Fearless (2006) Poster


User Reviews

Review this title
207 Reviews
Sort by:
Jet Li in a Masterpiece
drqu198126 April 2006
I've always been a fan of Jet Li since his early days, and frankly his movies and performances in them have been terrible in the last few years mainly due to his attempts to be a profitable and a more mainstream actor in the US. As a result, we were treated to "nice" movies like The One and Cradle to the Grave. This movie though makes up them. This was truly a gem. Not only were the action sequences spectacular, and I iterate spectacular, but the story line and acting as well as screen play was very tastefully done. Gone were the traditional comedic side plot, and welcomed was a sense of respect not only for the Chinese but also for some of the foreign countries that are often portrayed poorly in the movies. In the end, I can't help but feel like I've not only seen a great movie but felt the humanity and pride that the movie released. See it!
163 out of 193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Jet Li's paean to martial arts
rmj197113 April 2006
Make no mistake about it, Fearless is the best straight-ahead martial arts film since Jackie Chan's seminal Drunken Master 2. Director Ronny Yu crams more bone-jarring, well crafted fight scenes into the first forty minutes of this movie than most films can match in their entire runtime. This is a canny move, as it pulls in the viewer via the blurring action before beginning to develop the film's narrative in the middle third. While the story is a well used one (kung-fu bully comes to realise his skills can be used to educate rather than brutalise), it's a perfect structure on which to hang the film's many excellent confrontations. It's obvious that this film is Li's love letter to his Wu Shu background and martial arts in general. In dramatic terms, Fearless never reaches the heights of recent wuxia movies like Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon or Hero and so is unable to feel truly fulfilling as a great movie per se. It is however up there with Jet Li's very best work in the genre, OUATIC & Fist of Legend for example, and if it is (sadly) true that it is to be his last period martial arts picture, it's a hell of a bang to go out on.
103 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Jet Li's finest martial arts film
brentsoffcenter24 September 2006
Almost flawless, this new release improves on the style and genre in a significant way. The film is presented in a way that the viewer can appreciate it from several perspectives without heavily relying on the genre's standard formulas. We don't have to wade through the typical love triangle, the maniacal drug lord contracting a hit, or the beloved school's instructor being tortured and murdered before the ultimate revenge takes place. This film has a legitimate story line, skillfully presented in a clear and well edited manner.

Although the film was generally concerned with the development of a specific fighting style and philosophy, the audience is also treated to some authenticity of the then Chinese culture and the biography of a Chinese martial arts master. These features seem to give the production a much higher level of credibility than the average martial arts action movie.

Although we did experience some speed editing in fight scenes, it was done in such a way that it enhanced, rather than detracted, from the believability of the film. In "House of Flying Daggers", for example, the ballet and acrobatic like choreography of some of the fight scenes tended to undermine, rather than enhance. If there was any flaw in the fight scenes present, it was minor. This flaw may have been inescapable because of the inherent limitations of the style of the film itself. For example, trivial features such as disconnected striking combinations at the expense of speed editing, or the fact that the Japanese martial artist did not seem to be using a typical Japanese style of fighting. (It appeared to be a combination of Chinese and Korean oriented styles).

This film should, by all rights, reset the bar for the standards of martial arts films from now on. It was simply an outstanding film in every way.
59 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Great Action Flick, Stunning Performance
Tsang Chun Kit30 January 2006
This is the first martial arts film that I enjoyed very much. It has a very strong plot which is also based on a true story about an martial arts master, Huo Yuan Jia and together with great actors and actresses, a masterpiece is presented. As an Asian, I have already seen too much martial arts movie, however this one stuns me with the story and acting as I have mentioned above, but as well as their visual effects, every movement is shown clearly, one would find their heart beating hard as the fight is going on, the music in the film also fits perfectly with the film. I have to mention that this film is quite Hollywood standard and I believe it is because Jet Li had already learn a few elements to make a good Hollywood film when he was filming some Hollywood films a few years back. As Jet Li has said, this will be his last martial arts movie and wants to make it a good one, I think he has already fulfilled his dreams, because this is a truly Jet Li movie and I think a lot of people would like this film.
143 out of 172 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An exceptional martial arts movie
hkswordman30 April 2006
This is an exciting, beautiful, exceptional martial arts movie that cements Jet Li's superlative contribution to kung-fu cinema. It is absolutely filled with stirring martial arts and gloriously made, with eye-filling cinematography. Although the story is simple, it is heart-felt and effective. It's hard to understand how anyone who could call this boring, unless they are so jaded and cynical that their review would be useless in any case. This film is a great accompaniment to Jet's Shaolin Temple series, Once Upon a Time in China films, Fist of Legend, and Hero, and an absolute must-see for anyone who enjoyed those films.
90 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Jet Li's best film in years!
zxantosdragon7 February 2006
Let's get to the point. This is Jet Li's best movie in years. Not because of the fight scenes, but because the plot is engaging throughout and the emotional tension of the movie works, even though it was a bit tangled with a bit of preach.

