IMDb > Hoodwinked! (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Hoodwinked!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Hoodwinked! More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 25: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]
Index 250 reviews in total 

Looks can be deceiving!

8/10
Author: andrewgill8675309
17 September 2015

Okay, so, right off the bat: the animation is not great. It's choppy, badly textured, and doesn't look all that good. But please, do not be fooled! That is the only problem I have with this movie!

This film is nothing short of absolutely great. The jokes are consistently hilarious, there was never an awkward pause or poorly executed joke. It's rare to find a comedy aimed at children that hits all the right notes regardless of age.

The idea of Hoodwinked is clever, but the execution is perfect. This movie is clever, and very sophisticated for a children's movie. The characters' motives and personalities make sense and are written well, and uniquely. Also, the way every aspect of the story interlinks is amazing. It takes a lot of skill to wrap things that well.

The soundtrack is also provides a lot of fun to the movie.

If you want a good film, and you can get past the animation, I highly recommend this. It is smart, funny, and interesting. Why would you miss it?

Was the above review useful to you?

not funny and bad looking CG animation

4/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
3 September 2015

It's the classic Red Riding Hood tale but then the police investigation begins. It's an open and shut case until detective Nicky Flippers starts interrogating each of the classic characters. Red was hiding Grandma's recipe from the Goodie Bandit. Wolf is actually an investigative reporter looking for the Goodie Bandit. Granny is an extreme athlete and the Woodsman is a clueless aspiring actor.

I don't mind modern references infecting the classic tale. They could do better than Fletch with the investigative reporter. The movie is not done particularly well or funny. The CG animation looks ugly. It has an interesting idea but it needs more compelling writing.

Was the above review useful to you?

Proof that quality dialogue and writing can more than make up for poor animation

8/10
Author: rickystickyman from Pan-dimensional
12 April 2015

Hoodwinked! is an interesting movie because you generally see an animated movie for the beautiful animation mixed with an emotional/interesting story. However, Hoodwinked! is good mostly for its well written dialogue and interesting twist on the formula.

The movie's premise is that the whole story of Little Red Riding Hood is a big mix-up where nobody truly knows the story. The cops bust in and automatically blame the Wolf as being the bad guy, until a detective decides to hear the whole story and figure out who is really behind this whole affair.

Since the movie is essentially a mystery, the nice thing is that there actually is a mystery. Granted, anyone over the age of 10 or 12 will probably figure out who the culprit is pretty quickly, it is still nice that the movie doesn't actually write it out for you who the villain is until the characters know who it is. This makes the movie a bit more entertaining because you have to be thinking a little bit while watching the movie. The second time you watch the movie the more clues and hints you will pick up on.

As far as characters go, the voice acting is pretty good and most of them are pretty interesting. The Woodsman isn't as interesting, but he isn't horrible or overly annoying.

What makes this movie really strong is its writing. A lot of the jokes really work, the timing is really nice, and the absurd amount of puns and other weird things thrown into the movie makes it very entertaining. It is odd how strong this movie's writing and dialogue is compared to its appearance.

Unfortunately, the movie has pretty bad animation. Now, to be fair, the movie was made by a very small company on a very small budget. And the movie manages to make all of the important scenes look good. The movie hasn't aged well, but there are still some shots that look nice.

The funny thing about Hoodwinked! and its theme of "Don't judge something off of a quick glance" is that it applies to the movie as a whole. From a distance, Hoodwinked! looks like a poorly animated, generic, and bland animated movie. However, it is actually a very funny, entertaining, original, and poorly animated movie.

Definitely worth a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

One of the lamest movies ever

3/10
Author: ethanct86 from United States
29 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Good - The plot fits (almost) perfectly like a puzzle. The ending is very surprising and some of the casting is good. The animation is better than most. Excellent for family/kid viewers.

