IMDb > 8MM 2 (2005) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
8MM 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
8MM 2 (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 32 reviews in total 

59 out of 73 people found the following review useful:

Name change

3/10
Author: vendettaemail from United States
1 December 2005

After seeing the movie in a class of mine and having a talk with the filmmaker, I found out exactly why the film bombed the way it did. The creators of the movie had no intention to call the film "8MM 2." Originally, the film was called "The Velvet Side of Hell" but was changed at the last minute by Sony Pictures to 8MM 2 without letting the filmmakers have any say in the matter. By doing that, it screwed them out of theatrical releases and doomed it to a straight to video release with minimal advertising.

Again, this is from the filmmaker's mouths, not mine, so I really can't say what is truth, and what is hype.

If you look at the film as "Velvet Side of Hell," it isn't THAT bad. It isn't great, but it is not god awful. It would basically just be a B-movie that likes to show boobs. But as a sequel to "8MM," the film fails terribly.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

why call it 8mm 2???

5/10
Author: travthompson from United States
30 December 2005

The movie on a whole wasn't bad, it was actually all right, but it has nothing to do with the movie 8mm. There is no reference to it, the plots are not even remote similar. It just seemed like a publicity act to title it that, so that didn't sit well with me. Other than the trick to get you to rent it, its not a waist. The acting in this movie is solid, the characters are believable. The story line is a little sketchy and jumps without really understanding the point. Be prepared for a lot of random nudity. Over all its not so bad. I would recommend it as a date movie for a younger couple. Its a sexy thriller/who did it type story similar to Basic Instinct

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Very Erotic, Amoral, Predictable, but Attractive Thriller

7/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
5 June 2006

In Budapest, the ambitious diplomat and aspirant congressman of poor origin David Huxley (Johnathon Schaech) and his fiancée of wealthy and traditional family Tish Harrington (Lori Heuring) travel to a hotel in Alhambra to spend a weekend together before their marriage. In the hotel, they fantasize and have a threesome with the delicious model Risa (Zita Görög) as part of his bachelor party. When they return to their normal life, they are blackmailed with a porn video of their sexual encounter with Risa. David and Tish go to the pornographic underworld of Budapest trying to retrieve the tapes and avoid a scandal and damage in Tish's father and David's career.

I was surprised with "8 mm2", since I was expecting a garbage, but I found it very erotic, amoral, partially predictable, but also attractive thriller. The beginning does not develop the character of David and Tish as it should, but later the viewer begins to understand their motives. David's is clear, since he is ambitious, aiming to climb to a higher social position at any cost, therefore making the plot point in the conclusion of the story partially predictable. But Tish is the great character of his movie, since she is a much sexualized woman, who fantasizes her sexual life playing games with David, and entwined between her fear and curiosity and desire about the underworld of sex and pornography. Due to the strong sexual content and nudity, this movie is recommended for specific audiences. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "8 mm 2"

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Nothing to do with original 8mm

1/10
Author: Queer-qatfm from Atlanta, GA
22 November 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Sure, this flick set in Eastern Europe is filled with sexy, but it absolutely has nothing to do with the Nicholas Cage flick "8mm" An ambassador's daughter and her fiancée mix it up with a local woman in a threesome that ends up being taped. The tape is used for blackmail and the stakes get higher and higher as the couple try to work it out themselves instead of going to authorities.

The sex comes and goes -- and would be the only reason for renting it, I suppose if you like this sorta thing -- and is quite gratuitous towards the middle when we cruise along the porn scene looking for the "other woman." I definitely question how it got into Blockbuster even with a Youth Restricted Sticker considering how just a hint over the edge of soft core it is. (Oh that's right, it's the double standard. Actual art-house flicks like "The Dreamers" and "Y Tu Mama Tambien" get castrated R versions, but Straight To DVD crap like this get the UNRATED banner proudly attached. Whatever.)

The acting is horrible, the plot is mind numbingly unoriginal, but really the worst offense is the idea that this is a sequel to 8mm. I'd give the flick a D for a grade and be nice, but considering they tried to trick me, it gets the F it frankly deserves.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Come for the sex, stay for the smirks...

Author: dilligaff from United States
27 November 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

David(Schaech) is an other-side-of-the-tracks guy who has made good as an attorney and is now on his way up in the political world, and he just happens to be engaged to Tish(Heuring), the buttaface daughter of another quick-rising politico. So the happy couple sets off to Eastern Europe for a little pre-wedding fun...a little drugs, a little threesome--you know, your typical political vacation. Then it's back to work and wedding planning...UNTIL...they discover that someone has photos of their threesome!and a video!and is blackmailing them!it could ruin his career as well as her father's. They can either (a)tell the police and run the double risk of being exposed or (b)do a little investigating on their own to find out who's behind it. Which do they choose? Precisely, and so we have a "sexual thriller" that nearly rivals Showgirls in plot, dialogue and acting. In order to find the source of the blackmail David and Tish must venture into such horrible places as...the internet...strip clubs...a porn store. Um, does this sound to anyone else like a typical Saturday night for thousands of men? And the irony of the course of action the couple chooses must have been lost on some major people involved in the film. Going undercover as a stripper/porn wannabe and her agent to *prevent* a scandal? Hmmm. Anyway, there's this whole subtext about exhibitionism, voyeurism, shame, and desire (Is the couple secretly getting kicks from this "forced investigation"? Does she enjoy being watched, and does he enjoy watching?) that could have been interesting if someone had taken making this film seriously, but instead it's just poorly done and seems to make the plot drag all the way up until the twist (yawn) ending--though I will say it at least ties up a few questionable loose ends. Most films of this type don't always feel the need to do that. As for the actual sexual parts of the film, well it doesn't star Jenna Jameson--but for something that can be found at Blockbuster it has more than its fair share of ooh-la-la moments (walking onto a "real" porn shoot in the middle of filming being one of them). Do the sex scenes make up for the lacking plot? Not really, unless you're that desperate for a sex scene without being caught browsing at the local "24 Hour" store. But this is no worse a "sequel" than Ocean's 12; and then there's that moment of realization in both when it becomes apparent you've been had and someone is laughing all the way to the bank. At that point you can (a)laugh at yourself for being as dumb as the movie and finish it with a few (more) beers or (b)do a little investigating to find out who's behind it--and realize that you should have known better when you saw that Jonathon Shaech's next role is in Roadhouse 2...which I'll also probably watch because I'm a glutton for punishment. If you like films like Jade, Showgirls, Basic Instinct, Sliver, Road House, and Wild Things then you'll probably hate yourself for liking this one, too.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Underrated