The plot is simple. I think everyone here knows about it, so I won't spent time talking too much about it. Jet Li plays Huo Yuan Jia, an arrogant young man that has no regard for human life so to speak, and in one brash move, he indirectly caused the death of his family. He journey to a remote village to learn humility. This is probably the weakest part of the film. Mainly because a large part of it was cut out from the theatrical release. Huo had a few dialogues with Betty Sun, who played a blind girl. Their relationship was very underdeveloped. And Huo's return to Shanghai to fight was with brevity, and hardly explained. He returns to Shanghai and defends his country's honor.

I thought Jet Li did a great job acting both as the arrogant man and as the wiser wushu master. But people of course, came to see Jet Li fight. And to me, the earlier fight scenes are good, but have too much computer effects and slow motion. Still, it was refreshing to see Jet Li return to using Chinese Kung Fu.

The best fight scenes in the movie are definitely the battle between Huo and Nathan Jones, the hulking giant and the weapons fight between the Japanese Samurai and Jet Li using the sword against the three sectional staff. The ending was very emotional, and it was refreshing to see a different take unlike most endings of old Jet Li movies.

The movie could have been better of course, but I was very satisfied with it, both the plot and the action sequences.

154 out of 190 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Indeed, it is a Fearless hit !
samuelding8529 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Fearless marks Jet Li's last martial art production, where i am glad to say, he did not let anyone down in his martial art swan song.

Worked together with director Ronny Yu of The Bride With White Hair and Freddy VS Jason, Fearless marks the return of Jet and Ronny in the Asia market from Hollywood failures such as Lethal Weapon 4, The One and Formula 51.

Jet portrays the life of martial art master Huo Yuan Jia, which is also the Chinese title for the film. Fearless surrounds how he restored the pride and glory of the Chinese during the early 1900's from the intrusion and invasion of the Western powers and the growing Japanese power, where they have been calling the Chinese 'the sick man of Asia.' Huo Yuan Jia proves them wrong by accepting the challenges of the American fighters, the British and Spanish fighters, and the Japanese samurai Tanaka (Japanese actor Shidou Nakamura of Ima, Ai Ni Yukimasu or Be With You fame.) But before we have the showdown before Tanaka and Huo, we are introduced to the past of Huo, who was then a proud and arrogant fighter who wants to make himself the one and only invincible fighter of TianJin (Huo's hometown.) His arrogance and past victory from the competition indirectly leads to the death of his mother and daughter, where he killed one of his opponent just to prove that he is invincible.

Huo lost his sanity after the death of his loved ones, and he drowns into a river, where he was saved by a young lady and her granny. Living with them for 7 years makes Huo realize the real meaning of martial arts, which he eventually sets up Jing Wu Martial Art School, to promote the value of strengthening and developing Mind, Body and Soul.

Previously stated in his interview on making a movie that he truly ones, Jet Li has achieved his objective in Fearless. Unlike any other B-Action flick focusing on how well the actor fights, Fearless carry the message of not to resort violence to settle any problem, where we can see how violence did to Huo's loved ones.

The showdown between Huo and other foreign fighters also promotes the idea of sparing your enemy a chance, no matter how deadly they could be. This, somehow, reflects on part of the idea and philosophy Jet Li understands and promotes from his one year Buddhism studies.

Director Ronny Yu has also made the right choice of casting Jet Li as Huo Yuan Jia, after Jet portrays Huang Fei Hong in his remarkable Once Upon A Time Trilogy. This has once again strengthen the image of Jet Li as the Chinese hero among the Chinese around the world.

Casting Shidou Nakamura as Tanaka (one of the main supporting cast) is fresh and new, where he was more well known for his role of Takumi, the husband who had an encounter with his late wife in Ima, Ai Ni Yukimasu. Nakamura was more well for romantic and heart warming dramas. The showdown between Jet and Nakamura has not only make Fearless a must watch, but also the climax of the film.

However, Fearless is badly edited from the original 150 min version. To fit in the market demand, Fearless has been mercilessly chopped into a 103 min theatrical version. Michelle Yeoh, who makes a special appearance in Fearless, has been unfortunately removed. The duel between Jet Li and Thai boxer has also been removed, sad to say. Somehow, the movie has make the audience wants to go for something more than 103 min version.

