8MM 2 (Video 2005) Poster

(2005 Video)

User Reviews

Add a Review
36 Reviews
Sort by:
6/10
With better actors for the main couple, this could be a very good thriller
guisreis23 November 2016
The story is nice, but the main couple (Johnathon Schaech and Lori Heuring) is so irritating! Indeed, the beginning of the movie (before Zita Görög in the pool) is one of the worst I have ever seen in a film, with bad acting and poor dialogues. It gets better, as the thriller has an entertaining story, until the end, but all the long dialog scenes do annoy throughout the movie (differently for the more action-oriented ones). Other actors do a good job, particularly those whose characters are involved in sex industry, such as the pornographic photographer and the brothel mobster owner. As a matter of fact, all the red-light underworld scenes are very nice. Some of the most famous hardcore stars from Hungary have (nude) cameos or minor roles.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
It's not the sequel to to 8mm, and it's really not that big of a deal, cause it still sucks
subxerogravity24 March 2016
Well, I knew it was not going to be a direct sequel to 8mm, but both movies have no connection, which is explained on the DVD extras that this was a stand alone film until the studio head try to make more money by connecting the movies.

But I saw the movie without this info, but even after understanding this the movie still is not that good.

It's too predictable for me, which made it very cheesy. you can see the ending coming a mile away once the pilot is revealed.

I can't say that the acting was bad because it was the very good acting that allowed me to see the ending coming, but the story was lame and too formulated without enough twist and turns to shake me from knowing exactly what's coming.

I saw it because I herd it was a good soft-core porn film. Wrong! I've seen better, I've seen a lot better, it's a mediocre erotic thriller, but not good enough to over shadow the formulated story.

Skip it!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A quite good thriller for sure
Marcelo NZ3 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Not a great movie but was quite impressed with the thriller side of the story with an unexpected ending. Aside of that, there's a lot of sex scenes, good ones actually, and even a porn scene with a close up of lesbian sex. It is interesting to see the underworld of these former soviet states and their greed for sex and money. Easy to understand what happens when you have countries such Hungary, Czech Republic, Latvia, Romania, etc,.. with so many beautiful women but no jobs around. I didn't know that there was an unrated version of the movie so I think I will watch this one now. It was quite good acted as well even though the actors / actresses are not any big stars.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Unrelated and rather forgettable
Leofwine_draca23 June 2015
Ostensibly a sequel to the Nicolas Cage snuff investigation flick 8MM, 8MM 2 turns out to have nothing to do with that film. In fact, it was originally an independent movie called THE VELVET SIDE OF HELL, before Sony swapped the title and released it as one of those direct-to-DVD cash-ins (see THE HITCHER 2, etc. etc.). It has nothing to do with 8MM at all, and is more of an erotic thriller along the lines of BASIC INSTINCT.

The film was shot in Hungary, which allows for a handful of interesting location shots, although for the most part this is a murky enterprise. It sees a couple drawn into the seedy world of porn production when their encounter with an exotic model is filmed by a bad guy who is subsequently found dead in the hotel. With the police on their tail they attempt to track down the bad guys responsible.