7/10
Author: s-kelle from Austria
15 December 2007

This is not at all a bad movie, if you drop the following expectations:

- 8mm sequel?? It has nothing to do with 8mm, the movie with Nicolas Cage.

- Story? The plot is not hugely elaborate, it's a blackmailing story which takes a slight twist at the end.

- Actors? Acting should have been with more heart and more convincing.

Other than that, it's a highly enjoyable movie. It's full of masterfully photographed erotic, film-noir atmosphere, very nice on-location footage from Hungary and an excellent soundtrack.

Although the story has its deficits, it serves well for generating a big deal of suspense. Much of the suspense originates from the psychological interplay between the different "opponents" in the movie. It's not about dull action scenes or car hunts.

Altogether, still worth a 7. Good time watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Underrated Director

8/10
Author: Rob Gregory Browne from United States
10 April 2008

J.S. Cardone has been putting out little gems like this one for years now. I think he has a great story sense and a great eye as a director. He always manages to make these lower budget movies look very classy and this one is no exception.

Was the plot predictable and sometimes improbable? To some degree, yes. But ultimately it doesn't matter, because you have a good time following these two as they take their journey through the dark side of Budapest. The sex and nudity may be a bit too much for some, but I found it tasteful and artistically managed.

I think it's a shame this thing was tagged 8mm2. It would likely have been treated better by the reviewers here if it had been called something else, since it obviously has no relationship to 8mm, which, I think, is an inferior movie.

I've tried to make it a point to find as many Cardone films (either written or directed) as I can. Frankly, being a novelist myself, I would love one day to see Cardone adapt one of my books. Unfortunately, that's not something I have control over...

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

What started off as an alright film, it ended pretty badly

4/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
7 December 2006

First off, the first thing that came to my mind after I finished this film last night was "Why the title of 8MM 2?", because I saw the first one obviously, and what did this have to do with the first movie's plot? The only thing that was similar was the fact that the couple had to go into the porno industry and that wasn't even needed in the plot, because after you see the ending that I will not spoil, it just didn't make any sense.

A diplomat and his fiancée are in Hungary and notice a woman who is swimming naked in the pool area, she's very attractive, so when they see her at a club, they decide to have a little fun and have a steamy threesome. But things get extremely intense when the diplomat is mailed pictures of them all having the affair, fearing that it might go public and jeopardize his career, they pay off the guy who sent the pictures, the diplomat freaks out and "kills" the guy, leading into a murder case. He and his fiacee decide to find the girl they had the affair with, but things just get deeper and darker as they go further into what they got themselves into.

What could have been an alright thriller, turned into an unexplained and not well thought out movie, which was sad. Like I said, the title really has nothing to do with the first one, so don't fall for it. It's just a sexual thriller that makes no sense, but it's good for those nights alone, because quite frankly this is one of those films where it's so close to porn that it might as well be labeled as soft core.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Title was confusing. . . Film was good, , , Lead actor was great. .

8/10
Author: WayGoneBy
18 May 2006

Why 8MM2? Sure does not fit; no reflection, reference, resemblance to 8MM!?! The story line was good - the ending was the bomb! Did not expect it - for sure. The photography was good and the main characters definitely had chemistry. I don't know that all of the sex scenes were necessary - some were definitely for shock value. The actors really made the story believable and held your interest.The lead actor was awesome - I've seen him in other films and his characters are believable - he generates passion. His acting is as good as his looks -awesome!!! This would have been great in the theater - not many better films shown on the big screen.Go figure!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

For all of the bad comments this film's getting i liked it.

6/10
Author: badgrrlkane from Irving, TX
11 December 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It is a good suspense sex-thriller. It has a stupid title as it has nothing to do with the 1999 film 8MM that had Nic Cage in it, nor is it about a movie done on an 8MM film, & it is similar in the vein of it has to do with the underground porn world in the country of Hungry, but that's where the similarities end. If you're looking for the same style of film as 8mm you will be disappointed. If you like sex-thriller's done in a B-movie way, you'll really like this. I did. Great plot & surprising ending switch. The un-rated version has a lot of nudity (especially full-frontal female nudity) & unfortunately the extremely hot,underrated actor Johnathon Schaech didn't get all the way nude (just a butt shot!) but he did a very good job in the film as did Lori Heruing &Bruce Davison. My only gripe is I wish they would've used Julie Benz more as i'm a big fan of hers from her days on Buffy & Angel. This should've been released as it's own film not as a sequel. Idon't think that it would've seen a theatrical release regardless though. Definitely worth a look-see though. Especially if you're feeling horny & don't want hardcore or softcore porn. Namely a sexual film but with a decent plot. ** out of *****

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history