Hope that the DVD release of Fearless will not disappoint the fans of Jet Li and anyone who loves the film with the deleted scenes. Apart from that, Fearless is remarkable. Definitely a must watch !
62 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the best films of its genre
siderite17 June 2006
This movie has it all: a good story, based on real history; very good imagery and soundtrack; nice fighting scenes; last, but not least, a moral.

Jet Li plays a very important character in Chinese history, one that made Chinese people feel proud in a time when all their traditions were torn up by the interaction with the West. One can interpret the message of the movie in many ways. It is a movie about conquering yourself, about the meaning of honor and what it really means to be respected. Jet Li's character evolves from basically a glorified bully to the founder of a true Martial Arts competition based on respect of people and of fighting art. It is also a movie about how industry screws up... everything, really.

I personally feel that the film had enough material to be turned into a mini-series. The time from his personal tragedy to his realizing the meaning of his father's words it's very short and could have been expanded.

In conclusion, this is a great movie of Jet Li's and it's not only for martial arts lovers. I feel that his last "block busters" were meaningless violence films. Fearless is obviously NOT one of these movies. Enjoy.
74 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
jon200528 June 2006
Fearless has a similar structure to last years' Unleashed (2005), in that this is not just a martial arts extravaganza, but also a film with heart and proper acting on the part of Jet Li. This latest effort, despite flaws, is the much more accomplished of the two works; both contain exceptional and brutal fight scenes, and a central 'drama' section where Li's character learns about life and about who he is, and both of these aspects are handled better in Fearless.

Based on actual events, the story focuses on Li's Huo Yuanjin, martial arts master whose family is murdered and who flees his home, only to be taken in by simple farmers. Spending many years there, Huo learns to embrace peace and live out his simple life with the villagers. However, he is tempted back to his home town in an effort to show the foreign powers that are flooding China that the Chinese people are unified, and will not be suppressed by foreigners. He sets up a martial arts school and competes in a four-way tournament to prove that he is the greatest fighter in the world.

Make no mistake; the main appeal to the film is the fight sequences. Courtesy of the ever versatile Yuen Wo Ping, (The Matrix Trilogy, Crouching Tiger) the staggering fight choreography manages to combine the graceful moves of Hero (2002) with the brutality of Unleashed to create possibly the greatest action scenes put to film, aided by Jet Li's so-good-it-looks-easy martial arts capabilities. The film starts as it means to go on, and contains plenty of inventive action, the main highlights being a colossal one-on-one in a restaurant and of course the climactic four-way tournament.

The film is not all action though; at its centre is the time spent with the villagers where Huo 'finds himself'. This is perhaps the films weakest point, but it is held up by the fact that Jet Li, showing he's not only a martial arts expert, can actually act. However, the scenes are lacking, from a scripting and directing point of view, enough emotional depth to allow us to truly get involved. Being based on a true story the film had to play out as it did, but one feels that Huo could have gone anywhere to find himself, even stayed at home and become a recluse. Director Ronnie Yu lacks the directorial range to let these scenes flourish, so the section begins to bog itself down with unnecessary sentimentality. However, it is a more developed section than the comparable parts in Unleashed and although maybe is too short – it could have been developed into much more – it at least doesn't outstay its welcome. Jet Li is good though, and nicely moves from the arrogance of his early days to the wiser warrior in the second half.

Fearless shows us a moralistic China that is ruled by an honour that is now lost amongst the modern world, and its portrayal of upholding traditional values is a welcome move; it gives the film purpose, and not just an excuse to make good action scenes. Ironically, the films message is one of anti-violence, and if this is indeed to be Jet Li's last martial arts film, then he has gone out on a high.

Rated: 8/10

More reviews at: http://www.thelazylounge.net
37 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Nutshell Review: Fearless
DICK STEEL26 January 2006
The first Jet Li movie which I watched as a little boy, was his Shaolin Temple. Jet next shot to fame and prominence with the various Chinese folk heroes that he played in the late 80s and 90s, like Wong Fei Hong, Fong Sai Yuk, Zhang San Feng, and even taking on Bruce Lee's Chen Zhen role in a Fist of Fury remake called Fist of Legend. In Fearless, he plays martial arts master Huo Yuanjia / Fok Yuen Gaap, whom I presume most who are familiar with Fist of Fury, will know who this chap is.

Like Fong Sai Yuk, Jet's portrayal of Huo Yuanjia starts off like Fong, who initially is a cocky person, proud of his skills, but nothing interests him more than the challenge in the ring. He's uninterested in politics (at that time China was being "invaded" by shiploads of foreigners), and adopts a whole host of disciples who prove to be his downfall.

