Cirque du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 16: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 151 reviews in total 

A let down 4 me

7/10
Author: sarah_p123 from United Kingdom
28 October 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It was good but I'm so so so disappointed it didn't follow the book! The books storyline was so much better. it all moved way to fast and it wasn't right, for me characters like Reggie veggie should have bin there or Sam grest, and no he didn't have a monkey freak girlfriend she wasn't there hes a lonely boy setting, and gavner purl he wasn't there from the start and his parents were all wrong *sigh* and whats the whole phone in the coffin business yeah we in 21st century but please leave a book be a book stick to it. But from my sister who hasn't read the book the film was awesome lol. Im giving it a 7 and i will wait for a sequel it deserves a second try! :) go c it make your mind up I'm just one opinion and i'm picky lol!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

IF you know the source material, this movie sucks.

3/10
Author: shelley-belsky-979-565238 from Minneapolis, Minnesota
9 June 2012

There are simply times that a movie is so bad, you pray that it is the first and only adaption of a book in a series. This is one of those times. The books are wonderful. Much scarier then the film (and NOT because the original was unfilmable). They turned the film into a veritable cliché' of teen movies including upping the age of the central character to make a "romance" a possible plot element and setting up a conflict between two characters that didn't exist in the novels. I can say, that much of the casting was good, and, with a better script, this would have been a wonderful film. Don't even rent it. Watch it on TV for nothing. Then, go read the book.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

How a Vampire Comedy Should be

8/10
Author: pontram from Austria
20 June 2011

Unfortunately "Cirque du Freak" was no box-office success. There are several theories about it's failure, which isn't a real failure, because it is a red zero at the end of the day. Some are saying it was placed at the wrong time, without a chance against Twilight. Others are saying it's poor made, or have a bad script, or is simply a bad movie.

I prefer the theory it's for the wrong target group, combined with a lack of climax. The most intriguing part is happening in the first half, where the mysterious circus is encountered and its fascinating members. The show itself is a great piece of cinema and I recommend to view the movie alone because of the freak show.

Before and after this highlight, there are a few funny things, but the movie begins to degrade as an adventure into the Freak and Vampire World. Once we know everything, we know the rest, and we'll await the great finale, which doesn't happen as a great finale, but as a mediocre Vampire wrestling or boxing.

Many movies are failing by revealing every secret too early, creating a powerful family to fight evil. While this works for the youngest of us with Transormers, for instance, the older ones expect to experience exciting adventure and mysteries until the very end. With it's laconic humor and some gruesome details "Cirque" is clearly more for the adults, who have seen countless Vampire movies, but expect always the next higher level. If this is not delivered, a movie fails. Besides, there is obviously a large community of people who read the books, and who don't agree to the big screen adaption.

Actually, it seems a little that the movie was running out of budget after the first half and had to run at a low flame from then. $40M seems not much in 2008/2009 for a top notch production (where some actors are), it's rather cheap, and so looks the finale, like someone got afraid of his own courage and had to draw in his horns to be able to finish the project.

Nevertheless, as a DVD title "Cirque" is highly recommended for all people who enjoy a movie that doesn't take it's genre too serious, a movie that gives a few reasons to dream about nicely colored spiders, and so on.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable

10/10
Author: gcotham from United States
7 March 2010

Michael Cerveris's performance as Mr. Tiny was exceptional; good acting on the part of newcomer Chris Massoglia though I've seen much better work from John C. Riley.

Overall, the movie was good fun, but for fans of the original books by Darren Shan, it could prove disappointing. I'll put it to you this way: if you took "Murders on the Rue Morgue" and rewrote the homicidal ape character as a really displeased spider monkey...you get the picture and this probably answers the question as to why this movie didn't do better at the box office.

However, don't let that put you off seeing the film--all things considered, I was entertained and, at the end, was hoping to see the franchise continue.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Slightly above average

6/10
Author: kosmasp
2 March 2010

Especially quite a few one-liners and few very nice spins/ideas help the movie elevate from it's mediocre status. It's not a movie, where you expect acting experts. But everyone on this movie, brings the qualities needed to make this movie entertaining enough for you to watch. Even if that only works the first time around, you can have a good time with it.

Crazy Ideas, good FX, decent acting and a premise that will speak to a younger audience will leave people wanting more after watching this. The mix between comedy and horror is very well done and if it were a little bit more ambitious it might have gotten a higher rating from me! :o)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Fun but strays from the books

7/10
Author: Michael Yu from United States
20 February 2010

Cirque du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant was a fun, decent movie, but nothing like the books.

As a movie by itself, it was nice. The specials effects were okay, a bit strange, but the whole movie is about the strange. Acting was average, nothing special, but not bad. John C. Reily did a nice job as Mr. Crepsley, not exactly how I imagined him, but as a movie itself, it was nice. Obviously, the story and theme was great, but here's where it goes off away from the books.

I think they rushed the books way too quickly, and took out all the emotion and character conflict from it. Although the first few books don't have the main "vampire-vampaneze" fighting as their number one focus, they focus on other action scenes, more emotion as you see Darren evolve, and that's really important I think. Instead, the creators of this film made it more comedic and your ordinary action movie.

However, that aside, I think it was still a good, average movie. Definitely freaky, and I'm glad they didn't make it all childish, but it could have been more dark and serious. Hoping for a sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Different from the book (in a good way) and very entertaining.

9/10
Author: Phone-Box from United Kingdom
22 June 2010

I'm not one of those people that moan whenever something in a movie is different from the book, but if you are, you might be annoyed.

At first I didn't like who they chose for Crepsley, but after watching him for a while I changed my mind. He portrayed the character very well, his personality was just how I imagined.

I thought the action sequences were good and the effects weren't bad as well.

The story was interesting, and I liked the fact that they mixed bits from the different books in the series into this movie. It let them have more subplots that we can expect to be resolved in the sequels.

If you wanna watch a fun movie about vampires, watch this one!!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Another boring vampire flick

1/10
Author: Rectangular_businessman from Peru
4 July 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Cirque du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant" is one adaptation of the book series called The Saga of Darren Shan. I never read the books in which this thing is inspired, but if half of the things that I've heard about it are true, this movie not only fails to make justice to the books, but also rip them horribly. The plot is typical, the characters are clichéd and uninteresting, not to mention that they are very unlikeable (I didn't care at all about them) and the direction is flat, bland boring and predictable. The visuals aren't very good either, mostly because even when the special effects are reasonably well made, nothing on this is very original or interesting and most of it seem stolen from better films, as "Hellboy". This was directed by Paul Weitz, director of good films as "About a boy" and "In good Company", but this is one of his worst works. I won't recommend this, is just another and dull vampire flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Very entertaining, but not perfect

8/10
Author: kfitz9 from Ireland
3 November 2009

The idea is excellent, the plot is great but it has so much wasted potential. As a fan of the books (which by the way were written half a decade before twilight)I was expecting a huge disappointment as most movie adaptations of books usually are! I was very pleasantly surprised. The movie has kept the darkness of the books and like the books, has a reasonable amount of humor. The laughs however are from a director of American pie (Chris weitz) who obviously has a different take on comedy than Darren Shan. HOWEVER, despite the quality of the movie there are some flaws.

1. The lead actor cannot act!!! (maybe he will get better as time goes on)His voice remains the same the whole way through and he just doesn't live up to the protagonist of the saga.

2. The pace of the film is WAY TOO FAST. They brush over too many stories too quickly without explaining them properly. I think the movie would have been much better if they developed the first 2 books rather than 3.

I definitely recommend this film for any ages and you may be pleasantly surprised with how much fun it is.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

The lamest vampire film I've ever seen

1/10
Author: billpeter from Malaysia
10 March 2010

I was a teenager in the 60s, so grew up with the Hammer films. Friends and I used to go and see them every Sunday evening. The vampire ones were sexy without being porn. Francis Ford Coppolla realised that, and his maligned Bram Stoker's Dracula was sexy. Even Dead and Loving It was a bit sexy, with the lovely Lysette Anthony. However, this film is just lame, and a waste of a good cast. Why John C. Reilly, Willem Dafoe, Salma Hayek, and Ray Stevenson signed up for it beggars belief. With Salma and Jane Krakowski it could have been sexy, but not with Salma wearing a beard. There is some talk on the "board" about a sequel. I hope not, because the money could be far better spent elsewhere.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 16: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history