IMDb > The Proud Family Movie (2005) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Proud Family Movie
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Proud Family Movie (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Disappointed in Disney

2/10
Author: mistergumbee from United States
21 August 2005

Disappointed in Disney

The Disney name used to represent an assurance to many parents that the content of a show would be family oriented and of sound moral ethics. The Proud Family Movie presents cloning as a trivial detail in weak plot with no indication of the moral or ethical questions involved. The plot is weak. The music is formula synthesized junk. My children watched it because the "couldn't find anything else on" I don't censor their viewing heavily, and allowed them to watch this poorly constructed program. It's too sad that Disney is too now just a money machine like so many other companies. Movie Rating; D minus.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Both Kim Possible TV-Movies were WAY better than this.

Author: Ddey65 from United States
12 June 2006

For the record, in the world of The Proud Family, nothing normal ever happens, so I wasn't as put off by talking peanuts and the scientific and sociological details of cloning as many were. At least "Kim Possible," it's two TV movies, and "Batman; The Animated Series" had relatively plausible explanations for the weirdness that goes on in their worlds. As another IMDb user indicated about the regular series, some episodes were okay, some were "ehh..." I agree, but I think some were extraordinary, like "Love Thy Neighbor," "A Hero for Halloween," and "The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly." This, unfortunately is not one of them, but that doesn't make it entirely bad. As for me, I didn't find it so confusing at all. But dumb? Well, I have to admit, yes.

After an opening segment on Legoom Island at the villain's(Arsenio Hall) lair, we find Penny and her crew in high school during a driver's-ed course. I know schools complain that they don't get paid enough money, but is the Proud's school district so poor that they still have old Chrylser K-Cars from the 1980's for their Driver's Education course? I'm not so sure the standard demographics of this show/movie recognizes these cars. Penny and her girls are invited to become members of a dance troupe for young rap star 15 Cent(Omarion Grandberry), and when he sees Penny, he falls head over heels for her, and habitually refers to her as "Ponytails." When Oscar Proud(Tommy Davison) finds Penny kissing the young rap musician, he grounds her and cancels her planned 16th Birthday Party. Just then a strange man knocks on their door and tell Suga-Mama she won a trip to Legoom Island. Trudy thinks this is the perfect opportunity for family togetherness, something Penny prefers to do without. In fact, Penny is angrier at Oscar than we've ever seen her on the series, As it turns out, the man who invited the Prouds to Legoom Island wants a secret formula for a preservative Oscar created for his Proud Snacks recipe. At first, he offers Oscar a whopping $10 Million for the formula, but Oscar gets a warning from one of the island's inhabitants, and decides to up the ante a bit more. So, he sends some clones of the family back home to search for it, and Penny and her clone get mixed up on the return trip.

The villain is actually a clone of a descendant of George Washington Carver. And like the evil clone, Dr. Marcus Garvey Carver II tried to make clones out of peanuts. Unlike the real Dr. Carver though, his evil clone is making an army of other evil clones to take over the world, and when Penny finds out about this, she has to stop them. See? Not so confusing after all.

Throughout the series(including the series-ending movie), there are lots of things I wanted to see that never took place, like Zoey gaining a steady boyfriend, viewers finally getting to see Wizard Kelly from the neck up, or some kind of settlement in the would-be romance between Dijonay & Sticky, whether she gives up, or he gives in. It also would've been great if somebody had enough guts to beat the living daylights out of the Gross Sisters. I know of an unearthly character from the "Danny Phantom" episode "Splitting Images," who's got such a grudge against bullies he might actually have an impact on them.

I still think Kyla Pratt is a much more attractive young woman than the character she's been providing the voice of for the past four years. The least sensible aspect of the movie, is that while Penny is turning 16, Bebe and Cece are still the same age as they were when the show began in 2001. Despite a few amusing lines, and the general feel of a series finale, I can't say this was anywhere as good as I hoped it would be.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

This is just... terrible

1/10
Author: the_moody_youngest from Canada
17 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this movie because I didn't really have much to do. It was a Friday night,nothing on.So I clicked on the Family channel, got comfortable and glued my eyes to the screen.I really should have picked something else...It was boring,pointless,irritating,racist,and arrogant.The characters were highly annoying and the writing was horrible.Kyla Pratt is pure annoying and I hate her character Penny.Penny is self-absorbed,arrogant,and super-fiscal.I also really hate Trudy and Suga Mama, they are brats and they are also annoying. I have never liked The Proud Family and wasn't expecting anything good. But I got a horrible waste of my life!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

........????? confusing and dumb

1/10
Author: cutiepie08353 from Aruba
19 August 2005

OMG!!! ummm....... first of all, it is hard to find the exact word for this movie! Repulsive, and the worst waste of 2 hours. Th plot includes talking peanuts, which speaks for itself. The series was OK, but the movie was a big disappointment. I do not recommend this movie for people with a brain. The characters still have their spunky sense of humor and Oscar Proud delivers a great performance, but unfortunately that was not enough to save this movie!