Also like Fong, we see Huo reeling from his carefree days, get into some serious soul searching, before returning for the finale. But Huo returns a more calm and measured person, setting up the famous Jing Wu Sports Federation, and taking on a whole host of foreign fighters to inspire his countrymen that they are not the "sick men of the east".

As this is much touted as Jet Li's final martial arts film, it's plain obvious of the messages he wished to use this platform to spread. Scattered throughout the film are various martial arts, and probably life philosophy on themes like respect and responsibility, that violence isn't the means to an end. Somehow you forgive the fact that it's so blatant, and it seemed to work well into the plot and narrative, given that Huo's mission in setting up Jing Wu, is for that purpose to, to "spread the word" so to speak. From his early days of Chinese battling Chinese for the "Number 1 pugilist" title, Huo learnt that instead of fighting each other, they should unite in the face of new and external threats, but yet to remember not to neglect the home front, which he personally experienced from tragedy.

But no, the kungfu doesn't suffer from those messages though. In probably one of the most violent Jet Li movies (it's rated NC-16 here, and no cuts detected, except for the absence of Michelle Yeoh's scenes which ended up on the cutting room floor), with bone crunching and blood spewing - you might think that Tony Jaa's acting in it. And director Ronny Yu takes his time to showcase many of Li's moves, be it plain martial arts moves with the fists, with the various weapons used, or Yuen Wo Ping's jazzed up wire work for some of Huo's fights.

And there are many fights which will keep the action fans happy. Though the much touted ones shown ad nausem in trailers against the foreign legion, seemed a bit short in the final product. The filmmakers did keep one awesome fight scene under wraps though, and that is between Huo and nemesis Mister Chin in a teahouse - wreaking tables, chairs, flipping around pillars, navigating through different floors, and ending up in the wine cellar.

It's probably a fitting end to signal Jet's departure from the martial arts movie scene, with the portrayal of Huo given the known circumstances of what happened to the character. Though there are various interpretations, the essence is retained well in the movie. It is inevitable, and there is no Chen Zhen character to distract the audience from what is essentially a showcase movie for Jet Li.

(P.S. I still can't figure out how Michelle Yeoh would have played out in the movie, and no disrespect to her, I thought it worked well, except perhaps for the unnecessary lengthy middle where Huo was searching for himself)
65 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Needless to say... Jet Li is brilliant
p-stepien23 March 2009
OK. There might be a bit of wanton pro-Chinese propaganda in this movie, but then again this has never stopped i.e. Spiderman from proudly standing in front of the American flag in his movies. I may not find it appealing, but everyone has a right to be proud of their country and heritage.

The acting is OK. Nothing really enticing, but this is a kung-fu movie, so we don't exactly expect Shakespeare (albeit Hero was case against this point). Nonetheless Jet Li is a maestro and all other opponents he meets on the ring are distinctive and complete the storyline in as much as is necessary.

The storyline may not exactly be award-winning, but it is very appealing and actually quite well done, giving this kung-fu movie a real human feel to it. This allowed for quite an impressive character build-up of Jet Li's portrayal of the legendary Huo Yuan Jia. Historical script liberties can be taken for granted, because all in all we have a heart-warming story with a lot of impressive (if not ground-breaking) fights to complement each other.

