IMDb > "Wonder Showzen" (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Wonder Showzen"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Wonder Showzen" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 39 reviews in total 

57 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

i have an idea, let's not cancel this one.

Author: kjosentoin from s. fla
4 April 2005

i won't bother elaborating on how funny and witty i find this show. and i don't think i can really advise anyone to or not watch it based on other shows they like. i just wanted one more voice to be written in something permanent,,, y'know,,,, like digitally,, in some database somewhere. that way, when the time comes to cancel this show, which is just around the corner i'm sure, i can be heard. and all the lords of demography out there who reign over the most important elements of decision making (e.g. which commercials we will get to see,what shows will air and at what times, etc.)will be able to guide their wands not so blindly this time, and actually hear me as a slight statistic when i say "HEY, THIS SHOW IS SO FUNNY THAT IT MAKES ME LOSE CONTROL OVER MY BOWELS". ---- so please, for the other 5 people who enjoy wonder showzen, cast your vote like how i did and vote yes on "hey, don't cancel this please.... please.... for the love of god, what else are you gonna play instead?, that one real world episode where the kids get drunk again?"

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

F'in hilarious

Author: burke8 from United States
17 March 2005

Just saw the premier of this show on MTV. I was completely surprised to that they had the balls to give it a go. Wonder Showzen is a crazy compilation of animated shorts and puppet skits. Honestly I can say that I have not laughed this hard since I don't remember when. This is a very bold statement considering how much of my life i waste away watching anything and everything on television. It's getting to the point where i'm tired of settling for the run of the mill bs thats become so popular. This nonstop laughathon was very refreshing. The show takes on any and every aspect of everyday life without any shame whatsoever. It's unceasing honesty left me on the floor laughing until it still hurts. Really, it still hurts.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Best Kids Show Ever...Choke On That Elmo!

Author: kibblesthepig from United States
5 May 2006

About a year ago, I came upon a delightful kids show called Wonder Showzen. Think Sesame Street for smarter kids. Episodes teach children about History, Nature, Health and the Ocean. They also show kids how hot dogs, TV dinners and money is made. The adorable puppets live in a happy land consisting of letters and numbers. Chauncey is the leader, and quite the snappy dresser (top hat and saddle shoes). Between puppet skit and cutesy cartoons involving A doggy doctor, the dangers of having a potty mouth, etc, there are "Kids Say the Darndest Things" type Q&A with the children. The things that come out of their mouths... Wonder Showzen isn't afraid to give the kids the facts, but while encouraging them to use their imagination and having fun adventures. Any way, it's nice to see a kids show that is insightful, intelligent and genuinely entertaining to watch. I would recommend this show to anyone who has small impressionable children. Wonder Showzen will make them worldly beyond their years, and cooler than the other kids in class. Wonder Showzen is the best kids show ever. And I am a liar.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Wow! never seen anything quite like it before

Author: Judexdot1 (judexdot1@yahoo.com) from Minneapolis MN USA
6 May 2005

I'm disabled, and I watch a LOT of TV. The network stuff is usually pretty bland and tedious to me, re-running the same routines they've been milking since I was a little kid. The sitcoms are still telling the same jokes! So, I wander into all sorts of odd corners of cable, usually to little result. stumbled into "Wonder Shozen" on MTV2, and was quite impressed. Edgy, daring, weirdness from another zone entirely. it's often more strange, than innovative, but they are actually trying to create something here, and you gotta respect that. the "Kidshow" parody is an old idea, (heck, goes back to "Groove Tube" and such, at least), but having little kids asking Stockbrokers who they exploited today, was truly strange, (though I'd have liked to see more reactions from the brokers.) It's quick, and a lot of it falls flat. but the constant barrage of attempts, guarantees something will fly, eventually. Scattershot, but dedicated.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious. A brilliant work of art.

Author: fac21 from Southern California
16 March 2005

I couldn't stop laughing throughout the entire first episode. The meat factory sequence, the kid in the butcher shop, "Where do babies come from?", the Letter N soap opera, the "Mexico" wipe effects... oh man, truly one of the funniest things I've ever seen on TV. And I've seen every episode of "South Park." I would go as far as to say this material transcends regular comedic TV and is a work of art. I know a lot of people will disagree, but that was my gut reaction after seeing the first episode.

