IMDb > The Hunting Party (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Hunting Party
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Hunting Party More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 90 reviews in total 

106 out of 152 people found the following review useful:

Let the film take you where it will and you'l have a good time

8/10
Author: dbborroughs from Glen Cove, New York
23 December 2007

Based on a true story of a trio of Journalists looking for a war criminal in the former Yugoslavia. The Original group included Jon Krakauer, in the movie we have Terrence Howard and Richard Gere. Where originally it started as a bunch of journalists getting drunk and deciding to go out and find the bad guys, here we have Gere as a washed up TV reporter convincing his old camera man and a network executive (who got the job because of nepotism) that he can get an interview with "the Fox" if they are willing to go along with him. They go and things instantly begin to go side ways as nothing is as it seems and no one believes they aren't with the CIA. Not to put too fine a point on it I really liked this film a great deal. Its witty intelligent with lots of likable characters and a real sense of both humor and reality.Its probably three quarters of one of the most enjoyable films of the year (even with the nastiness.) What can I say I'm a sucker for great buddy films and Terrence Howard and Richard Gere have an ease when together that makes you certain that they have been friends for decades. Its magical. If there is a problem with the film its that the film kind of loses steam toward the end. Somewhere the need for an "ending" kind of gets in the way of things and the film begins to be a bit less...I don't know, fun. Don't get me wrong its still better than many other recent films, but its just disappointing that things have to be "neat". Of course the pre-final credits explanation of whats real and what isn't a scream. See this movie, thats all I have to say. See it and go with its vibe and I think you'll have a good time.

And forgive me for being spotty about things since I'm trying not to say too much since not knowing what happens is part of the joy.

Was the above review useful to you?

97 out of 160 people found the following review useful:

Hollywood's political conscience continues to grow........

7/10
Author: rehman-amer from United Kingdom
6 September 2007

Just got back from the premiere at Venice, where a huge round of applause acknowledged the film's quality as well as Richard Gere's enduring star status.

As society and modern youth get serious again, so Hollywood follows the trend, as movies tackle war corruption and hypocrisy following Clooney, Gore et al's lead. Shephard manages to combine thriller with humour and quips without it becoming a cheesy Lethal Weapon type ride. That's due mainly to sterling performances from Gere, reinvigorates after The Hoax, and Howard, showing a comic side after the intensity of 'Crash' Jesse Eisenberg also looks like this role was written for him personally, and the remaining cast are appropriate. The crisp, realistic docu-direction, mainstreamed by Paul Greengrass, has exerted its influence and fits neatly into this film without looking forced.

Therefore, it works - it brings a serious issue to attention with humour, compassion and enough adrenaline to remind one of the risks some people take with their lives for their causes, when most of us take the cosy path of least resistance.

Was the above review useful to you?

68 out of 112 people found the following review useful:

A Better Than Average Movie

7/10
Author: petsteph1 from Taiwan
9 January 2008

It's good to see Richard Gere again. And his co-star is a fine actor. The story is good, the direction is good, you wont be disappointed - in fact you might wonder why you didn't hear about this movie before. Hollywood produces some good things and some dross; this is one of the good ones and politics must have dictated the release date, not the quality of the product, because it leaves many of the seasonal releases in the dust. This movie is about Bosnia, which most people find easier to forget. I was there in the early 90s and liked it a lot - and then the criminals came. Watch the movie - you wont regret it. I gave it a 7 and it might appeal more than that.

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

A film well made

Author: Gordon-11 from Earth
10 February 2008

This film is about a disgraced journalist trying to hunt down the most wanted war criminal in Bosnia.

I understand that a topic like this would attract rather polarised opinion. Putting aside the historical facts or political opinion, I think this film is well made and acted. It has thrilling and comedic elements. Just as things start to get slow, there are gunshots, car chases and road blocks to pump up the action. And just when the thrill gets too much, there are fun and relaxing scenes. The ending is strong and affecting, and it sends out a strong political message (or protest) about how the West is not doing their job. Jesse Eisenberg's role as Benjamin is a little redundant, but still I thought "The Hunting Party" was a good film.

Was the above review useful to you?

83 out of 146 people found the following review useful:

bullfrog

2/10
Author: dima_r from United States
26 January 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is a typical American propaganda. Once again, Eastern Europeans are shown as hardly groomed, beer drinking, song singing retards. Anyone who traveled outside of of the US knows that depicting of Serbia or Yugoslavia like that is obnoxiously unfair and lacks any respect for a foreign nation. And however inspired by the true story, it cannot be based on a true story... When three men (one of whom is outright out of his mind) go in the woods in attempt to capture a person guarded by the bunch of armed people... Com on people! However, it will go for a mindless time passerby. I am amazed that producers spend a lot of money for such a piece of garbage.

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

"Trust no one"?

2/10
Author: fangomatic from Riga, Latvia
7 January 2009

It gets more and more disturbing as Hollywood masters the art of propaganda, calling onto seasoned actors and putting all the effort into making it work. As we all know there are at least two sides to every conflict and this movie's best is only a formal hint at that. Countless WW2 movies have finally shown us that a war movie should never portray the matter in black and white. To rip a piece out of the never-ending Balkan tragedy and to present it so blindly and preposterously cannot serve any other goal than political. Put against the recent "liberation" of Serbian Kosovo with joint Alban-NATO (as in: US-backed) efforts the movie looks even more frustrating, as we now have the motive: if you liked this movie then the next time you hear the word "Serbian" you _might_ get an eye twitch and the next time an American president (*doh* the UN, the UN of course) decides to slice up a foreign country called Serbia for the good of "democracy" or whatever you _might_ notice a righteous grin on your face. Peculiarly, in "The Hunting Party" the Serbska Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina is even misspoken as Serbia once.

Oh and by the way, Kosovo now hosts the largest US military base in Europe.

PS: War criminals aren't just those with the "kalashnikov" in their hand, shooting and raping women. Sometimes a signature is as bad as that.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

I didn't ask my husband to pause once when leaving the room

3/10
Author: noladoll from United States
31 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film was schizophrenic. It was trying to be a cliché sidekick action flick and make a serious political statement at the same time. It failed at both.

First of all, you would never believe the two of these people (Gere and Howard) would ever be friends. Howard, who is a witness to Gere's pregnant girlfriend's brutal murder, doesn't act like this matters until half way through the movie. Then, it hits him. The acting and dialog is hideously weak by all parties. The fact that these three people overtly roam around a dangerous country, unarmed, haphazardly, is just beyond believability.

Secondly, there is nothing in this film that truly educates the viewer about the horrors of what happened there.

That being said, it is just this side of watchable on a Sunday night with no better choices.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst films I have seen on the subject

1/10
Author: Shpira from United Kingdom
28 February 2009

I think pretty much anyone with a brain and a vague knowledge about the events that transpired in the Yugoslav wars should feel insulted when watching this film. The performance by the actors was so, so and character development was shabby at best all in all a very much bellow average movie. Something written and produced for bellow average in intelligence US citizens to feel good about their politicians and Hollywood for having a conscience when in actual fact its all interest based. People need to read more and trust Hollywood less...those comments about Hollywood developing a conscience made me laugh as they just go to prove what I was saying above "bellow average Americans" and it pleased its demographic wonderfully.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Is this movie only for retards?

2/10
Author: bothapatak from Belgrade, Serbia
12 January 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this movie yesterday and I'm still having stomach ache, because of it. This is a way to far from the worst movie I've ever seen, but may be the racist movie of the decade.

Once again, the Serbs are filmed as bloody, filthy, freaky bustards that only live for killing and raping. This is the worst prejudice of one nation that is ever filmed on the movie screen!

I write this review after Radovan Karadzic is already imprisoned in Hague tribunal. So they finally get him... but who arrested him??? Was it American journalists or CIA or Interpol? NO! Serbs arrested him and took him to justice, without US to interfere. OK, a long time passed before Karadzic was arrested, but better now than never.

And what about the end of the movie? What kind of human-beings leave a man suspected for war-crimes ( still not convicted), without a fair trial or any trial? Is that an American justice? No human rights for all... Should we people make our own law and judgements or leave it to courts?

This movie is filled with prejudice, hate, and misunderstandings. So, don't waste your time watching it.

Was the above review useful to you?

65 out of 125 people found the following review useful:

This is what the Hollywood is all about

1/10
Author: tzar64 from Serbia
18 January 2008

I just saw this movie and I had to post a comment. Not because it is such a shallow movie but because its rating is 7.3 so far. First of all, the story. It is based on true events but is very far from it. Im not saying that because I'm from Serbia, but because you cant make a movie regarding something serious like a war without researching all the facts. For Hollywood directors it is always simple - the good and the bad. In the 80's the Russians were the enemies, then the Arabs and now the Serbs. I'm not defending any side in any war, but there are always two sides and there are good and bad people on both of them. That's why movies like this offend entire nations (last year '300' was really offensive towards Persian and Iran culture). I respect all the people in the US, but the truth is that most of them get their knowledge of unknown countries through movies and movies like this are teaching them lies. I don't like movies where Arabs are terrorists, and Vietnamese are evil and all Germans are blond and nazzies. I know movies are fun but they also have educational character. That's why I'm surprised with such a high rating. If you want to see a movie much closer to the truth watch 'Savior' with Dennis Quaid or Schindler's List. I just don't understand why Richard Gere and Terrence Howard were involved in such a B production movie (it closer to the F production), but Gere was well aware what kind of movie is this because he didn't want to come to Belgrade premiere (he went to other cities around). To bad there is no 0 as rating because this doesn't deserve this 1.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history