IMDb > Hoodwinked! (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Hoodwinked! More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 14 of 25: [Prev][9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [Next]
Index 247 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Surprising yet slightly disappointing

Author: Gert ( from Belgium
17 May 2006

I had no clue what I was walking into, yesterday night, but I knew it wasn't Disney so I might have had high expectations. Might have, because I'm not all too sure of they were all that high. (try to follow my logic :p) Anywho, I bought the ticket (took the ride) and the film started with a bang! Action, Desire, .. well, no desire but a lot of action. What started as Lil red riding hood, quickly turned into a crime mystery, with a nice climax. Spiked with great jokes and a witty explanation after wards. The first flashback had some weird inconsistencies and some typical cartoon weirdness, It was Extremely nice to (finally) see all those "coincidences" and weird events explained in the later flashbacks! Genius in its detail and simplicity!

But.. there s always a but :( Some of the jokes weren't THAT great. I had moments of Crazy Uncontrolled Laughter; but other moments.. the jokes just really missed their point! I got them, but they weren't funny enough to actually laugh at. I did have the feeling that If I had been 14 something I would have LOVED it all! .. And, The graphics weren't all that impressive. Having seen Ice Age recently, I was not awed. On the other hand, I didn't mind it all that much and after the first minutes, I was just watching the story instead of the graphics!

In the end, It was a great movie! Weird stuff happened, Some parts could have been a lot better. If it had been longer it would probably have bored, but since it wasn't, thats not an issue, is it. The story was very complete, surprising and it made me laugh. I left a happy man!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A truly old-fashioned quality animated tale

Author: nolarobert from United States
2 May 2006

I was surprised by some of the criticism of Hoodwinked. I know that people have been spoiled by the high-dollar, high visual quality releases from Pixar but that doesn't mean we should trash everything else. I like all kinds of movies and I try not to prejudice myself before I have actually seen them for myself. I took Hoodwinked for what it is... a low-budget animated film created by a devoted core group who had their own vision. The story is a very witty take on the "Little Red Riding Hood" tale. It is a very tongue-in-cheek take on our modern world without offering the corporate cuteness that can make other animated flicks feel so cold. I think that DVD Talk did the best review I have seen of this movie. Check it out at Also, you might just watch this movie first and come to your own conclusions.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Low-budget animation is NOT a drawback

Author: Trevortni from United States
8 May 2006

If there's one thing that annoys me, it's judging a book by its cover, or, in the case of a CGI film, by the CGI budget. There's been a lot of badmouthing the animation on Hoodwinked, even by people who say that the story more than makes up for it. Well, it's true enough that the CGI is low-quality; but that does NOT translate to bad CGI, because high-quality graphics was not what the movie was about.

The way I see it, there are two classes of CGI: there's realistic CGI, and there's cartoon CGI. Final Fantasy: The Movie was realistic CGI, as was (to a lesser extent) Shrek, Finding Nemo, Monsters, Inc. Toy Story, etc. No, they didn't necessarily portray physically accurate characters, but their attention to fine detail was one of their selling points; the fact that (most of them) had a good story was a happy circumstance to add on top of that.

On the other hand, cartoon CGI is along the lines of Jimmy Neutron, VeggieTales, and that Saturday morning cartoon "Reboot" from a few years back. For these shows, their strength was not in the photo-realism of the CGI, but in the ease with which the CGI could be manipulated to go along with the cartoonishness of the storyline. Bottom line: Jimmy Neutron looked funny. The VeggieTales had no hands. Reboot looked like it existed inside a computer.

Hoodwinked looks like a fairytale.

And this is what really ticks me off. Photo-realism isn't the only way CGI works right. You have to pick the style that fits your story. I, for one, wouldn't be as interested in Bugs Bunny if he looked realistic. I hated that other CGI cartoon show "Transformers: Beast Wars" because it tried to make a cartoon show look photo-realistic (and failed miserably, but that's beside the point. It still wouldn't have worked if they had succeeded).

