IMDb > The Hunting Party (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Hunting Party
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Hunting Party More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 9 of 9: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9]
Index 90 reviews in total 

2 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Was interesting

7/10
Author: freakfire-1 from Texas, United States
28 August 2008

There is a lack of movies, at least in the "West" about the Bosnian War. Other than "Black Hawk Down", I haven't really noticed anything. Although fiction about it is beginning to make headlines. You only have to know some of the basics of GTA IV to know it loosely plays off this period.

Indeed the film was fictional and highlighted the story of this place. That is where Gere comes in and plays a nice role. It has a story of fictional people capturing man who was just recently captured in Serbia.

However, the story seemed anti-climatic. Plus, it really made me want to see the story during the war. Maybe I am disappointed by it.

Overall, its not a bad movie. Some good action, a couple of funny moments, and some human revenge. Plots holes, of course, but a nice story. "B-"

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Too new to be missed

4/10
Author: Cyrill Cassin from Saint Petersburg, Russia
25 September 2009

Although somewhat stretched in its subject matter, this undoubtedly talented picture is nevertheless skillfully shot, reminding the viewer of the job journalists are supposed to do. The main idea is not meant for a joke, yet a political thriller just hasn't come out of the story simply because the narrative balancing on the verge between awe and a bit untruthfully looking irony all the time. The main part is definitely not for Gere — obviously not his genre — not enough of that feeling DiCaprio generated in ‘Blood Diamond’ in 2006. The movie is light altogether, despite war is made its main topic. You'll most likely love the excursions presented within the picture's time-line around the Balkan landscapes, and may even feel the Serbs are authentically portrayed. So much so are all those forces (almost invisible or laughed at) whose call is to catch war criminals to restore justice after a war is over. It's hard to create a movie that wouldn't belong to any whiffs of the main stream — this would be a sign of a talent (even though an immature one). This instance has done just that. If you are up to something fresh, try to enjoy this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

An entertaining and reasonably informative effort.

8/10
Author: ad_upclose from USA
7 January 2008

Another well made historic fiction (like Charlie Wilson's War) which again points a finger at the U.S. for not acting as role models though they claim to be. The Hunting party doest not cover all aspects of the complex and brutal Bosnian war of the 90s. It is obvious that such movies cant possibly cover all aspects of a war, it has to pick and choose a perspective it thinks will make a good and informative movie, and which people would want to spend money on.

This movie is unique in that it gives us something from a journalist's perspective...very ambitious journalists actually! The acting is consistent and solid throughout, and the movie is shot beautifully. There are some smart and funny lines along the way which makes the movie entertaining.

Another good flick that respects history while never failing to provide entertainment along the way! People who liked Charlie Wilson's will enjoy this one:)

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

A Positive(ly Cynical) Film

8/10
Author: colinbarnard-1 from Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
14 September 2007

This film belongs as much, if not more, to Terrence Howard, than Mr. Gere. It also belongs to the writer/director,Richard Shepard, who brings a unity of creativity to the project.

It is a pleasure to see Mr. Howard play against (stereo)type. Unusual for an American film, "The Hunting Party" does not use as a character device the (non)issue of Mr. Howard's "race". The only references to ethnicity are the quite appropriate expositions of the Muslim/Christian dichotomy that culminated in the "ethnic cleansing"(read genocide) during the war.

It is also refreshing to see an American film that portrays Muslims as something other than terrorists.

Mr. Howard is the central character in the film, not Gere. The film is told from Howard's point of view, though Gere remains the conscience of the piece. Both play media types in one of the most (over)used film devices: the Western reporter whom the intended audience is supposed to empathise with, and therefore, vicariously, with the moral stance of the film. Minor quibble; I'm sure we'll see it again.

Similar in tone to "The Lord of War", this film seeks to remind viewers of some recent history: the war in the former Yugoslavia and the on-going involvement of the international community. Using satire to soften the didactics of the script, the film never shies away from the horrors of, and the fog, of war.

Adding authenticity to the film are the location shoots in Boznia and Croatia.

The film also draws upon Michael Winterbottom's 1997 film "Welcome to Sarajevo", which is a little more hard-hitting, but looks at a somewhat different aspect of the war.

Those of you who feel that this film has a "liberal" bias should rethink this perspective. This film casts a cynical eye towards all ideologies, except those of simple people who just want to raise their families in peace, and people who understand the difference between right and wrong, rather than relativistic shades of grey.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Despite shortcomings, a film worth watching

6/10
Author: D A from SoFla, UsA
24 January 2008

Richard Shepard enjoys the genre mash-up. He tried so less successfully with his previous Matador but here combines a few different hot topic elements along with calibrated dosages of comedy, drama, and action to a far more entertaining and involving effect. While the dumbed-down script may belie some vibrantly realistic cinematography, Shepard manages to walk that elusive line in Hollywood which straddles easily swallowed entertainment and gripping docu-drama with a level of finesse that should appease both hardened film-goers and more casual movie-goers.

