IMDb > The Crazies (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Crazies
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Crazies More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 17 of 26: [Prev][12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [Next]
Index 258 reviews in total 

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Well Made Enjoyable Sci-Fi Horror Fare !

8/10
Author: cshep from Laguna Woods, CA.
9 March 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Do you find life uninteresting ? Is it not disturbing ? Then come to Pierce County, Ogden Marsh, Iowa. Home to the wrecked aircraft carrying Bio-germ warfare, slated for eradication ,that didn't make it to its final destination. Now, time is running out on the inhabitants of this quaint little American town, if the virus doesn't get you, the Federal Government will ! The Feds well aware of the airplane accident, troops in the Military to control, let's face it, extinguish the residents and contain the situation.

Sheriff David Dutton(Timothy Olyphant) faces an increasingly unpleasant situation, the townspeople are suffering from some kind of disorder where they start committing senseless violent acts. As he tries to track down the cause, the US. Military is sent in to round-up the people , separate them, and quarantine the two groups, crazy and less crazy(not affected).People running a fever are segregated and slated for extinction, hah..ha..including the Sheriff and Dr. wife, Judy(Rhada Mitchell).

From the opening scene at the ball field, to the ending, we are taken into the bizarre situation, and forced to make disturbing and life altering decisions.

Director Breck Eisner does a really nice job of selling the dilemma. He has a short list of directorial credits(Sahara), upcoming (Flash Gordon) and (The Brood).

What makes this film work is the unknown. You are given about as much information as the characters, and are allowed to experience what they choose, and you are left wondering about the consequences. Life is no longer a slam dunk, life is falling into shades of gray, and around every corner lies the difference between life and death. Excellent !

While some people criticize the film for not having allot of scary moments, this film delivers on a more subtle level, tense and scary, but not overwhelming bloody or allot of jump cuts done purely for shock value. I gave this film an 8. Good performances by the lead actors, who keep you engaged. Stay through the first closing credits to see a news alert, that gives you in a little more info.

More of a mind screw, and who can't use a little screwing...?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

This is NOT a zombie film!

9/10
Author: slayerjmk95 from United States
2 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

it is SO freaking annoying to hear people consider this movie to be about zombies when there isn't a single hint or look at zombies. But still, this movie was fantastic and thrilling in nearly every way! Timothy Olyphant was perfect as Sheriff David Dutton, the main character. Radha Mitchell wasn't the perfect actress to play the sheriff's wife Judy Dutton, but she still pulled it off. And then there's Joe Anderson, who plays David's deputy Russell. He did so well with his character that you felt more sorry for him than anyone else in the movie, even more sorry than David and Judy. But the one thing that is annoying as hell is people calling "the crazies", zombies. They aren't freaking zombies! They still think, they react, and they know what they are doing! You even see this when David and Judy get attacked in their home and the mother and the son of someone David had to put down at the beginning of the movie, the mother tells the son that David is the man that "murdered your father." So STOP calling this a zombie movie and GET OVER IT. Phenomenal film, I'd watch it over and over again. It's worth buying and owning. Don't miss this gem.

9/10 Stars

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic Movie all horror lovers will love this movie :)

10/10
Author: Ryan Notman :) from Australia
23 August 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

this movie is so awesome. when i saw this i didn't think to much of it. but then i saw the previews i was like oh my gosh, i really need to see this movie. so i went to blockbuster and they didn't have it. then i went somewhere else and they had it in stock. so i hired it and watched it and after it i was like oh my gosh they killed Danielle Panabaker. she was my favorite she was probably the best actress in the whole movie. the ending scene is fantastic a great finish to a great movie. if you see this in your local blockbuster pick it up you will not regret it also the acting in this movie was fantastic you get attached to some of the characters and you are hoping that they wont die. some of the scenes in this movie keep you on the edge of your seat, screaming at your television " don't kill her or don't kill him or look behind you" great movie

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

An instant classic !

10/10
Author: tutin from Bulgaria
5 July 2010

I love the zombie/virus genre and I can just use those two words "Instant Classic" ! If you enjoy this type of movies - you won't be disappointed, this movie delivers from all perspectives - good actors, very very well played, great pace, gore and yeah - more GORE, last but not least - pressure builds up all the all way through the movie to reach an absolute beautiful ending..

The genre has seen some titles lately, including Romero's other new installment - Survival Of The Dead, but I feel this as the best and certainly delivered the most of everything. Some people compare to "28 days later", which was by all means a great move, but one must not forget, Romero created the genre, he's not competing, he's in a class of his own. And this movie proves it once more.

So basically - if you like the typical virus outbreak / zombie scenario - you're surely gonna love this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Best film yet about the Tea Bagger movement... but it has its faults

7/10
Author: Benoît A. Racine (benoit-3) from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
29 June 2010

As a non-American, I can only see this film as a parable of the Republican Creed of Greed that has already infected that large part of the American population called the Tea Baggers and turned them into potential heartless and mindless home-grown gun-toting terrorists. It is also evocative of giant man-made disasters like the BP Gulf oil spill.

I found the film inspiring in that it shows an America that is still powerful, wealthy and efficient enough to actually pull a valid (though extremely brutal) containment strategy in a time of crisis.

Believing this allowed me to sit through this very efficient display of gore tainted with suspense without actually losing my mind.

Unfortunately, this film has many faults. They are not in the writing, the acting, the editing or the direction, which are all excellent. They have to do with the slavish imitation of the movie zeitgeist in such details as cinematography and music.

"The Crazies" is the 788th straight film in a row of the past decade that is shot in a kind of icy, livid, washed-up blue-green digitally degraded hue that is very hard to correct even on the best TV monitor. I tried upping the colour level, deepening the blacks, blooming the whites and increasing the contrast but it still stays a depressing Manganese Blue and Pond Scum Green nightmare. One way to get through this ordeal is turning the colour off altogether and watching it in black and white. One can also hope that, say, in ten years time, when this blue-green fad will have gone the way of the nose ring and the vuvuzela, distributors are going to implement a re-colourization program that will make the best of those films watchable again.

As for the music, it is the usual noise + sound effects + percussion + mind-altering low frequency hums mix that is the trademark of every horror film of the past ten years and is the continuous soundtrack of the fear-mongering History Channel documentaries. It is technically known, for now, as "fear music", and to be fair, composer Mark Isham is one of the creators of that new genre of non-music. This too shall pass, if music education does not disappear from American schools altogether, which is a very iffy proposition at this time, given the state of the US education system.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

This movie proves that remakes or reboots are awesome!

10/10
Author: SubZeroMK from Canada
19 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I haven't seen the the original, nor do I want to watch it since it was made in the 70's with horrible production budget, but I wasn't too crazy about seeing this movie when it did come out either. However, I completely underestimated it. I finally got to watch it and although the plot is somewhat similar to that of 28 weeks later, it's a whole different movie on its own.

I liked it because of the realistic portrayal of the HAZMAT teams and military taking care of business, so to speak. Whatever the military were ordered to do here is actually standard protocol in real life. So, in the even of a situation like this happening in real life, these measures would be taken. And why not, with such a small town of just nearly 2000 people? The contractors and whoever is giving the orders sees past the morality issue here, as long as they can contain it without spreading, then those extreme measures must be taken.

The movie is great because it also reminds of me Outbreak with Dustin Hoffman and Donald Sutherland, which had the military bombing towns to make sure the virus is obliterated because of its airborne characteristics.

Tim Olyphant is a great actor and so is his female co-star who was amazing in the Silent Hill adaptation movie. The story is about a small town that gets infected by a disease that renders peoples mental state, "crazy". No thanks to government who manufactured it. This is actually a conspiracy theorists wet dream.

Anyways, some of the towns people get infected, they start killing anyone who isn't infected and the army comes in with their biological squad units to see if they can quarantine the people, some residents or infected residents decide to take matters into their own hands and cause havoc on the established medical camp the military has set up which in turn makes the military flee back for more updated orders.

The military come back to finish off every single resident of that town, including ones who escaped to nearby gas stations, hotels, and places of shelter. The survivors somehow find a way to get past them without getting killed, but when they try to escape with a truck to a city called "Cedar Point", the military decides to really finish off their original small town with a mini-nuke. The shock-wave from the nuke reaches the 18 wheeler and spins it on its back. The two main survivors still live, and walk their way to Cedar Point.

As they walk, they are continuously watched by a satellite view, just like in the beginning and the new orders are to contaminate Cedar Point since they assume the survivors already have contracted the disease from previous endeavours.

The movie ends on that note, and after a bit of credits a news report comes on confirming that the next huge cloud of smoke is an accidental fire, but we all know it's the nuke that wiped out the small town.

That's what I love about it, the seriousness of the situation the survivors are faced with. But try to not be too surprised by the actions of the military as they are following orders from someone they know nothing about and they're just as expandable as the civilians. This is standard protocol, so at least when this happens to any of us, it will be a quick death. Though, quarantines are ALWAYS the first step, and if nothing can be done to get rid of the infection and cure it, then the government will have no choice but to take quick measures and kill everyone, and evaporate the town off the map so that the airborne infection or any infection can be dealt with in one single blow. That way it doesn't spread nationwide, or worldwide and the media can make up a story for the deaths of however many people die.

The only question you can ask is why are people sick enough in their mind to manufacture a disease and test a town or city of people as guinea pigs. It's the higher ups you have to blame, not the military.