Bad - The songs are rarely sung, and when they do come to singing the music is very dreadful. The animation, though better than most, is still very lousily made at some parts. One of the best examples for this is in the woodcutters story, when he is selling his goodies, the children are terribly frightening, though probably not meant to. The story line alters the story a lot, even though it may even been meant to, but they change it so much it dizzys you and mocks your mamas version of it. The grandma, very surprisingly and almost impossibly does "extreme" things which people, much less an elderly person is able to do.

Was the above review useful to you?

An intriguing take on the classic fairy tale with intertwining story lines, good music and slightly lacklustre animation

8/10
Author: Stompgal_87 from United Kingdom
20 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw this film at the cinema when it was released in the UK in 2006 and I found it enjoyable on the whole, especially the story and the music. I've watched it at least twice more since then; once when I rented it and today when I now own the DVD (which I won online from Jambareeqi, an Internet star who reviews rare animated films on YouTube, including this one that wasn't his cup of tea). On my most recent viewing, the story was as good as I remembered but sadly the character animation wasn't.

Starting with the animation, it was inconsistent in quality. The movements were decent half the time but the other half of the animation consisted of choppy, floaty and robotic movements. The same can be said for the character designs. The furry animal characters such as Wolf, Twitchy the Squirrel and Chief Grizzly were well-modelled but the human characters looked plasticky, particularly Red, Nicky Flippers and the woodsman, ugly (the children shown during the schnitzel song) and blocky (again the schnitzel children and the human competitors in the skiing contest). Nevertheless the characters were rich in colour as well as the detailed backgrounds. There are a couple of exciting sequences such as the ride through the mine shaft and Granny's snowboarding and it made sense that certain parts of the animation were repeated to show how well the stories from Red, Wolf, Granny and the woodsman intertwined with one another. Besides the animation quality, the other weakness with the film was its pacing. The part where the four main characters tell their sides of the story is quite rushed but the pacing drags on afterwards and the ending was abrupt. Further to the story, the other strengths were the witty and intelligent dialogue, the music (especially the songs by Red, Japeth the Goat and Boingo and the rock and rap songs over the end credits), the humour from Twitchy, the voice acting and the well-known cast including Anne Hathaway (Red), Patrick Warburton (Wolf), Glenn Close (Granny), Jim Belushi (the woodsman) rapper Xzibit (Chief Grizzly) and David Ogden Steirs (Nicky Flippers, also the voice of John Ratcliffe in Disney's Pocahontas films).

Overall, 'Hoodwinked' is a new, engaging and thrilling take on the fairy tale that everyone knows and loves albeit its inconsistencies with its animation quality and pacing. 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

Little Red Riding Hood Rides Again!

5/10
Author: Dalbert Pringle from New Zealand
20 June 2013

I know that I'm not the first (and I certainly won't be the last) to say that Hoodwinked could have been a whole lot better than it was.

But, all the same, this zany, fast-paced, and, at times, over-the-top re-telling of the Little Red Riding Hood story contained some very funny moments.

Though, at times, the story went a little over-board, it was, for the most part, quite entertaining.

I liked the characters - Twitchy, the squirrel (especially after he drank some coffee), and, Kirk, the Woodsman (especially when he played the Schnitzel Man).

I found Hoodwinked's story to be way too rough and violent for it to be suitable for young children.

Was the above review useful to you?

Ugly looks mask a decent and funny film - 68%

6/10
Author: Benjamin Cox from Hampshire, England
3 June 2013

Animated films have struggled to match Pixar's brilliance since "Toy Story" burst onto the scene way back in 1995. However, there have been signs of cracks appearing - "Cars 2" seems a bit of a misfire and "Brave" didn't set the box office alight either. With endless sequels to "Shrek" and "Ice Age" flooding the cinemas, there is an opening for others to try their hand. So here comes "Hoodwinked!" which attempts to offer viewers something a little different. The question is, is it any good? In truth, this feels like it has some great ideas and even some good giggles but it's undermined by some pretty ropey animation.