Very little happens in this rather uninteresting thriller, whose made goal seems to be to show as much naked flesh as possible. The entire production is padded out with copious female nudity, with sex and stripping the order of the day. Despite all these flesh shots the film feels rather tame and predictable, with the crime elements of the story perfunctory rather than engaging. A weak cast and disposable characters don't help much.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Don't be fooled by this complete change of sequel
videorama-759-85939117 December 2013
I couldn't believe I founds long spells of this, actually boring, but I did, and in Movieland, it takes a lot to bore me. As being so removed from the original, though this isn't a carry on, I think this really took some nerve and cheek using this title. No sick violence in this folks, but some quite nice nudity, my congrads going out to the female lead. While engaged in a menois de trois, with a prostitute, Shaech (such an impressive-Peter Gallagher lookalike-actor) and wife are later blackmailed. This could really hurt the girl's family, as big Daddy (Davison) is a big political media figure, so it's a sensitive issue, so the two must play along. So the two try to find who's behind this, where the wife poses as a wannabe porn actress, at her heavy reluctance. This film is nothing like 8mm. It's totally different, it's the title here that would sadly attract movie fans of the first. Let me warn you and have you save some bucks, by telling you isn't, if reading this review. Some of you will get slightly peeved by it. It's only one redeeming quality, is it's killer twist, at the end, which I reckon' so many of you, will be thankful for. Sex thrillers like this that are boring, are bloody annoying.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Toilet Acting, Yet Captivating
bacardicazz2 November 2013
I recently bought 8MM 1&2 together as a bundle. I felt like the first movie was an okay thriller, with some stellar performances by the accompanying cast. After watching the second movie, I was dazed as to the connection between parts 1 and 2: there is none. In the first movie, the protagonist goes looking for the fate of a young girl who ended up starring in a snuff film. His investigation finally leads to Dino Velvet, a deranged porn producer. The full title of the second part implies ("The Velvet Side of Hell")that we will be diving into Dino's debauched world a bit further, but that is not the case. In fact, there is not a single connection between this film and the first. As an explanation, I believe the production company wanted to make a few extra bucks and decided to give the film a more recognizable title.

When I checked the extras, the director seemed like an artistic person, but he was too gratuitous about his actors, to say the least. He kept going on about how they 'understood the script'. If that was the case, the two protagonists reflected it poorly. In scenes where they get a dramatic close-up, they lack depth and conviction. And instead of building character persona, their characters just seem to make random statements, having no real perspective or opinion of their own. For instance, when Tish is shown the photo's in the diner, she reacts with "we look seriously hot in these". Scenes later, she sees the photo's as a matter of life and death, stopping at nothing to keep them from the media.

The concluding scene tries to combine elements of Fincher's The Game with elements of Singer's The Usual Suspects, but comes off as a cheap imitation (how can Risa or the cop be alive?).

Nonetheless, it is an intriguing film to watch. The morbid underworld of the Hungarian porn industry is depicted goth-like with an ominous feel to it. As a shooting location, the Alhambra baths are amazing. This location is highlighted by the introduction of the scantily clad character Risa, portrayed by Zita Gorog. Watch this movie when you have already had desert, you are still full of the main course but you could go for a late night snack.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Not Underrated
artpf1 November 2013
David Huxley, low-born self-made legal counsel at the US embassy in Budapest, may expect his career to be boosted by his impending marriage to Tish, daughter of old money tycoon and ambassador to Hungary Harrington. But when the happy couple spends a night of hot sex at a spa, including a threesome with an exhibitionist model, they are secretly filmed, and the suspect is found murdered in their hotel. To handle the blackmail, they venture into a sex club where porno movies are made. Tish volunteers to 'act' so David can snoop around, but that only gets them into even greater danger, which ultimately proves most deceptive.

Firstly, this has nothing to do with the Cage movie. It's basically a Silk Stalkings sex romp. The sets are lavish. The story is nonexistent. It's actually rather boring. The woman who gets black mailed is a horse faced dog.

Not worth your time in the slightest.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Sooo underrated!. Very interesting film
Bill Kontogiannis5 December 2012
I had watched this film many years ago, almost when it came out, and i remember I was thrilled. I was always curious why the ratings were so low, until recently, when I ran into this film again and now i think its safe to say it truly is so underrated!

The story takes place in Budapest where a young couple (soon to get married) spend a weekend. As every similar movie filmed in the Eastern Europe, it creates a dark and mysterious scenery. It also contains many nude and sex scenes which may look excessive but in my opinion they contribute to the whole atmosphere.