Please give this show a chance. I hope it gets renewed for several years. I know it's on MTV2, so most of you are thinking it can't be that great, but they somehow managed to hit a home run on this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Sick, twisted, blasphemous. I LOVE IT!!!!!

Author: BlazeFox from Seattle, Wa
3 April 2005

You may remember the segment "Kids Show" on the popular comedy website Ebaumsworld, well MTV2 bought it and now its "Wondershowzen." This is THEE funniest damn thing on television. Think of Sesame Street meets TV Funhouse. Kids saying things you never thought you'd never hear them say, twisted satirical cartoons, numbers and letters having gay sex, weed smoking hippy puppets going on shower strikes. Sometimes the show doesn't even make sense but its still hilarious. This is comedy for a generation of sadistic hyperactive anti-christs. Jimmy Uringer (of MSI) probably loves Wondershowzen. I know I do, and if you're lucky enough to catch it, you will too. ^_^

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Subversive Fun.

Author: sallyfifth from the great north
8 April 2006

Ah, having a boy dressed as Hitler ask people about the Youth today (get it? The Hitler Youth??) seems like the demented dream of Trey Parker or Matt Stone, who, incidentally probably wouldn't have the stones to try it with a real kid in a real place. This is a delicious, delirious take on the kids shows we grew up watching that is so smartly put together that it elicits wonder at every creepy turn. The first half of the show about "Patience" which tried the audience's patience with its slow, boring repetitive nature is actually rewound and played in its entirety backwards once the show's runner realizes that they're losing the audience and then a new episode on "SPEED" (edited for TV) is played in its place. It's just one example out of a hundred real risks the show takes in order to bring the shine out of that old Tom Green commercial surreal. What makes things work so well is how the show plays it straight. It's not a winking, nudging thing. It's a devastating scathing commentary on the life cycle, our world, and our social constructs and the balckhole they all inhabit. It's just so damn funny about the tragedy of it all. Kids will say the darndest things.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Wonder Showzen

Author: LoganLOneill from United States
31 May 2005

I agree with the posted comment, this show is brilliance at it's finest. I hope it remains on the air as long as possible, and I would suggest purchasing MTV2 as a station solely to watch this show if nothing else, it's that great. Well it's certainly my favorite show already, and there have only been several episodes. It is on MTV2, so not as many people may watch it because it is of course viewed by a lesser audience, but because of this it is allowed to push ( and I mean PUSH) the envelope more than a series on basic cable would. It's so great to watch such a witty and fearless show on television. I eagerly anticipate the new ones, and hope more people enjoy this show. Do yourself a favor and do the same!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Only people with brains and a sense of humour will enjoy this

10/10
Author: hwajar from TX
19 June 2006

Everyone else will say it sucks. Seriously, I haven't enjoyed a new show like this in quite some time. This show makes me believe in Teevee again. A scathing satire of children's educational teevee, the show simultaneously mocks and cherishes many childhood (and adult) ideals, like cooperation, imagination and diversity. I like a show that's not afraid to take risks, and I wish there were more shows that had as much heart and balls. PS-Anyone saying this show is mean-spirited is probably not paying attention. It is cynical, but cynical and mean-spirited aren't the same thing now, are they? Recommended only for people who don't suck a big one. Everyone else stay clear.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Thanks for the best show on TV.

10/10
Author: act123 from pennsylvania, somewhere
9 December 2007

I never heard of Wonder Showzen until the other night, when I randomly found it on the shelf at the local rental place. A quick glance at its description on the back of the cover sold me instantly. What I didn't expect was how funny it was. Sickly funny. I've never seen a show so blatantly and brilliantly awful. It's anarchy at its finest, packaged neatly in a vintage Sesame Street vibe that only kids born between 1969-1979 can really understand. Watching this brought back memories of watching The Electric Company and Sesame Street through the mind of someone mentally ill tripping on acid. LOVE IT. I don't think anyone could top the genius of Wonder Showzen. In a way I'm glad there were only 2 seasons of it, because it would have been a shame to see it go downhill and lose its sense of vitriol and vim. Highlights include "Beat Kids!" and educational films with kid commentary (saying gems like "DADDY!" when a slaughtered pig appears on screen) and Muppet-ish puppets in pornographic situations - it's everything a cynical adult secretly thinks about kids' TV, but manifested with unabashed glee. GET IT.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history