Definitely a good movie and maybe I gave it one or two bonus stars, but you just can't not be impressed by Jet Li, who is a complete kung-fu actor (not only has the moves, but also conveys the emotions).
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This movie is about what really happens in China in early 20th century
junn_cao25 January 2006
i think this movie is quite straightforward. anyone knows a little about Chinese history should know that in the early 20th century china is quite weak.and 1910 was just 10 years after the invasion of baguo lianjun(the union of troops of eight countries).and Chinese people then were called dongya bingfu (the ill of east asia). an insult to Chinese at that time. huo yuanjia is the first martial art master at that time that has waken the spirit of Chinese people and proved to the world that Chinese are not dongya bingfu.so if you don't know the history of modern Chinese, you may find it another martial art movie.but as a Chinese, i think this movie not only a martial art movie but also a brief biography of huo yuanjia with historical background.
68 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"A Champion is more than a man of strength and power"
thinker169130 July 2007
This is the first modern martial arts Chinese film which impressed me. Going back to the days of Bruce Lee, China has never really been able to get past their comic portrayal of their martial artists as anything more than puppetry clowns with trampolines. When Bruce Lee came to America and captured the attention and loyal following of American audiences with his superb fighting skills, and serious acting, he was able to adapt all he knew into the visual art called entertainment. I believe Jet Li has also overcome his theatrical roots and has perfected his art. This film entitled "Fearless", is the result. Here we have him portraying the legendary Chinese hero Huo Yuanjia. That hero began as a street fighter, but never knew much more than being a common thug out for power and glory. Only experiencing a life segment of tragedy and suffering did he finally acquire the true meaning of his craft. Upon returning to the arena, he faces an American opponent called Hercules O'Brien, (Nathan Jones, last time, he was in TROY). It is here audiences observe, our hero is no longer a thug, but a Master of his craft and a Representative of his awakening country. Excellent film. ****
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The best Jet Li's film
freedomofnet25 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Huo Yuan Jia (Fearless) is a great action film with solid production and directing from HK movie makers, one of the best Jet Li's films, and Chinese martial art films. I had the privilege to preview the film in Chinese language, and was very satisfying with the performance, plotting, and story telling. The Gladiator like ending really touched me. As a Chinese viewer, I also felt much deeper meaning from the end of the film. If you are a Jet Li film's fan, this is a movie you shouldn't miss. If you are a action film lover, this will be a great enjoyment for you. And if you have Chinese background, or would like to learn the early Chinese history in the 1900s from the perspective of a Kung Fu master, this is a must see. Thank Jet Li and HK/China film maker for making this emotional film!
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
great way to finish
brn008127 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
"Fearless" (Hua Yuan Jia <- the name of the movie in Chinese is actually the name of the main character) is a movie that's (according to the trailers) produced by the people who brought us "Hero", choreographed by the person who did "The Matrix" (Yuen Wo Ping) and is Jet Li's final "Martial Arts Epic".

The movie starts with a bang. Quite literally... after a brief prologue-ish type text, and panning through a CG Shanghai, era 1910, the movie goes straight into a spectacular display of martial arts of Jet Li (the little man) versus the big boys (people about twice his size....)

...A fantastic beginning, methinks. However, this may also be true for those people who have seen a lot of Jet Li movies, I can't help but think, some of the time, during the fight scenes, "I swear I've seen him do that before...". Don't let that distract you from this film though, as I believe that Ronny Yu (the director) compliments Jet Li's style and even adds an element of power that never really seems there (apart from in Fist of Legend... which is a sort of remake of Fist of Fury... which is a story about Chen Zhen who was Hua Yuan Jia's student... confused? You should be.... you should be.... (at this point I should say that Chen Zhen was fictional but Hua Yuan Jia is not...)). That is actually a roundabout way of me saying that the beginning was great...

The rest of the film then goes into the past and tells the story of how YuanJia got to that point of playing with the big boys... And I must admit that for the first time since Once Upon a Time in China (the first one), I actually believed that Jet Li was acting... He starts off as an arrogant and strong-willed man, who eventually, through a chain of events turns into a weak, pathetic and destroyed man before finishing off as an honourable, deep and heroic man after spending time reassessing himself and the world around him. It was great to watch because the progression was believable... ^^,

The film itself was well paced and well shot. The action scenes were brilliant throughout and the music really made you feel the moment. This film is a great way to finish off his (Jet Li) martial arts movie career, mixing philosophy with martial arts (as it was meant to be really). It's just a shame that some of his US movies tarnished his filmography (let us please forget, "The One"), but Jet Li is leaving the martial arts world with a CRUNCH and a BANG...

Go watch this movie. It is great (though I didn't like the way they put 'wushu' in the subtitles instead of 'martial arts'... but that could be just me....) :D
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An unusually good martial arts film
Eliot Axelrod24 September 2006
Jet Li's fearless really took me by surprise. I found the stunts and the fighting to be flawless. If you're a martial arts film fan, you'll want to see this movie more than once to take in the fight scenes.

Unlike a lot of other films in the genre that have a plot to help string together scenes, this has a great plot, and characters that have some emotional reality as opposed to the good vs. evil stick figures watchers of this type of movie have come to exist.

It's a gorgeous movie from beginning to end. Whether the scenes take place inside or out, the cinematography is breath-taking.

Jet Li, actually has emotions in the movie. A break from everything I've seen him in, with the notable exception of "Kiss of the Dragon" Go see this movie - Twice
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Among Jet Li's Finest
bs3dc3 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
If Fearless truly is Jet Li's last martial arts film, then it is a fitting ending to his work in the genre. His choice of project has been excellent in the last few years after turning down Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon then appearing in Cradle to the Grave and Romeo Must Die, which were both a far cry from the quality of his films from the early 90's such as Once Upon a Time in China and Fist of Legend.

After playing famous historical figures such as Wong Fei-Hung and Fong Sai-Yuk he returns to create what could be described as a prequel of Fist of Legend, playing Huo Yuanjia, made famous from Leung-Kar Yan's portrayal in Legend of a Fighter, and Bruce Lee and Jet Li have both played his top student, Chen Zen.