All in all, excellent movie, watch this and forget the original.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Predictable Yarn

4/10
Author: hyperballad13 from United Kingdom
1 June 2010

When people think of the Horror genre, people don't automatically think masterpieces or award winners. In fact, a lot of people tend to disapprove in the violent films and dismay every time someone is ripped into bloody pieces on screen. This being said, as a fan of Horror, one expects as much originality as you do with classic films. In recent years, however, once one film produces a stand out concept the trend is to repeat, remake and remodel until we are truly bored. The Crazies , a remake of a 1979 film of the same name, is unfortunately a film that has caught this plague. In The Crazies, a virus contaminates the water supply of small town Ogden Marsh turning nearly all the residents, well, crazy. As the folk of Ogden Marsh slowly turn into blood hungry killing machines, the Sheriff David Dutton and his gun wheedling deputy Russell Clank must fight to survive not just the "Crazies" but the Army who will contain the virus by any means possible. Dutton has no choice but to try to save his life, save his wife, and save his town. The premise of The Crazies had a lot of potential. Instead of turning people into brain eating zombies, this virus turns them into psychopathic murderers that then eventually die. However, this tiny scrap of originality does not make up for the overall lack of surprise. The format is practically the same as any other virus movie and within 5 minutes of watching the film, it is not hard to know who is going die, survive and what is going to happen next. Unfortunately, being able to correctly predict the storyline (and maybe some of the script too) makes it hard to feel excited. Alas, by the end you are wallowing in tedium and not suspense. The characters are underdeveloped too and instead of focusing on making them 3-Dimensional, the writers opt to kick start to drama far too early in the film. This means an hour and a half of watching characters you couldn't care less about trying to fight for their lives. To make this worse, as though to distract us from the poor plot, the Director, Breck Eisner, resorts to confusing camera shots and shocks to keep us hooked resulting in many muddled scenes. Eisner's attempt at artistic shots from unusual points of view ends in a visual feast that is nothing but a nauseous take-away you may regret later. And upon leaving the cinema, you can feel just like that; the sense of wasting money on a film that you probably could have written yourself. This being said the film does scare you which I suppose on some levels is the point. The film has a good knack for building up the right amount of tension to terrify you witless when something leaps at the screen. If you are looking for that kind of thrill without a complicated plot then The Crazies is just for you. Overall, The Crazies is no Oscar winner and that's OK but for a struggling genre all the audience craves is more originality. Perhaps if they left the original alone it would have that fresher feel to it. In the end, it is a predictable film trying to shock, scare and surprise you but instead leaves you with a boredom that would drive anyone crazy.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

JJ's review of the crazies

6/10
Author: Jamie Jenson from United States
22 April 2010

I liked this movie well enough. For a remake it's better than most. If you have watched as many horror films as I have don't go in expecting to be surprised. Many shots are so predictable you wont even jump.

If you like splat gore horror, it's got some blood, plenty of bodies, and a few good "crazy" moments.

If you like true horror, you'll find yourself wanting. The crazies do seem to posses intelligence and the premeditated rigorous attention to detail of a Hannibal Lecter movie, but lack the same punch. There are a couple shots with good crazy attacks with planning.

For the most part the movie is trying to appease both sides but it uses they same techniques to inspire shock and awe as all other horror movies today. This means lots of orchestra hits to announce something scary is happening.

The film works well though, it could have been better, but it's better than others. If you have someone special who is easily frightened this might be a movie to take her/him to and then sneak off halfway to come off as all concerned for them.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Better than I thought it would be

7/10
Author: KineticSeoul from United States
11 April 2010

This was actually a pretty decent film, but maybe that is cause I had low expectations for this. There is also a lot of those cliché pop up jump scares scares, but they are actually effected most of the times in this one. Plus the people that gets infected and acts like zombies was a bit more frightening cause they are somewhat smart compared to zombies in other flicks. I live in Texas so I can relate with some of these southern characters, so it was like these was actually happening in my hometown except a bit more south. I also enjoyed the element of how everyone loses trust with each other because of the infection and turn on each other. The zombie like beings are scary at times, but what was more intimidating was the soldiers trying to eradicate every civilian near the area in order to stop the infection from spreading elsewhere. There is more positive to this than negative.

7.6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Consistent, tense horror...

8/10
Author: jhunt709 from United Kingdom
31 March 2010

Having not seen the original film and lacking in sufficient background knowledge in order to know what to expect from 'The Crazies', I was most surprised to discover that it is a relentlessly tense feature, benefiting from clever direction and realistic characters portrayed by a talented cast that take to their roles seriously.

Telling the story of a town overwhelmed by mayhem following the contamination of their water supply, 'The Crazies' rises above typical genre fare with consistently fresh scenarios throughout its running time, gradually unfolding the story for the group of survivors to piece together along with the audience, adding an element of mystery to the proceedings. Gruesome and shocking, the action is well paced and insightful character development makes for a welcome break between each set piece; the producers appear to acknowledge that their movie is a slasher film to an extent and don't deny the viewer any horror, yet for those who have grown tired of wafer thin characters in this genre, the movie definitely caters for them.

The opening of 'The Crazies' left me feeling somewhat disturbed, wondering if this was a film I would ever be willing to watch again. Having seen (and squirmed) it through, the quality of the overall product has changed my mind.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 17 of 26: [Prev][12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history