A black comedy chronicling the fate of the biggest gameshow prize in history.

Director:

Writer:

Reviews
2 wins & 3 nominations. See more awards »
Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

1:58 (2014)
Short | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

A careless driver gets into serious difficulties when she runs into a mysterious group of assailants on an abandoned road.

Director: Rodrigo Cortés
Stars: Gabino Diego, Diego Herberg, Julia Otero
Red Lights (2012)
Drama | Horror | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

Psychologist Margaret Matheson and her assistant study paranormal activity, which leads them to investigate a world-renowned psychic who has resurfaced years after his toughest critic mysteriously passed away.

Director: Rodrigo Cortés
Stars: Sigourney Weaver, Robert De Niro, Cillian Murphy
Drama | Fantasy | Thriller

Kit Gordy, a new student at the exclusive Blackwood Boarding School, confronts the institution's supernatural occurrences and dark powers of its headmistress.

Director: Rodrigo Cortés
Stars: AnnaSophia Robb, Isabelle Fuhrman, Uma Thurman
Buried (2010)
Drama | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

Paul is a U.S. truck driver working in Iraq. After an attack by a group of Iraqis he wakes to find he is buried alive inside a coffin. With only a lighter and a cell phone it's a race against time to escape this claustrophobic death trap.

Director: Rodrigo Cortés
Stars: Ryan Reynolds, José Luis García Pérez, Robert Paterson
Apartment 143 (2011)
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.1/10 X  

A team of parapsychologists try to figure out a strange phenomenon occurring in an apartment building.

Director: Carles Torrens
Stars: Kai Lennox, Gia Mantegna, Michael O'Keefe
Alone XI (2010)
Short | Mystery | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

A man is buried alive. Reality or nightmare?

Directors: Giacomo Gabrielli, Daniele Misischia
Stars: Pierfrancesco Botti
La caja 507 (2002)
Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

Bankmanager Modesto Pardos(played by Antonio Resines) daughter dies in an forest fire while camping. 7 years later Pardos bank gets robbed and robbers breaks open numerous safe deposit ... See full summary »

Director: Enrique Urbizu
Stars: Dafne Fernández, Antonio Resines, Miriam Montilla
Barrio (1998)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

A coming-of-age story in the vein of CITY OF GOD and KIDS - available for the first time in the U.S.!

Director: Fernando León de Aranoa
Stars: Críspulo Cabezas, Timy Benito, Eloi Yebra
Sin retorno (2010)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

A thriller centered on a man who is accused of a crime he didn't commit.

Director: Miguel Cohan
Stars: Leonardo Sbaraglia, Martin Slipak, Bárbara Goenaga
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

Two strangers run from unknown assailants that stalk them through the woods.

Director: Gonzalo López-Gallego
Stars: Leonardo Sbaraglia, María Valverde, Thomas Riordan
15 Days (2000)
Comedy | Short
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.8/10 X  
Director: Rodrigo Cortés
Stars: Óscar Rodríguez, Susana García Díez, Álvaro Iglesias
Short | Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  
Director: Rodrigo Cortés
Stars: Pablo San Martín, Lucía Yao, Sara San Martín
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
Chete Lera ...
Edmundo
Miryam Gallego ...
Laura
...
Eloy
Myriam De Maeztu ...
Santillana
...
Pizarro
Óscar Rodríguez ...
Vendedor en el hangar
Juan Jesús Valverde ...
El Encargado
Amaia Lizarralde ...
Ejecutiva de TV
Luisa Martínez ...
Secretaria de Pizarro (as Luisa Martínez Pazos)
Juli Cantó ...
Empleado del banco
Javier Jurdao ...
Hombre de gris 1
Tomás del Estal ...
Hombre de gris 2
Carlos Manuel Díaz ...
Superior en el banco
Charo Zapardiel ...
Teniente
Edit

Storyline

"The Contestant" recounts the roller coaster ride of Martin Circo, the lucky winner of the most lucrative game-show prize in television history to the tune of 3 Million Euros. In this biting satire on consumer society, Martin's stroke of luck sees his life turned upside down. Sometimes, one piece of good luck can ruin your life. Written by Anonimo

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Genres:

Comedy | Drama

Edit

Details

Official Sites:

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

16 March 2007 (Spain)  »

Also Known As:

A nyertes  »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

| (European Film Market)

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Connections

Features 15 Days (2000) See more »

Soundtracks

Circus Honey Blues
Written by Víctor Reyes and Rodrigo Cortés
Performed by Andy Philips
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Extraordinary bomb of time
5 April 2007 | by (Majadahonda, Spain) – See all my reviews

A normal guy ruins his life because a stroke of good luck. Will the director die for the same reason? I don't think so, for he shows much more than simple luck on the guiding of this extraordinary film about the truth and the appearance of truth, abut the luck and the evil of the banks, about the fast and the cinema itself. Rodrigo Cortes directs his first film with master hand, it's difficult to believe this is his first feature. I haven't seen his short films, but I'll try to, since the joy and good time this movie has given to me. Impactant editing, masterful script, extraordinary music, amazing directing, unbelievable acting (and can an actor be more handsome??)... At first I thought this film was going to be a pedant bluff, but at the minute 20 I couldn't stop watching at the screen, almost hypnotized. I'll never trust a bank again!!


11 of 15 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Will it be released in the U.S.? venusbird82
Coool! vbfhenrmreturns
Discuss Concursante (2007) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?