IMDb > 10 MPH (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
10 MPH More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Great documentary searching the fundamental human question of purpose and happiness

10/10
Author: laventmr from United States
17 February 2007

Really great doc about searching for meaning in our lives... It looks at the questions that most of us face daily, "What do I want to do with my life, what will make me happy?"

The main thread of the story allows you to follow these two filmmakers as they ponder their own life directions as well as pose that question to those they meet and interview. Nice use of humor and struggle to add dimension to the film and characters. Beautiful visuals of the landscapes and people as well as a momentum building pace allow the viewer to connect with the film. Fantastic use of independent music to build a relationship and convey emotion.

It might just make you want to quit your job and find your passion.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

A funny, inspiring, captivating, playful documentary.

9/10
Author: ndrewno from United States
4 April 2006

Filmmakers' documentary about making a documentary . . . about riding a Segway.

I do not like documentaries, for they record and attempt to spice up the boring, non-structured parts of life. I hate one-sided documentaries, for they are preaching an ignorant opinion proved by the ignorant one-sided facts they sought out. Having said that, this documentary was GREAT! It opened its heart to the viewer, which is the gutsiest thing you can do in a documentary. I've heard some say it drags a bit around the middle; but that is where the TRUE beauty of life is captured (something most documentaries force as "deep"). These men, and woman, used nothing but a positive out-look to reach a goal. They stood tall, throughout, on a Segway.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Chase your Dreams

9/10
Author: wsommer from Hickory, NC
13 June 2007

If you've ever wanted more out of your life, but afraid to take a chance to make your dreams come true you need to watch this movie. Take four regular people with a passion to chase a dream combined with some of the most sincere and loving Americans and you have a documentary that tugs your heart in every direction. And if you've spent your entire life on the east coast like I have, you appreciate what real America is like as they traveled through the plains of the Midwest. You'll laugh, you'll get angry, and you may even cry as I did, sitting there wondering what it is I want to do with my life.I loved everything about this movie and can't wait to see what they do with their next movie, "10 Yards". Thumbs up to Hunter, Josh, Gannon, and Alon for encouraging me to want more out of life

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Journeylicious

10/10
Author: jefejuell from United States
11 June 2007

Following their hearts...living their dreams...embracing their passions...listening to others...spending all their savings! It is hard to pick which of these phrases best describes their journey, but I can only imagine what they (Josh, Hunter, Gannon, Alon) have learned from other people on this journey. It will take them to worthy pinnacles of joy and enlightenment, just as the movie embodies this type of accomplishment.

The humor, frankness, and joy in the movie has a feeling of being professional in their genuine childlikeness. This is a movie that embraces America, freedom, independence, and yet a reliance on each other that is empowering! A Must See beauty of a movie that grew from a hearty seed!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Great fun and heart-warming

10/10
Author: josephtkelley from United States
21 May 2007

10 MPH is great fun and heart-warming. If you're a city dweller, you deserve a taste of what the rest of the US is like. The only thing better than actually seeing this film is that you can't help being happy for the filmmakers that they got to put their vision, talents, and sense of adventure to such good use. They embody this line from Howard Thurman, "Don't ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive."

One thing that really made me want to see 10 MPH was this comment by Sam Chaffos, Documentaries Programing Director for the 2006 Vail Film Festival: " . . . the moving experience shown in your film transcends the screen and infects the audience in a way that I don't know can be properly expressed through words. Maybe it's just where I happen to be in my own life at the moment, but I doubt it. The deft editing and subtle power of the courage, friendship, humour, and adventure conveyed in 10 mph is unlike almost any documentary I've seen, and I thank you personally for exposing so much. It amounts to an unbelievably powerful piece of art."

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Inspirational !. ...

8/10
Author: randawg72 from Southern California
18 September 2007

I just saw this film and loved it ! This really makes you stop and evaluate your life and what we're all doing here. We all think we're supposed to work our lives away while all of the things we want to do sit on the back burner never to be accomplished.

These guys are my hero's. What seems like a silly stunt on the surface, is really an insight into life and a detailed look at the America that no-one takes the time to explore anymore.

They attempt what we all wish we had the guts to do. And succeed ! I recommend this film to anyone who feels that life is passing them by. It dares us all to 'Just do it', and I for one plan to get off my butt and chase my own dreams.

Sincerely, ~Randawg.

Was the above review useful to you?

Delightful

10/10
Author: Sjhm from United Kingdom
25 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Part of this film's considerable charm is the apparent naivety with which Josh and Hunter embark upon this adventure. It seemingly never occurs to them that they will not achieve their goal. Even the stunning scenery plays second fiddle to this very human tale of giving it all up for a dream. The characters they meet along the way are fascinating, and offer some very interesting insight into rural life. My personal favourite, the group of bikers they run into, who offer their views on travelling at 10 miles an hour, and repair the segway when something breaks. Apparently you cannot truly know a thing until you break it and fix it yourself. The film is not in anyway preachy, and is an endearingly off-beat look at a journey, life in a very slow lane and how much can be achieved if you really put your heart into what you are doing. This is the very best kind of 'reality'… the real kind!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Self-centered journey where nothing happens.

1/10
Author: (anon123@bigfoot.com) from United States
4 February 2009

Self-centered over-privileged suburban white boys go on a self-centered journey through the US, oblivious to the reality of others around them. They fret over their credit score, shortly after meeting people everywhere (in the reservation, in East St. Louis, in Colorado) who clearly will never have the luxury of worrying about their score. And yet the irony is lost on these folks. What a waste of effort. If only someone had shown these guys how to make a difference in someone else's life...

Self-centered over-privileged suburban white boys go on a self-centered journey through the US, oblivious to the reality of others around them. They fret over their credit score, shortly after meeting people everywhere (in the reservation, in East St. Louis, in Colorado) who clearly will never have the luxury of worrying about their score. And yet the irony is lost on these folks. What a waste of effort. If only someone had shown these guys how to make a difference in someone else's life...

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history