Now, there have been some weird proud family episodes(such as the new one where penny saves an evil duck), but this movie and plot is just downright confusing and overdeveloped. The best part of the movie was the beginning where we see Penny learning how to drive. It gives the audience a sense of the proud family series, which was actually watchable. I was glad, however, to see Penny's group of friends(Dijonay,LAcieniga and Sticky) back.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Proud Family goes to an island, Mad Scientist clones them, Clones try and reveal the secret recipe to Proud Snacks.

1/10
Author: rupertluver-2 from Canada
22 July 2006

It was repulsive. I couldn't stand it as soon as I saw what was happening I just turned off the movie to a more entertaining show. No offense but this movie should be burned and its ashes should be buried. I feel so bad for the people that like this movie it doesn't make any sense. But it was kind of funny but not really really funny. But it was cool that the secret recipe was kept safe but thats just what I've heard. But I do applaud to the voices of the proud family and the rest of the cast. I just think this movie should get some more work on it if anyone agrees with me say "I"!

Thats just what I think so see ya later!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Rather Disappointing

Author: stews_house from NC
26 August 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was really disappointed after seeing this movie. I happen to enjoy this show, and I expected a lot more from the film. I felt that the plot was all over the place, and rather far-fetched. (SPOILER) *I didn't mind the talking peanuts, but the clones were too much!!* Fortunately, Sticky, Zoe, LaCienega, and my girl Dijonay, saved this movie from total disaster. (SPOILER) *I loved that battle dance!* Much more use could have been made of Uncle Bobby. He's always good for some comic relief. Does anyone know who did Uncle Bobby's voice? I'm sure it wasn't Cedric, the Entertainer. Perhaps the new season of shows will offer more to the viewer than this movie. At least I'm hopeful. Out of ***** I give "The Proud Family Movie" **.

Bonita NC

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Okay movie bogged down by continuity errors

5/10
Author: lordvolde from United States
30 October 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I need to get this off my chest. The Proud 'clones' didn't make any sense. First of all, when you clone something, it is generally an embryo. The Proud Clones should have taken at least 40 something YEARS to be intelligent and grown-up enough to go on that mission. Not only that, it doesn't really make any sense to mix peanuts and stuff in there when he already had their DNA. Duplicates or robots would have been a better term to use but I'll let it go.

GOOD POINTS -Oscar was hilarious as always. -Penny and the rest of the Proud Family were in character. -I liked the ending where Oscar and Penny were on Dr. Carver's blimp. -The evil Dr. Carver was hilarious, especially his villain songs.

BAD POINTS -The movie just sort of...let itself go with the Oscar robot (I refuse to call it a clone). It seemed to vanish after a blurry scene where it knocked itself out -There were a number of continuity errors (where did the other robots get the clothes that Oscar and company put on) and (how the heck did the peanut robot of Carver get a sunburn anyway?). -"Battledance!?" -Not enough use of the Gross Sisters

All around, I'd give this movie a round 5 out of 10. Oscar and Dr. Carver saved it from a 3.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The Prouds ROCK!!!

10/10
Author: undeadzombie13 from United States
21 August 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I loved this movie! I especially liked that it was in widescreen instead of fullscreen like it's a DVD or on theaters. Not a whole lot of TV movies do that. Also, great plot. Penny's having trouble with her family(mostly her dad), her and her family go on a vacation to an island called Lagoom Island, she makes friends with Kashew a G-Knome, Dr. Carver tries to take Mr. Proud's secret formula, and because he refuses, the Prouds' are cloned and now it's up to Penny, Kashew, and the rest of the Prouds to stop Dr. Carver and his army of G-Knomes! Great ending too. Like when right before Dr. Carver went into the ocean, he said "I'm a little peanut." in a squeaky voice, also dancing and music! Don't forget that! The people who do the voice overs for the show did a good job too, like they usually do. except for Sticky(Orlando Brown) and Fifteen Cent(Omarion). Fifteen's voice didn't fit his body(too grown up, deep) and Sticky's voice sounds different from what I remember it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history