortable experience to watch for those who don't know about what Viel and Fallon are talking. I was lucky enough to saw this film at its European premiere in Sitges Film Festival. I remark that I saw this film at Sitges because 5 years ago I saw there Kim Ki Duk's "Address unknown". After that screening I called a friend and told him that the Korean master had made a manifest about human cruelty, after seeing "Deaden" I thought that Christian Viel (the director) and John Fallon (the screenwriter, actor and producer) have made a manifest about human rage. The story line is classic, a vengeance movie about the payback that an ex cover policeman, that becomes a drug dealer because of his job, takes against the punks that rape his wife (with a baseball bat in full detail!) and murder his ¡unborn son! (In extreme full detail!). Yeah, I know that it sounds crazy. But think for a moment. If you don't know who the people that made that movie are and someone tells you that this is the plot line of the new Takashi Miike film, all of us would be dying to see this picture. So, what I'm trying to say is that you must see the film without any prejudices. The picture takes us to an unpleasant and nihilistic downward spiral to the last days (almost hours) of a human soul. The history of a man betrayed by a system in which he believed in, first, by becoming what he hate most and after that by being abandoned by them after the brutal murder that I talked before. The movie is sad; yes, it has some macabre gags, but the face of Fallon in the fine montage at the beginning is what marks the tone of the movie. His facial expression is what you're remembering during the picture, because (and that is very intelligent way of using the expectations of the public by the filmmakers) we have seen lots of vigilante films

(spoilers!)

and we know what he'll do after the revenge is complete and why he'll do that.

(End of spoilers)

The movie perfectly reflects the anger and the rage that invades you after you're assaulted or your girlfriend is raped or simply when you're humiliated by your boss or betrayed by someone you love. A violent impulse that drives you to your limits and to the dark side of your soul where you reject everything that you believed in, that's what the movie is about and that's what happens to the main character. But to understand that you must see the movie with your mind open and ready to be punch. Because you will be punched, but with style; I hate to comment films talking about other films, but think that the style of the movie is like "PI" in vivid colors, without any budget and on steroids. You'll see a very inventive way to film a guy sniffing cocaine (there's also a VERY funny recurring way that pays tribute to "Scarface") and you'll also see that every killing of this movie is different from each other and most of the them are committed with very unusual weapons (the movie features a new way to play pool that Ruggero Deodato will enjoy a lot). Because, of course, "Deaden" is a serious movie but also a non stop fast paced action picture (filmmakers and editors, take notice of the rhythm) that pays tribute to the 80's and 70's action films; you'll appreciate references to "Dirty Harry", "Death Wish", Chuck Norris, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Dolph Lundgren, "Rocky" and all Sly Stallone's films and "Requiem for a dream" (don't be surprised by that, "Deaden" tells a story). And please remember what I told you before; don't have any prejudices when you're seeing that movie. Remember that is an old school action movie with a lot of social comment much more in the line of "Class of '84" (a film that almost only Roger Ebert defended in its premiere) than a Cannon film (that are great in their own way). And to you upcoming filmmakers and actors you must support Viel and Fallon's movie because it is made with little money but with lots of love. A film made by fans for fans. I hope that their next feature will be at the same category of that one, because "Deaden's" cult has just born.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

entertaining stuff

7/10
Author: cwhite1-1 from United States
18 November 2006

OK so I think its good fun,

On the TECH level

I dug the look in some areas more then others such as some ext stuff looked Well videoish (Being that it was shot on video) while the some of the INT especially when Rane fights one of the main bad dudes (who was giving a blowie to other dude) hand to hand had a cool gritty look, Girlie Club also...I wish the latter look was kept throughout more, that's just my personal taste..There's a lot of gun action going on in this flick!

Story

Simple and to the point it was just good ol Revenge..Nice gratuitous violence =) Aborted babies always a good for a cheer in my book(You'll have to see the flick to understand how messed up it is)!..I liked also the constant hits of coke etc prob most coke hits since Scarface lol..

Acting

John Fallon who played Rane was solid the rest of the cast ranged from decent to passable(I felt weakest acting wise was female cop)..I Rane's coked up buddy he was cool and I liked the two Fhorensic Cops cracking the jokes.

All in all considering small budget and what these guys went for I feel they suceeded on all levels! Will this hit a theater near you, Not likey but will make for a very cool DVD rental or hell go out and buy it. I was entertained and in the end that's all that counts

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A punishingly good tale of revenge

9/10
Author: fettdog from United Kingdom
12 February 2007

Deaden is not a movie for the faint-hearted, does not cater for the mainstream audience and is not in the slightest bit interested in any PG-13 rating, and thank God for that! Deaden is instead an intelligent, well-made love letter to the revenge flicks of decades gone by. Writer, Producer and Star John Fallon (aka the one and only Arrow In The Head of the eponymous highly respected horror movie site) had previously stated that his intention (along with co-writer and Director Christian Viel) was to, ahem, deaden his disappointment at the 2004 remake of The Punisher, which for all its' good intentions and impressive visuals still pulled its punches where it counted, and create his own vision.

Thus Fallon and Viel created Rane, an ex-cop who has his future taken from him (in more ways than one) in a brutal opening sequence, and who then proceeds to make the perpetrators pay dearly for their actions after putting an arrow in his head (see what they did there?) and leaving him for dead.

What follows is a lean, uncompromising revenge flick that showcases Fallon in his first leading role, and proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that not only can he write, but the boy can act too. Several times during the movie I was reminded of a young Stallone in the way that Rane comes across as a flawed everyman, forced into his actions but ultimately believing that he is doing the right thing.

What could have been a ham role in lesser hands is turned into a sympathetic and even likable character by Fallon, who glides across the screen with an ease and confidence that many actors with more leading role experience would struggle to replicate. However, one man does not a great movie make (well not always).

Fallon's co-stars also step up to the plate and manage to hit (mostly) home runs. Deke Richards as his buddy Kersey completely sells their camaraderie (helped no doubt by their real life friendship), and the lovely Claudia Jert as his ex-partner Park brings a sexy confidence to the screen which brings to mind a younger (and hotter) Rene Russo. Anna Jaeger, playing Rane's girl Jamie, makes us believe in the depth and warmth of their relationship, and completely validates his need to seek vengeance for her untimely demise.

Rane's murderous crew are equally convincing, breathing life into what could so easily have been two-dimensional cardboard characters, but who instead come across as realistic - very little of the stereotypical movie bad guy scenery chewing that we've come to expect from the likes of a Michael Bay flick goes on in Deaden.

The violence, too, is realistic, with the only credibility-stretching event being the afore-mentioned arrow in the head, but even that is nimbly explained. Heads are cracked, teeth are lost, limbs are broken, and there is the most inventive use of a pool cue that I've seen for a good while, and that will make your eyes water.

Add a well thought out soundtrack to the whole heady mixture and Deaden delivers the goods, and then some. For my money Fallon and Viel have delivered exactly what they set out to, namely a punishing tale of revenge that will keep you nailed to the screen until the final, bleak denouement.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"vengeance is served on a platter along with your balls"

8/10
Author: donny-42 from United States
18 January 2007

I dig action flicks, and Deaden is an ACTION flick that doesn't pull any punches, in fact it starts kicking your ass from the opening frame. Writer/actor John Fallon and his partner in crime director Christian Viel have created a film that remembers what it's like to have an old fashioned bloody good time at the movies. Combining the things I loved about the Death Wish, early Chuck Norris, and Dirty Harry flicks with a little Cobra thrown into the mix. The only thing missing was a bad ass car, but they had a bad ass bike so I guess they knew what they were doing. The tag line for the flick is "If you stop feeling pain, you can start using it", and the lead character Rane (Fallon) takes those words seriously. On a pain killer and cocaine infused rampage he seeks out those that have wronged him, and using some of the most inventive kills to ever grace the silver screen kills them. Now as fun as this film is, and it's a blast, it is also very difficult to watch at times. I'm just saying, go into this flick ready for anything to happen because in the world that Mr. Fallon and Mr. Viel have created here even the kitchen sink is scared to come out of hiding. So we've got action, violence and lots of ass kicking, but Deaden also has some heart. Fallon shows his sensitive side in flashback sequences where Rane is remembering the good times he had with his wife. Plus his relationship with bad boy Kersey played brilliantly by Deke Richards puts a little bit of the buddy aesthetic that works so well in films like The Rookie, and Beverly Hills Cop into a what is sure to become a cult classic. The chemistry between Fallon and Richards is awesome, and when they weren't on the screen together I found myself waiting for my next fix of those two crazy guys in action. In Deaden the bad guys are bad, and the good guys are bad and the vengeance is served on a platter along with your balls. So do yourself a favor and let Deaden take you back to a time when action flicks ruled!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Back to those Revenge Film roots!!!

8/10
Author: keptone from United States
11 January 2007

What can I say... well first off this is John Fallon and Christian Veil's new film which has been in the making for a little while now. When the movie began I was surprised at how quickly it got itself into the mind of the viewer. Just the beginning alone is a testament to the violent brutality yet to come. It has been a long time since a film has begun with such a brutal punch! Along the way there are a couple of interesting plot turns and character development but not many. This is a straight forward revenge flick deeply rooted in gritty 80's fare such as Death Wish and The Exterminator. Fans of those particular movies will find themselves at home with Deaden while others will be surprised that such a movie could be made.

John Fallon's performance definitely shines as the walking revenge machine. He takes out people like no other and seems to bring a dark humorous vibe to the whole piece. Direction is handled pretty good as well considering the budget restrictions and all. Overall it is an entertaining piece of gritty film making.

John and Chris are on their way up!

Was the above review useful to you?

It's gonna hurt!

8/10
Author: Nireisme from United States
2 November 2006

I was lucky enough to see a representation of Deaden during a private screening. I was expecting a "balls to the wall" type of movie but to my surprise i was greeted to not only that but an actual character study. There are more than guns doing the talking in this flick. Fallon's performance was great, displaying a wide range of emotions. The chemistry between Raine and Kersey is very palpable and believable. Great balance between the action and the story. The movie moves at a fast pace and never overstays its welcome. The flick looks great: editing, filters, effects. Visually, it actually reminded me of Domino. You can feel the love and effort that was put to create this movie, behind and in front of the camera. Viel did an impressive job. I can only imagine what they would've done with a bigger budget. Props to all involved for providing us with such a movie. They are far in between nowadays.

Was the above review useful to you?

Good

7/10
Author: alanalan_alanalan_alanal from Spain
13 October 2006

I recently went to see Christian Viel's Deaden at the Sitges Festival International De Cinema De Catalunyain in Spain and I liked the movie a lot. It was the film premiere. The film was fast. The story simple. It was brutal. The music was excellente. Fallon was a good actor most time. Big surprise. Good comedy with Kersey Fallon friend in the film who was funny. Lot of guns-cocaine-action and the killings were originale and sadist. Bad things was the film was done on a low budget and some of fist fights were not that good. But it was a good vigilante movie with lots of violence-laugh-drama.

Alan

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

what the ..???? i cannot believe I sat through this thing.

1/10
Author: from Canada
1 May 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

saw this on super channel one night when I couldn't sleep..and it had to be the biggest piece of garbage that I have EVER seen in my life. I kept trying to find a station playing the magic bullet infomercial rather than deal with this..but curiosity got the better of me.

What in the world is an overweight bald Colin Farrell leading this trash for? The main actor looks like a bloated bull from night court who must have graduated from the tony Danza school of acting! Completely overshadowed by his lame Pornstache wearing sidekick who couldn't act any better..but certainly not worse.

the opening sequence of this film was so over the top and ridiculous to the point of revulsion. They were going for shock value..instead it was laughable. ..without giving too much away...the abortion that they rip from her looks so fake you can practically read MATEL on the prop baby's behind! The climax of the movie involves a 3 person swat team!!?? are you kidding me? what you couldn't gather a group of friends, put them in some vests and do-rags and shoot? I've heard of low/no budget films but come on people..at least make an effort! it feels like the creators of this film had no pride in the half-ed good cop bad cop drama piece they were trying to make...and it shows! Bottomline..if one MUST watch this movie..such as someone has a shotgun pointed at your crotch and you must for the life of your genitals endure this...at least make a drinking game out of it...

take a drink every time Rane cries *sip sip sip* note that his cry face is actually laying a foot long face. Take a sip anytime someone acts completely devoid of emotion when uttering their lines...sip sip..pass out.

The only redeeming character in this whole drug infused fanfare was the lead bad guy...the talented and impeccably chiseled Neil Napier. The movie really pops when this actor comes on screen, and fizzles when hes not. Horrible movie overall.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

-This one goes for the throat !

7/10
Author: rippem-anewone-inc from Canada
25 October 2006

I had the opportunity to catch this one at a private screening last week. Finally a film that has not been over hyped and does not pretend to be anything else than what it is supposed be, violent B entertainment. I do not want to say much because this one holds a few surprises (you wont forget the opening sequence, actually that is if you can sit through it!!) but its premise is not overly complicated, here is all you need to now for now: A man seeks revenge against a crime syndicate responsible for the brutal murder of his wife.

Directed by Christian Viel (Evil Breed) and starring John Fallon (who also wrote it) Deaden is pretty straightforward. For about an hour and a half, you witness the main character endless descent into hell and self abuse in his search for vindication. Absolutely tongue and cheek, this movie, even if flawed at times, is not limited by its micro budget and still manages to entertain. You can see these guys had a blast making it. Fast paced, graphic and 100% politically incorrect, see it if you can. You know what they say, no guts no glory, well this one got both and heavy on the first!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Payback the way it should be!

10/10
Author: onsitewelding_2003 from United States
15 August 2008

OK so It looked like it was shot with a camcorder. No worries mate! The raw violence will have you on you seat edge. Taking violence and revenge to a level that the PUNISHER producers were afraid to go. Bikers will like this too. The guy rides a sweet A$$ sled with apes. I would put the acting on the level of OLD BOY. And the filming on the level of CLOVERFIELD. The story line is very twisted and I'm surprised that it hasn't reached cult status yet. I wont spoil the movie. But if you know the storyline from PUNISHER you know this film. But then they take it to the next level. Similar to SEVEN or SAW mixed with Mel Gibson's PAYBACK. It makes you think....would I do the same thing?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history