So, to all those that say the low-budget CGI was a hindrance: NOT AT ALL. The cartoony animation works perfectly with the cartoony story to make a perfect cartoony movie. It couldn't have been any better for higher levels of detail than the old Bugs Bunny vs. Red Riding Hood cartoons would have.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Incredibly funny cartoon

Author: xredgarnetx from Connecticut
29 April 2006

HOODWINKED is proof that a cartoon does not have to have the best animation or even the best artwork to be truly excellent. Made by a pair of brothers no one has even heard of, Tom and Cory Edwards, and distributed by the Weinstein brothers of Miramax fame, HOODWINKED provides a new and very twisted take on the Little Red Riding Hood fable. The plot as such involves someone stealing pastry recipes and plays out like RASHOMON, in that it ends up being told from various participants' perspectives. While the execution of the cartoon leaves something to be desired -- this is no SHREK or ICE AGE or MONSTERS INC. or even ROBOTS -- the story is absolutely hilarious and the characters (voiced by Andy Dick, Puddy, Glenn Close and Anne Hathaway) are wonderfully fleshed out. Some of the dialog is to die for, and plays equally well to adults and children. Just as importantly, HOODWINKED is a full-blown musical, and the music is as every bit as good as the dialog. The highlight is a number sung by a cursed billy goat (don't ask) as he explains his curse to Red and then takes her on the ride of her life. Many movies are referenced in HOODWINKED, including XXX, THE MATRIX and MISSION IMPOSSIBLE, and there is a bizarre extreme sports sequence involving Red's surprisingly athletic grandmother. Oh, and the Three Little Pigs make a guest appearance as three klutzy cops. Enjoy. I know I and my family sure did.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Good, but not as good as I thought ..

Author: ILuvPrincessDiaries2 from londan, england
5 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

From the trailer I thought it was going to be like the greatest funniest movie from all time. I thought that the granny would be out of this world cool and that they would use twitchy more. Maybe it was spoiled for me because just before I watched this film I looked at Anne Hathaway's credits and was deeply saddened that she would play in such a disgusting film as "brokeback Mountain" I had hoped she'd be different from other actors and not take part in such filth (I wish you could read this Anne) The movie was funny to an extent but I really thought it's be better. The best part to me was the singing goat and his many antlers. And twitchy. To me all they did was take all the best and funniest parts and put them in the trailer. I was disappointed but again I still laughed. I did think that they could have made it more of a mystery who the recipe thief was. After like the second time you see the thief you know that it's him. I give this movie a seven out of ten for originality and funny points. Despite my down-put on this story, Go rent it and watch it with your best friends have chips and pop and have a blast. That is the best way to enjoy a funny movie. And while you're at it, rent Madagascar too. If you don't laugh at hoodwinked, you'll laugh at this.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:


Author: divynequeen84 from United States
19 January 2006

I am usually a sucker for movies like this. An avid Disney fan, I will watch almost anything animated. That being said, I admit, I was disappointed by this film. The previews had me totally ramped up to see the movie, (especially when they cut to the turtles!), but when I got there I was left wanting. The story could have been good if it hadn't been so interrupted with music. They stopped for a song between every scene, it seemed. Halfway through the movie I was ready to leave. The story line and plot were good, I could have just done with less music. Overall, the movie was just okay, although it had some really funny moments here and there.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Terrible! Who are all these people who liked the movie!

Author: gthowie from CA
23 February 2006

Saw the preview....looked great! Saw the commercial....looked great! Read the reviews on IMDb...look great!


This movie was so bad, I am writing my first comment ever! I can not believe anybody like this movie. I took my 2 sons, and we all hated it!

It is slow, poorly written and poorly animated. I have been to some clunker 'family' movies, but this is by far the worst I have ever seen.

I gave it a 2, it's only redeeming bits were a few references to other bits, but they were only a couple.

I know there are a ton of rave reviews here, that is what convinced me to go, please beware.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Artless, forgettable film.

Author: frenetica from New York
4 February 2006

I am shocked to see the number of overwhelmingly positive reviews of this film.

Official reviews have focused on the 'Rashomon'-style storytelling and the film's charm in spite of its workmanlike, low-budget animation.

Well, the animation is certainly workmanlike, but I can't see any charm. And a nod to 'Rashomon' means nothing if it's not put to good use. Zhang Yimou's 'Hero' did it well. But 'Hoodwinked' is a hodge-podge of disjointed comedy moments, where the storyline doesn't seem organic to the movie. There are also a number of really boring songs which add nothing to the film. The plot development was so tenuous that several times during the film I felt as though I was watching a movie scripted by someone who had started off their career writing 'Monkey Island'-style point-and-click adventure games.

Little Red Riding Hood is weird and unlikeable. She's supposed to be a young girl but sounds like she's thirty and jaded as hell. Her character is an obvious attempt to offer a female role that is stronger than the average helpless fairytale victim, but the karate and the cynicism is just overbearing. The only sympathetic character that we had any chance of caring about was the Wolf, but he is abruptly cut from the main action so that the film can focus on granddaughter and grandmother reaching a new level of mutual appreciation bla bla bla who cares.

There were some isolated funny bits (I'll admit that the singing goat had me laughing hysterically) but the film never became captivating. This was not a charming film with a timeless story (see 'Finding Nemo'), but a mishmash of obvious jokes and easy pop culture references that will fizzle and be forgotten almost immediately.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:


Author: Jackson Booth-Millard from United Kingdom
25 May 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I knew that this computer animated film was based on the fairytale of Little Red Riding Hood, and I had seen the poster and DVD cover quite a few times, and even with its low rating I was willing to sit through it hoping for some fun. Basically everyone knows the story of Little Red Riding Hood, the young girl in the red hood going to visit to her Granny and being surprised by the Big Bad Wolf, but this is the "true" story of what happened. Told from four perspectives, Red Puckett - Little Red Riding Hood (Anne Hathaway), Wolf W. Wolf - the Big Bad Wolf (Patrick Warburton), Kirk the Woodsman (James Belushi) and Granny (Glenn Close), they are questioned by detective Nicky Flippers (Beauty and the Beast's David Ogden Stiers) about everything that happened and led to the incident in the cottage in the forest. Red explains that she was delivering goods to Granny, but a threat from recipe stealing Goodie Bandit forced her to head a different direction, on her journey she met the Wolf who asked her suspicious questions, and when she arrived at the cottage the Wolf was there dressed in Granny's clothes, the real Granny was tied up in the closet, and the Woodsman burst in through the window. The Wolf explains he is an investigative reporter, he was searching for a lead to identify the Goodie Bandit, believing Red and Granny were culprits, hence questioning Red, but when she escaped him he travelled to the cottage and went undercover as Granny hoping to get the evidence he needed. Kirk the Woodsman reveals he is actually an aspiring actor, being a woodsman was for a part in a commercial, and after having his schnitzel truck robbed by the Goodie Bandit he went to woods to get into character, chopping trees, one falls and he runs in panic from it and avoiding it he smashed through the window of Granny's cottage. Finally Granny explains she is an extreme sports enthusiast, during a ski race she was attacked by the opposing team, they were actually hired by the Goodie Bandit, but Red is unsure whether or not to believe her story. But Nicky Flippers deduces a connection with all four of the stories, they all met the bunny rabbit Boingo (Andy Dick), and that he is the Goodie Bandit, but Boingo has already stolen the recipes of Granny, while the police go the wrong direction Red spots him and follows him to his secret hideout. Boingo plans to put an addictive substance into all recipes he has stolen, and destroy the forest to make way for new real estate to expand his business, but in the end the villain is caught, Kirk found success in a yodelling troupe, and Red, Wolf and Granny become part of Happily, the crime solving organisation. Also starring Anthony Anderson as Detective Bill Stork, Xzibit as Chief Grizzly, Chazz Palminteri as Woolworth, Cory Edwards (also directing) as Twitchy and Benjy Gaither as Japeth the Goat. The voice casting is alright, Hathaway as a karate loving girl, and proving her singing ability long before her Oscar win for Les Misérables, and Close as a feisty old lady, the Pulp Fiction editing is okay, but the songs are naff, the story is underdeveloped and silly, the characters are predictable, and the animation especially looks cheap, the youngest ages probably won't get any excitement from this either, it is a rather rubbish family computer animated comedy. Pretty poor!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Poor animation; dialog too self-conscious; ridiculous plot

Author: GoUSN from United States
5 February 2012

Throw out anything you know about Red Riding Hood. Substitute in a super-hero with kindergarten sensibilities, and forced nods to adults. You'll have this movie.

Where do I begin? Bizarrely, the keep the forest setting but move the time up to the present, with cars, police tape and many other modern features.

Red starts the movie with a tired, beaten affect - and never loses it, changes it, or emotes in any other way. Smart-alecky without cleverness.

The other characters are non-linear concoctions designed for spot humor rather than plot.

The animation is primitive. We might as well have been watching puppets with visible strings.

Your child may like it.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 14 of 25: [Prev][9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history