Sure, the third act kills some of the engaging momentum started from frame one with some over-enunciated dramatic plot-arcs veering the film's tone into a depth it cannot really muster, but The Hunting Party holds enough conceptual promise from the get go to ensure a worthwhile once over viewing.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

It cool

10/10
Author: delguy19 from India
7 January 2008

Its nice movies i like it though many told me not to watch but now i think why they gone that way cos it was cool movie and i like it a lot. If not more still anyone can watch it once without getting bore go ahead and watch this. and gere is the one for which i can watch any movie he is the best and i am happy that i got to watch so many movie of a gr8 actor last yrs lots of release and nice movie. May be some voted to low but i don't think so as i think this movie is any-day fetch +7 on vote meter.so go ahead and watch its cool nice and normal movie. don't bug me if u don't feel like watching it because i just jolt down what i feel was true and according to be i love Richard so i love his all movies and this one was as expected good and nice.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Satisfying story, overly cynical treatment

8/10
Author: Chris Knipp from Berkeley, California
30 September 2007

'Matador' director Richard Shephard gives Richard Gere one of his more appealing (and surprisingly well-fitting) roles as the reckless, brave war journalist Simon. He and Terrence Howard's photographer Duck were a fabulous combat news team till Simon had a meltdown on the air and was exiled to obscure freelancing while Terrence was kicked upstairs to working with the network's chief anchorman in New York. A reunion to cover the fifth anniversary of Bosnian peace causes the two to reunite, joined by a network VP's eager young Harvard son (Jesse Eisenberg, of 'The Squid and the Whale') on a wild hunt for "the Fox"—a Bosnian war criminal responsible for the rape and slaughter of thousands of Moslems; supposedly there's a $5 million reward for his capture. Simon is broke, but says he just wants an interview. As soon as they get within miles of what may be the Fox's lair they're assumed by everybody to be CIA assassins. Mayhem—and a happy resolution—follow. Gere catches just the right wild ironic tone throughout and his cohorts are fine. More successful and more satisfying than the currently overpraised, and politically null 'Eastern Promises.' But who'd want to see this? It's mostly just factually true, and the treatment is a little too cynical for its political punch to follow through. Adapted from a Scott K. Anderson 'Esquire' magazine article of several years ago, the movie relates to 'Three Kings' and 'Salvador.'

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

A Fun Comedy Drama Thriller

7/10
Author: tabuno from utah
23 September 2007

This movie is a hard one to classify as it blends comedy and drama rather well along with being a war-thriller of sorts. In the vein of THE MATADOR (2005), this movie stars out with a rather eccentric man, played by Richard Gere, in addition to having a rather good background lead up to his rather strange behavior. The comedy and drama play out in fascinating peaks and valleys, though it fails to be as consistent towards the end as THE MATADOR. The teamwork between Richard Gere and his co-star Terrence Howard (who at times reminds one of Cuba Gooding Jr.) is fun and smooth. Eventually these two men have been together are torn apart (a period in the movie that is well done) and thrown back together again. Unfortunately, the United Nations official in the movie becomes a bit too stereotypically odd that throws the audience out from the experience of the movie. The scenes leading to the end aren't as nicely tight and twisting as THE MATADOR, but do make for a nice tie in to the title of the movie. If the movie had been as fun and cynical as the written narrative words displayed during the beginning of the end credits, the movie would have had a quaint charm that could have made it a great movie. Richard demonstrates a nice range of emotions and behavior and is some ways the depth of emotional power in this movie exceeds that of THE MATADOR which is unfortunate as the entire context in which the emotion is played out isn't as appealing as THE MATADOR as a movie. Overall this is a good movie, with an elevated use of comedy-drama that continues to raise the bar for future movies. Seven out of Ten Stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Adan

7/10
Author: ado_nu_161 from bosnia
10 October 2007

loved it definitely worth cheeking out really shows you what a lot of people in this country all ready know the fa qt that the War Criminals Still at Large and the bull @hit we was putting up with and still putting up with if i might add but this movie is like a americanized version no mans land with out the war criminal and i actually think its better and i wouldn't be surprised if Serbs are out raged by this movie and why wouldn't they be all the stuff you see in the movie they actually did now it hits the national media they say the movie is not true i got the best insight scope so if u decide to watch it be comfortable to know you watching the god honest Truth

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 89 people found the following review useful:

One of the many Overdone Liberal-Action Films

3/10
Author: Vintage1091
8 September 2007

I went into a sneak peek screening of the hunting party with high hopes, I've never commented before on films, because i feel all has been said towards them, although i had to say, beyond the horrible service i received in the theater, When the film started it came off with an expected bang, typical politically embraced plot, as the film seemed to progress i found Mr.Howard's narration quite unnecessary and unneeded. The plot went along as something i did not expect which was a cliché, and immature dialog with a plot that went to bore and distract waiting for something to happen other than thinking on what did, when a part would arise that had a climatic draw, it was not very over-thought and quite straight forward, do not expect mind binding political agendas, what i found was a quite overused defense towards issues already been presented only in a very misplaced and hard to understand story and dialog structure, a waste of my time and definitely not worth the $11.95 i spent on the admission price,

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 9 of 9: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history