"Hoodwinked!" is a post-modern interpretation of the story of Red Riding Hood. Right at the point when the lumberjack (voiced by James Belushi) bursts through the window, the story freezes as the cops, led by grizzled Chief Grizzly (Xzibit), turn up and arrest everyone. But froggy detective Flippers (David Ogden Stiers) reckons that this is linked to the case of the Goody Bandit who is stealing the recipes of the various treats being cooked in the forest including Granny's (Glenn Close). Interviewing Granny, Red herself (Anne Hathaway) and not forgetting the Wolf (Patrick Warburton) along with Kirk the Woodsman, Flippers begins to paint the real picture behind the goings-on in Granny's house...

One of the problems I have with DreamWorks films is that they often cast big-name stars who aren't necessarily the best for the role but thankfully, "Hoodwinked!" avoids such needless showbiz. The performances are actually pretty good - Warburton is brilliantly smooth as the Wolf and stands out with his partner in crime, the hyperactive squirrel Twitchy (Cory Edwards). The story is also a winner - cleverly written and providing a unique angle on a traditional fairy tale, although the mystery of the Goody Bandit isn't that much of a mystery, in all honesty. The problem with this picture is the animation which lacks a lot of the smoothness of Pixar's back catalogue. Take something like "WALL·E" which is so beautifully animated that a lot of the time, you forget you're watching a cartoon. By comparison, "Hoodwinked!" almost looks ugly but I suppose it holds its own against the likes of "Open Season", though that damns "Hoodwinked!" with faint praise.

I am disappointed somewhat with "Hoodwinked!" which can't produce the look to match the decent story-writing and direction. There are things to recommend here - the voice acting is of a high standard and the humour works a lot better than the songs which, frankly, felt like filler. But the film can't sustain its momentum and the crude look of the thing means that you never fully buy into it the way you do with Pixar's output. I may sound like the Pixar snob I'm frequently accused of being but the truth is that they produce films of real quality, films that appeal to kids and adults alike, films that don't rely on talking animals fighting for acceptance from their peers, films that look sublime and entertain with almost effortless ease. "Hoodwinked!" is certainly different and well worth a look if you've a young family to entertain during a rainy Bank Holiday but all things considered, I'd rather stick with Woody, Buzz and the rest.

Was the above review useful to you?

Nice Story - Fair Animation

7/10
Author: aesgaard41 from United States
3 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm starting to become a big fan of computer-generated animated films. I often wonder what Walt Disney might have done had he had the technology in his day or of he had lived long enough to see it. Several of them are wonderful, from "The Polar Express" to "Rapunzel" and "Hotel Transylvania," but every once in a while something like "Hoodwinked" comes along. First off, the animation is crude; it looks like the second to last process in the computer animation process, but the plot, the script, the humor and the voice-over actors are excellent. I loved it from the mountain goat, Japeth, who sings bluegrass down the mountainside to Red Riding Hood kicking ass to the psycho bunny rabbit with delusions of grandeur. Patrick Warburton really carries the film as the voice of the Wolf, and Ann Hathaway as Red Riding Hood is a delight. The only thing I don't like are the slighted bonus features on the DVD. A little bit more footage of the actors doing the voice work would have been nice.

Was the above review useful to you?

This was off the hood!!!

10/10
Author: Shevy1103 from Norway
20 March 2013

I like that they left the ending open, while at the same time shutting the door completely on the movie. I am waiting in excitement. Hoping that there will be a sequel, I am pretty sure there will be. I mean the movie was a hit, wasn't it? I can't think of a reason not to make a sequel to this over the top, action filled box of animated goodies topped with a big load of sweet surprises and unexpected pleasures. Personally I can't wait for a sequel to come out. I have already thought of how it could be and started writing the script. As God and you as my witness there will be a sequel to the movie «Hoodwinked!», even if I have to write, direct, produce and pay for it myself!