As you probably read in the storyline, the couple gets secretly filmed and then blackmailed by some people which appear to belong in the Hungarian Mafia. The plot evolves beautifully and as far as the actors.. i know Johnathon Schaech's acting is not that gifted but you have to admit that guy looks really cool lol

Personally, I don't care if it has nothing to do with 8mm I neither if it should be called differently. Whichever the title is, it is a nice film especially for those who are into mystery-crime-thrillers.I definitely suggest you to watch it and even if you don't get that excited I guarantee you ll have a fun couple of hours :)
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
be respectful next time
didiermustntdie3 March 2010
I believe the production value is OK..probably deserves a 4/10 or 5/10.it's traditionally filmed,featuring good looking people with model quality and a little class..

but the premise let me annoyed..a decent woman would do such dirt? I mean she is gonna marry a man who would have sex with another woman?

and what's more serious she is also active in the behavior...... only in de Laclos's mind....the film also have many aspects that makes Eastern Europeans seem immoral

after all, it's just movie, if it doesn't intend to degrade women in general, I will give one more point..but obviously, it does

conclusion: a nasty piece of crap with a little taste
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
starts slow, but gets a little better
Arlis Fuson9 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This is another one of those movies I just knew I would hate, but it ended up not being as bad as one would expect.

It has a lot of T&A in it and even the DVD menu is chocked full of women's breast. The first few scenes of the movie has a lot of sex and nudity and I was beginning to think there would be no story at all just exploiting nudity for the sake of making money off a popular prequel 8MM.

As I continued to watch there was just more sex and nudity and main characters that I could care less about, but then the story started to unfold and I started to see a point to it all, and it was a tad better.

It is about a man who's fiancé is the daughter of an Ambasador and they all have a promising future until nude photos of a menage a trois sex act shows up and blackmail is in the senders cards. The man and his fiancé must now get to the bottom of who sent the pics and how to shut them up.

The movie first of all is nothing to do with part 1, it doesn't even have anything to do with 8MM's, its about a sex video though so I can see the similarities, as small as they may be.

The acting is neither good, nor bad, its just nobodies playing parts anybody could do. The films production value is middle of the road and its pure drama yawn.

I did enjoy going along for the ride getting to the bottom of the blackmailers motives. I was anticipating answers which is way more than I could say for the first one which I consider garbage. This movie has some nice twists too which are always welcomed.

It's not great, and it is very slow started, but it does ultimately entertain. I wasn't on the edge of my seat and I won't rave to my friends that this is a must see, but hey if you watch a lot of movies and always seek something new, this might entertain you for 90 minutes.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Actually, very intriguing and dark political - sexual oriented sequel.
insomniac_rod15 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I have to admit that I'm a huge fan of the original "8 MM". I didn't expect this sequel to be equally good or even half as decent as the original, but I decided to give it a chance because I read it's plot here in IMDb.

The truth is that I ended up liking it big time mainly because it deals with topics that are very interesting for me: politics, sex, promiscuity, threesomes, Europe, guns, and mobs.

Everything gets screwed up for a couple that travels to Europe and after having a steamy visit to a night club and participate in a threesome with a super hot European beauty; they're taped during their threesome and later getting blackmailed by unknown criminals. This leads to a very interesting and bloody investigation.

Some situations include murders, visiting dark places that include prostitution, drugs, and more.

The political point of view is pretty interesting mainly because it deals with labor aspirations, laws, and we can see how corruption works at all levels.

Lori Heuring is extremely sexy and I enjoyed her sex scene. I mean, I enjoyed every single moment she was on screen. ;) The direction is just regular and the cinematography does it's work pretty well. I mean, I always cheer up for the combination of darkness used in colorful settings.

After the ending I thought to myself: "Man, this was a solid entertaining, dark and violent flick, I enjoyed it".

Give it a chance but don't think about the dark masterpiece from 1999.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Strangers on a Train
sol20 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
**SPOILER ALERT** The film "8MM 2" has nothing at all to do with the original "8MM" movie about the snuff movie industry in America. This new and followup version of the 1999 thriller is about the blackmail of an American couple in Budapest Hungary.