Jet Li uses the film to put across his philosophy on violence and martial arts, which is told in such a way as to not be patronising even if it is obvious. In recent years he has shown his frustration at how his films are perceived as encouraging violence as a solution. Sadly the debate about who would win a fight between Bruce Lee and himself will probably continue to haunt him, even 30 years and more after the former's tragic death. I believe this film should have a wider audience than just martial arts fans, as it carries a poignant message, that Jet has also tried to convey in Hero and Unleashed (Danny the Dog). It must be noted that Fearless is far more tolerant than other Huo Yuanjia films, especially Fist of Fury where all the Japanese were depicted as degenerate or just plain evil. Compare that with the Japanese characters in Fearless, especially Tanaka, played with great gravitas by Shido Nakamura.

The action does not disappoint in Fearless, with the numerous fight scenes being well choreographed by his extremely frequent collaborator Yuen Woo-Ping. There is enough wire work involved to annoy purists, but there are plenty of grounded moves, with Jet showing off his skills with the spear, sabre and three-section-staff to good effect. The most exciting of the action scenes is Huo Yuanjia fighting against Master Chin.

There are a few issues in pacing, perhaps due to the removal of Michelle Yeoh's scenes, but it does detract much from the overall quality, and simply making films longer does not necessarily improve them - e.g. Alexander.

The acting is convincing and all the characters are beautifully portrayed, with few big names in Chinese cinema involved other than Jet himself, which in no way detracts from the portrayal. Betty Sun in particular creates a large impact even though her scenes do not take up much of the running time. This is backed by another haunting score from Shigeru Umbayashi (House of Flying Daggers), who seems to have replaced Tan Dun in scoring Chinese epics.

Overall this has become one of my favourite Jet Li films and I have seen all but a handful of them. The sense of tragedy and morality is well balanced with the action, and does not leave a bad taste in the mouth compared to many martial arts films where revenge is considered the only option.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Jet Li is back and better than ever
lovadoll31 July 2006
Fearless is exactly what Jet Li fans have been craving these past few years.Fearless makes a strong statement about a frequently ignored aspect of martial arts it's overall message.The zen like message in Fearless is indeed something to think about after the film is over.Fearless shows how vanity and arrogance bring a man to ruin,and how a sense of pride raises him to the top again.A wonderful message and a beautiful story.Fans of Jet Li love hand to hand combat and I'll tell you right this second Fearless is filled with fantastic fight sequences. The action comes at you fast and intense and each fight scene is unique and able to keep you on the edge of your seat.This is the new age of Jet Li films.He's grown out of movies like Cradle To The Grave and The One.Jet Li has moved on to make a film as breath taking as Hero or House Of Flying Daggers.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Could be considered Ronny Yu's signature piece
Harry T. Yung26 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Director Ronny Yu, just like HUA Yuan Jia, is a fighter who has conquered his inner devil. Moderately handicapped by polio, he endured an isolated childhood. Against his father's (kindly meant) wishes for him to go into business, he followed his own dreams of directing movies, something for which his physical handicap makes him particularly unsuitable. Not among the prolific Hong Kong directors, he kept up with bringing to the local audience good quality work in the 80s and early 90s.

Then an interesting thing happened. In 1993, he made "The bride with white hair", which is both a martial arts yarn and a heart-breaking love story adapted from a well-known martial art novel that most local high-school kids in the 60s would have read. A few years later Hollywood was looking for a change in the formulaic horror genre that the public had long grown tired of. "When they saw The Bride with White Hair, maybe because of the exotic atmosphere, they identified it with the horror genre", Ronny Yu observed with a chuckle. A Hong Kong director could be what they wanted, to bring something new.

Yu did bring something new, a comical dimension to "Bride of Chucky". It was not easy for Yu to convert to the Hollywood system because in Hong Kong, the director is king. To wait, like a defendant waiting for the jury's verdict, for a randomly picked sample of mass movie-goers' "report card" on the test screening of your movie is not something that a pampered Hong Kong director can often handle. To see your movie re-edited (sometimes drastically) based on these pedestrian views is even tougher to stomach. Yu, however, has the maturity to understand that the system is market-driven and everything boils down to dollars and cents, and nothing more. You just have to play by the rules of the game. "Bride of Chucky" was obviously a success, as Yu was asked to take on "Freddy vs Jason", not an easy task as both are household names to the horror genre fan population. While not a huge success "F v J" was reasonably well received and, a little to his own amusement, Ronny Yu became an established Hollywood horror-comedy director. But he wants to do more than that.

There is no room for comedy in "Fearless". It is about a person who in a most revered icon in the world of Chinese martial arts as well as modern Chinese history. HUA Yuan Jia's story is truly inspiring, not only in its period significant in Chinese history, but also in a more universal realm of the highest ideal of wushi, or martial arts, as a path towards self-realisation, very much in line with Bruce Lee's philosophy. Yu treats the subject matter with respect. Although there is a fair amount of "preaching", he sensibly refrains from sensationalised emotion stirring tricks. Very brutal action sequences are balanced with most serene scenes, such as rice planters stopping in unison to listen to the sound of nature, the breeze rustling the leaves.

In an hour-long radio interview, director Yu explained what a wushi movie really is – about a real life person who has made contributions to the world of martial arts. The action sequence, therefore, should be as realistic as possible. To do this, we must have a true wushi expert, and Jet Li is of course just the best one. By the same token, his opponents should be reasonably seasoned martial artists. He then went on to explain that in Fearless, he has tried to minimise using camera techniques but instead shot the bouts and parries with a straight take and let the actors do their job. In this I was a little disappointed, as there was less of what he has promised, and certainly nothing as spontaneous and brilliant as the Donnie Yan and WU Jing duel in "Saat Po Long". But I shouldn't be too critical as this is, after all, not a wushi documentary but a commercial movie. The camera is in fact extremely well used, with excellent editing, putting the action sequences with the best I've seen.

In "Danny the dog" Jet Li has demonstrated that he can act. In "Fearless" he brings out well the contrast between the abrasive and the humbled Hua in the two halves of the movie. The only other role that has some meat is the Japanese challenger (the all-goodness blind girl is not difficult to do). As much as I like the guy (particularly in "Be with you" or "Ima, ai ni yukimasu"), Shido Nakamura is miscast. Despite good acting ability, he simply does not have that fierce intensity to portray the top notch Japanese martial art expert. More suitable would be Ken Watanabe or Hiroyuki Sanada, both in "The Last Samurai" and the latter also in "Twilight Samurai".
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Best Movie from a master of martial art
doclee3224 March 2006
Thoroughly enjoy the movie. Great story and excellent fighting choreography not unlike Bruce Lee's movies. Jet Li is much better than his films done in Hong Kong where his dialects have to be dubbed into Cantonese. If you understand Mandarin, you will love the film even more with Jet Li so at home speaking in Mandarin. Unfortunately, in Malaysia, the movie was obtained from Hong Kong and thus was dubbed in Cantonese. It thus did not do well in cinemas here. This also happened to "Crouching Tiger" with disappointing result. The cinemas here have decided to look into this. In future Jet Li and other well known film makers should stop their films from being dubbed in Cantonese to prevent this happening. I therefore have to wait and watch it on DVD and am glad I did and enjoyed it very much.
23 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The real purpose of martial arts - to achieve peace
buttoncat25 December 2007
We checked this CD out of the Seattle library in 2007 although we didn't really expect much. I'm now ashamed to say that because the movie didn't have a big American studio backing it, we thought it would be like the early Chinese wire fu movies - no plot and a great deal of flying around amidst tinsel and garish costumes. We were incredibly surprised to find a beautiful and thoughtful film. We'd like to thank all those who had a hand in this film for taking so much care. Yes, there were plenty of incredible martial arts matches, all different and all tinged with plot significance. These were quite well done. But the overall message of this film is to think about the relationship of martial arts to the rest of life and not keep it in a box used only for revenge and endless competition - where there will always be a loser and a winner. (And, judging by Jet Li's comments on the CD, this may be one reason that Fearless will be his last martial arts film.) There is also an undercurrent of awareness of the business interests of Japan and the West poorly treating China in the 1800's and 1900's. This is a matter of historical record, and there are also sympathetic characters, particularly one Japanese fighter. I suppose by now it's no surprise to Chinese people that there are those of us in the West who feel we are treated in essentially the same way, by the self-same people. So westerners can sympathize with these characters as well, and share vicariously in their moral triumph. Despite the whacking, this is really a film about peace.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
great movie with acting & a message
r-c-s11 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This is a great martial arts movie, worth remembering for its ACTING well above its counterparts. Like Tai ji zhang san feng it is a "movie with a message", but the overall package is better & acting finer. Definitely a movie to watch more than once. Cinematography is a couple notches above its counterpart, with a few artsy moments. Usually "messages" are out of place in movies like these, but here it unfolds nicely without clutter. Good fighting. There ARE repeated or cheesy moments, EG the movie opens with a "bloodsport" tournament where white fighters (swordsmen & a boxer ) are knocked silly in moments; the "O'Brien" segment later (white Sid Justice look-alike is defeated in fairness ). This movie is about a fragile child shocked because his father, accomplished martial artist, refuses to strike the final blow to an opponent, thus losing a "death" match. The child grows up headstrong and extremely skilled, the best in his city...but he's also quick tempered, careless with his finances supporting a bunch of parasites claiming to be his disciples. Because of one of them & his omissions, he enters a combat that will just destroy his life, while sanctioning him as his city's finest warrior. To hell and back will be a long way. (re)birth of a hero. This character is in fact the "poisoned master" Ho Hiun Chia from Bruce Lee's famous FISTS OF FURY.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
god i must say it is the best martial arts movie i've ever see!
daijinren14 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
i am a Chinese,i believe only Chinese people who really understand(yes,understand!) the history and Chinese spirits,could understand this movie.in fact,i don't like to watch martial arts films,but this one is an exception.i really love it!when i watch it it made my blood boiling! maybe most of foreigners who enjoy it are actually enjoy fights in the movie,but I enjoy it only for the spirits it shows to me:patriotism,struggle for nation,self-respect,philanthropy,friendship and so on... sorry my English is so poor that i couldn't write more.but i wanna tell you all,don't afraid of china's developing,we Chinese are very different from Japanese and ancient Romans and USA!we love peace and anti wars!

my name daijinren is from zhuang-zi,a taoism classic,if you know the meaning of this name,you'll understand one part of Chinese spirits.

Fearless is too short,but excellent,it is a real masterpiece!not Hero or CTHD.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of Jet Li's finest
Pilsung8912 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
During the filming of this movie, Jet Li claimed this would his last martial arts epic. That means no more OUATIC, no more Fong Sai Yuk, no more Hero type movies. If this is his last martial arts epic. He goes out with a blaze of glory! This movie has got a compelling story, good plot development, and awesome fight sequences. Overall, of the 20+ Jet Li movies I've seen thus far, this is one of the best. A must see for Jet Li or martial arts fans.

In the movie, Jet Li portrays real-life Chinese figure Huo Yuan Jia, a famous martial artist. as child, Huo had asthma, and that had forbid him to study Wushu by order of his father. Huo eventually grows up and does begin officially training in Wushu. With his exceptional talent in martial arts, Huo becomes very arrogant, and wants only to be known as the best fighter there is. Day and night, rain or shine, he seeks to challenge others and defeat them in duels. As he gains fame, more want to be trained by him. However, things quickly go downhill for him. He kills an older Wushu master in an unofficial fight inside a restaurant because the master had attacked one of his students. Even so, Huo nearly loses the will to live after taking a life. It also costs him his friendship with a close friend, who ran the restaurant. When he discovers the old master attacked his student because the student slept with the master's wife, and the master's godson kills Huo's mother and daughter as payback, Huo leaves town and falls into a river, waiting for death.

Huo is rescued by seamen, however, and taken to a hillside country village. There he meets a blind woman who shows him the compassion in life. Huo develops a new way of thinking and a new view on life. Eventually he returns to his home town, and discovers the foreigners abusing the Chinese. Huo must patch things up with his old friend to get the money to reopen his school and enter a tournament against foreign fighters.

A very compelling story. It helps us remember the true meaning of the martial arts. As for the action scenes, I think Jet did intend this to be his last epic movie. That's because the fight scenes are great and there's so much variety. Jet Li shows us his abilities with Wushu hand styles as well as his staff-work, straight sword, broadsword, and 3-sectional staff. There is some wire-work, courtesy of Yuen Woo Ping, but not to much. There is quite a bit of wire-work in the fight scene on the 40 foot tower, buts that's understandable, considering the dangerous nature of the scene. There's more action in the first 40 minutes of this film than some movies entirely. The climactic fight is good with a twist and a unique ending. Watch it and see for yourself.

Jet Li may be in his forties here, but he's in better shape than most will be in their twenties. His skills are still ever so impressive, and his acting skills have also improved a little. I give this a 10/10. A Jet Li classic and must see!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Worth watching even if you hate fight movies.
semi-buff8 August 2007
Not being a fan of the kung fu genre, I watched this because I like Jet Li. For me, some the fight scenes were too long or too CGI'd. I especially detest enhanced metal-on-metal sounds and had to mute and/or fast forward through some of those scenes. After about a half hour of almost non-stop very lonnng fight scenes, I almost gave up; but I;' glad I didn't, because the rest of the movie was very worth watching. I wondered at the historical accuracy of some of it. For example, would there really be an all-girl drumming team in ca. 1905 China? Would there be female students at the sports school? Women were very important to the story, as they are in real life, and I appreciated that. Beautiful cinematography. look forward to seeing Li in his future non-martial arts films.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews