Edit
Deal (2008) Poster

(I) (2008)

Goofs

Jump to: Factual errors (4) | Plot holes (1) | Revealing mistakes (1)

Factual errors 

To allow Tommy to win, Alex folds his cards without showing. This is not legal in any WPT (or WSOP) tournament, because at least one player was all-in. In an all-in situation, all participating players are required to show their hands at showdown. Under tournament rules, Alex would have been forced to show his hand, and since he would then be known to have the winning hand, would either be forced to take 1st place or be disqualified from any winnings at all for collusion.
Is this interesting? Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink
During the WPT Championship tournament sequence, when play gets to 9-handed, the remaining players are split between two tables. This is never the case in the WPT final. When the tournament gets down to 10-players, all ten are combined to one final table, not two tables as shown in the film.
0 of 1 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink
During the WPT Championship sequence, Commentators Mike Sexton and Vince Van Patten call the play from the start of the tournament to it's finish. This never happens with WPT coverage. In the WPT T.V. episodes, Sexton and Van Patten only commentate on the final table coverage.
0 of 1 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink
During the last hand of the WPT Championship sequence, Tommy looks down to find Jacks, then checks. This play is impossible. Since play is heads-up, Tommy, if he is acting first, is the small blind. Therefore, he would have to have at least called Alex's big blind. Checking would not have been an option for Tommy, based on his position.
0 of 1 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink

Plot holes 

In the high stakes private game, Vinson, who everyone at the table knows is Alex's mentor, is standing directly behind the player against whom Alex is heads-up. From that position he could easily see the opponent's cards, and signal Alex as to what they were. This would never be tolerated.
0 of 1 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink

Revealing mistakes 

When Alex is shown playing the last hand of his PokerStars satellite, neither hand is visible to those watching, making this an observer's view of the table. As such, Alex was not actually playing the hand, merely watching someone else win.
0 of 1 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink

See also

Trivia | Crazy Credits | Quotes | Alternate Versions | Connections | Soundtracks

Contribute to This Page