Allrighty then, the characters were probably the most creative and unpredictable ones I have ever seen in my entire life! And that says quite a lot! The music was flawless and awesome, beautiful and well written. Nothing negative on the musical part, nor was there any bad aspects of the sound, effects or all that other stuff. Among other things I truly enjoyed about this movie was all the constant surprises, I mean I wasn't as surprised now tonight, but I have to go back to my first time, and dig out all my emotions, feelings, opinions and meanings I got then, when I first saw the movie. Some other of those things I really enjoyed was the characters obviously, the parodies on all those great movies like «Star Wars», «XXX», «The Matrix» and more, the undescribably wellcrafted, perfect and off the charts screenplay written by some genius whom hopefully will continue to create masterpieces like this one.

I know I have already said this, but the music was seriously great! A word that describes it pretty well is: «Phenomenal!». I just had to say it again. Bravo! Brava! Bravissimo!

The animation was simply, not simple at all. It was detailed, brilliant, hardcore, awesome, great and brilliant. There is, but one word that is on my mind and that word, my fair gentlemen and beautiful ladies, is: Godlike. Yes, it is unique and special and superb in its own little way, much like «Flåklypa Grand Prix» written by Ivo Caprino originally, this however is not written by Mr. Caprino just to be clear.

What was bad about the movie? What didn't I like? Well, I liked everything I think, so, I guess, «nothing» is the answer. You know, I have laid here on the coach, I have taken a seat on the toilet, I have also sit down at the kitchen table, and I have turned my brains inside out, but I couldn't think of one single negative thing to say about «Hoodwinked!», not even a tiny little detail! And there are nearly always some flaws with the movie, not absolutely always, obviously, I have seen a few movies that I didn't find any flaws with, but that might have been because I usually write my reviews at night, from 2200 hours and out into the night. So, sometimes I get tired and a little drowsy and that will of course affect my writing, but now I am rambling again. I have got to stop doing that and learn to focus on the movie at hand! So basically, the movie was flawless, not far from it anyhow. Since I couldn't find any flaws, mistakes or wrong-doings I conclude with that.

Of course the movie is not as good the 10th, 15th or 20th time you see it, but I still laughed, I still was surprised and it still gave me a thrill. So, all in all, awesome the 20th time, way off the hood, the first time! Hook. Off the hook, not hood. I think I am getting a little cramp in my right hand and some heavy rocks on my eyelids. Seriously the first and second time you see this movie, you WILL be amazed, dazzled and if not, you will be surprised no matter what. I guarantee it! Now go get Hoodwinked!

Good Night and have a good Night sleep. Bon soir to the French. Guten nacht to the Germans. Buenos noches to the Spanish and God natt to my fellow Norwegians.

Yours truly:

- Shevy

Was the above review useful to you?

A Theatrical Treat

7/10
Author: TypedbyTara from United States
20 February 2012

Throw everything that you thought you knew about Red Riding Hood out the window, because Hoodwinked puts a hilariously clever twist on this childhood story.

The setting takes place in a magical forest village where humans and various talking woodlin creatures coexist in happiness and bliss. Red Riding Hood (or simply Red) works for her Grannie by delivering cookies and other baked goodies to the furry forest residents. However a problem soon arises when an evil "Goodie Bandit" terrorizes the village by stealing all the bakery shops' recipes.

A full scale (and very hilarious) investigation soon ensues, led by head detective Nicky Flippers (a frog) who is determined to get to the bottom of the mystery. The investigation includes a series of interviews, including Red, the "big bad" wolf, a random lumberjack, and Grannie herself. Each character has their own hilarious account/flashback of their whereabouts, revealing that there is one fact common in all stories.

Hoodwinked is a movie chuck full of hilarious one-liners, gut-busting scenarios, and a creative plot-line that keeps you guessing until the very end. Now a bunch nit-picky curmudgeons criticize this film because of it's off-put animation. I personally think that the animation only adds to the innocent humor of the movie, and it certainty doesn't distract or take anything away from the film. If you're looking for a cute movie with some good laughs then Hoodwinked is for you!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 25: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history