Young and ambitious David Huxley, Johnathon Schaech, has not only become a successful defense attorney but the counsel to the chief of the US Embassy in Budapest Ambassador Harrington, Bruce Davidson. David is also engaged to Ambassador Harrington's daughter Tish, Lori Heuring. Spending a weekend at the exclusive Alhambra Spa outside of Budapest David and Tish end up getting involved in an erotic "Manaja Twa" with a guest at the spa the sexy model Risa, Zita Gorog, who it later turns out is a high class hooker.

It isn't long that David gets in his mail an envelope, without a return address, of photos of him his fiancée Tish and Risa doing their thing in bed and in living color. Faced with having his career in politics ruined, if Tish's father finds out, David together with Tish decide to pay off the blackmailer with what he demands: $200,000.00 in US currency. The arraigned pay-off, at a deserted amusement park, backfires with the blackmailer ending up dead, David shot him, and the cash back where it belongs; David Huxley's bank account.

Just when it looks like both David & Tish are out of the woods the Budapest Police Department, through Det. Kovack played by Barna Illyes, finds evidence that David was involved with the person who blackmailed him! The blackmailer's body was discovered by the police with a business card that he had on him that David gave him! There's also this mysterious caller, the dead blackmailer's partner, who still keeps calling David demanding that he now pay $1,000,000.00 if he doesn't want the sexy photos of him as well as Tish & Risa be made public!

Back to square one David and Tish feel that the only way they can keep from being blackmailed is to find the elusive Risa whom they feel can lead them, and the police, to the blackmailer. This gives them, and us in the audience, the opportunity to see the seedy side of Budapest in the endless sex clubs and bordellos's that David and Tish search out to find the disappeared hooker.

The movie starts to get a bit ridicules with Tish in order to track down Risa volunteers, with her fiancée's David going along with it, to infiltrate a notorious sex club as a nude dancer. This hair-brained idea on both Tish and David's part leads to David ending up getting kidnapped with the blackmailer upping his ante to 5 million dollars.:One million for the photos and four million for David's life!

***SPOILERS*** It's only the surprise ending of the movie that's about the only thing worth watching in it. It's then that we see what all this blackmailing murder and kidnapping was really all about. Money is the root of all evil as the Bible says and it was money, five million dollars worth of it, that drove people, in the film, to do the most outrageous things imaginable. Outrageous enough to drive those who aren't crazy to completely lose their minds! Like the final moments of the film so clearly demonstrated!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the worst sequels ever.
tonymurphylee19 June 2008
Why was this film made? What were the creators of this thinking?!?! The first 8MM film at least had a plot that made sense and was potentially interesting. The first film was about the snuff film industry. This sequel is about... hold on... the porno industry!! Yes, as if the snuff film industry, an industry in which people are supposedly killed on film for entertainment, were at all in the same league with the adult film industry, an industry in which people film other people engaging in unstimulated sex acts and situations for eroticism. The idea alone should warn you about how poorly conceived the idea for this film alone is. It isn't helped by a lack of plot, character, acting, direction, script, logic, theme, or even sound design. This is a remarkably boring film that never once held my attention. Literally nothing works. Why would a mystery thriller film about the porno industry involving assassination and betrayal work anyway? I don't have much of an interest in adult films, but I certainly have watched them before. Why would somebody make a film about the evils of it and that they would make it in a sequel to a film about snuff movies? I don't even know if there is an industry involved in snuff film making, but I hope it doesn't. The idea of a snuff film alone is horrific and only people who are truly sick and bad would be a part of it. I don't think that the adult film industry revolves around murder and torture. I'm pretty sure that a lot of people make pornographic films for good intentions rather than to hurt and kill people. It is never okay to hurt another human being. The adult film industry isn't about hurting people. It's about creating films that are, to me, a diversion and a waste of time. What is this film trying to say? It doesn't work.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Shockingly bad script and acting, only to be marginally salvaged by the shock ending
Jason Lee30 May 2008
I have no idea if it's intentional or not, but the direction, script, and acting throughout the movie was really really bad. But the ending somehow saved it, just a bit. So all in all it's not that bad. There is excessive nudity scattered around, most of which is quite unnecessary IMO. It just ends up looking cheap. Johnathon Schaech is a horrible actor carved out of wood, at least in this movie, I haven't seen or noticed/remember him from other films. Lori Heuring looks gorgeous actually, not just sexy but actually very beautiful. Hopefully she gets more decent roles in the future.

And don't even mention the name. 8mm 2 has nothing to do with 8mm whatsoever, they don't even use or mention 8mm tapes at all, it's a disgrace. The movie itself isn't as bad as some make it, so there was no need to use that name and raise peoples' expectations through the roof. 8mm fans should stay away, although I would watch it just for Lori Heuring and she has a nude scene as well (not that it matters to me, as i said before she isn't that sexy but very good looking and decent acting :P ).
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Underrated Director
Rob Gregory Browne10 April 2008
J.S. Cardone has been putting out little gems like this one for years now. I think he has a great story sense and a great eye as a director. He always manages to make these lower budget movies look very classy and this one is no exception.

Was the plot predictable and sometimes improbable? To some degree, yes. But ultimately it doesn't matter, because you have a good time following these two as they take their journey through the dark side of Budapest. The sex and nudity may be a bit too much for some, but I found it tasteful and artistically managed.

I think it's a shame this thing was tagged 8mm2. It would likely have been treated better by the reviewers here if it had been called something else, since it obviously has no relationship to 8mm, which, I think, is an inferior movie.

I've tried to make it a point to find as many Cardone films (either written or directed) as I can. Frankly, being a novelist myself, I would love one day to see Cardone adapt one of my books. Unfortunately, that's not something I have control over...
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Sexual political thriller...
dwpollar10 February 2008
1st watched 2/9/2008, 4 out of 10(Dir-J.S. Cardone): Sexual political thriller that doesn't really succeed in any of these areas very well except early on where there are some interesting soft-core scenes. The movie starts off portraying a couple exploring their sexual fantasies amidst their work environments or wherever and whatever suits their fancy. The couple takes an excursion to a retreat and bathhouse where they run into a woman that's willing to be a part of a three-some and fulfill some of their fantasies. At this point, we only know that this couple is well off but we don't know until they return that the fiancé is part of a well-to-do political family. The man hopes to be on the rise to the point of possibly getting a congressional seat after the marriage. They then receive a package in the mail from an anonymous source with explicit pictures of their encounter at the bath house and their qwest begins as to how and why they were filmed, who sent the package, what they want, and how to clear their names before any of this gets out. This qwest becomes an obsession that leads them deeper into seedier worlds and takes a lot of their time, to the point where their friends & family wonder what they're doing all day and why they look rundown all the time. This movie is interesting at times but drifts into ridiculousness as they personally seek out the problem instead of getting the police involved early on because of their pride. This mistake, of course, keeps the movie going. The performances are fine despite the no-name cast but the lunacy of the situation overrides and the movie starts to become ho-hum about ½ the way through. And of course, they throw in a twist at the end that defies and challenges everything that happened prior(as is the norm these days when they don't know what else to do to spice up the movie). This doesn't help this movie one bit, though.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Slow moving
xredgarnetx28 January 2008
B-movie darling Johnathan Schaech stars in 8MM 2, which has absolutely nothing to do with the nasty Nic Cage horror film. Someone simply bought the rights to the title. Schaech and his fiancée (Lori Huering) are secretly filmed having sex with a prostitute in a Budapest hotel room, and subsequently blackmailed. They try to uncover the blackmailer before images from the film are put on the Internet for all to see. The problem is that Schaech's fiancée is the daughter of a very important and wealthy man (Bruce Davison, in what amounts to little more than a cameo). Obviously shot on the cheap in Hungary, the film goes nowhere. The sex scene featuring the threesome, which might have made the movie worthwhile, is not particularly titillating. I can see better on an episode of NIP/TUCK. And the ending has a twist any astute viewer will have figured out 10 minutes into the movie.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Underrated
s-kelle15 December 2007
This is not at all a bad movie, if you drop the following expectations:

  • 8mm sequel?? It has nothing to do with 8mm, the movie with Nicolas Cage.


  • Story? The plot is not hugely elaborate, it's a blackmailing story which takes a slight twist at the end.


  • Actors? Acting should have been with more heart and more convincing.


Other than that, it's a highly enjoyable movie. It's full of masterfully photographed erotic, film-noir atmosphere, very nice on-location footage from Hungary and an excellent soundtrack.

Although the story has its deficits, it serves well for generating a big deal of suspense. Much of the suspense originates from the psychological interplay between the different "opponents" in the movie. It's not about dull action scenes or car hunts.

Altogether, still worth a 7. Good time watching.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Those who think the original wasn't very good might want to give this a try
davideo-214 November 2007
STAR RATING: ***** Saturday Night **** Friday Night *** Friday Morning ** Sunday Night * Monday Morning

David (Johnathon Schaech) and Tish (Lori Heuring) are a couple in Budapest, on business commitments and staying at a luxury hotel. One night, they meet an attractive woman at a nightclub and invite her back to their place, where they end up in a threesome. All is well, until David receives some negatives in the mail and he and Tish end up being blackmailed. But when some people involved in the deception are found murdered, things get messy and they are forced to enter the seedy underground world of pornography and hardcore bondage to track down the woman who may hold the key to everything.

Whereas the original film dealt with the concept of snuff films, this straight to DVD sequel deals with the more wholesome (!!!) theme of threesomes and sleazy sex. It plays like a porn film, a cheap piece of titillation with plenty of hot T/A action going on. If this sounds like your idea of a good film, you'll probably like it, but you'd probably be more at home in a porn shop than a video store.

This tries to copy the original film's dark and voyeuristic feel, but while it does a pretty good job of this, it still can't hold up to that of the original's. It has an apathetic story, with a dodgy narrative flow. And compared to Cage, Schaech comes across as interminably wooden.

Better than I thought it'd be, I suppose, and better than your average one of these DVD direct sequels that seem to be coming out a lot these days, but really, haven't we seen enough? **
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Nothing like the first one
lastliberal17 June 2007
This was a complete departure on 8MM. There was no Nickolas Cage looking into a snuff film. This was about a couple that were being blackmailed.

Johnathon Schaech (Woundings), who was or still is married to Christina Applegate, stars with Lori Heuring, a Maxim Top 100 hottie. They take a trip to a hotel, are filmed in steamy sex and blackmailed. Of course. Lori's daddy is going to be a Supreme Court Justice and she is worth millions, which she ends up paying a huge sum of and all is rosy. Or is it? I saw this coming a mile away, but it was still good when it happened.

Even if the journey was predictable, it was enjoyable to see the seamy side of Budapest, and to visit a club where the main attraction is lots of full frontal nudity. The film features some ménage à trois, girl-on-girl, and regular sex with more boobies than you can count. Forget the story and just enjoy the soft porn.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
8mm 0.2
Alex-37223 April 2007
This movie has nothing to do with the sanctimonious sleaze-pot, starring Nicholas Cage. At the time, I thought the movie was pretty bad, however, this is infinitely worse.

The actresses are cute, and as an 'erotic thriller', it is passable, but it has nothing to do with the 'Heart Of Darkness' theme that the original 8mm barely pulled off.

Add to that, that this movie is shot somewhere in Eastern Europe (cheap locations, low wages, etc.) and this is bottom of the barrel. Nothing bad about Eastern Europe, which is beautiful and I'm sure there are great people living there too, however, after the slew of Steven Seagal low budgeters, these particular locations are like a red flag for this video fan. Now if they actually involved the location into the storyline, instead of just using them as a backdrop...
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
What started off as an alright film, it ended pretty badly
Kristine7 December 2006
First off, the first thing that came to my mind after I finished this film last night was "Why the title of 8MM 2?", because I saw the first one obviously, and what did this have to do with the first movie's plot? The only thing that was similar was the fact that the couple had to go into the porno industry and that wasn't even needed in the plot, because after you see the ending that I will not spoil, it just didn't make any sense.

A diplomat and his fiancée are in Hungary and notice a woman who is swimming naked in the pool area, she's very attractive, so when they see her at a club, they decide to have a little fun and have a steamy threesome. But things get extremely intense when the diplomat is mailed pictures of them all having the affair, fearing that it might go public and jeopardize his career, they pay off the guy who sent the pictures, the diplomat freaks out and "kills" the guy, leading into a murder case. He and his fiacee decide to find the girl they had the affair with, but things just get deeper and darker as they go further into what they got themselves into.

What could have been an alright thriller, turned into an unexplained and not well thought out movie, which was sad. Like I said, the title really has nothing to do with the first one, so don't fall for it. It's just a sexual thriller that makes no sense, but it's good for those nights alone, because quite frankly this is one of those films where it's so close to porn that it might as well be labeled as soft core.

4/10
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This is awful!!!
madsah6 October 2006
I'm so sorry, but I have to tell this film was the most terrible I have ever seen before. I thought that it will be a good film after 8mm. WHAT A SELL!!! There were nothing interesting in it, except the beautiful Hungarian women. Everything might be known forward. It's a miracle I didn't sleep trough all. I don't understand how might you let make it!! I'm so sorry, but I have to tell this film was the most terrible I have ever seen before. I thought that it will be a good film after 8mm. WHAT A SELL!!! There were nothing interesting in it, except the beautiful Hungarian women. Everything might be known forward. It's a miracle I didn't sleep trough all. I don't understand how might you let make it!!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Pictures don't lie.
Michael O'Keefe6 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This is a sequel to 8MM(1999), but not a continued storyline. The career of a prominent politician(Johnathon Schaech)is about to derail. Everything looks in his favor to climb the political ladder. His fiancée(Lori Heuring)is beyond wealthy and her daddy(Bruce Davidson)is an Ambassador. Schaech's becoming a congressman is in jeopardy due to an extortionist with revealing photos and a video of the young couple having a sordid sexual tryst with a model/prostitute(Zita Gorog)in Budapest. They must delve into the underworld of sex and pornography to retrieve the evidence in order to save the young politician's career, as well as his future father-in-law's.

A very strong rated R due to very graphic sexual activity. Not fade away or quick shots of the sex either. So this erotic thriller is not meant for everyone. And it is worth watching again in spite of the lackluster unimaginative ending.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Very Erotic, Amoral, Predictable, but Attractive Thriller
Claudio Carvalho5 June 2006
In Budapest, the ambitious diplomat and aspirant congressman of poor origin David Huxley (Johnathon Schaech) and his fiancée of wealthy and traditional family Tish Harrington (Lori Heuring) travel to a hotel in Alhambra to spend a weekend together before their marriage. In the hotel, they fantasize and have a threesome with the delicious model Risa (Zita Görög) as part of his bachelor party. When they return to their normal life, they are blackmailed with a porn video of their sexual encounter with Risa. David and Tish go to the pornographic underworld of Budapest trying to retrieve the tapes and avoid a scandal and damage in Tish's father and David's career.

I was surprised with "8 mm2", since I was expecting a garbage, but I found it very erotic, amoral, partially predictable, but also attractive thriller. The beginning does not develop the character of David and Tish as it should, but later the viewer begins to understand their motives. David's is clear, since he is ambitious, aiming to climb to a higher social position at any cost, therefore making the plot point in the conclusion of the story partially predictable. But Tish is the great character of his movie, since she is a much sexualized woman, who fantasizes her sexual life playing games with David, and entwined between her fear and curiosity and desire about the underworld of sex and pornography. Due to the strong sexual content and nudity, this movie is recommended for specific audiences. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "8 mm 2"
28 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews